Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any site giving updates on the Betfair Asian Poker Tour

• 11-11-2006 2:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

What the title says

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

dont think anyone is covering it in complete depth, but id imagine the betfair forum would be your best bet.
    Im flying out in 6 hours and will have the laptop, so should be able to post some sort of report on how the Irish are getting on anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

nice one rob

as many reports as possible please

and best of luck to everyone going

think there is a great chance of an irish win with the lads going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

best of luck lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Yes, good luck all.

I know Rob and Mr. Masters are in this. Who else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Didnt the Celtic poker Tour send a few players to this?? Jesus, can you i agine if one of them made the big money. :eek: Doesn't bear thinking about...::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Updates are available http://www.betfairasianpokertour.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

„X President Bush and the first lady arrived in Singapore. We were discretely approached about allowing Mr President to compete in the Main Event. Unfortunately, due to the fact that he did not register prior to the 28th of October, we were unable to offer him a seat. Rules are rules.

taken from above link. lol

Greetings from Singapore, great place this, even better craic than you would imagine !!! lots of Irish over here, me, KP, Dave Masters, Dave O Callaghan, Halibut, Scott Gray, Flipper, Sideshow Bob to name a few.

Basically none of us are playing any poker !
    Well i just played a 300 game and went out in level 4, not bad after such a hard night, proper preparation will be done now though, as the main event starts tomorrow. (kps still in this 300 game doing ok)

My luggage just arrived about 5 mins ago, about 30 odd hours after me.
    Betfair are acting like jokers re the accomondation, we were all supposed to be in the mandarin, where the event is, me ,DOC and Masters were slapped in some kip about 40 minutes away, and expected to taxi it, after a stewards enquiry DOC and DM got moved to a place 5 mins away and im in with KP.
    But we are having to share , instead of having our own rooms.

Havent really slept yet, so might hit the bed for a bit now, tremendous place though i must say, well worth a visit, looks of interesting things to look at and check out.

Oh the main event starts at 1pm tomorrow, thats 5am Irish time, looks like about 470 entries now, more than expected, so over 2mill prize pool and plenty of dead money, i think its 1 hour levels, by no one really seems to know !! Theres only 1 day 1, so we will all be in action from the off, might be going 11 handed (eeek) for level 1 or so by the looks of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Good luck guys. One of you will win big.

Did you hear about 5Pin5's big win? Last Friday in the Fitz we swopped 1% in the Euro Millions Lottery. I won €9. So €0.09 to Mr O'Reilly. :D

Dinner break update from Singapore:

313 runners
    After 4.5 levels play, incredible 95 are gone and only 218 are left.
    36 are getting paid, (5,800 for 36st, 451k for 1st)

Dave O Callaghan - gone , very unlucky flush situation
    Dave Masters - gone
    KP - steady on 10k
    Flipper - back to 12k after being short
    Sideahow Bob - gone
    Me - steady on 11k ( a few maniacs giving donations on table, but no cards at all for me)
    Halibut - 30k

Playing 10 levels tonight, wont be any more than 70 left at that stage id guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Dinner break update from Singapore:

313 runners
    After 4.5 levels play, incredible 95 are gone and only 218 are left.
    36 are getting paid, (5,800 for 36st, 451k for 1st)

Dave O Callaghan - gone , very unlucky flush situation
    Dave Masters - gone
    KP - steady on 10k
    Flipper - back to 12k after being short
    Sideahow Bob - gone
    Me - steady on 11k ( a few maniacs giving donations on table, but no cards at all for me)
    Halibut - 30k

Playing 10 levels tonight, wont be any more than 70 left at that stage id guess.

Good luck Rob and Ken. A big cash is due for you both so I hope this is it.

P.S. I can't believe 95 players are gone sounds like plenty of dead money!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Well done lads keep the peckers up.

Tell Halibut to remember to not get bored!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

any idea how Scott Gray is doing?

KP here. Just gone. Absolute howler of a donkey play by me too.

Starting table included Scott Gray and "Triple D" Dave Dangerous Doyle. Played lots of pots first few levels, swiftly down to 5k after missing every board and getting raised off any pots I tried to steal.

Found a double-up when I got a fellow shortie all-in with my KK v his AK and then hovered between 8-10k for around 5 hours (as usual LOL).

