Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Street fighting

• 08-11-2006 3:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭

could someone clear this up for me please.

I heard a while ago that if you are a part of a boxing club, or any other defence clubs like the Martial Arts, and you are found fist fighting on the street you will be thrown out of the club and not allowed to join any other club. On paper that is fair enough, it is very wrong to practise an art like one of those only to kick the living daylights out of someone. However if somebody starts a fight with you, what are you supposed to do? stand there and take it, tell them that violence isn't the answer? run away? I mean aren't there any loop holes to the rule? if it exists that is.

I used to practise Shotokan karate. I quit because of a clash with a job. I am not a violent person, but I would not like to think that if some knackers started on me, and I fought back, that I would been seen as being in the wrong, and would be kicked out of the school. Does anyone agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

Marts wrote:
    could someone clear this up for me please.

I heard a while ago that if you are a part of a boxing club, or any other defence clubs like the Martial Arts, and you are found fist fighting on the street you will be thrown out of the club and not allowed to join any other club. On paper that is fair enough, it is very wrong to practise an art like one of those only to kick the living daylights out of someone. However if somebody starts a fight with you, what are you supposed to do? stand there and take it, tell them that violence isn't the answer? run away? I mean aren't there any loop holes to the rule? if it exists that is.

I used to practise Shotokan karate. I quit because of a clash with a job. I am not a violent person, but I would not like to think that if some knackers started on me, and I fought back, that I would been seen as being in the wrong, and would be kicked out of the school. Does anyone agree?
    If your defending yourself then fine! Sure thats what is for!!

But if I heard that a MA trained person was using that skill to start fights and hurt people without cause. Then I would agree that person should not be allowed train anymore!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭stooge

When I was younger a mate of mine (who practiced some sort of MA I cant remember and was very good at it) was jumped by 3/4 people near his home one night. From what he said to me he acted purely in self defence but managed to break one of the guy's nose and fracture another fellas arm. He was brought up in court for using MA and for causing ABH. Got off with a warning but was kicked out of his club.

About a year later, a teammate of ours in a local soccer team was jumped by a gang in the same town, had his neck broken and is in a wheelchair for the rest of his life. his didnt practice any MA

My advice..use it as much as you can in self defense. If you hurt someone then deal with the consequences later.You might get chucked out of a club but its better than receiving a beating

stooge wrote:
    When I was younger a mate of mine (who practiced some sort of MA I cant remember and was very good at it) was jumped by 3/4 people near his home one night. From what he said to me he acted purely in self defence but managed to break one of the guy's nose and fracture another fellas arm. He was brought up in court for using MA and for causing ABH. Got off with a warning but was kicked out of his club.

About a year later, a teammate of ours in a local soccer team was jumped by a gang in the same town, had his neck broken and is in a wheelchair for the rest of his life. his didnt practice any MA

My advice..use it as much as you can in self defense. If you hurt someone then deal with the consequences later.You might get chucked out of a club but its better than receiving a beating
    Without knowing the full details of your friends situation it sounds like he was right and his club was wrong!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

it's on the very rare occation I get hopped, which is a little surprising considiring the ammount of walking I do on my own, and considiring the calibur of knackers in my town. When walking home from work I try to make sure I am not alone, or that I get a lift, as I have a nasty habit of p*ssing off all the knackers who come into the offie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

If you are attacked you should have every right to use whatever skills you have to defend yourself-i would not hesitate to use my boxing and mma training on an attacker-knock them out-next time they might think before starting on some poor fella..:D

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

if you cannot walk, talk your way out of it, calm them down, or run like fook!

Then me personally I would whack them for sure. but just enough to stun them and make my escape.

for example, someone punched me in a night club last year, I ducked, and whacked them back, so they ended up in a daze on the ground. Owner of club and bouncers knew me, and I explained he started calling me a "cluchie bollox" for no reason and then threw a hay maker. luckily I had witnesses, so he was thrown out, and I got to stay.

found out later this thug consider himself to be a hardman, he was 40....not a kid like, and liked to pick fight with people he though was weaker and he could beat up to get his rocks off.

