Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I was asked to Fight tonight...should I have done it?

• 20-11-2006 4:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭

Hi All

I was asked to fight tonight at the last minute in the fairtex stadium in Pattaya.

Obviously someone dropped out, probably a foreign guy like me or got injured, and their looking to fill a slot. other fighter is thai, and they said "50% chance you win...no problem"..... well thats not hard to work out :rolleyes:

I though about it for about 30 secs, and the ego part of me, said, feck it go for it...what the worst that can happen...you get KO'ed and sure thats happened a few times over the years in sparring in the gym. Big deal you can handle it. It will be a great experience, and sometimes in at the deep end is a great way to go.

Then I re thought about it, and said "No".... I am not conditioned enough, if I am carrying flab, I am not in fighting shape...simple as that... train me better for another 4 - 5 months, and I will do it no problem, if the chance arises.

See these feckers would do anthing to make a few bucks, and your own corner would have money on against you. thats the way it happens out here. They are is a massive gampling/betting scene running on the back of Muay Thai... it would not suprise me in the least that some fights are fixed. Money is No 1 in Thailand...full stop!!!

I think I made the right decision, and when I go along to look at the fights tonight, my macho ego will be hurting, but ego never got a man too far! :)

My training is starting to come together nicely, so I will re evaluate in a few months, how I am progressing and see. Stamina needs to improve more. I am reading Ross Boxing Book, and working up to implement it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭DublinEvents

Good call there, mate. Better safe than sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Marty Mc

Well done Mill,

Right choice in my mind, no doubts about it. There would be nothing worse that being out there tired and no where to run taking punishment. Not that i dont think u are a capable Muay Thai fighter, infact your video's are impressive, just i think that it would be a lonely place out there if u were'nt ready mentally and physically. A choice best made i feel and when have time to prepare properly and step in ready u can look back and say u did your best with no regret.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Thanks for the positive feedback lads.

My MASSIVE EGO, was very tempted, however Ego shall be left at the door, and I will be very happy to watch tonight.

Someone wise told me EGO = Easing God Out !

More training, more conditioning, and there will be plenty of chances, in the future, if I want to do it then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

hate to spoil the health and safety mood in the camp Gerry... but i would have done it... f*8k it worse comes to worst you get something broke.... it heals in time and you be fine again... end of story

you have the rest of your life to say that you done something that only a few can claim to have done.... so what if you lose and someone makes a few quid on ya you come something more than money could have bought ya... you training a long time now so you should would have been grand

also on a side note is that ross boxing book on pdf or a paper book, was watching his stuff on youtube and god hes good...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Hey Gerry,

No better to place to test your training than in the ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Dylan Scally

I'm with the clint meister. I thought you are training the whole time over there. Better to fly like an eagle for a day. I'm just comming from the docters where they just sliced open my shin and drained a quarter of a pint of blood out of it which clotted after my last fight, would i change a thing? not a bloody chance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Probably only reason I did not to it, is I do not have the"wind" yet for 5 rounds going falt out as I dropped my running when I was down sick for the month with that fooking virus.

Anyway, just back, and I saw the Thai fighter. they managed to get some massive 6' 3 Canadian muscled fooker to step in from Fairtex. He knocked the Thai guy out in round 2, had him on the ropes, and jumping round house to the side of head/neck. Thai was stretchered out. he was about 30, and out of shape...poor fooker was only in the ring for a few quid I d say. Looking at it (I hate to speculate) but I think I would have done ok.

Anyway, I ain't going anywhere, and I am only doing 1 session a day, and have to get the running in now. (cannot make 2 sessions with work). So I ll build up and there will be plenty of opportunity next year for more! theres plenty of chances to get into ring on offer.

In meantime going to build up more and slowly implement the rossbox...

Mill,
    I know that this is off the beaten track abit from the original purpose of this thread but im interested in this ross box techniques but can not access it from my computer. I was wondering could u provide me with an overview of its benifits and could it be applied to kboxing for example. I like u need to work on my wind to be able do 5rds of sparring and since we have similar needs i was hoping u would shed some light.

Sure Marty....first off I am No fitness expert, theres people on here with 1000% better knowledge than I would have.

Here is the 'wind" running part of ross box in a nutshell.

Traditionally boxers ran long distances e.g. 7 miles each morning, usually a low run.

Ross says this is the Wrong approach for boxing, where rounds are 2 mins or 3 mins if pro.

He teaches you should run in a similar fashion to your boxing. as in interval training....run for 3 mins fast, 1 min rest, run 3 mins fast etc, so simulate boxing rounds, so if you fight 5 rounds, he says best to do 6 intervals.

