Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

James Bonds Poker Abilities [SPOILERS for the film!]

• 17-11-2006 1:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭

I saw this last nite, thought it was very good.

Any comments on Bonds poker tactics. I wont comment just yet as I dont want to give any spoilers. But all of ye go watch it so we can criticise/compliment "the best player in the service". :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Fizman wrote:
    I saw this last nite, thought it was very good.

Any comments on Bonds poker tactics. I wont comment just yet as I dont want to give any spoilers. But all of ye go watch it so we can criticise/compliment "the best player in the service". :D

I saw this too. I devoted half of tomorrows pokernews article to it. Bond is total luckbox!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

He's a frickn luckbox!!
    :D:D
    Really good film though,
    that other guy donked off his car and deserved losing it in fairness...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Use spoiler tags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

rb_ie wrote:
    Use spoiler tags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

That scene at the club, where yer man donked off his car, when he reached for the chequebook, I coulnt help meself, I blurted out, "you cant do that!!", people werent impressed ;)
    and
    yer man with the eye was a slowrolling fukker!! Quad jacks, sinks his shoulder then slowly turns them over, Id kill him. and his tell was a load of sh1t too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Yeh saw it last nite, was a bit disappointed with the scenes and I heard they got pro players to help them with it. But great film and the best bond file in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Brilliant Dead Parrot.
    In similar vein, I watched an episode of Hustle with gf and gf's family about 6 months ago which centred on a Texas Holdem scam - I spent most of the program screaming 'No thats rubbish, thats not how the game works' at the telly, til I was told to shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Worst Film Ever.yuck.

jbravado wrote:
    Worst Film Ever.yuck.

Any film that features Caterina Murino riding a white horse down a beach wearing a yellow string bikini is worth seeing, and could never be the worst movie ever.

bond_21_girls_byrne.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

apparently John Duthie was working with them for a week or two!

ocallagh wrote:
    apparently John Duthie was working with them for a week or two!

doing what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

James Bond
    is a slowrolling fúckface

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

NickyOD wrote:
    doing what?
    He was bougt in to help with the poker parts...

google John Duthie james bond and you should get all the info

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

James Bond
    him and his poker buddies displayed some of the most sickening acts of minraising and slowrolling I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

ocallagh wrote:
    He was bougt in to help with the poker parts...

google John Duthie james bond and you should get all the info

I think it was suppose to be him but he couldn't do it and Casper Berry the guy from poker night live helped them instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭RoadSweeper

quite a substancial buy in.
    no wonder why there was only big name players at it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

How much poker is in the film?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Jaysus,
    They'll be discussing the merrits of what types of gun and indeed battle tactics he was using in the Milatary forum next.
    Its a film-not real.
    Kippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

While I enjoyed most of the film Great is not a word i would ever use in describing it and it is far to long remeniscient of the 50 billion endings of Lord of the rings

As for the poker
    they are both Slow rolling Bollixs really 4 all ins on the river you cover them all with the nut Straight flush and you let them all show in turn

Although it did have my fav line from any Bond movie since No Mr bond ,I expect you to die
    Bond :Vodka Martini
    Bar man :Shaken or stirred ?
    Bond : Do i look like i give a fvck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

Did anybody else wonder how a senior member of staff of the "Queen's treasury" couldn't see the +EV in a $5M rebuy to a $10M game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

brianmc wrote:
    Did anybody else wonder how a senior member of staff of the "Queen's treasury" couldn't see the +EV in a $5M rebuy to a $10M game?
    She was actually working for le Chief at that point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Baldie

Did anyone notice:
    that when bond lost his hand to Le Chiffre, he was holding two spades (K, A I think), but when he showed his cards they were two hearts???!!!!!!
    What's going on there?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Brilliant Dead Parrot.
    In similar vein, I watched an episode of Hustle with gf and gf's family about 6 months ago which centred on a Texas Holdem scam - I spent most of the program screaming 'No thats rubbish, thats not how the game works' at the telly, til I was told to shut up.

yea i seen that. was really annoying.

the muppet with giving out his "fake tell", which is a facial twitch large enough that its on the richterscale.

i'd give the chick one though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Wonderful movie, great poker scenes, the whole package was the best movie I've seen in ages! Anyone who disagrees can never buy me a pint!

(actually, as a Fleming fan, I really thought Craig was great)

Bond Will Be Back!

do urself a huge favour and go out and see this, I'm going again this weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Really good flick, well worth going to see just for the parkour chase in Madagascar. As for his poker skills,
    Bond is a slowrolling luckbox and Le Chiffre is an Ace Rag merchant. And the Jap needs to learn how to get away from KQ sooted. Cant really blame the Mark Henry lookalike for shipping it with his 88 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

I was a great Bond film, nearly the best one, but Sean Connery, ohh Sean.........

The only disturbing thing is there was only 2 scenes of him coming out of the water in his speedos, the injustice of it all.