Table broke midway through 150-300 (25 ante) level. New table has Bengt Sonnert, Richard Redmond and a few other decent players too. Finally got into the game though early in the next level (200/400/50). Fairly active English gent opened for 1,400 from MP. I smooth called in SB with KK. Flop 964r, checkity check. Turn K, checkity check. River A, I check, he bets (FINALLY!) 1,500 and i dwell-jam for 4,300 more so I'm up to 15k and change.

Two hands later I'm out. Ultra-aggro Scandie limps from UTG for 400. Like an idiot, I limp cut-off with AcQc. Button (who has RRed all-in for 12k with AJ and been playing 76o in position like it's 777) fires out a 3k raise that really looks like he doesn't want action. Scandie passes quickly. I dwell-jam for 15,400. Button has KK and 100 chips more than me. No help on the board for me and that's that.

edit: Rob just arrived back in room now. he's gone too :(

annoyed now, just gone in level 9, got up to 35k mid way through level 6 when i knocked out ben grundy, but a few disasters after that , running into aces in my last hand, out in about 110th out of 313 players.

Last i saw Scott Gray was short on 15k, Flipper on 37k and Dave Callaghan on 65k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

ul guys

Hard luck lads, try and enjoy the rest of the trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Unlucky lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Brendan Walls made the final table along with our friend Tony G.

Nice result, 2 major final tables in one year and he's still only new to live poker.

http://www.betfairasianpokertour.com/news_article.php?aid=44

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

Hey, for those of you that don't know, Marty finished 40th (outside the money), Dave Callaghan finished 25th (for $8,000ish) and I was 35th (for $5,800).

I felt physically sick after what I did to get knocked out. I was on the feature table and was sitting on the button. When the action came to me, I looked down at A9 and annonced raise. (I had about 50k at this stage and blinds at 3,000-6,000 and ante 300) What I didn't realise is that the player UTG had raised to 10,000 already. Of course, I was now obliged to mini-raise to 20,000. When the action came on him, he moved all in (of course i called for the rest of my chips getting 3/1) and turned over AQ. Of course, the best hand won and I was out. I felt absolutly horrible. I still do.

Dave had a SB/BB encounter. He raised all-in for 22,000 (i think) with AJ and the BB (big stack) called with A5. The 5 was the first card out.

On the upside, I just walked through the poker room for info on tomorrows Aussie Millions satellite and saw that there was 1 seat left in a $100 (12 man) Omaha Hi SNG. I played and won it without much hassle for $700.

Having a great time over here but the time difference leaves you feeling like you in limbo!

Just talking to Callaghan, he has had food poisoning and a fever all day and just wasnt able to play, he is really pissed off because he says he was playing smashing stuff yesterday, he won a few quid but says he feels dreadfully ill.

On the plus side Masters is after getting fourth in the monkey side event for an $8k payday.

result from todays $500 160 runner side event.

Rob Taylor 13th for $1100
    Dave Masters 4th for $8150

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

result from todays $500 160 runner side event.

Rob Taylor 13th for $1100
    Dave Masters 4th for $8150

WP lads, nice result

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

WP lads.

Who is halibut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭StraddleFor6

Who is halibut?[/QUOTE]

I really want to know too.

NickyOD wrote:
    WP lads.

Who is halibut?

if u read this update careful and other reports u should be able to work it out.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

dont know about halibut but OPer fungi has to be a relative of flipper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

http://www.betfairasianpokertour.com/news_article.php?aid=45

I told you guys that Mr Tony G was a good guy, fair play to him, I know he as loads of cash, but both of these were very kind gestures.

Brendan got a nice result too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭StraddleFor6

Yeah, I worked out who halibut is. I'm a genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

$451,700 – Tony Guoga
    $233,200 – Joshua Ang (Pang Leng)
    $116,600 – Lee Nelson
    $102,000 – Samuel Lehtonen
    $87,400 – Jeff Kimber
    $72,900 – Mark Whent
    $58,306 – Hans Vogl
    $43,700 – Hendrik Dahlgaard
    $29,200 – Brendan Walls
    $17,500 – Neil Yong
    bit of a top heavy structure isnt it? fair play to Tony G thats very generous, i heard yesterday that Barry Greinsten has done the same with half his WPT winnings. there really are some gentlemen out there, show jamie gold up big time.