Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards live league idea!

• 27-11-2006 11:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭

Boards live poker league.

Here’s an idea for a boards league over the next 12 months.

Starting this Saturday at the SE, we use the board’s monthly game, awarding points to the final table.

Points as follows:

1st 10
    2nd 8
    3rd 7
    4th 6
    5th 5
    6th 4
    7th 3
    8th 2
    9th 1

The winner of the league is than declared the league champ for the year.

Or, the top 9 players can come back and play a final table.

Other idea, if we go for the top 9 players, we could add a extra €10 to the entry fee each month, this money would be held back for the final table, I reckon this could add up to 8500 after 12 months, the league would end at November next year, letting us hold the final table in December 2007. The money than been split as 50% for the winner, 30% for 2nd and 20% for 3rd, similar to a STT structure, with 30 minute blinds etc. and 6k in starting chips.

We could also buy a trophy from the €10 euros and hold a proper dinner presentation with awards for best performance of the year in general on boards this time next year, ie boards piss up.

Just an idea, any views?

Will we try to implement this on Saturday?

Maybe one of the mods could set up a poll on this.

League a good idea or not? 13 votes

YES
    0% 0 votes
    NO
    100% 13 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Great Idea Ollie - fair play to you for stepping forward to organise it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Great Idea Ollie - fair play to you for stepping forward to organise it. ;)

I never said that!

I think we would have to nominate 2 people to run this, maybe 2 mods...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

Sounds like a good idea. Just another way for me to donate money to all the superstars on here!!!

It would make the last few games very interesting with people fighting for the last few positions at the final table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Ollieboy wrote:
    Starting this Saturday at the SE

boo.... :(

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

From a payments point of view Ollie how do you see this working? Would there be a list of people that would just pay a tenner extra on the day to an appointed person? I assume you are not talking about a standard tenner extra to be paid on top of the entry to the SE as this will not go down well with the general populous.

I think your prize total as well is a tad optimistic, and the most that could be expected I think is ~3600 over 12 months (30 people per month every month for 12 months) for a few reasons.

1. People who don't post here will not likely be interested.
    2. People who don't intend to play every month will not be interested.
    3. Some people might only play once, then miss 2 months, then not want to pay the extra tenner again.

Also, the problems that Muso had while trying to organise and control the funds for the BSOP would indicate that enthusiasm is followed by apathy fairly quickly. If this does go ahead, then as someone who will play most of these events I don't mind having a hand in collecting for this or recording it, but it would be a strict pay up front or tough luck jobbie.

I also think that there should be points awarded for entering, and that you can only get points for 8 of your 12 potential entries. This would encourage people who miss a couple of events to pay in again for the next one.

I am sure that Mike can give odds for an overall winner to this for an extra bit of spice (hint, hint).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Iceman78 wrote:
    Sounds like a good idea. Just another way for me to donate money to all the superstars on here!!!

It would make the last few games very interesting with people fighting for the last few positions at the final table.

Definitely a great idea. I would offer my services to this cause if thats any help.

The only thing about a €10 added entry fee per month is that players that have no chance of winning the league will be very quick to stop paying it after two or three months.

How about a thread on here that caters for this idea specifically. Every player that is interested can pay over say €30 each to either myself (to hold) or better yet the Sporting Emporium. Then the top 6 league players could battle it out in a stt for the prize-money at the end of the year.....

If we got 100 players interested through boards then we would have €3,000 as a prize-pool. I'm sure one of the casinos would even think of adding an extra little bit seeing as it is ensuring that players are really going to make an effort to attend their monthly events.

5starpool wrote:
    From a payments point of view Ollie how do you see this working? Would there be a list of people that would just pay a tenner extra on the day to an appointed person? I assume you are not talking about a standard tenner extra to be paid on top of the entry to the SE as this will not go down well with the general populous.

I think your prize total as well is a tad optimistic, and the most that could be expected I think is ~3600 over 12 months (30 people per month every month for 12 months) for a few reasons.

