Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting a car over from the Continent

• 26-11-2006 10:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭

Just wondering about getting a car over from Germany or else where over there !
    I know i would have to go inspect the car but i wouldnt fancy the trip back if i was to drive,Just say i can get it shipped over here is there any hassle when it lands at our port ?
    Any help will be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭3ps

When yo say shipped do you man transported and ferried? I'm not sure actually.

If you are getting somebody else to just drive it then no. Just drive it home. If you are stopped you just show your ownership papers. Then pop off the VRT office within 1 day (yeah right!) and pay the VRT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dustpuppy

Not that fast.
    Best way is to get the papers first and insure the car here. Take ur number plate and drive it over.
    In Germany there is a hard version of the NCT and strict rules. U can't buy a car, sit in and drive it. If the one who sell u the car is agree and don't have a direct insurance, then u can. The problem is, that on the german number plate are two stamps, one is for NCT and the other one shows that the car is registered, what means that it is also insured. If u sell a car in Germany, u give the number plate to the office and then an official will scrap the stamps of. After this ur not allow anymore to keep the car on a road.
    If the seller is agree that u drive the car to here, then u have to send the plates to the german registration office to get them scratched. If u drive a german car without this stamps, everybody in europe (police, Garda) knows, that u have no insurance.
    I got my beetle over in the easy way. I registered it with the papers, pay my VRT, got an insurance and then fly over to pick it up.

how did you pay your VRT before you brought the car in????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

Dustpuppy wrote:
    Not that fast.
    Best way is to get the papers first and insure the car here. Take ur number plate and drive it over.

How would you get it registered here if the VRT people can't inspect the car?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

You can get insured on the euro plate no problem, just make sure that european driving is allowed.Dustpuppy, I can't see how you registered a car over here with papers only,unless of course it's brand new, and even then I'm not sure if the vrt office would register it without inspection, inspection usually being, 'ohh thats nice isn't it, where's the number'. I was refused when I went without my car. I'm not sure if the same rule applies for non classic cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭paul moore

Pay VRT without the car....i have tryed this,no go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭andreas_220D

dubtom wrote:
    I was refused when I went without my car. I'm not sure if the same rule applies for non classic cars.

Well, we own two classics, no one at the VRT left the office to inspect the car or the VIN.
    With the second car we even didn't bother to hide the fact that we didn't bring the car along. This was just fine for the officers as well.

We could have registered anything, a stolen tank with a faked VIN for example, nobody really cared about the pieces of metal we registered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Not sure about cars, but if you are buying a camper in Germany, the dealer can get you temporary registration plates & insurance for about 5 days from some Gov. dept. That gives enough cover to get the vehicle home to Ireland. Dealers charge about €200 to organize this but I have heard it is cheaper but they add their bit on top. It would be worth a phone call to some classic car dealer in Germany & enquire if he can organize this for a classic car. If you are buying privately, the owner may be familiar with this procedure.

T.

this is normal practice and is what was done for exporting my classic car. I got 14 days insurance. This allowed me some time to have the car inspected for my own Irish insurance and a few minor things fixed up.

Perhaps the question is... is there a difference between what I did, which is drive my car back and pay VRT.... and having a car transported back. If a car is on a transported is extra documentation required or is it more likely to be pulled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭PaulK_CCI

I transport cars regularly from Holland/Belgium/France/Germany to Ireland and you do not need any specific documentation. I tell my transport guys where to pick up the car, and they deliver it to Dublin docks or Rosslare harbour, whatever is most convenient. Generally I have the registration document sent up seperately via registered mail, just to be on the safe side, but I have never ever once experienced any difficulties with either customs or issues with the car.
    I have also driven loads of cars (as a matter of fact, just last weekend driven a 68 Mustang Fastback to these shores...) and generally it's possible to obtain a temporary license, combined with an insurance policy that allows you to drive the car through Europe for 14 days. I would also find that most insureres are willing to insure the car temporarily on the basis of the chassis number or foreign registration, just to get the car back to Ireland.

So it shouldnt be a major hassle to get a car back to Ireland. Feel free to contact me as I could assist in organising the car to be transported back to Ireland. Expect to pay between around 1000/1100 euro's to have the car ready to be picked up from the Dublin docks.

[IMG]http://home.planet.nl/~kante333/temp/DSCF_15_06 001.jpg[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://home.planet.nl/~kante333/temp/DSCF_15_06 002.jpg[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://home.planet.nl/~kante333/temp/DSCF_15_06 009.jpg[/IMG]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭corelon

Seems a bit steep i must say.. I can get a car shipped back for 500 euro ....Direct to Dublin port. from belgium and collection of car either in France Germany Holland or Belgium all included!!!!!

corelon wrote:
    Seems a bit steep i must say.. I can get a car shipped back for 500 euro ....Direct to Dublin port. from belgium and collection of car either in France Germany Holland or Belgium all included!!!!!

PM me the details, please !!!! I am seriously interested... as long as it's not container transport or transport on the back of a normal artic lorry!!!!!! as it's difficult to load and unload cars onto them.
    I am always on the lookout for cheaper transport, as currently this price is built into all the cars I offer, so any savings I can make on transport, means I can offer cars cheaper!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dustpuppy

I don't know, what's going on. I got a beetle in UK. The owner sended me the V5 and i was at the registration office, payed 50.- Euro VRT (for classic car), got my number and the irish papers. Then i get my number plates made, found a insurance company. That's all. After this i went over and picked up the car.
    Possible, that it is differend handeled in the countys, but in Wexford it's possible without showing anyone the car to get VRT.

