Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High end laptop

• 30-11-2006 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭

Will be buying a laptop after christmas, looking for something pretty high end in the region of 1800 - 1900 euros. Basically Im looking for a desktop replacement, I would just buy a desktop but I will want to move it at least once or twice a week.

Im going for something high end because:

1) I want to be able to play games on it.

2) Its got to be reasonably future proof I plan on having it for a while!

What do ye think of this:http://www.laptopsdirect.ie/Toshiba_Satellite_Pro_P100_PSPA4E-00X00HEN/version-1.asp

Its something like what id like alright although its at the absolute upper limit of my budget though! How much is laptopsdirect's double memory offer? 4 gigs of RAM would be nice!:)

What do you think of this and can you supply any other possibilities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Personally if I was buying a laptop and I had a wedge of cash this little beauty would be winging its way to me http://www.alienware.co.uk/product_detail_pages/Aurora_m9700/aurora-m_overview.aspx?SysCode=PC-EU-LT-AURM9700&SubCode=SKU-DEFAULT

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WallysWorld

Yep had a quick look through the specs and it looks great, however the toshiba seems to have more grunt in the processing department with dual 2.16ghz rather than dual 1.8ghz on the other. The alienware setup probably has better graphics onboard but has only a gig of RAM and a 60gig hard drive compared to 2Gbs and 200gigs on the toshiba.

I cant afford to go any higher on the specs of the alienware so it has to be their entry level one. (plus tbh i think id feel like a bit of a tit walking around with one of them in lime green under me arm!);)

What do you think of the toshiba gandalf? is it worth the money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Darwin

Dell have an ebay shop where they auction off refurbished laptops. Most of these laptops are new and are slightly scratched or dented. They occasionally have machines from their XPS range, such as the XPSM1710 with top end specs such as Core 2 Duo processor and 7900GTX graphics. If you search ebay.ie for completed listings by user 'dellfactoryoutlet' you'll get a good idea what you can get for well under your budget.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

The toshiba looks good, but the Go7600 may let you down for future proof gaming but you should get plenty of bang out of it. The 8 series nvidia GPUs are coming out around soon, but there's always something coming out isn't there?

Also bear in mind that if you do upgrade to Vista you'll probably need the extra RAM!

Another place to look.

Well I can't fault a Tosh I'm typing this on one here and my previous laptop was one as well. The spec looks good and should be able to handle anything you can throw at it for a while (shame the GFX is not the 7900GS thou).

You can customise the Alienware as well but to up the spec will throw the price out of your range. The Dell outlet would be another option to check out but I personally do not like the build quality of their systems.

Remember the most important thing on your laptop will be the GFX. You can add more memory yourself, hdd's are upgradeable and processor speeds do not make as much of a difference as you think (as long as its a Core 2 Duo or Turion).

Desicions, desicions this is also pretty tasty:

http://www.meshcomputers.com/Default.aspx?PAGE=PRODUCTVIEWPAGE&USG=PRODUCT&ENT=PRODUCT&KEY=154618

Ill definitly keep an eye on that dell outlet on ebay aswell you could pick up a real bargain there:)

Are the graphics cards in toshiba laptops upgradeable at all? is it possible to get the next gen of cards and slot it in (assuming I can afford anything after blowing nearly two grand on a lappie!)

Well the good news is if you are buying after Christmas you could get a better deal especially as Vista isn't been launched for consumers until Jan 2007.

I would probably stay away from the Mesh system as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭ciaranr

I got a Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Xi 1546 recently, around 1700 mark. I'm seriously impressed with, it's a greatly specced machine. Link to elara here: http://www.elara.ie/products/detailsfull.asp?productcode=ECE1270648&productID=S3865777

It's got 2 hard drives, an ATI X1800 and 2 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor. I've been playing GTA San Andreas and HL2 at 1440x900 with no problems so far, it's a beast of a machine power wise.

Weight and battery life do suffer, but if it's gonna be left on a desk, then I would say go for it!

Heres another Tosh to check out p/n PSPA6E-03302CEN on this page http://www.bms.ie/toshiba2.htm

Apologies if MESH was a bad suggestion.
    Another alternative to the Dell outlet is the Dell Employee purchase scheme, its open to employees of some companies and universities who do a lot of business with Dell, might be good for a bargin if you know someone... (But Dell ain't the best TBH)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

5uspect wrote:
    (But Dell ain't the best TBH)

Who is for a high end laptop other than Dell/Alienware?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭frodo_dcu

HP all the way
    take this example
    http://www.powercity.ie/?par=10-30-V9022

Thats a good question, can you build you own?!

I've set up and been asked to spec up a good few Dell laptops in my time and I've found them to be fairly good in general, not brilliant but adequate.

Actually one of the lads in the office recently bought an inspiron which would constantly freeze but after a couple of irate calls to customer service (and a return to the factory where they just replaced a fan to no avail) in fairness to Dell they sent out a techie who replaced every single component in the machine, works a treat now.

I've heard good things about alienware (i don't like the look tho!) and a mentioned MESH because a friend bought a very nice desktop from them recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

if you are going for a full whack desktop replacement don't get anything less than a core 2 duo processor. Alienware are your best bet, but pricey.

I just got a sony c series, its got a good high spec but i sacrificed desktop replacement for the 13" screen which means I can carry it everywhere and have lots of battery life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

I too am looking for a desktop replacement.

I know its a dell but this one caught my eye.

xps_m2010.jpg

I'm hoping it'll be a bit cheaper after xmas.

Anyone got one?? Review??

EDIT: Just noticed...it's come down a €100 since Wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

I have an ASUS A4L. Very good except I did have a problem with the battery. Harvey Norman were the agent for ASUS here but they don't do them anymore. AFAIK there is no agent for them here now so bear that in mind incase anything goes wrong.

Dell looks good but seems pricey for the specs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Dell looks good but seems pricey for the specs?
    dell outlet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

I'd say a Dell Inspiron XPS M1710 is the way to go!

I have one myself and it's a gorgeous machine; with a 7900GS it gets about 3600 in 3D Marks 06, with 1gb of Ram.

The screen is great - and the sound is awesome.