Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

duel core pc 2 gig of ram mad cheap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

€676 if you

1. click here

2. reduce warranty to 1 year collect , leave everything else

3. tell them you work for aib or boi if they ask (by ringing your mobile)

a very very very good price for that spec , a nice christmas pressie for anyone

Components
    Intel® Pentium® D 805 Dual Core Processor (2.66GHz, 533MHz, 2x1MB)
    Genuine Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005 (Incl Operating System Re-installation CD)
    MCE to Vista Premium Upgrade on: www.dellvistaupgrade.productorder.com before 03/31/07
    Collect & Return, 1 Year Service only
    Dell™ 19" Value Flat Panel (E197FP)
    2048MB Dual Channel DDR2 533MHz [2x1024] Memory
    160GB (7200rpm) Serial ATA Hard Drive with 8MB DataBurst™ cache
    16x DVD +/- RW Drive
    256MB nVidia® GeForce® 7300 Turbocache graphics card
    Accessories
    Integrated Audio with Dolby Digital 7.1 capability
    No Speakers
    Dell™ Black Entry Quietkey USB Keyboard - UK/Ire (QWERTY)
    Dell 2 Button USB Wheel Mouse - Black
    Internal 13-in-1 Media Card Reader
    No Modem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Fook me, that is a good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

will Vista work well on this?

very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

This may be a good deal but Dell's pricing on extras makes me laugh: Add a modem for just €33.76 extra !! I can get one for about €8 in PC World or Maplins. What about a 256 MB USB stick for just €78.77? No thanks, I'd rather get one here for €15 (including P+P)http://www.7dayshop.com/catalog/default.php?cat=6&type=6070&man=0&filterwords=&go=SEARCH&comp=&page=1&sort=3a

very tempted by this but I suppose you are probably better off getting a core duo as oppose to dual core.

Very smart of dell offering the free upgrade to Vista when it launches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Very nice price for what you get
    don't think i could servive with only two standard pci slots though
    anyone else have issues with upgrading and lack of pci slot on new machines

yeah but a lot of people want a system for christmas for the kids/family

thats a perfectly good recommendation because it has all they need as standard and if they order now they will have it for christmas. Other than a feckin modem for country people with no BB what else would a home user need thats not built in .

I would not recommend it to a gamer in case he laughed at me and kicked my dog too :D

how do you know there is only 2 pci slots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭irishproduce

The one I bought from them 3 weeks ago has the following specs, I am interested to know would it run with Vista installed??:

Components
    Intel® Pentium® D 945 Dual Core Processor (3.40GHz, 800MHz, 2x2MB)
    Genuine Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005 (Incl Operating System Re-installation CD)

Dell™ Wide Aspect 20" 2007wfp Ultrasharp Flat Screen
    2048MB Dual Channel DDR2 533MHz [2x1024] Memory
    320 (2X160GB) (7200rpm) Serial ATA Hard Drive- Dual HDD Config-Raid 0 Stripe
    16x DVD +/- RW Drive
    nVidia GeForce 7900GD Graphocs Card
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music Card

Internal 13-in-1 Media Card Reader

Thats the main stuff anyway, would that work with Vista??

yes, lots of memory ( 1gb + ) is the key

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

dubmick wrote:
    very tempted by this but I suppose you are probably better off getting a core duo as oppose to dual core.

Very smart of dell offering the free upgrade to Vista when it launches.
    microsoft are offering them thorugh all oems on machines sold after 26th of october

its up to the oem how to implement it,
    dell are obviouisly using it to push sales in the run up to christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Mine was bought *before* the 26th Ocotber so I wont be getting it. Ah well:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 the_porn_baby

Can any of the components be removed to lower the price?
    Have a decent enough monitor as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Great value. Ordered 5 this morning through EPP.:D

Can any of the components be removed to lower the price?
    Have a decent enough monitor as it is.
    Not online. You'll need to ring sales and order it that way. Tell them you don't want the monitor.

good luck with that!
    sales lad would have his balls cut off if he sold you the lowest price machine at an even lower price.
    he'll spend an hour trying to talk you into UPGRADING before giving up and "losing" your order

you would have no problem selling a 19" Dell LCD for a good price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

dubmick wrote:
    how do you know there is only 2 pci slots?

