Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Airport threat

• 15-11-2006 2:44am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/newsnight/default.stm

Watch the 'Special Investigation' and wait till he is asked about Dublin Airport. (This will be in the papers tomorrow for sure)

What a muppet although is this a genuine cause for concern? Is it time for us to take our heads out of the sand and realise we are at risk? Or is it just the usual garbage from these religious nut jobs? Only a couple of weeks back a US embassy report was seen by RTE news about Jihadists in the Republic and that they are active in financing and organising terror in this country (al-queda was among them). Are we foolishly lax in our security?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Thats not the first time I've heard muslims say that Ireland was potentially a target.
    We're definately at risk, our government certainly played their part in the war on Iraq. Though only a small part, they definately compromised Irelands "neutrality" by doing so and put us on the map as a potentially a target. Even though our people protested against letting the US use our airports, our government representatives felt it was fine to go against out wishes and should muslim extremists attack us, we're (or the unfortunate people who happen to be at the location at the time) the ones who'll pay should anything arise from it.

We are foolishly lax in our security, though a lot of these people entering the country are doing so on false documents. Its been known that they (muslim extremists, al-queda etc) are active in this country for quite a while also, yet it seems the government/gardaí are doing nothing about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭DublinEvents

Trust me, terrorizing non-Muslims is not a part of Islam. If it was, just imagine what would happen if the one billion Muslims in the world started doing this. There would be nothing but utter chaos and bloodshed. Islam tells us to be forbearing and stops Muslims from taking any aggressive action unless the non-Muslims have done so first. If you look at the golden age of Islam (the period in which Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) was alive), Muslims engaged in full-scale battles against numerically superior armies. They did not cause harm to the non-Muslims with covert cowardly attacks or acts of terrorism.

Islam tells us to be forbearing and stops Muslims from taking any aggressive action unless the non-Muslims have done so first.

Didn't they/we (non-muslims) though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Just heard this on the radio - apparently this gob****e mixed up Dublin and Shannon airport. He said US troops were passing through Dublin on their way to kill his brothers in Iraq, so therefore it must be a target. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭gucci

i always thought these "fundementalist leaders" were highley educated(ie bin laden etc) surely he would be able to distinguish between shannon and dublin??

I think he might have skipped the chapter on geography in "101 Ways to Terrorise The West".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Anyone have any reports from mates / news etc... if airport security has been stepped up, and if larger queues are expected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭gucci

tom dunne wrote:
    I think he might have skipped the chapter on geography in "101 Ways to Terrorise The West".

snigger snigger

he mustnt have seen those "you havent lived til you have experienced the west of ireland" ads on tv either...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Maybe saying Dublin ws'nt an error, after all which airport would you bomb? The national hub or a small through-transit point?

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

I would say his threats are just bull****

i am a muslim my self and i dont agree with anything these fanatics say they just want attention by saying this and the best way is to ignore

muslims in ireland most of them are very decent and educated I really dont see ireland as being a target.

thats my opinion

mike65 wrote:
    Maybe saying Dublin ws'nt an error, after all which airport would you bomb? The national hub or a small through-transit point?

Mike.
    And considering shannon airport is occupied by hundreds of US soldiers, which would be the easier one to target?

Pity if they do target Ireland, it'll be a civilian occupied area. If they targetted the Dail whilst FF were all in, I wouldn't bat an eyelid. They'd have brought it on themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

Ireland will never be targeted, some of the highest ranking money men and organisersof certain fundamentalist groups( won't say the name but you know who) are actually based in ireland, they have it easy here as with our supposed neutrality we leave them alone while they launder millions and millions, they won't do anything to endanger their leaders or their monetary hub.
    all this panic is just scaremongering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Well the Irish media have been trying to get them to target the airport for ages. I was always shocked that they brought the US soldiers up at every opportunity, it's like they where saying look lads we're in it to bomb us!

