Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin traffic plan from Monday 27th November 2006

• 25-11-2006 7:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 721 ✭✭✭

ireland.com, 25th Nov 2006

The Operation Freeflow traffic management plan for Dublin will swing into force on Monday.

Traffic gardai will be backed by extra 163 student gardai from Templemore College in the Christmas and New Year initiative. Key areas such as Quality Bus Corridors, Luas junctions, major traffic junctions and Nitelink services will be targeted for special attention by officers.

Deputy Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy today briefed Garda members on the operation and promised that rigorous enforcement of the Road Traffic Act will be used to ensure that traffic disruption is be kept to a minimum for both users of both public and private transport.

Specialist Garda services being deployed include the Air Support Unit, the Garda Mountain Bike Unit, the Garda Regional Traffic Division, the Garda Mounted Unit and Garda Communications.

"Gardai on motorcycle, car and on foot patrol will also have specific duties to target and tackle any problems that may arise," Mr Murphy said. Further information is available www.freeflow.ie and on Live Drive 103.2 FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭markpb

Deputy Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy today [...] promised that rigorous enforcement of the Road Traffic Act will be used to ensure that traffic disruption is be kept to a minimum for both users of both public and private transport.

It's so confusing having laws that only come into play for one month a year ;)

It would be great if they could enforce the RTA for the rest of the year. Even just impounding cars that stop in clearways or drive in bus lanes would be a start :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭Chris_533976

What about the rest of the country lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

So... is it working? Today being the first day of the famed Operation Freeflow.

I got into work at exactly the same time, following my 40 minute bus journey from D9 to the city centre.

I have noticed that the traffic on Wexford/Camden/Georges st is very light compared to what it usually is..

Anyone else noticed an improvement? I was listening to people texting in traffic reports this morning, and most were saying 'Ah yeah, more Guards alright, but most of em are just walking around texting on their phones!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,327 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

noticed from the Dart today

Garda jeep parked on the Luas tracks at the bottom of Gardiner St. Good work, officers.

Operation Freeflow is a joke - loads of guards standing around at junctions either doing nothing, or directing traffic in exactly the same sequence as the traffic lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

What about the rest of the country lads :D
    Well the rest of the country will be in Dublin. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

Mondays are never that bad on my route (I'm still trying to figure out why) Tuesday's seem to always bring some turmoil.

Having the guard there this morning definitely made a particular junction easier to get through on the bus. People weren't breaking the yellow box rule and they didn't enter the bus lane too early which aided the bus to pass through quicker. On some mornings it can take up to 10mins to get through this junction.

All a welcome addition.
    A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

Operation Free Flow = Operation Stand Beside Traffic Lights

As usual, it took me 1 of your earth hours to get from Firhouse Road to the City Centre, on the ever-reliable, and impeccably clean 49 bus...

And all this festive fun can be yours for a mere snip of €1.55

Rock On!

Why the hell do they have this nonsense for one month as opposed to all the time? Isin't it called "traffic management" or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Ah yes - Operation Fúck Up - like Santa Claus it comes once a year! I know the traffic gets exceptionally mental at this time of year, but why can't a similar effort be put into monitoring/managing the traffic on a 365 day basis. And how experienced are those 'yellow packs' from Templemore going to be?

Wait and see, I suppose.............................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Why the hell do they have this nonsense for one month as opposed to all the time?
    Presumably because they utilise the trainee Gardai from Templemore College. If they used them all the time, they wouldn't be able to train them in other essential aspects of the syllabus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

My journey time hasn't changed much over yesterday and today. I travel from Clonsilla to Tallaght via the M50 and it was as typically a stop start journey as always.
    I was listening to the Last Word yesterday evening on the way home and there was a Garda Rep on the show talking about all the extra Gardaí on the M50 and how big a difference they were going to make. Funny thing is they must have been in camoyflage becuase the first one I saw was in Blanchardstown village where he was over riding the traffic lights as The Bell and causing chaos. :rolleyes: Again this morning not one to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

It bet all this morning on the m50 heading south at the toll booth.A guy driving a lleft hand drive car had to get out of his car to throw the money into the basket.He was then holding up other motorists.I know it's not his fault having to do this, but it holds up traffic also.Luckily I have easipass and it didn't hold me up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

kizzyr wrote:
    Funny thing is they must have been in camoyflage becuase the first one I saw was in Blanchardstown village where he was over riding the traffic lights as The Bell and causing chaos. :rolleyes: Again this morning not one to be seen.
    Apparently most gardai on the M50 are in unmarked vehicles.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

It actually takes longer to get out of Ballycullen/Firhouse and onto the M50 when operation go-slow kicks off :rolleyes: Then there's the gard at the top of Newtownpark Ave/N11 who stands with his back to the traffic. Cars are breaking the lights, doing u-turns, and going straight in the "right turn only" lane. What does he do? Fook all!!!!! Apparently there's a gard in Dundrum bollocking the drivers for not having their dipped lights on, fogs lights off and staying clear of yellow boxes. Nice one!

Have noticed more cars and vans being pulled over on the M50 and driving calming down as a result...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Dyflin wrote:
    Apparently there's a gard in Dundrum bollocking the drivers for not having their dipped lights on, fogs lights off and staying clear of yellow boxes. Nice one!
    Give that wo/man a medal. About bloody time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

Victor wrote:
    Apparently most gardai on the M50 are in unmarked vehicles.
    Fair enough if they are but why would traffic guards be in unmarked vehicles? What purpose would that serve? I also fail to understand what the free flow plan is supposed to do for the M50:confused: There are no traffic lights for them to direct traffic at, at peak times (which are getting longer and longer) the chance of speeding is pretty much non existant and there is no where for them to move the taffic to anyway. I really don't get the point of it.