Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J1 Summer 07

• 17-11-2006 11:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭

(before people start losin the head i know theres other j1 threads)

Its that time of year again (early) just booked my flights this morning off to California on first of june cannnnt wait. Just wondering where everyone's off to this summer, have they got jobs etc..? wheres hot where not? Group of about 15 of us are flyin into LA but we aint sure where to after that yet really, San Diego sounds the balls but iv heard job hunting will be pretty tough so thinking maybe we'll head up to santa barbara..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 joe-mon

Hi
    Ya headin to california n 07 on the J1. Theres about 4 of us. We havent booked any thing yet but thinking bout headin to santa barbra, i hear jobs are handy to get there but accom. is very expensive. Where yee from any way??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭The Failed God

we're from cork (boi). Ya santa barbara is ment to be expensive in parts but thats only some areas, n lets face it cant be nearly as expensive as ireland.. Everyone seems to be heading to san diego it'll be a nightmare to get accom there i reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

You have no idea of the craic that awaits you....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Santa Barbara will be just as bad as San Diego. There will also be the 'we hate the irish' factor to fight against :/

understandably so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭The Failed God

WHy ye say so. I heard there were problems with some irish tenants few years back in Isla Vista but is there really that much anti-irish sentiment round there?

Ye seem to know the place ye have any recommendations,? what is the job scene like round Santa b I'd be hopin for a job in sumthing like construction,better pay plus im doin civil eng in college.what ye think r the odds?

Basically it's because the Irish go over in numbers and are drunken louts for the whole summer:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 daryllsheridan

spent a few days in vegas at the end of the summer in a hostel just of the strip and i was shocked at how many irish people were working in it! Half them didnt even have the J1 (the hostel wasnt that picky)

Seemed like they had a savage summer there! Unbeliveable weather (you'd probaly get sick of the heat though) and non-stop gambling and drinking! Its not that expensive if you know where to eat and drink! And if you have any bar experience (and are 21) u'll get bar work no probs! Depends what your looking for really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭nellocon

Hi
    Can anyone tell me how much money you would need to realistically go on a j1... I would love to go on a j1 this year but i think ill be a bit stapped for cash this summer...outside of flights and stuff what kinda bank roll wud we be talking..obviously accomodation will be the first expense...!

:) All I can say is, bank loan. I have been in debt solidly for the last 2 years but I'm still smiling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

For J1ers, I'd defo go to the west coast of the Us, as not as many Irish go there (most go to Boston or New York). For me no point in going somewhere new just to hang around with Irish for the summer. From my experience of California, San Diego would be the best place to go. San Fran is great too, albeit cold and with lots of weirdos. I went to Santa Clara on my J1, ended up working in a Great America them park, Piece of piss job, wages not great though. The following year I went back without a J1 tom LA, which was deadly (more to do with the sound heads i was there with than LA been class) Fav place was defo San Diego though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Fav place was defo San Diego though..
    Heading there with my friends next summer for J1!:)
    Any tips/suggestions..

Thanks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

(most go to Boston or New York).

Are you mad? Or has it just been an awful long time since you were on a J1?
    Everyone goes to the west coast. Its part of the influence the O.C and other such shows have had.
    Sangre wrote:
    Santa Barbara will be just as bad as San Diego. There will also be the 'we hate the irish' factor to fight against :/

Exactly.
    I was going to go to New York last year to avoid going where everyone else was going and I know a lot of people who spent the summer in SB who said that they may as well have just stayed in Ireland, at least they could of drank legally here.

California is most likely the worst option for a J1, unless you want to be around the people you know and love from Ireland. Not to mention the new difficulties in getting work and accomodation, the sheer volume of Irish there as well as some employers Anti-Irish sentiments make it a pain. The people I know who went couldn't find work (luckily they'd enough saved to get them through for the summer) and it took a fortnight to get accomodation, which was a few bunks in a room for a considerable amount per month. They had fun, with their friends from Ireland, but otherwise it seemed to be a waste of money.

