Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

report from Killarney 400 FO game(long post and **** play)

• 13-11-2006 11:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

Well where do I start.
    Quit possibly I made more mistake in this game than I have ever done in any one tournament.
    When I say mistakes I don’t mean bad reads or anything ,I mean mistakes.i mean making wrong decisions when you have the correct read.
    My reads where good apart from maybe one or two pots but by god I was making some awful plays.
    The only thing about it was I played a very good short stack game and came back from the dead on a few occasions.
    My starting table consist of me,a crap player,an ok player,Muso ,Connie,another bordster to connies left,a tight player,an ok player,and another borster to my direct right.

The game started with every one being pretty tight which is what I hoped for.
    I picked up a few small pots by just playing small bet poker post flop when no body wanted the pot.
    I raised a few times on the button just to see how limpers will react and how blinds will react and most times I either won pre flop or post flop.
    My first move case when blinds were 50/100 and I had 11K.
    One limper and I limp on the button with T3s .SB folds and BB makes it 300.
    Limper calls so I call as well.
    Flop comes Q 9 3 .BB checks ,limper checks and I bet 600.
    BB then makes it 1500 ,limper folds and put him on something like TT,or JJ or something like that and thought he didn’t like the Q.
    I made 4K and he showed KQ and folded.
    Few hands later and I keep rasing when its folded to me in LP and this hand I have A9 and I raise.its folded to Connie who calls my raise.
    Flop comes J xx and I have missed completely.
    Connie checks and I bet 600.
    Connie makes 2500.now knowing Connie I know he has a made hand but I get stupid and decide to get him off so I make it 5.5K .connie thinks for two seconds and pushes and I fold like a donkey.
    Connie shows KK.
    So im done to about 5K and get blinded away to 4K .i never play a hand until there is a raise to my from my direct right and I push with KQs.
    He calls and shows 99 and I get K on the river to double up.
    Just after the break and im on 7K and then comes my second big mistakes.
    I limp with Ajs UTG and folded to connie who makes it 1K(blinds 150/300 I think) .
    Every one folds and I call.
    Flop comes J high and I check and Connie bets 1K.now again I know Connie has got a hand that beats me but like a donkey I decide to shove it all in.i get called instantly and Connie has AA.i get a miracle J on the turn to double up to 14K.
    Then I get moved to a thougher table that has HlafBaked and Nicinic on it and couple of other ok players and one horrible player who is a complete aggressive more on(trust me he was worse than me).he is this English chap who I have played with a lot the night before.i doubled me up the night before no less than 4 times.
    The hands were I raise with KK EP,he reraises ,I go all in and he calls instantly with Ats .this happened twice where I got KK EP and raised and he reraised,I push and he calls with AT for a huge push.
    Another hand I raise EP with JJ and he calls,flop comes 89T and I push and he calls with 55.(he was English and he sucked)
    He was really bad .
    Anyways I limp UTG with KK and get raised by some one to 1.2K ,this English lad calls and I make it 5K.
    Original raiser folds but this focker calls and is on the button.
    Flop comes x x A .i check and he checks behind.
    On the turn I make a bet like a donkey which is the worse possible decision I could make .i bet half my stack and fold when he pushes.
    So im down to 5K again and then down to 2K when my steal attempt goes wrong.
    Then im on the SB with 2k and decide to push with anytwo.
    UTG limper and SB completes and I push.UTG pushes too and im HU .he turns over JJ and im hoping to have one over.
    I turn over the first card and it’s a K and turn over the second which is an A.
    I get two Ks on the flop to double up to 4.5K.
    The table is then broken and I get moved to another table.
    I then play some push bot poker and get up to 8K.
    Then I push with A8 on the SB after an LP limper and button limper.
    Button calls with KJ and my hand holds up and im up to 14K.
    Then the first hand after the break I get KK UTG and I raise to 3K .
    I get called by a guy called Gavin from Cork.i think he was the best player in the tourney by far and I was really impressed by his play even though he played hits hand bad.
    Anyway he calls and we see a raiibow flop which is J high.
    I bet 6K and he calls.
    Turn is another blank and I push for another 8K and Gavin makes a crying call and shows 99.my hand holds up and im up to 30K and laughing.
    Few hands later im on the BB with 86s .
    On LP limper and Gavin on the button limps as well.
    Flop comes A66 and I check knowing Gavin will bet as he was being very aggressive.
    The limper checks as well and Gav bets 2K .i makes it 8K and the limper pushes and its another 9K to me.i didn’t even think about it and I calle which I was really annoyed with.i should have folded as it was obvious the dude could only have AA or A6 here but I made the call and he had A6 and im down to 12 again.
    I bet blinded out to 8K again .
    I play some more ninja poker and get up to 14K .
    Then the guy to my right raises and I have AJ and flat call.
    Flop comes J high and he bets 8K and I push for another 4K .he calls and shows KQ and my hand holds up and im back on 29K.
    The this hand happens.
    With 13 left im UTG again and I make it 4K with AK .
    I have been raising a lot at this stage.Gavin the most aggro player on the table happens to be on the button with 45K stack and makes it 10K.
    I don’t even think about it at this stage and when the action gets back to me I shove it all in and gavin shoes me AA and call.
    I get a K on the flop to give me some hope but fail to get another one and that all she wrote.
    Had I won that pot I would have been up to 60K with 13left and who knows what could happen.
    All and all I hater my play but I played a good short stack game