1. People who don't post here will not likely be interested.
    2. People who don't intend to play every month will not be interested.
    3. Some people might only play once, then miss 2 months, then not want to pay the extra tenner again.

Also, the problems that Muso had while trying to organise and control the funds for the BSOP would indicate that enthusiasm is followed by apathy fairly quickly. If this does go ahead, then as someone who will play most of these events I don't mind having a hand in collecting for this or recording it, but it would be a strict pay up front or tough luck jobbie.

I also think that there should be points awarded for entering, and that you can only get points for 8 of your 12 potential entries. This would encourage people who miss a couple of events to pay in again for the next one.

I am sure that Mike can give odds for an overall winner to this for an extra bit of spice (hint, hint).

Agreed Dom, I already thought about this.

It would have to be a standard rule, the entry fee to the tourney would cover the additional €10. ie 200+10+20 and everyone pays this if in boards or not. I dont know how the SE feel about this, but it is a boards game first and I'm sure we can get them to agree. maybe this month would be short notice do.

So thats 60/70 players each month, say 650 a month by 12 months, that would nearly be 8k. If you want to play the events at anytime, you still have to pay the €10.

Also, less points given out, means if someone had to good finish in the last 2 games, they would stand a very good chance of making the final 9, also, we dont want to start using a calculator to work the league standings out each month. I dont want people to be reward for just playing and points to the final table out of a average 70 player field is plenty, I think so anyway.

So seen the 10 is included in the entry fee, than there's no reason to keep peoples names etc and the monthly event is the reason why people will play, nothing to do with the league, as this will only come into play after there monthly events results, meaning each months events will have plenty to play for outside the yearly league, hope this makes sense. I think its important to keep it simple. I reckon you could miss 1/2 the monthly events and still have 2 results and make the final 9.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Ollieboy wrote:
    Agreed Dom, I already thought about this.

It would have to be a standard rule, the entry fee to the tourney would cover the additional €10. ie 200+10+20 and everyone pays this if in boards or not. I dont know how the SE feel about this, but it is a boards game first and I'm sure we can get them to agree. maybe this month would be short notice do.
    This won't go down too well with the SE I'd imagine as John is stressing that this is not a boards game they run, but an SE game. I would be against this as an extra mandatory entry fee, and if it is done as a mandatory fee then someone (not me) will have to suggest this to John and the SE can tally and control points and funds, but I don't fancy the chances of this happening.

We either organise this on a monthly basis ourselves or we do as Stephen suggests and pay €30 or some such amount upfront. I think those are our only 2 options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

i'd recommend keeping it the 200 + 20 and just deducting the tenner per head out of the prizepool. People are stange and think they won't mind this too much, but often get miffed with it's 200 + 20 + 10

You should aim to start it in the new year and get the SE to change the game name to the Monthly Deepstack League

Maybe you could persuade them to put a fiver out of the reg fee towards it - in return for higher interest/attendence ??

I dunno what Boards relationship with the SE is - I suppose that's the key??

Just my 2c - but good idea ollie

5starpool wrote:
    This won't go down too well with the SE I'd imagine as John is stressing that this is not a boards game they run, but an SE game. I would be against this as an extra mandatory entry fee, and if it is done as a mandatory fee then someone (not me) will have to suggest this to John and the SE can tally and control points and funds, but I don't fancy the chances of this happening.

We either organise this on a monthly basis ourselves or we do as Stephen suggests and pay €30 or some such amount upfront. I think those are our only 2 options.

I already mention it to John last month and there setting up there own league in the SE, so it was a non-runner with them. I did mention about us turning this into a league game, but they wont be involved directly.

I dont know if they would help us out with collecting the €10 and I agree with bops here that some people might be turn off by the whole idea. But I cant see the SE or players allowing us to take it out of the prize pool.