Shannon isn't some small hub either, it does allot of cargo and shipping disrupting that airport might not cause allot of casualties put would certainly disrupt world trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

would certainly disrupt world trade.

i dont think Shannon would have that big an impact, look at the World Trade Center, sure the airline industry suffered after that but we didnt fall into any depression

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Ireland will never be targeted, some of the highest ranking money men and organisersof certain fundamentalist groups( won't say the name but you know who) are actually based in ireland, they have it easy here as with our supposed neutrality we leave them alone while they launder millions and millions, they won't do anything to endanger their leaders or their monetary hub.
    And of course you can back this up? Cos I would imagine there are some people who would like to talk to you about these outrageous terrorism and money laundering activities you've obviously witnessed.

And you accuse others of scaremongering :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

Applying logic to this situation (a dangerous thing to do I know:D ) making Shannon a target would in many ways make more sense due to the US soldiers, prisoners being tranferred etc. There is also a lot of business that goes on there too of which standard passanger travel is only a tiny bit. However Dublin is a bigger news seller.
    Either way its all total insanity and the innocent are the ones that suffer as always and if Bali can be deemed a legitimate target because people from bad countries go on holiday there then why would Ireland be any safer. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

No it is Shannon they were talking about. Just that the idiot cleric mixed up his airports. Whatever transcripts they have show that the cleric describes the airport as the one which US troops travel through and thinks it is Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

Sounds like a load of arse to me. I think our history of resistance towards Britain would afford us some sort of empathy from other fundamentalist crazies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

We can't sit on the fence forever...

I think our history of resistance towards Britain would afford us some sort of empathy from other fundamentalist crazies.

Whats Irish/Britain history got to do with US troops passing though Shannon?

Mike.

The US troops are allied to the UK troops. There's been attacks on the Britain aswell as the US so I would assume they see them as one in the same.

But I don't why Islamic nut-jobs will think "hey, the Irish suffered for 800 years lets spare them" We are western Christains democrats who love money and buy oil from decadent Saudi princes (who the Islamic nut-jobs tend to despise).

Mike.

Exactly.

These nut-jobs just don't do logic and reason. We are all infidels to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

http://breakingnews.iol.ie/news/story.asp?j=201347670&p=zxy348376

Can we not have him extradicted or something for incitement to murder:confused: Would it be worth it..

mike65 wrote:
    But I don't why Islamic nut-jobs will think "hey, the Irish suffered for 800 years lets spare them" We are western Christains democrats who love money and buy oil from decadent Saudi princes (who the Islamic nut-jobs tend to despise).

Mike.

Ah, you're right there, Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Not taking this seriously at all.

I mean, think about it - if you were a leader of a terrorist group, and you want to highlight certain "targets", would you really broadcast this in sh*te English, or use your (and your groups') native language?(heard that crappy soundbite this morning, and had to laugh). And would you really broadcast this in an internet chat???

Do they really expect us to believe all this???

Savman wrote:
    And of course you can back this up? Cos I would imagine there are some people who would like to talk to you about these outrageous terrorism and money laundering activities you've obviously witnessed.

And you accuse others of scaremongering :rolleyes:
    well it has been all over the papers for the last two years, and the gardai were on today with pk early last year where they admitted they kept an eye on certain things but hadn't observed any wrongdoing, the Indo ran a story about Bin Ladens right hand money man living here, and i'm not scaremongering, i'm not saying they'll take over ireland or anything like that just that they won't jeopardize their "non combatant" people over here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

**** jihad. extremist bastard i dont sweat them, all i can say is just bring it bitch. btw(i just dislike terrorism i aint in any shape or form promoting racism)

kona wrote:
    **** jihad. extremist bastard i dont sweat them, all i can say is just bring it bitch. btw(i just dislike terrorism i aint in any shape or form promoting racism)
    No need to act all tough there big man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

**** jihad. extremist bastards. i dont sweat them, hope they attack, it may help the anti usa people to shut the fup up, and the government to get their fingers out, it would end the debate bout shannon airport too. maybe if we ask nicely they will bomb shell to sea and the corrib gas field

kona wrote:
    hope they attack,

Yes, lets all hope they bomb our biggest airport and kill loads of innocent civilians :confused:
    What a stupid comment.
    kona wrote:
    maybe if we ask nicely they will bomb shell to sea and the corrib gas field

I don't think it works that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Any chance they'll bomb a huge tunnel at the airport going to the city centre?