He also teaches sprints...as in 100m x 10 times.

He gives lots of different routines you can use.

Also for weights, and general boxing training.

It says running long slow distances as traditionally done, is not optimal at all for boxing.

Its a good e books and worth buying, and studying. depending one your fitness, it might take a while as in a month or 2 to implement all he teaches. however one step at a time.

I think site is www.rossboxing.com

Thanks Gerry,

Nice insight and differant ideas to make running harder. Jezzeus i hate running!! Any thing to try and expell that feeling of wanting to drop after 3 rnds of hard full contact sparring and being able to think about combinations instead of how tired i am and wanting the rnd to be over. :eek: It would be a nice place to be, no doubt. Will definately have a wee gander at that ebook.
    Ps is it the'Never gymless workout' or 'Infinate intensity'?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Then I re thought about it, and said "No".... I am not conditioned enough, if I am carrying flab, I am not in fighting shape...simple as that... train me better for another 4 - 5 months, and I will do it no problem, if the chance arises.
    I think you answered your own question? Wise move.

this article sums the book up well..

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/ss11.htm

I like the longer runs myself, but not i have to slowly change to intervals.

Only problem is due to time limitations I have to run about 30 mins after a Thai boxing session in the morning. so its a challenge to get motivated when your wrecked after training hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

I'm with Paddy on this one Gerry. In there like swimwear. You never know, you might have been posting the 'just had my first win' thread. Anyway, they wouldn't have suggested it if you were going to get wiped. You must have at least stood a chance.

I'd say go for it the next time bro. Fly the flag, fighting irish, woot etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

I'm with Paddy on this one Gerry. In there like swimwear.

lol easier said than done!

example: so dave, fancy fighting MMA on the next ring of truth show Feb 17th? you can wear swimwear if you like haha

fight when you feel ready gerry.....or don't fight - sure its just a test of the self anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

example: so dave, fancy fighting MMA on the next ring of truth show Feb 17th? you can wear swimwear if you like haha
    He's serious Dave, about the swimwear too!

Anyway, they wouldn't have suggested it if you were going to get wiped. You must have at least stood a chance.

I'd say go for it the next time bro. Fly the flag, fighting irish, woot etc.

This is Thailand, the opportunity to make a few bucks, would take importance over a foreigner getting wiped in Muay Thai! LOL! :eek:

Our day will come! I haven't gone away you know! ;)

Plenty of chances round the corner in a few months, and we'll see then. :D

fight when you feel ready gerry.....or don't fight - sure its just a test of the self anyway

I think, when I can do my training session, for example 5 full out rounds with the pad man, and do so without "Huffing and Puffing" thats a good gauge of when I m up to scratch.

Right now I'm "Huff and Puffing", and dropping hands...thats ok... all that means is work harder, sports specific running, and give more time, and that will improve.

Yes certainly is test of self JK. Indeed I view my training as test of self too, getting out of bed and going there when you, don't feel like it, and pushing hard etc.

Anyway if I do fight next year, it will be a test of self. do it a few times and see.

However, I am very happy in general I train every day. at 35 its alot easier to take up more easier hobbies, to me its a way of life. and i just love it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Just on the OP, Gerry, if it didn't smell right, if you didn't feel right, then you probably wouldn't have performed as well as you could have. You're just back froma serious injury and theres no point in risking your health. Still though, hopefully you'll have a fight soon to show for all that great training you're doing.!

Its kind of amusing to me, the though of doing a full muay thai fight at 35, as a "beginner" when many lads my age, are shuffling about the golf course.

I think Benny "The Jet' Uriquez (sp) sister won some kickboxing title aged 50!
    I defo read that somewhere a few years back.

Theres hope yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

I'd love to John, but me and my novelty swimwear will be in Thailand by then. :D

Well drop down to Pattaya Dave if you got time, and I ll show you about the go go bars...eeerrr emmmmm I meant muay thai camps. LOL! :eek:

Gerry,

I attempted to look at that link for the book on 'Performance enhancing training in boxing' as directed but the link is old and no longer avilable. Was wondering can it be located by any other means because the only articles/book that can be located by yours truely is 'Never gymless workout' or 'Infinate intensity'?

My locational skills on the web leave alot to be desired and i would lv a wee read of this book to gain some insight into the Ross Box way of thinking.

http://www.rossboxing.com/

try that one... or you can link in from his sister site.. http://www.rosstraining.com/

Cheers

Gerry