Dustpuppy wrote:
    I don't know, what's going on. I got a beetle in UK. The owner sended me the V5 and i was at the registration office, payed 50.- Euro VRT (for classic car), got my number and the irish papers. Then i get my number plates made, found a insurance company. That's all. After this i went over and picked up the car.
    Possible, that it is differend handeled in the countys, but in Wexford it's possible without showing anyone the car to get VRT.

I have been reading from posts on the various forums, that VRO staff seem to come out less and less to physically examine the cars , but strictly speaking, and according to the law (if you read carefully all the info on the official Revenue site) the procedure is that you MUST present the vehicle at the VRO office, where a VRO officer will be inspecting the vehicle and chassis number before you can be issued with a registration number! Any time this doesn't happen is purely down to time restrictions and the whim of the VRO officer in my opinion.
    In all of the past 10 years that I have been registering cars in Ireland (in DunLaoghaire, Wicklow, Wexford, and Tallaght), I had never ever had a case where a VRO officer did NOT come out with me to inspect the vehicle and chassis number. The first time it happened to me that an officer didn't physically inspect the car, was only two months ago in Tallaght. So personally, I would never take the chance in going up to the VRO to register a vehicle without bringing the car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

PaulK_CCI wrote:
    I am always on the lookout for cheaper transport, as currently this price is built into all the cars I offer, so any savings I can make on transport, means I can offer cars cheaper!!

If you need a driver....:D ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭rrv8

Not had a problem at Sligo office with them inspecting the vehicle , when i payed the VRT on my Range Rover there was no question of seeing the vehicle , infact i didn't know until reading this forum they needed to see it.
    Only two weeks ago my brotherinlaw took all the details for my lorry into Sligo office and registered it for me , no lorry and different signature to mine , only problem was they wanted the milage on it and all he did was phone me for it , so it looks like different offices do it different ways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭qazz

paul moore wrote:
    Pay VRT without the car....i have tryed this,no go

I paid VRT for a Saxo (not classic :D ) and nobody wanted to see a car... they didn't even check my ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

qazz wrote:
    I paid VRT for a Saxo (not classic :D ) and nobody wanted to see a car... they didn't even check my ID.

Maybe because it was a Saxo :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭cxcully

The girl at the Customs House in Flood St. in Galway came out to the DS to have a look at the chassis no. Can't remember if she asked first if I had the car with me.I wouldn't take the chance.

corelon wrote:

sounds cheap :D I'm going to bring 78 Camaro from Poland to Ireland. I'm going to do it myself. Costs are:
    flight to Poland: 130 e (me and my wife)
    ferry (france-Ireland) 200 e
    petrol (2000+ km) let's say 600
    So we have about 930 e. So Paul's price seems to be fair enough.

That's the car :D
    http://camaro.busythumbs.com/entry_id/547774/action/viewentry/
    http://camaro.busythumbs.com/entry_id/547776/action/viewentry/
    http://camaro.busythumbs.com/entry_id/547780/action/viewentry/
    http://camaro.busythumbs.com/entry_id/547779/action/viewentry/

All that driving,how long would this trip take ? lets see if "corelon" gets back to us and lets me / us in on that € 500 deal,

qazz wrote:
    78 Camaro

Nice car,nice engine bay;)

paul moore wrote:
    All that driving,how long would this trip take ? lets see if "corelon" gets back to us and lets me / us in on that € 500 deal,

On september I drove from Ireland to Poland. So ferry from Rosslare to Cherbourg: 16-18 hours. Then motorway - France, Germany to Polish border: 15 h (120-180km/h). From border to my city: 12h (av. speed: 60 km/h!!! roads, roads...) All togrther about 2000 km. It took about 200 e for petrol - 1.7 engine.
    With Camaro I'm going to drive no more than 120 kmh (economy), but ther will be no rush. So about 2 days to Cherbourg and then 16-18h by ferry.

500 is a deal if it's possible of course. I'd like to know how...

paul moore wrote:
    Nice car,nice engine bay;)

Thanks. I'm waiting for that car one year :) Mileage is only 61k km from new. 2 owners, perfect condition!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Seriously shiny engine bay.

Enjoy the trip. Hope you get remove those t-bar roof bits at some stage. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭corelon

Cant expect me to say how i get my deal guys. Ive built up a great rapport with one of the larger shipping companies....Cant be giving out my trade secrets now could i??? But if i can help a non trader out no problem.. PM me

corelon wrote:
    Cant expect me to say how i get my deal guys. Ive built up a great rapport with one of the larger shipping companies....Cant be giving out my trade secrets now could i??? But if i can help a non trader out no problem.. PM me
    Sorry Corelon, but that's comes across as a bit odd to me. No one is asking you to give away your 'trade secrets', and fair play to you to keep your contacts close to your chest, but to 'exclude traders' seems a bit odd to me.
    If you have a great rapport with one of the larger shipping companies, I am sure they would be VERY pleased if you could get more business their way! I would have a genuine and serious need for transporting classic cars on a regular basis to Ireland....as a matter of fact, I collected one today, that would need to get to Dublin as soon as possible !!!!
    In view of the rather large price difference between what you claim you can transport cars for to Dublin, and how much it costs me, I would be more than happy to compensate you for the great deal you have with your shipping company, so I really don't see where the 'no trader' exclusion is coming from (was it something I said or did :confused::D ??? ), since it could work out for all parties involved: your contact gets more business, you can get a commission on the deal, I can get my cars to Dublin cheaper, the customer doesn't have to pay as much for transport, that's a win - win situation in my book....

Absolutely right Paul !!!