Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Want to Play Football, but have no experience?

• 07-11-2006 1:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭

Hey,

This might be strange right but I'd like to join a club and play football, but I've fook all experience playing it. I grew up in South Africa and swimming was my 1st sport. Now I'd like to join a club for a couple of reasons, but it'd mainly be for my own fitness and because I like the game.

Now, I'm 23, and I don't want to just show up at a training session to say 'Hi, teach me stuff!' Has anyone ever taken up football late on? Did you literally just walk in and go from that?

I played soccer and rugby for years, so I dunno if the transition would be too difficult?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

where are you living?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Dublin 9. I've already been invited to join Whitehall ColmCille but like I said, I don't wanna turn up only to embarrass myself.

typical of me to want to join a club coming into winter, seeing as I have no long evenings to go out and kick around myself :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

If they have a B team or something along thise lines they prob won't mind you training alongside them even if your not that good. You prob won't get picked straight away but if your pretty good at soccer and rugby you'll prob pick it up pretty soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Whitehall have three adult teams, playing in Divisions 2, 6 and 11 of the Dublin League (12 divisions in total).

I'm sure like most clubs they'd be delighted to have another potential player, and I'd be surprised if they werent more than willing to teach the basic skills to someone who was eager to learn. No matter how bad you are, its virtually certain they will have someone who is worse on their third team!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

Gaelic football is 50% skill, 50% fitness, 50% application....

If you have two of the above you'll get along just fine. Junior 11 teams, by rule must be unfit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

someone around here isnt too good at the aul'maths.

head down to whitehall, i'm sure they'd be very welcoming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

fair play to you. i could not imagine a club telling you to go away, if they did i would feel embarrased cause the gaa are trying to promote the game around the world. at least there will be no funny lads trying to get cheecky with a dirty tackle, since ya got the rugby, and i doubt you would have much problems with catching a ball.

to get use of the rules and skills just watch as much matches either going or on tv, read skills books(i am sure ya can get some in the library even if in kids section). most importantly when you get the grasp of the skills like the fist pass, the pick up and the solo the only thing you can do is practise, practise, and practise. thats the only way someone can improve. pitty the kids dont seem to think this computer games seem more important today. you have played sports like soccer and rugby so you know that if you are into your sport you practise even if that means kicking a ball against the wall and trying to catch it.

most gaa teams field teams for all ages. as for seniors there would normally be junior,intermediate, reserve, and senior teams so you wont have muchprob finding a team.you will be surprised how bad some lads can be even though they have been playing since 8 years. any way it will be good craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

connundrum wrote:
    Hey,

This might be strange right but I'd like to join a club and play football, but I've fook all experience playing it. I grew up in South Africa and swimming was my 1st sport. Now I'd like to join a club for a couple of reasons, but it'd mainly be for my own fitness and because I like the game.

Now, I'm 23, and I don't want to just show up at a training session to say 'Hi, teach me stuff!' Has anyone ever taken up football late on? Did you literally just walk in and go from that?

I played soccer and rugby for years, so I dunno if the transition would be too difficult?!

I started playing Gaelic Football at 20 and they lads on the team were really helpful....i'm 22 now and i played 2 games at senior level this season at corner back which was a good experience.....played junior A last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Connundrum, if you are fairly fit and have played soccer and rugby already you should fit in fine. As other's have said the standard of the third team won't be anything special, and if you're fit, determined and apply yourself well you really should pick it up pretty quickly. At the likes of Div.11 level there will be fellas who've been playing for years and still aren't much good, and at that level if you're in good shape you have a head start on some of them already. Those teams often tend to be a mix of up and coming youngsters and some older lads whose best days are behind them (or others who never had any best days to begin with)

There will be some basic skills to get used to such as the solo, foot pickup etc., but these are not especially difficult to master. Clubs are ALWAYS looking to recruit new players, especially someone who is enthusiastic and willing to make the effort. So give it a go, gaelic football is not that difficult a game to pick up. Now if it was hurling that would be a different story!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭pjbrady1

I know of a friend of mine from Poland who played some training sessions and subbed into a junior game. He was shocked at first mini game at training at how aggressive the tackling was. From watching TV he expected something a little more tougher than soccer. So in my opinion a good idea is to be prepared for a few rattles and above all don't over carry possesion cause that is like a red rag to a bull for defenders.
    Practice catching and kicking off a ball alley wall (if you can find one) as much as possible. Then practice the pickup with your toe, get a GAA mate to show you this. Final skill to pick up is to get comfortable with the toe tap solo.
    You should be fine though, you should have an element of all of the above from your background in soccer.

Good luck with it,
    P.J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 camo

I am in nearly in exactly the same position. Same age etc... and haven't played for years (since 12). I have been looking around in South-East-Dublin and haven't really come up with any definite place to start. I understand the season won't be staring till March though??

I would like to play somewhere where I won't have to wait a long long time to get a game. The main place I approached said that their teams have 25-30 competing for a place on the team. It wasn't very encouraging.

I'm determined to find somewhere ASAP as I want to get started very soon. I'm quite fit and very eager to get going.

Any suggestions???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭nollaig

Im in a similiar scenario too, havent played in a few years, want to go back this year. Just looked up clubs on the net, rang a number and they seem eager for me to go down & train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Yeah most if not all clubs would be delighted to get new people in. Ya might aswell show up, train away, I take it your not all going for the senior team? If your going for a Junior Team(easy enough to start off with), you'll be on the squad quicker than you can run. It doesnt mean you will get picked immediately, but if you keep showing up at training sessions and matches, it'd be sooner rather than later before you get to play in a match. And unless about 25 show up to the match(for Junior) you will more than likely get on if you are a sub. For that level, if your eager, thats half the battle already won

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sportyspice

Hey, it's good to see there are some people in the same boat as me. I'm 24, definately going to get playing footie this year. Hoping to link up with a club in sandyford/dundrum area.
    Anyway, I was looking around for football boots. Which are the best ones to buy? There were steel caps looked like they had to be tightned and moulded studs as well.
    I don't want to show up at training with the wrong type of boot??

Sportyspice, theres no "wrong" type of boot to buy. Just normal ones will do. Just dont get rugby ones. Get ones that you feel comfortable in, thats the important thing. The boots dont make anyone play better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Boots can actually make you play better. I've had some pretty uncomfortable boots over the years - it depends on the individual. If it doesn't feel right then you're already off to a bad start. Plus, if you don't have studs at this time of year you're going to be way behind.

So yes, the type of boot you wear does matter.

Boots can actually make you play better. I've had some pretty uncomfortable boots over the years

The uncomfortable boots caused you discomfort, hence not able to play aswell. You probably always had the ability, but the discomfort restricted this. If you have comfortable boots and dont have ability, you wont play well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

Speaking as a member of Whitehall, I know you would be made very welcome up here. We have 3 adult mens teams and as far as we're concerned, the more the merrier!

the more the merrier!

the exact same thing was said when a new lad joined us yesterday. Just showed up, lovely, more people means better training.