Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abusive neighbours

• 16-11-2006 5:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I apoligise in advance this will be long!

I live in a 1 bedroomed flat and have lived here for 2 years.My cousin lives across the hall from me with her 4 year old and 6 month old girls!There are 2 flats per floor except for the top floor which is a 3bed flat so it takes over the whole top floor! So the bedroom is over my flat- and the sitting room is over Cathys flat!Never had an ounce of trouble here.

Recently new people moved in to the flat above me- and EVERY NIGHT without fail they are having very loud sex-I mean screaming and roaring very loudly.When this started I ignored it but now its getting on my nerves.One night i put the TV up full blast to drown them out.The next day when i got back from work there was a note under my door from the people upstairs saying"Do you mind keeping your TV low I couldnt sleep cos of it last night"

So i slipped a note under her door telling them why I had it up so loud!I never heard nothing back so I assumed they was embarassed!

Then last weekend I was up about 11.30pm watching a film and they started off again.So once again turned up the telly-An hour later they were still at it!So i got the sweeping brush and banged it on the ceiling-And they stopped!

So i went to bed!

About an hour later I was woken by a knock on the door-It was Cathy! Turns out the sex session had moved over to above her flat and they were after waking her kids-She asked would I watch the kids while she went up to ask them to keep it down!She came back a few minutes later saying there was no answer!

About 5.30am that morning Cathys 6 month old woke up for a feed-As she was feeding her she heard a knock on the door-When she answered the man from upstairs was standing there!He started yelling at her sayin"Shut that ****ing brat up Im trying to sleep".Cathy told him to piss off and closed the door!

The next morning when she got up she found someone had empied bags of rubbish outside her front door!And that evening when she got back from town someone had spraypainted"BITCH"across her door!

And last night someone smeared dog s*** all over her door! We know its them upstairs-We have no proof but there hasnt been a bit of trouble since they arrived and now after an argument this stuff starts happening!

What can we do with no proof?

• Registered Users Posts: 78,258 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Go straight to the Garda about the harassment. Today.

Talk to your landlord and your local council about the noise.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

tbh you should have just let them have sex. It sounds to me as nothing bad is been done. I mean if you were having sex and enjoying it I am sure you would be loud to. I think it was approached wrong from the start. its reminds me of a friends episode with the brush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

well theres enjoying and theres loud :) My roommates girlfriends stay over all the time. They've never made enough noise to bother me. Tbh if there was "grunting" noises consistently in the middle of the night, I would say something. Its now at the stage of involving the guards though. Smearing dog ****, what kind of bollox does something like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

more to the point....if it is your neighbours what sort of whacko goes out and collects dog crap to begin with.This is a job for the guards and get on to the blower to your landlord pronto. Im sure hed have an issue with anyone bringing that sorta thing into a building....Id be very worried about that sorta thing.:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭mada999

jinx lennon has a song for this situation:::

get the guards!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,004 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Covert CCTV. Then Guards! Or else, record some good vocal porn and play it back continuously under their room(s). Earplugs for occupants of your flat of course!

[edit] Seriously, sounds like you have a nutter for a neighbour. How crazy do you think they will get? Speak to the Guards for advice at least before doing anything.

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,220 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Victor wrote:
    Go straight to the Garda about the harassment. Today.

Talk to your landlord and your local council about the noise.

Agree!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Do you have any brothers or a male friend who's quite big? while you're waiting for the Gardai to do something about it, you could always get a big guy to go and tell them to cop on, there's nothing like a bit of intimidation for getting what you're entitled to, and of course if they retaliate against it the person can just put them in their place. seems a bit extreme but that's what I'd do, they deserve it

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Dan banned for suggesting that violence is an answer.
    B

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

Ring your landlord I'm sure he/she will not be happy with that kind of behavior. Also notify the guards. They will definantly have a chat with the people up stairs and that might calm them down.

'
    dent wrote:
    Ring your landlord I'm sure he/she will not be happy with that kind of behavior. Also notify the guards. They will definantly have a chat with the people up stairs and that might calm them down.

We called the landlord and the police-The landlord checked out with everyone else in the building and no one else heard them having sex-Tho one said they heard my tv blaring so my landlord wasnt pleased with that(even after i told him why i had it up.

The guards said unless we catch them red handed nothing can be done as we have no proof

And i know people are entitled to enjoy sex but its bad when your waking babies up your so loud!!!'

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

If you can get a small hidden camera and hide it in the hallway, it's get all the evidence you need. Plus, maybe get a small handycam and make a video log of everything that happens (eg, when they're having sex, you can have video evidence of how loud they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭TheBlock

If you go with the handycam idea may I suggest that you try and plant it in their bedroom. That way if the landlord still wont do anything you may be able to raise some funds for moving out by auctioning on ebay.

I'll start with a €20 bid.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

TheBlock, unhelpful and off-topic posting will get you banned from this forum.
    Do take time to read the charter which contains the rules and abide by them.
    Have a nice day.
    Thaedydal

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Buy some earplugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

wyndham wrote:
    Buy some earplugs.
    For the babies as well ? :rolleyes:

Cretinous post tbh.

Im by no means an expert but i think you should maybe start keping a log of incidents as they happen...Im pretty sure thats a standard route to take...and when things like dog excrement is spread over your dorr just ring the guards...at very least your complaint will be logged.