I checked the manual and saw it somewhere on the dell site
    PCI Express x16 (1),
    PCI (2), PCI Express x1 (1)

The specs of the machine are good and I'm not knocking it, it's just I have a two year old computer with 5 PCI cards I use and don't want to loose the ability to use them

All new boards are moving to PCI Express so it's difficult to get more than three PCI slots but Creative and other companies don't seem to be making PCI Express devices(other than graphics cards), just frustrating. Maybe I'll just get a second pc one of these days, I'll have a kilowatt of computing power to heat my room ;)

subway wrote:
    good luck with that!
    sales lad would have his balls cut off if he sold you the lowest price machine at an even lower price.
    he'll spend an hour trying to talk you into UPGRADING before giving up and "losing" your order
    I've done it loads of times.

kaizersoze wrote:
    I've done it loads of times.
    on the bottom of the ladder machines / special offers?
    did they try and upsell you at all?

subway wrote:
    on the bottom of the ladder machines / special offers?
    did they try and upsell you at all?
    Never bothered on the low end stuff but on the mid to high end, no problem. Including special offers. I deal with them a good bit though so maybe that makes things different.

so whats the difference between a pci slot and a PCI Express slot?

Jaysus, it's hard to keep up with PC's these days.

they are very different unlike say a PCI vs PCI-X slot which are not that different :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,367 ✭✭✭ongarite

dubmick wrote:
    so whats the difference between a pci slot and a PCI Express slot?

Jaysus, it's hard to keep up with PC's these days.

PCI Express is the replacement for AGP slot for graphics cards.

if your dealing with them a good bit then i guess your at least on an small businness account.
    if you have one of thos with a few purchases theyll likely accomodate you for most requests

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭dave101

i really bought this to resell the 19inch to a guy i know looking for one for 2 ton..
    anyone out side dublin ,thats 2 hundred euro lol.
    450 approx for a nice unit with 2gig of welly -ddr ram..
    im happy with it anyways

subway wrote:
    if your dealing with them a good bit then i guess your at least on an small businness account.
    if you have one of thos with a few purchases theyll likely accomodate you for most requests
    Nope. Just a standard account but maybe the volume of purchases helps a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

Is there a problem usingt the EPP?

iggy wrote:
    Is there a problem usingt the EPP?
    No. Just put down that you're an employee of BoI or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Sharp

How does this deal compare speed wise to

This

I know I'd have to buy a monitor for say 200.

try

System: INTEL Core 2 Duo 1,86Ghz
    E6300 FSB1066 S.775 2MB
    Equipment:
    - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6300 1,86Ghz FSB 1066 S.775 2x2MB: € 0.00
    - ASROCK 775DUAL-VSTA (PCIe- AGP8x-SATA-I): € 0.00
    - PCI-e 256MB NVidia GeForce 6200 TV-out & DVI: € 0.00
    - IDE 80 GB -7200rpm-2 MB Cache inside the System: € 0.00
    - 256MB DDR-II RAM G-Skill CL4 533MHz
    - DDR-II upgrade from 256MB to 1024MB TRANSCEN PC667: € 79.90
    - DDR-II RAM 1024MB TRANSCEN PC667: € 99.90
    - DVD-Drive IDE Samsung 16x/52x SH-D162C/BEWE (CaseColor): € 0.00
    - Ankermann Tower 6x USB 2.0
    - Intel CPU cooler
    - 400W BESTPOWER SuperSilent-Temp Controled: € 7.00
    - Realtek ALC888 8 channel audio
    - 10/100 Ethernet LAN

for comparison sake, if dell breaks down in year one they collect it, if ankermann do you post it to them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭dave101

iggy glad you got in while it lasted .. thumbs up all round to this deal i think..
    i was going to try build somthing.
    would be too costly on the same or simalar specs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

where do i sign up for rpp and get back to that offer?

Placebo wrote:
    where do i sign up for rpp and get back to that offer?
    Here is the offer on the epp site: http://configure.euro.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?b=&c=ie&cs=ieepp1&l=en&oc=D11E06&rbc=D11E06&s=dhs&sbc=iedhsftdppdesktop3
    Reduce the warranty to 1year collect & return to get the price down to €675.

If you already have an account with Dell (purchased from them before) then during checkout you'll see a space to enter the company name. Just put in AIB Bank or similar.
    If you don't have an account then you'll have to register during checkout and enter the company name then.
    The direct link to the epp site is www.dell.ie/epp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭heggie

hows the gfx card on that, is the ati 1300 worth the extra 35 euro? i've completely lost touch with gfx cards :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

careful lads..

its not THAT great of a deal.. it's mainly to do with the monitor..

The graphics card isnt that great..

2 gigs is for vista only, won't make much of a diff for regular things..

And the 805 is the slowest dual core chip..

Jonny7 wrote:
    careful lads..

its not THAT great of a deal.. it's mainly to do with the monitor..

The graphics card isnt that great..

2 gigs is for vista only, won't make much of a diff for regular things..