I guess now, we will think twice when he decides to start on some poor innocent, cause I hit him some whack right on the jaw! LOL! sent him flying into a heap in the corner! good enough for him, and it was all within the law, I think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

It’s the same old ****.
    Burglar breaks into house, slips while trying to rob the gaff.
    Sues the owners.
    Wins the case.

Unsurprisingly, stuff like that happens all the time.
    I believe if a person is attacked and out numbered, he or she is well within their rights to use any force necessary to escape from said attack.

Here's a little phrase "I was in fear of my life!"

But you must keep aware of the situation so that you can end the altercation either with words, physical reaction or flight!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

Marts wrote:
    I heard a while ago that if you are a part of a boxing club, or any other defence clubs like the Martial Arts, and you are found fist fighting on the street you will be thrown out of the club and not allowed to join any other club.

I'm not aware of some world-wide code of conduct that all martial arts clubs must obey. This would be a personal choice of a particular instructor/club owner, or that of his/her choice of organization.
    stooge wrote:
    Got off with a warning but was kicked out of his club.

Jesus, that's some bare-faced hypocrisy. When my instructor says 'don't ever use this on anyone' about something he's teaching us, he at least gives a theatrical wink along with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

stooge wrote:

A friend of mine, and Jon's found himself in court for using his skills in a self defence situation and found himself with a two year suspended sentence. I won't go into the details of the case, but the prosecution and later the judge took the opinion that his 4th dan black belt was in effect a weapon he used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭ColinJennings

It’s the same old ****.
    Burglar breaks into house, slips while trying to rob the gaff.
    Sues the owners.
    Wins the case.

No it doesn't. Not in Ireland where the duty owed to a tresspasser or recreational user is very slight. THe only case where something like that was MacNamara v ESB where two kids scalled a fence into a sub station and were able to claim off the ESB. That case led to a change in legilsation as Farmers were afraid they would be sued by hill wlakers roaming over thier land.

But I don't think you should be kicked out. If anything if you defend yourself that is an excellet example of correct application of MA in a live situation. If the Martial Artist started fights regularly then there would be a problem. Clearly martial artists should be allowed defend themselves without fear of having to find a new club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Myself & my mate when we were teenagers got hopped by 4 scumbags one day. Both of us were doing TKD at the time so we had to use it to defend ourselves. Lucky enough we came out of it with our heads held high. Our TKD instructors found out about it, asked what happened and left it at that. Martial Arts is primarily taught for self defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

I wouldn't hesitate to break someone's arm given the opportunity if they jumped me in the street. Scum like that deserve such punishment for attacking innocent people for walking along the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Quillo

Mairt wrote:
    A friend of mine, and Jon's found himself in court for using his skills in a self defence situation and found himself with a two year suspended sentence. I won't go into the details of the case, but the prosecution and later the judge took the opinion that his 4th dan black belt was in effect a weapon he used.

I've heard this kind of thing before but thought it to be an urban myth. This is the first time I heard an actually incident being referred to.

Surely a judge can only rule on points of law and that if there is nothing in law stating that a black belt in a martial art constitutes a weapon then no judge can make such an inference ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Theres a boxer serving time for murder at the moment AFAIK.

Anyway, I think the "You'll be banned from MA for life" thing is a myth, along with the "I have to carry a license that I have to show people before I kick their ass". I was actually going to get some of those made up before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭47MartialMan

Is it easier to fight than to adjust mentally?

The purpose of such a rule from a club, could also be one of preventing legal ramifications.

Which can be silly as they could no more be liable than a gun owner, legally, selling a firearm to someone is has the premeditative notion to commit murder.

I had not had a physical confrontation in the essencse of unplanned for over a decade.

Simply, if there is no conflict, there is no victory NOR defeat.