The doormen there can spot fake Irish I.Ds and if you're caught with a fake American one you'll face quite a lot of trouble. Luckily for me next time I set foot in the US I'll be 21 :)

Alright Fast Mover. I supppose the main thing is be sure to go with sound heads. My 2 summers in California back in 2001 and 2002 were savage, all the lads were spot on both summers. San Diego is just a really cool chilled out place. The weather there is quality pretty much year round. It can be hard to get a job, but if you have the J1 and pull the finger out once you arrive you should be fine. Maybe look to leave staraight after exams so ye're some of the first J1ers to land (making it easier to get a job). Up in La I got 3 different jobs in 2002 with no J1.. Another great thing about San Diego is that its right on the border with Mexico. As Im sure your aware the legal age for drinking in the states is 21, but its 18 in Mexico. The nights out in Mexico are crazy! Tijuana is just over the border, but I preferred Roserito myself. Mexcan cops are bowsies though, so be cute enough down there. No harm to have 20 books in the sock when your down there in case you need to pay them off.. One of the clubs I was in down there had all sorts (Foam party, mechanical bull, Mini bungi jump, swimming pool and cheap booze) If you've time do a road trip up the coast on Route 101 aswell. Fookin deadly!

My 2 summers in California back in 2001 and 2002

Ah, that'd explain it.

Fair point Rb_ie. It's been 4/5 years since I was over there, so maybe the lie of the land has changed a bit since then. Still though I thought California was the dogs bollox :D and would still say it'd be a better summer than one in Boston or New York :p

Well, as you said yourself in an above post, theres no point going somewhere new just to hang out with Irish for the summer, and thats effectively what California has become. It'll die down in a few years I'd imagine, just like any passing phase.

Even from a financial P.O.V, California has had a massive influx of Irish students over the past few years so they'll charge more and more for accomodation, as well as everything else, though their minimum wage remains at $6.75 per hour(Just over €5) with the working week set at 40 hours (Irish is 35 irrc). Californian students/youths will have snapped up all the good jobs, so the Irish are left with horrible jobs paying the minimum and the employers extracting the maximum out of them as they can, so they'd earn a maximum of $270 per week (Just barely over €200). When rent and basics such as food,transport and bills are taken into account, noones going to be left with an awful lot.

Anyway, its the peoples choice and sure some have already booked their flights. Its just known to be a crap area to go to these days so hope noones money goes down the drain on what some/most people refered to as a "good enough" (and some were a lot worse :) ) trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

I supppose the main thing is be sure to go with sound heads.
    Sur they're all primary-school student teachers..course they're nice:). Seriously tho, I live/go to college with them all, they'r lovely, we all get on like a house on fire.
    San Diego is just a really cool chilled out place. The weather there is quality pretty much year round. It can be hard to get a job, but if you have the J1 and pull the finger out once you arrive you should be fine. Maybe look to leave staraight after exams so ye're some of the first J1ers to land (making it easier to get a job).
    Ya we're heading the start of June. I'l try and have a job sorted before i leave. Any advise on places/places to work?
    Another great thing about San Diego is that its right on the border with Mexico..18 in Mexico. The nights out in Mexico are crazy!
    ah thats brilliant, we're all varying in age(19-21)! Im well excited about Mexico already!:D
    One of the clubs I was in down there had all sorts (Foam party, mechanical bull, Mini bungi jump, swimming pool and cheap booze)
    AH fun galore it seems!!
    If you've time do a road trip up the coast on Route 101 aswell. Fookin deadly!
    Sounds cool. I know the last two weeks were gona travel round.

To be honest..I'v no problems going to place where there's Irish..Should be a good laugh..make alot new friends that u'd stay in contact with when u'd come back. We're also not looking to come back with money in our pockets..we just wana hav a laugh.