And the 805 is the slowest dual core chip..
    As said earlier in the thread, it's not a machine for the serious gamer. It is however a bargain for the everyday user. Agreed it is the fastest dual core chip available but for that money any flavour of dual core is a bonus.
    If you want to go higher up the dual core ladder then be prepared to spend a good bit more. You can never have enough ram and it's no harm to be ready for Vista as it comes with the free upgrade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

heggie wrote:
    hows the gfx card on that, is the ati 1300 worth the extra 35 euro? i've completely lost touch with gfx cards :o

It's crap is you want to play games. For every other use they're both fine, although again if you to play games the X1300 is not worth any extra for the simple reason that it's belongs in the same low end class, for gaming you'd want to at least look at a 7300GT for decent casual gaming, a 7600GT for frequent gaming and of course anything higher then that in the 7800/79xx/X180/X19xx for either high res or just plain dedicated gaming.

The Pentium D isn't that great for gaming though at all, especially this one at the slow clock speed. A decent Pentium 4 would actually out perform this at singlethread games, which are most of current releases. Still though, it would be fine for gaming here and there of course, even with the stock 7300 if you didn't mind low settings.

Good offer though for the machine with 2gigs of ram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Anybody know how long this offer lasts for?

Alter-Ego wrote:
    Anybody know how long this offer lasts for?
    Most of the discount offers on it run out in 2 days so the price will probably go up after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Sharp

Seen this in next weeks RTE Guide (included blurb)

AMD® Athlon™ 64 Processor 3800+
    OPERATING SYSTEM Genuine Windows® XP Home ion (Incl Operating System Re-installation CD)
    VISTA UPGRADE YES Vista Upgrade
    SUPPORT SERVICES Collect & Return, 1 Year Service only
    MONITOR Dell™ 19" Value Flat Panel (E197FP)
    MEMORY 512MB Dual Channel DDR2 533MHz [2x256] Memory
    HARD DRIVE 80GB (7200rpm) Serial ATA Hard Drive with 8MB DataBurst™ cache
    OPTICAL DRIVE(S) 16x DVD +/- RW Drive
    GRAPHICS CARD 128MB ATI® Radeon® X1300 PCI Express graphics card

E-Value code: NPIIE5-D11C17 Wont work till Sat. for €449

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Obelisk29

Sharp wrote:

OPERATING SYSTEM Genuine Windows® XP Home ion (Incl Operating System Re-installation CD)

Think you'll find that this is a mistake unfortunately.

My in-house friendly dell rep tells me that it's actually €679. It may come down a bit tomorrow (promos run from thursday to wednesday) but by 50 bucks max.

If you check the dell.co.uk website the same C521 is £449. Apparently the STG figure was included in the adds by mistake.

And before everyone bangs on about ringing up the Office of Consumer Affairs about misleading advertising, check Dells small print (magnifying glass required) about E&OE, changes without notice etc.

My friend says he's had loads of calls about this particular cock-up.

Pity, for that price I'd buy a few meself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Just wanna thank the OP for this. Wasn't looking for a new pc, but was fed up getting calls off the brother in laws father to look at his PC told him about this and that it would cost him 750.

Went into work, called my local friendly rep, gave me the system for just over 600, decided I couldnt go far wrong so ordered 2. Took delivery today, yoinked out a stick of RAM from his machine. Giving me a 3 gig machine for aprox 460. Not too bad.

[edit] But WTF I brought down my old PC to take out my 80gb HD and DVD burner to add to the system, NO IDE slots, bar a floppy one, I assume I can get an IDE connection to receive an SATA connection via some sort of adapter?

Cheers Again, my first ever "store" bought pc I've been building up to now. Was worth it for the monitor alone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

best hope he doesnt come onto boards after that admission, prob best to stay away from xmas dinner at the inlaws just in case!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Sharp wrote:

PROCESSOR AMD® Athlon™ 64 Processor 3800+ edit
    OPERATING SYSTEM Genuine Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005 (Incl Operating System Re-installation CD) edit
    VISTA UPGRADE No Vista Upgrade edit
    SUPPORT SERVICES Collect & Return, 1 Year Service only edit
    MONITOR Dell™ 19" Value Flat Panel (E197FP) edit
    MEMORY 512MB Dual Channel DDR2 533MHz [2x256] Memory edit
    HARD DRIVE 80GB (7200rpm) Serial ATA Hard Drive with 8MB DataBurst™ cache edit
    OPTICAL DRIVE(S) 16x DVD +/- RW Drive edit
    GRAPHICS CARD 128MB ATI® Radeon® X1300 PCI Express graphics card edit

€605
    Includes VAT & Shipping