Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racing Post's Search For a Tipster Competition

• 18-11-2006 10:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭

Are any of you guys entering this? Check it out on today's Racing Post splash screen: http://www.racingpost.co.uk/news/splash.sd

There is a catch though, it costs 5 GBP to enter, but for a top prize of 36 grand sterling I think it's worth a shot. You can pay via paypal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I guess I'm the only one from here who has entered this. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

I've entered aswell, but am yet to pay. Hopefully i'll get it sorted tomorrow.

Sweet. Let us know how you get on. I'll post my selections and progress here, you should too! By the looks of it I can't make a selection for Saturday until midnight tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

sjones wrote:
    Sweet. Let us know how you get on. I'll post my selections and progress here, you should too! By the looks of it I can't make a selection for Saturday until midnight tonight.

I was also thinking of giving this a go. Whats the closing date?

Sometime today I think Wayne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 DANDYLION

I have entered today. Looking forward to this. Makes a change from the Tote Ten to Follow which I've abandoned this time round.

I like the format of this new game.

So good luck, hope to see you in the 2nd round. :)

Cheers mate!
    After alot of hooing and haaaing I went with Jacks Craic. This was a tough decision because Faasel and Afsoun should run good races tomorrow as well. I probably was a bit premature with this because all of the data is not on the RP yet, but it is on irish-racing.com -> they expect Afsoun to be around 11/4 but I can see it being around evens. Faasel has a superb each way chance but I'm not sure if it has it in it to win, maybe it just needed the run last time out when it was well beaten by Noble Request and Crow Wood but it's not a risk I'm willing to take. If you take away Jacks Craic's last two runs it has brilliant form. In its last two runs things never went right for it, and it has won well around Newbury before. I just hope its fresh enough.

25/11 Nap Newbury, Race 3, Horse 1

Best of luck lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Viking Flagship

Signed up as well. Gone for Silver Sedge in 2.55 at Newcastle.

should have been 2.25 Newcastle

:confused: Ummm Noble Request in the Fighting Fifth (3.30 at Newc). Eeeee lots of ummming and arrrring and scratching of head...! And we have to do this for 5 consecutive days. Exciting tho.

Hate trying to work out what race number/horse number is...may be my downfall.

25/11 Nap Newbury, Race 5, Horse 2

Hehe, tis annoying that you have to go by race number and horse name alright.

So lads, if your first NAP doesn't win are you out? Or do ya still have a chance? It's ages since I read the rules and I'm about to head out for the night now.

Jonesy, as far as im aware you have to pick one a day til friday then the top (insert number here), are judged on their level stake profit for the week (for new people or the less informed, the profit from putting the same unit on every horse.) with the top (inserted number) going through to round 2, and everyone else who paid for week-1 get a chance to pay again and play again with a chance to qualify for round 2 the next week.

Sound as a bell Healio.

Grrrr, well Noble Request got second to Straw Bear. Some days I trully dislike Tony McCoy. It wasn't worth picking Straw Bear with a price at Evs.

Ok, so off to pick my nap for tomorrow. Good luck fellas...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 a.j.g.

Hey entered this competition but now can't get access to the site to select my tips. Could someone post the web address please....

Sure it's www.sfat.co.uk :)

My entry for tomorrow is Secret Pact in the 1.35 at Newbury.
    26/11 Nap Newbury, Race 3, Horse 2

Best of luck lads!

Leicester 1:25 - Kercabellec

Pablo Du Charmil 1.15 Fontwell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 wenzly

:mad: entered via splash screen now can't find how to enter my next nap?

wenzly wrote:
    :mad: entered via splash screen now can't find how to enter my next nap?

Go to http://www.sfat.co.uk and login. :)

I forgot to get my tip on before midnight. That's a good start! lol :o

Just missed out. finished 47th. top 40 go through.
    Gutted

Fair play to ya, 47th is a great result. You can pay another 5 sterling and enter the second round I think.

Unlucky viking, i managed to score an impressive five under par (-5), didnt make the cut though ;) . May i ask how many point you managed to get??

Healio wrote:
    Unlucky viking, i managed to score an impressive five under par (-5), didnt make the cut though ;) . May i ask how many point you managed to get??

He got 13.5, not too shabby at all! :)

sjones wrote:
    He got 13.5, not too shabby at all! :)

Well i am entered again, just wanted to see the sort of standard id need!!

Healio wrote:
    Well i am entered again, just wanted to see the sort of standard id need!!

Me too! hehe. I forgot to enter selections on two ocassions, better make sure I remember next time around!

My first 3 picks won, 13-2, evens and 8-1 but last two picks both finished second. Think it might be tough to get top twenty in next qualifying round but i'll give it another go