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Sounds like you were never bored anyhow. Did no one ever tell you not to push with AK into AA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Nice report Gholi.That Jack on the turn was a sickener all right. It would have put me up to about 26k when the average was only 13k but instead I was left with 8k.My demise came just one lap later when with blinds 150-300, folded around to muso on the button, he calls,I make it up in the sb with 33 and BB makes it 1300 to go. Muso calls so now I call as well. Flop Kc-Jc-3d,I check to the raiser,he(aggressive young Cork player) checks and muso bets 2k.I call trying to tempt bb in as well but he folds. Turn is the Kh making my boat so I push all in hoping muso puts me on the flush draw. He announces he has to call as he has a big hand.I show 33 and he table KJ and thats the end of my tourney.
    The weekend in general was great.The standard in the club is improving all the time and by encouraging players of a high standard to come and play in our festival tournaments means our club players get to learn so much. And when these players come and enjoy themselves,it means not only have we done our job right, but they'll more than likely come back next time which is the key to improving standards.
    Gavin stevens from Cork won the main event with David Kearns(DavidK on boards) runner-up, while Sundays 150 f/o was won by Matt Dobbins(Lplate on boards) with Doctor Dave 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

i forgot to say thanks to Connie for a very well run game .
    it was great craic there like last time and i cant wait to go back.
    i knew Gaven would take this down as he was playing some calss poker and no one else on that table would come close to him IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Gholimoli wrote:
    i forgot to say thanks to Connie for a very well run game .
    it was great craic there like last time and i cant wait to go back.
    i knew Gaven would take this down as he was playing some calss poker and no one else on that table would come close to him IMO.

I would also like to thank Connie and all the staff who always make it such an enjoyable trip. I can't wait to go down again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,447 ✭✭✭califano

connie147 wrote:
    He announces he has to call as he has a big hand.

lol Sounds like muso had some remorse in putting you down. The sort of remorse one feels when bringing the old dog to the vet for the final time!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

You absolute card rack!!!! and you still make a balls of it. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Quick.. where is Gholimolli? Somebody appears to have hacked into his Boards.ie account and openly admitted to playing poorly in a card game. Can somebody please call Gholli and tell him of this occurence?? He needs to root out the villian imo. :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Yes indeed thanks again Connie for a great weekend of poker. I made good use of your chips for a while but eventually found myself struggling when we were down to 2 tables. The usual well timed moves kept me afloat for a while then came one of those hands. I'm on the button and see 66. Being shortstacked it's an easy push. The SB quickly calls and turns over AK. Out comes the flop AA3. I shout out "give me a 6" and the dealer duly obliges on the turn.

So that kept me going until we were down to 11 and then things really were difficult. I was on the table of 5 and we had the chip leader. He wasn't afriad to call big raises either so it was a very cagey time for me picking my moments getting away with it most of the time. At 11 and 10 left things seemed to go on forever with short stacks surviving constantly. Finally Keith (hard luck mate you played a stormer) went out in 10th and I was on the final table with the shortest stack (familiar territory for me).

With 8 paid Connie proposed 400 off 1st and 200 off 2nd for 9th place and everyone agreed (woohoo). So I could relax with €600 guaranteed. Even better we lost a player on one of the first hands TT taking out AQ if memory serves. Then a hand that beggars belief. Player in 2 seat raises, called by player on my left in seat 7. Flop K53. Seat 2 pushes, seat 7 calls. Seat 2 turns over AK, seat 7 7h5h (I kid you not) and the poker gods delivered a 7 on the river. Amazing.

Seat 2 crippled by this hand went out shortly afterwards and when Connie announced the last hand of the night and I was 2 places away from any more money I decided to hell with it and pushed with K9 UTG. 2 callers and I was gone, beaten by a flush. So 12 hours after play began totally drained I pocketed a nice 1k to make the weekend profitable (just) and all the more enjoyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Yeh another great tourney Connie one things for sure when you play in the Cue club your guaranteed the perfect structure.

As for the game its self I didn't play bad but certainly diddnt play well, but did make one of the worst plays i think i ever made. My first table included HlafBaked Gavin stevens and some of the best Kerry lads. The deck hit me for the first few levels and i had 22k by the first break. Gavin was moved early enough which suited me as I know gavins game fairly well and he knows i wont put up with it so inevitably whenever we play there's always a huge clash between us when we both end up with all our chips in the middle with marginals.

The hand that bothered me was level two against the english guy Gholi mentioned. At the time i hadn't played long enough with him to have an opinion of him. Later i would describe him as "brainless aggressive and a total call station to boot". I raised in early position to 350 with AKos blinds are 50/100 with two callers, flop kk9 english bets out 700 i make it 2k and get a call. turn is a blank he checks i bet 2.5k and get a call. Now my thinking is he has KQ Or KJ and I'm confident of getting the rest of his chips, when the river brings a 9 and i assume a chop. He checks and for some reason i will never understand i checked also, show my hand and he mucks. he either had A9 1010 jj or qq and would of called for the rest of his chips with any of the said hands, he was that bad. I knew it would come back to haunt me and it did.

Played ****e after the break and found my self down to 5.5k with about 16 left after loosing a race. i pushed on the button and got through, then pushed next hand blind got called by bb who had A2 i turned J7 and hit both on the flop. shortly after I find AA after english has made it 3k i make it 6.5 and push for my remaining 7k on a 974flop as i know he will call with absolutely anything, he duly obliges with 10J for the gutshot and misses. suddenly i over the average and fancying my chances when a small stack pushes next to me for 9k with QJ i call with JJ but the Queen arrives and shortly after lost a race to the english guy in a 26k pot so it was the residents bar in the dandyman for me at 2am.

Connie really runs a class show down there and i would recommend a visit to anyone for his next event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

HalfBaked wrote:
    I would also like to thank Connie and all the staff who always make it such an enjoyable trip. I can't wait to go down again. :)

Thanks peter, your comments are appreciated. We really enjoy having ye down here and hopefully our next big week-end of poker will be in the Spring and ye'll all be back.(you left your class hoodie after you but I'll take care of it :) )
    Connie