Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tool Box / Tool Set Required for Motorcycle / General Mechanic

• 28-11-2006 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭

Hello all,

I've already posted this under Gardening & DIY but I thought I'd post it here also to see if anybody can help!

For Christmas I would like for my loved ones to buy me a proper Tool Box. Something quite complete without being extreme. I am very fussy about the quality of the tools however! Being French, I immediately thought of Facom and I had my eye on this set. So I rang around to find out how much this set cost and I was quoted €1,985.52.

After picking myself off the floor, I thought of posting on boards.ie to ask for help as my loved ones love me, but not that much.

Could anybody recommend a make of tools that doesn't cost an arm, a leg and a testicle?
    Could anybody recommend a particular Tool Box / Tool Set that would meet my requirements?
    Could anybody recommend a shop in Dublin that sells proper Tool Boxes / Tool Sets?

Thank you in advance for all your help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

i have been slowly building up a tool box for the past year, most of my tools are halfords professional, good quality & not that expensive, & my gf is getting me a nice bix toolbox to put them in this christmas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

For tools that you are only using for DIY on ur bike, you dont need to buy Facom, or Snapon or the real expensive stuff.
    Cheaper stuff like draper will do ya fine. Its different if ur using them all day everday.
    Try McQuillans in blanch..seen a few sets there last time i was there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

madrab wrote:
    i have been slowly building up a tool box for the past year, most of my tools are halfords professional, good quality & not that expensive, & my gf is getting me a nice bix toolbox to put them in this christmas :)
    Thanks for the info Madrab! I've been thinking of checking out Halfords but I don't know where there is one yet... I'll look into it this week-end sure!
    I intend on getting a proper "starter pack" then building it up as I go like you did. A Tool Box is never complete! ;)

The Doktor wrote:
    For tools that you are only using for DIY on ur bike, you dont need to buy Facom, or Snapon or the real expensive stuff.
    Yep! That's exactly what I told myself when I found out how much they cost! :eek:
    The Doktor wrote:
    Cheaper stuff like draper will do ya fine. Its different if ur using them all day everday.
    Try McQuillans in blanch..seen a few sets there last time i was there
    Thanks for this info! I'll give them a try this week-end also. Are McQuillans in the main building or in one of the satellite buildings?

Thanks again for your help lads! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

It is worth spending a bit more on certain tools. eg.torque wrenches.

One set of high quality wrenches, both box end and C spanner, as well as allen keys will stand to you, cheaper ones will break or round off bolts on you at just the wrong moment.

aside from that draper stuff is fine for home use. and lidl/aldi have great deals on tools on a regular basis.

If you're serious about it, a compressor and a set of airtools will be the best investment you can make. an air impact wrench is the greatest tool in a mechanics arsenal. and if you're not just doing automotive stuff you can use the compressor to power nailguns and sanders for woodworking, or airbrushes for spraypainting. (providing it is big enough)

Thank you for your reply Echomadman!

I am serious enough about getting proper tools to put around €500 EUR for a decent tool box. I know a compressor and air tools are the dog's bollix but I won't be using tools that much to justify the cost.

On the other forum, somebody recommended checking out www.radionics.ie. I was browsing around their site this morning and found the "95 industrial grade mechanics tool kit" (RS Stock No. 604-781) particularly interesting.

But I don't know if this is the ideal product to get for general car/motorcycle mechanic. If anybody could let me know what they think I would be very greatful! ;)

And I'm definitely avoiding Argos / Lidl / Aldi and the like! Had to work with a tool box my sister got in Argos (was putting curtains up) and I busted half the tools in 30 minutes! SO FRUSTRATING! :mad:

Ive got those type of tool kits in the past. I find that there is only a certain amount of the tools in them you actually use.
    I would reckon on starting with a few basics, and build from there. As you do more work you will find you need new tools.
    I am in the process of this meself (new garage just built:D ).
    Start with a socket set, a set of spanners (open and ring combo) Draper ones are grand (I have never ever rounded a bolt with one). And get yourself a second 10mm, 12mm, 13mm and 15mm spanner.
    Also get yourself a set of screwdrivers. Stanley do some decent sets, and from experience, the dont wear badly but rather break (which is a good thing cos worn screwdrivers destroy screws).
    As for the compressor.. well, I have one for an airbrush (big enough for tools), and really havent ever felt the need for airtools for working on my bike. Its somthin you might look at down the line though.
    McQuillans is over by KFC in blanch.