Maybe the best thing is to make this a league and get players to register on another thread without the €10 and whoever as the most points at the end of the year is declared the winner, might be a lot easier, I think the money issue might make it to messy. So if you register before you play the event, you get reward points based on your performance, if the person that won the event is not a board member, you get the points for your position finished and not board members position finish, ie 2nd place, but 1st is not a board player.

views please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

A couple of comments for what they are worth (I started drafting this before Ollie clarified that the SE aren't willing to assist as they are running their own league which is fair enough imho).

1. I don't like leagues running for a year. It's too long for people to stay interested and available. 3 months is generally ideal imho for this sort of thing but if you are going to run it as part of the SE monthly game then I'd say 6 months would be good.

2. Get the SE involved. If they want to build numbers for this game and to build a loyalty for it generally what would be wrong with adding €2k say to a league over six months. 1 point for entry and maybe double Ollieboy's proposed points for the top 9 finishes each month?

3. I disagree with addtional reg and I disagree with mandatory unless there is something added by the SE on principle. If there was a mandatory reg for a league I'd be much less likely to play in general. So I can't see that working out.

I got as far as here and decided I wasn't being very constructive Ollie so I decided to put together an alternative proposal.

If you wanted to have a Boards league over a period by all means have the SE 200 game as one of the qualifying games that count for the league but why not include other games like the Drogheda 250 game as well??

Spread it around would be my preferred approach. John and the lads did a good job with the first boards 200 game but its the SE game now and unless we are getting something for being loyal then why should a poker player or boards be loyal?? (I say this as someone who plays regularly in the SE but I'm not opposed to shopping around for value)

There is a lot of work involved in running a league so you need to have a system that reduces that work. The reason the BSOP fell down imho was people couldn't agree dates and times and weren't willing to get their priorties right!! :p I personally knew I couldn't give an open ended commitment and therefore declined to partake from the start, but I could see myself and others agreeing to partake in something as folllows.

Get a group of 20 to 30 people interested in a league and agree a schedule of 10 or so games on specific dates that would count towards the league but only have the best 5 count.

Games such as...

The SE monthly 200 game
    Nicks's VN game in Blessington or EOM game
    A few Fitz games, EOM or 500 game
    Jackpot Friday game or Tuesday game or a one of their bigger games
    GJP 250 monthly game
    If carfax has a few decent mid sized games over the period include them too.

(A few decent Macau games or Kerry games could be included as alterntives if there was any interest from there then something could be worked out)

Everyone entering puts in €100 at the start and as stated the best 5 performances count. Money is held by a trusted third party. You put a weighting on the results based on the number of entrants and the cash won. Only itm finishes count.

Say X number of points for your winning position (see proposed table below) multiplied by a money weighting factor as a proxy for field difficulty (something like 1st place prize money divided by €3k ) multiplied by a number of entrants factor (something like number of entrants divided by 50). Being the top boardster in the field doesn't come into it.

Proposed Points table

1st 12 pts
    2nd 8 pts
    3rd 6pts
    4th 4pts
    5th 3pts
    6th 2pts
    7th 2pts
    8th 1 pt
    9th 1pt

If you finish second and win 2500 in a 60 runner field in an agreed event (top prize is 4000 say) then you'd score

8 * (4,000/3,000) * (60/50) = 12.8 points

It's upto each player to keep track of their own results and their points.

We have a thread at the end where each participant says here are my top 5 results as posted in the 10 seperate individual event threads (over the three months) and my total points are Y calculated as follows and a points breakdown is calculated and shown.

If you haven't posted your result in the week following that particular event in the specific results thread then it hasn't been verified (because its not open to challenge) and it doesn't count.

If you don't post and calculate your own results than that's your problem and you don't make the stt.

If you calculate your results incorrectly in your favour then the guy beneath you in the table is an idiot for not checking your results.

If you make a mistake to your own deteriment then we'll call that stupidity tax.

Obviously there is an expectation that people will act with honour and fariness in respect of the league but it should all be fairly transparent in any event.

If a deal is done in a particular event it's the original 1st place prize money which counts for calcualting the money factor and if a headsup chop is done then its first and second place points divided by 2 for league purposes and so on for a three way chop etc.

