Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Undercover Garda Cars

• 28-11-2006 11:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭

Just out of curiosity,
    Why do undercover cars have 3-4 aerials on them, also most of the time they have the aerial piece off it and you can just see the black base. What are they for.
    Thanks in advance- I know it might be a stupid question but i wanted to find out since a long time :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,359 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Police radios?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

feylya wrote:
    Police radios?

That was a quick response, i know it would be for radio but you donot need 3-4 aerials for that do you. Also what other systems are in these cars. Are their any high tech systems apart from registeration plate reader.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

1. standard radio
    2. garda radio
    3. carphone hotline to nearest spar

• Registered Users Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭maidhc

kbannon wrote:
    3. carphone hotline to nearest spar

No 4. must then be out of hours emergencies: a direct link to the 24hr tesco.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,964 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

drdre wrote:
    Just out of curiosity,
    Why do undercover cars have 3-4 aerials on them, also most of the time they have the aerial piece off it and you can just see the black base. What are they for.
    Thanks in advance- I know it might be a stupid question but i wanted to find out since a long time :D
    I think you may be confusing unmarked Garda vehicles with undercover vehicles. Undercover vehicles generally do not have 'tell-tale' antennae.

An unmarked (or marked) Garda car usually has 3 antennae:

1. Standard FM radio.

2. VHF (very high frequency) antenna for communicating with local station/district and for communicating via the national frequency.

3. UHF (ultra high frequency) for communicating on a control channel eg. Dublin North Control or the Garda Traffic Channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Is there not another for those vehicle tracking yokes that some expensive cars have?

I think you may be confusing unmarked Garda vehicles with undercover vehicles. Undercover vehicles generally do not have 'tell-tale' antennae.

An unmarked (or marked) Garda car usually has 3 antennae:

1. Standard FM radio.

2. VHF (very high frequency) antenna for communicating with local station/district and for communicating via the national frequency.

3. UHF (ultra high frequency) for communicating on a control channel eg. Dublin North Control or the Garda Traffic Channel.

I meant the undecover garda vehicles.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭5500

1. Standard FM radio.

Do Garda cars have fm radios/cd players?
    Thats one ive always actually wondered about

• Registered Users Posts: 21,242 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

drdre wrote:
    I meant the undecover garda vehicles.

If it's an undercover car, then how do you know you've seen one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Bond-007 wrote:
    Is there not another for those vehicle tracking yokes that some expensive cars have?

This is Ireland your talking about, they don't even have secure radios :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,002 ✭✭✭Wossack

Bond-007 wrote:

Saw them use that system on one of those English traffic police shows. Its a seperate unit, bout the size of a laptop with 4 of its own aerials, one at each corner. When I saw them use it, they had it in the boot at the time, they attached it to the roof using magnets. It then relayed to another box inside the car, that displayed direction and strength of signal. Think they found the car within an hour.

Pretty nifty system, and I'd def consider one if I owned a car worthy of it ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

If gardai are going under cover they do not use unmarked patrol cars.

They use and drive busses, taxis, delivery trucks, bin lorries, family cars, ride on lawn mowers, motorbikes, hearses...... anything you can think of.

You will not notice them.

Aeriels are as somebody already said.

car to other cars and bases.
    car to garda control.
    standard aeriel

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭rondeco

eireal wrote:

Alot of the time they are taken out of the car and all thats left is a big hole in the dash.

Chief--- wrote:
    Aeriels are as somebody already said.

car to other cars and bases.
    car to garda control.
    standard aeriel
    Im confused. Does this mean that the Spar aeriel is hidden?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

spar issue a mobile to all garda units these days.
    gardai are specially trained in hi-speed use of those credit vending machines

• Registered Users Posts: 10,208 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

eireal wrote:

No, they're removed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

The undercover cars are D regd, but Ive seen one on a different reg. eg
    90 WD 56789. 5 digits for a county which only has at most 4 digits. There used to be an aerial at the rear left panel of any car but the actual antenna was facing down towards the road....

There have been claims on here that the gardai use cars from various counties including the Norther Counties!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

kbannon wrote:
    There have been claims on here that the gardai use cars from various counties including the Norther Counties!

My dad told me that he once seen a silver 3 series coupé on NI plates flying down the hard shoulder with two lads in with blue flashing sirens.

And ffs people .......
    Undercover = A guard drivin around in an X5 trying to sell you drugs in order to bust yo ass assuming your a well known drug dealer!

Unmarked = A fat guard driving around in a batter navy mondeo without hubcaps and about 20 aerials on it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

C_Breeze wrote:
    And ffs people .......
    Undercover = A guard drivin around in an X5 trying to sell you drugs in order to bust yo ass assuming your a well known drug dealer!
    Are you saying that if you are a known drug dealer and a BMW X5 pulls up beside you and offers to sell you drugs you are going to buy off them? You've been watching too much TV dude. FACT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

you will never notice an UNDERCOVER car, undercover cars dont even have reg numbers that match the make of car its on sometimes. UNMARKED cars on the other hand are the ones with ariels the same as with marked cars. and not all cars get the fm/cd radio taken out. newer cars keep them in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

undercover cars dont even have reg numbers that match the make of car its on sometimes.

thats a bit retarded considering anyone can check that stuff for free on the net.
    surely they would be samrter than that?

subway wrote:
    thats a bit retarded considering anyone can check that stuff for free on the net.
    surely they would be samrter than that?

It rarely happens. itd be on something like a car/van and it might have a old reg off a escort or something. not something you would be checking online anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

cant comment on irish police but stratclydes finest (Glasgow police) can be recognised by
    a) high performance cars, always spotless and well maintained with a total absence of dealers window or reg plate stickers
    b)Front and Rear Strobes
    c) Headlight Flasher
    d) Siren
    e) VASCAR Unit
    f) Radio both VHF and UHF
    G) Tracker Roof Aerials
    h) 2 rear view mirrors
    I) always driver and passenger

surely thats an UNMARKED car your talking about and not an UNDERCOVER car?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Looks like. People do not seem to be able to reaslise that unmarked and undercover are two different things.

MrP

MrPudding wrote:
    Looks like. People do not seem to be able to reaslise that unmarked and undercover are two different things.

MrP

whats the difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

drdre wrote:
    whats the difference?
    An unmarked car is simply a car used for normal duties that that does not have the police paint job. Blends in better than marked cars.

Undercover cars are used in undercover operations and will have no features that will indentify them as police vehicles.

MrP

exactly, its the same as plain clothes gardai, they are not undercover, just not in uniform.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭The tax man

Me thinks G Luxel won't even see the undercover SIGPO car coming.

What the hell is up with your sig:eek: :eek: it's a wee bit small.:D

Move along nothing else to see here....