Might save us a few billion and around 10 years...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

They anger me so much they come here and moan and bitch about the great infidels and abou wanting to kill americans and all western culture etc yet if you did that in their homelands and bitched and moaned about them you would be killed for sure.:mad: :mad: :mad:

I saw this , it was on Newsnight on BBC2 last night.
    It wasnt the cleric that mentioned Dublin,it was someone who asked him on some irc type channel where he gives his lectures.

A few wannabe extremists wetting themselves in some irc channel on the internet tbh.

Don't they know the real fun is to be had on #boards.ie

I doubt the real terrorists would bother their árse with Dublin regardless of whats going on in shannon.They are more interested in Britain and the U.S.
    Killing innocent people in Ireland is not their style and too much of a PR risk.

That said,I think if ever there was an airport that they could penetrate,it would be an Irish one unfortunately.

Steyr wrote:
    They anger me so much they come here and moan and bitch about the great infidels and abou wanting to kill americans and all western culture etc yet if you did that in their homelands and bitched and moaned about them you would be killed for sure.:mad: :mad: :mad:
    Just imagine what would happen if a non-muslim blew up a mosque.
    Tristrame wrote:
    A few wannabe extremists wetting themselves in some irc channel on the internet tbh

I don't know whether we should just pass it off so easily tbh. Sure, in this case it happened to be in a Yahoo Chatroom (as far as I could tell, it had voice chat anyway) but I've also heard Islamic lecturers say that Ireland could indeed be a target, and I'd tend to believe these guys.

I think it'd be quite naive to say no, Ireland isn't under any threat of an attack. We've definately done our part in allying with the US and England and aiding their war on Iraq, sure we may have only played a small part and therefore be a small target which might be deemed pointless, then again maybe we're not. I'm not saying that we're definately going to be attacked, theres no way of telling, but I wouldn't be entirely surprised if we were.
    Tristrame wrote:
    doubt the real terrorists would bother their árse with Dublin regardless of whats going on in shannon.They are more interested in Britain and the U.S.
    Killing innocent people in Ireland is not their style and too much of a PR risk.

And we should just hope they don't target cellafield!

One things for sure, if I had been penetrating extremist websites/circles and gaining information, I sure as hell wouldn't appear on the BBC admitting to it and that I'd been forwarding the information to the police!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

rb_ie wrote:
    No need to act all tough there big man.

it is the internet. what would you expect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Attacking Ireland seems to be a good way of putting out the messege that no ally of America and UK no matter how small or insignificant is safe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

rb_ie wrote:
    Its been known that they (muslim extremists, al-queda etc) are active in this country for quite a while also, yet it seems the government/gardaí are doing nothing about it.

I doubt the gardai arent ''doing anything about it''.
    Iam sure and i hope that they are watching and watching to see what theyre up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Jaysus, will you stick to writing books on Fly Fishing J.R.Hartley, all the 'bejaysus begorrah sure they wouldn't touch little auld Ireland' muppetry won't be much of consolation when they're picking up bits of bodies in the arrivals lounge in Dublin airport someday soon.

Thanks to Bertie et al, our hands now have blood on them. It's an open secret that we're a pathetically soft-target.

But sure isn't being complacent all part of our national trait, bejaysus and begorrah.

i'll stick to the fact you stick to your romancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭oleras

rb_ie wrote:
    I think it'd be quite naive to say no, Ireland isn't under any threat of an attack. We've definately done our part in allying with the US and England and aiding their war on Iraq, sure we may have only played a small part and therefore be a small target which might be deemed pointless, then again maybe we're not. I'm not saying that we're definately going to be attacked, theres no way of telling, but I wouldn't be entirely surprised if we were.

Wow, you managed to cover all the bases on that one......