Its important that all results of the games must be posted in the week following the game and verified by another poster.

In March (depending on the number of entrants) you have a 6 or 9 person stt for the prizepool with a starting stack of 5k but a graduated additional 5k between the top qualifer and the bottom qualifier. ie 1st would get 10k starting stack and 9th would get 5k. Top 3 spots paid.

Self dealt (or paid dealer depending on player agreement to take a few quid from the prizepool) 45minute blind levels in whatever casino will give us a free table for the night. Date of stt agreed by the participants in advance of the commncement of the league if you can't make it on the day tough cheese.

Side bets on final positions and outright winner etc. mandatory. ;)

Is this too complex? do you think its workable? Am I addressing all the issues which lead to the collapse of the BSOP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭JJP PokerMania

Some good ideas.

I do think that maybe every1 is trying to work out some very complex point scoring systems.

I run a league in all of my pub and hotel touries which has been very succesful and very easy to understand.

€100 is held back from each venue towards the league final. (regardless of how many runners).

The top 10 all earn chips towards the league final as follows.

1st 2500 chips
    2nd 2250
    3rd 2000
    4th 1750
    5th 1500
    6th 1250
    7th 1000
    8th 750
    9th 500
    10th 250

players need to earn a min of 2500 chips to qualify for the league final. All chips earned during the league carry forward towards the league final. i.e. Three wins and say a 3rd place would be a total of 9500 chips in the league final.

Just an idea.
    Jp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I think Olly's post is rather excellent and merits serious consideration (after a careful re - read!!). IMO tho, we should only include tournaments with excellent structures (not just large buy - ins). In this way we may get higher numbers playing better tournaments and hopefully it will send a clear message to the clubs of what players are looking for - bang for your buck.

In this way, stuff like the SE deepstack game, the Fitz €500, the Jackpot Friday game (wouldn't it be great if this took off?) should be included. Any tournament with less than a 7,000 starting stack and 30 min levels should not be included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

You could try a ranking system like the pro golfers use. Points for finishes, and more points for bigger events. Restrict it to events with a slow clock.

I want to keep this simple....lol

So how do we go about deciding which events are included and let people know well in advance about this, also we dont want to give the edge to the bigger buy-in events which is unfair to the smaller bankroll players.

Maybe we need to set-up a committe along with a players union to get this off the ground and improve the interests of players in general.

I think we need more feedback before agreeing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

You've put a lot of thought into it Oliver but I think you're gonna find its more trouble for you than its worth. Why don't you just ask for the final table names and keep a league of your own. forget about the tenner collection, it'll be a nightmare to gather.

I could be completely wrong but I don't think so, good luck with it , if you decide to try it. Personally my finances are too erratic and caught up with trying to get other things off the ground to commit to any poker action of any kind, especially for a year!

but I may well be wrong, I usually am.

;) d.

edit: I'd be interested to see who's hitting which final tables but I know some players don't like their names appearing with euro signs near them. Thats why the Fitz doesn't post the final table winners, poker players are a paranoid lot! (rightly so!) Also the club organisers can get very lazy very quickly about faxing or emailing the final table details to anyone.

2nd edit!
    I just voted no, not because I don't think its a good idea but because I think it'll be more trouble than its worth to you Ollie. But again, best of luck if you go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

I just voted no, not because I don't think its a good idea but because I think it'll be more trouble than its worth to you Ollie. But again, best of luck if you go for it!

I abstained. But I do agree with the Doc. Great idea in theory but in practice......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

If your looking for opinions i wouldnt be for it at all. Nothing wrong with doing it i just like to win things pretty instantly, not months away down the road. Thats just me though!. Probably why i never had an ante post bet in my life:D !.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

Why not arrange boards tourneys through out the 3/6 month period in various casinos. Can also include some mentioned above, a crucial factor here for numbers is the buy ins and the locations.

A thread for people to post if they are interested, locations they are willing travel to, and the buy ins within their budget would be a help to estimate the potential numbers - call it market research.