Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brendan O'Carroll is in character as Mrs O'Brien on the Late Late

• 10-11-2006 10:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭

There is no God

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Probably a high-point in Late Late standards but yes.. utter shoite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

hold it right there, damien dempsey is destroying the Beatles' Norwegian wood :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Late Late plumbed new depths of awfulness tonight.

Westlife. Are they not dead yet?

Damien Dempsey butchering Norwegian Wood.

D'Unbelievables. Usual ****e from them.

Brendan O'Connor dressed as a transsexual.

Willie O'Dea. Part human. Part politican. Mostly ferret.

Kill me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

My ears bled listening to Damien Dempsey.

The whole thing was utter scutter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

i thought nial tobin was funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Kill me now.

why have someone kill you when all you have to do is not tune in

problem solved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Mossy Monk wrote:
    why have someone kill you when all you have to do is not tune in

problem solved
    Exactly.

I've never, ever found Brendan O'Carroll remotely funny. Whilst in drag or otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

i thought nial tobin was funny

Were Brendan O Carroll & Tobin ever funny?

I have my doubts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Possibly the worst LLS ever. Willie O'Dea was the best of a bad lot. The old man singing "Come down from the mountains" (or whatever it's called) - was he on drugs? It's sad that Tobin had to continually use the word "bollocks" to get a laugh. Brendan O'Carroll was as unfunny as usual.

Cork wrote:

I have my doubts.
    well i didn't mention brendan o'carroll so i'm not sure why you brought him up, and as for nial tobin, i find him funny but as humour is a personal thing and depends on each owns preferences i can see how people won't like him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

When were D'Unbelievables ever funny? And Brendan O'Carroll is just embarrassing, just saw the ad for that gash he has coming out, it looks HORRIBLE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Brendan O'Carroll was hilarious compard to his usual stuff which is always bad!... I like the comment that stated how he was an embarrassment...so true :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Anybody know when the LLS toy show is. I never watch LLS but always watch the Toy Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Possibly the worst LLS ever. Willie O'Dea was the best of a bad lot.

Jesus, the Late Late much be really falling apart when Willie O'Dea (of all people) was the best thing on it last night. :eek:

Kojak wrote:
    Jesus, the Late Late much be really falling apart when Willie O'Dea (of all people) was the best thing on it last night. :eek:
    Yup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

As bad as the guests were, the set looked really good, even if the acoustics were all over the place (in a bad way ;) )

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

tch,. I doubt anyone here dissing brendan would have the mental agility required to come up with '**** your blues away'

great song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Cork wrote:

I have my doubts.

Don't diss Toibin. Ever. He's done more funny stuff in 40 years than you'll manage in an eternity. On the other hand, i have to agree at how weak his performance was on the night; but look at what he had to deal with.

Kenny had a half story about him 'retiring' which he certainly isn't. He's not going to do arduous nationwide tours. And he set PK straight on this. And Dammit, the plank bloody says it again 'so we'll not see you perform again'...and Toibin back with 'I'M NOT RETIRING'...

to be honest, when you've a host in a chat show constantly obsessed by asking the next question instead of listening to the answer to the current one, you know the guest is on a hiding to nothing.

And as for PKs stance...jesus, if he'd leaned any more forward, he'd have been sitting on Niall Ts lap...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Brendan O' Carroll has been accosting us for many years on the LLS. Niall Tobin has been on it since it started. Pat Shortt has been on it more times in the past year than Pat I'd say.

It's a lazy show the guests mightn't always be great but as long as you haven't heard from them before or if they have something genuinely new or interesting to say you will listen. All of the guests on the last night where done to death at least five years ago. If you went out into the street you'd get 5 more interesting people than them.

I mean Willie O Dea FFS another continuation of the RTE love in with Fianna Fail politicians.
    The whole research team should be sacked it's not just Pat his facts are often wrong and thats not always his fault. Don't get me wrong he should go to. Replace him with someone like Ray D'Arcy. Young enough to be able to communicate with anyone under 55 without making an eejit of himself but mature enough to handle the big issues. (for those who don't belive that look at his anti drink driving campaign)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

Reganio 2 wrote:
    Anybody know when the LLS toy show is. I never watch LLS but always watch the Toy Show.