Indeed, buying tools as I go would be wise and logical. However, I'm afraid that one day I start working on my bike and realise half way through that I'm missing a tool to finish the job... :( That is why I'm looking to by a pretty complete set from the start.

I'll think about it anyway and go check out McQuillans on Sunday.

Thanks for everything Dok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Cassiel

If you're in Dublin there is a place right across from McQuillans on Capel St. called 'Toolz' (I think, its a crap name) but the lads are helpful and they have the TengTools range in there. Anyway went to McQuillans meself to see if I could get a torque wrench (they had none) and saw this place on my way out the door. Back to the point the guys were showing me a complete toolkit from Teng 3 sliding drawers full of stuff, screwdrivers, 1/4" and 3/8 socket sets etc. Worth a look because it was CHEAP. And Teng are grand, in an engineering workshop I worked in before everyone had to buy their own tools and Teng were king, when its coming out of your wallet Snap-On doesn't get a look in. Its part of a Teng Tools promotion and there were bigger kits in the brochure. I'd have gone for it myself if I was looking for a starter toolset, I've had Teng stuff some 10 years, never had problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I'm afraid that one day I start working on my bike and realise half way through that I'm missing a tool to finish the job...
    Or one day you'll buy another bike, and realise that none of your tools will do the job any more.. grumble..bmw..grumble..torx..grumble..grumble...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,048 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Teng is the business. I have a 79 pce set and it's never failed me in 5 years. My dad was an agent for Teng (and Britool etc.) and Teng was always the most popular brand, and my dad supplied commercial (that's trucks and buses!) dealerships with hand tools. Teng has a lifetime warranty and they always stood over things, even when it was obvious the apprentice had been using a 1/2" drive ratchet as a hammer! Here's a tip though-Lenwood's C&C have reopened on the northern cross (M50) near Finglas. They are just getting going and will be trade only when fully set up but they were letting ordinary joes in when I was there a few weeks back. Might be a chance to get trade prices on tools but they don't do Teng AFAIK.

What a coincidence for you to advise Teng Tools today! Last night, at my "motorcycle mechanic" course, I asked the instructor (who is a mechanic for Honda) which tools he would advise and he said Teng Tools! I was actually using his Teng Tools ratchet set for 2 hours last night and I was thinking to myself "now here are tools I wouldn't mind having!". But I thought they would be too costly until he told me that Teng weren't that expensive.

He advised me to go to a shop called Entertool in Crumlin, on the Old County Rd, opposite the Garda station. Anybody ever hear of this shop?

Thanks for the tip on Lenwood's C&C Murphaph! I'll look into it! ;)

Thanks for letting me know about that 'Toolz' shop Cassiel! ;) How long ago were they showing you that complete Teng toolkit? Was it recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

Teng all the way. I bought my first Teng socket set 10 years ago and it's still working fine.
    Great tools...

BigCon wrote:
    Teng all the way. [...] Great tools...
    I'm starting to believe this strongly! :)

Any teng stuff I ever had seemed really good too...
    Also have a Sealey socket set, a small one (4mm to 13mm) and its really really nice..
    right.. you got me thinkin....im off to spend money on tools...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭bushy...

Get 6-point sockets they are less inclined to slip on worn nuts, whatever gear you buy , buy a 10mm & 12mm (13 if its european bike) from facom/snapon/whoever since they see more use than mose sizes

bushy... wrote:
    Get 6-point sockets they are less inclined to slip on worn nuts, whatever gear you buy , buy a 10mm & 12mm (13 if its european bike) from facom/snapon/whoever since they see more use than mose sizes
    Thanks for the advice Bushy! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Cassiel

Was at the start of the month, as far as i know that promotion ends in the new year so it should still be good. It'd be a help if I could find the leaflet but there you go.
    Thanks for letting me know about that 'Toolz' shop Cassiel! ;) How long ago were they showing you that complete Teng toolkit? Was it recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

I've bought 3 sets of small Teng Tools recently in that shop in Capel street opposite McQuillans. I found the sales staff were really helpful and their prices were as good as compared to online prices for Teng. Plus you have a point of contact if you need avail of the life time guarantee or get more Teng tools! Each time they have also given me small discount on the total price or thrown in an item for free which was very nice of them seeing as they don't know me from adam in there...sound stuff!!