I think it's on the 1st December

deisemum wrote:
    I think it's on the 1st December
    Yes - (from RTE website)

THE LATE LATE TOY SHOW

Christmas is coming early as the biggest, most spectacular TV programme of the year, The Late Late Toy Show, takes place on Friday December 1st.

Once again it promises to be an action-packed show with the biggest names in showbiz and music side by side with the most talented and entertaining kids from all around the country.

And of course, not forgetting the toys... The Late Late Toy Show will feature the best, funniest, most sought after toys on the market this year as well as a host of spectacular surprises.

Don’t miss The Late Late Toy show, RTÉ One, Friday, December 1st, 9.30pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

OK Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Mordeth wrote:
    tch,. I doubt anyone here dissing brendan would have the mental agility required to come up with '**** your blues away'

great song
    Even the name puts me off....never mind the fact who wrote it. I'll leave it to the "Jumbo Breakfast Roll" brigade to buy that one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Jesus! the "Jumbo Breakfast Roll"! Who bought that? And are they still laughing at it after 100 listens?

It's crap like that that would make Ireland perfectly acceptable to appear on 'Eurotrash'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

I'm pretty sure I'm correct in saying that brendan o'carroll makes an appearence every single year on the late late. Maybe they put him in drag every other year hoping viewers won't notice its the same fookin guy all the bloody time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

dRNk SAnTA wrote:
    ..put him in drag every other year hoping viewers won't notice its the same fookin guy all the bloody time.
    He's hardly convincing in drag though..! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭StarryBud

The reason this worthless balding rat-faced squinty-eyed piece of excrement is on the Late Late each year is because he has another HILARIOUS Mrs O'Brien DVD to shill. And given that the intelligence of the average person on an Irish street is on a par with mud-dwelling amoeba, these DVDs are usually best-sellers. One year 'Mrs O'Brien Says Sh1te Repeatedly' or whatever it was called actually outsold the second series of The Office on DVD.

And if any of you miserable worthless humans who actually like him are reading this, be sure of how much I hate you. I think you're disgusting. My skin actually crawls just knowing that intellectual peons like you exist. You probably read the Irish Daily Mail because the Sun is too challenging for you. You probably ride around in a '06 car thinking it makes you look wealthy when in fact you're up to your ears in debt and you'll be the first in the dole line when the Irish economy turns south. You probably give out about 'that feckin' Bush' and yet you couldn't point out Iraq on a map. You uneducated asswipes.

I was going to write more, but I'm just too angry now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

StarryBud wrote:
    worthless balding rat-faced squinty-eyed piece of excrement

Priceless :). I doff my hat to you, sir. You've described him perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

StarryBud wrote:
    The reason this worthless balding rat-faced squinty-eyed piece of excrement is on the Late Late each year is because he has another HILARIOUS Mrs O'Brien DVD to shill. And given that the intelligence of the average person on an Irish street is on a par with mud-dwelling amoeba, these DVDs are usually best-sellers. One year 'Mrs O'Brien Says Sh1te Repeatedly' or whatever it was called actually outsold the second series of The Office on DVD.

And if any of you miserable worthless humans who actually like him are reading this, be sure of how much I hate you. I think you're disgusting. My skin actually crawls just knowing that intellectual peons like you exist. You probably read the Irish Daily Mail because the Sun is too challenging for you. You probably ride around in a '06 car thinking it makes you look wealthy when in fact you're up to your ears in debt and you'll be the first in the dole line when the Irish economy turns south. You probably give out about 'that feckin' Bush' and yet you couldn't point out Iraq on a map. You uneducated asswipes.

so just to be clear...you're *not* a fan then?

get off the fence StarryBud, tell us what you really feel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

StarryBud wrote:

Top rant there StarryBud, I feel the same way about people who like and buy the fookin Toll Trolls.

I once had a case of gonorrhea and bleeding piles at the same time and it was funnier than Brendan O'Carroll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Jesus! the "Jumbo Breakfast Roll"! Who bought that? And are they still laughing at it after 100 listens?

The same people who think Gift Grub is funny or Podge & Rodge saying hairyhole 1000 times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

StarryBud wrote:

Sure doesn't he have that wonderful dublin skanger humour bud!!