Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

06 L xxxx - Black Honda Civic - Parks In Disabled Bays

• 01-11-2006 4:19pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭

Mahon Point Tesco car park in Cork, hopped out of the car with a sprightly step, as did the other two people in the car. No disabled sticker, just a fat, ignorant f*ck and his ignorant family. If you see him today, be sure to give him the finger; if you're googling his reg, please don't buy his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

how would u like ur reg put online u fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

I know it's really, really, really petty, but how about doing a sticky with "look what I saw today" but just for pictures of cars/people doing things they shouldn't ? And bonus points if you get a pic of the offender wearing an angry face:D

Title could be "Today I saw a classic gobshyte and took a pic" as per the thread in Classic Cars

Here's a couple of foglighters - the black Golf on St. Stephen's Green needed his on, I guess, as the sun was shining nice and bright. The yellow Micra ? As if the car just wasn't already bright enough, he had to light up all his lights. It was broad daylight, good conditions too - M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

dahamsta wrote:
    Mahon Point Tesco car park in Cork, hopped out of the car with a sprightly step, as did the other two people in the car. No disabled sticker, just a fat, ignorant f*ck and his ******** ******* ******. If you see him today, be sure to give him the finger; if you're googling his reg, please don't buy his car.

Although I agree that people like this should be named and shamed, you really need to remove the reference to his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭Mojito

On the subject of Spot/Fog lights.

I have two settings in my car one for spot lights and another for fog lights. With spot lights option on just the front lights are on and with the fog lights option on both front and rear are on.

Do most new cars not have this option. The car I drive is a T Sport celica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Mojito wrote:

I have two settings in my car one for spot lights and another for fog lights. With spot lights option on just the front lights are on and with the fog lights option on both front and rear are on.

Are you sure that what you are referring to as the "spot lights" are not in fact front fog lights?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Mojito wrote:

You actually have three options, the third one is off!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

blahblah06 wrote:
    how would u like ur reg put online u fool
    I don't park in disabled bays. When I do, you're welcome to post my reg, okay? BTW, that thing in front of you? That's a key-board. Not a mobile phone. It has all the letters on there, one to a key. Give 'em a go there, see how you get on.
    prospect wrote:
    Although I agree that people like this should be named and shamed, you really need to remove the reference to his family.
    These are not hard to discern from regular parking spaces, there's a whole block of them separate from regular parking, and enormous signage. They knew they were going into a disabled spot as well as he did, yet there wasn't a word out of them; in fact they were all laughing their heads off. Like I said, ignorant knackers.

I'm with you there franksm. I was behind someone with their foglight on yesterday and I was raging. People don't get that if there's someone right behind you, you don't need it on. But then Irish drivers don't get a lot of things.

adam

Anan1 wrote:
    Are you sure that what you are referring to as the "spot lights" are not in fact front fog lights?

BINGO!

Do you have this option in your car or is this an unsual feature?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭dubstub

Mojito wrote:

By any chance, when you turn on your "spot" lights, do you get an indicator like the image like this http://driversed.com/courseware/BTW/graphics/warning_lights_11.jpg in your instrument cluster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

franksm wrote:
    I know it's really, really, really petty, but how about doing a sticky with "look what I saw today" but just for pictures of cars/people doing things they shouldn't ? And bonus points if you get a pic of the offender wearing an angry face:D

Title could be "Today I saw a classic gobshyte and took a pic" as per the thread in Classic Cars

Here's a couple of foglighters - the black Golf on St. Stephen's Green needed his on, I guess, as the sun was shining nice and bright. The yellow Micra ? As if the car just wasn't already bright enough, he had to light up all his lights. It was broad daylight, good conditions too - M50.

Maybe someone has a picture of you taking a picture with your mobile while driving;)

Mc-BigE wrote:
    Maybe someone has a picture of you taking a picture with your mobile while driving;)
    I never use the mobile in the car, I have to type a pin code into the thing just to unlock the keypad. No, those pics were from a proper digi camera :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭daymobrew

dahamsta wrote:
    Mahon Point Tesco car park in Cork, hopped out of the car with a sprightly step, as did the other two people in the car.
    Report it to the security people at Mahon Point. If they don't care, go up the chain to their supervisor. The fine is 85 euro.
    If they don't care then consider reporting them to the Irish Wheelchair Association and/or the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,055 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

daymobrew wrote:
    consider reporting them to the Irish Wheelchair Association and/or the Gardai.
    I'm not familiar with the car park but if it is in Tescos, then it is private property and out of the remit of the Gardai.
    dahamsta wrote:
    Mahon Point Tesco car park in Cork, hopped out of the car with a sprightly step, as did the other two people in the car. No disabled sticker, just a fat, ignorant f*ck and his ignorant knacker family. If you see him today, be sure to give him the finger; if you're googling his reg, please don't buy his car.
    You might have more credibility for the issue if you used less aggressive/rude language. The terms used seem apt to describe yourself. And you want us to take your advice :rolleyes: If you see someone travelling over the posted speed limit will you do the same. Although unmannerly, parking on a disabled bay in a private car park is not illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Larry David

daymobrew wrote:
    If they don't care then consider reporting them to the Irish Wheelchair Association and/or the Gardai.

Why? They can't do anything about it. It's a private car park, and the proprieter needs to enforce it's regulations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

How sad do you have to be to go around posting up peoples registrations that you happened to see when out and about. Its none of your business, its the carpark owners business but if you want to make it your business why didnt you say it to the driver himself or even to the carpark caretakers or whatever instead of moaning on an internet site?

I think we should have a sticky where we post the names of posters who "done nothing" about something they witnessed and were annoyed and could have done something through the proper channels at the time, but instead prefer to go home and whinge about the incident like a little nerd on a website.

Either speak up there and then or get a fookin life.

Out of interest what car do you drive and what year is it? And why is he a knacker family?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Larry David

Nuttzy wrote:
    How sad do you have to be to go around posting up peoples registrations that you happened to see when out and about. Its none of your business, its the carpark owners business but if you want to make it your business why didnt you say it to the driver himself or even to the carpark caretakers or whatever instead of moaning on an internet site?

I think we should have a sticky where we post the names of posters who "done nothing" about something they witnessed and were annoyed and could have done something through the proper channels at the time, but instead prefer to go home and whinge about the incident like a little nerd on a website.

Either speak up there and then or get a fookin life.

Out of interest what car do you drive and what year is it? And why is he a knacker family?
    Well said. The OP is a pussy-ass keyboard warrior. Wonder why he didn't call them a "knacker family" to their faces....yet he acts all tough on the net when he gets home!

Nuttzy wrote:
    For a change, I find myself in agreement with you Nuttzy. :D :eek:

dubstub wrote:
    By any chance, when you turn on your "spot" lights, do you get an indicator like the image like this http://driversed.com/courseware/BTW/graphics/warning_lights_11.jpg in your instrument cluster?

I get 2 different images, one for the front and one for the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Mojito, they are not "spot lights" they are your front fog lights. It's illegal to have them on if its not foggy.

lightening wrote:
    Mojito, they are not "spot lights" they are your front fog lights. It's illegal to have them on if its not foggy.

NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :rolleyes:

Thats not the question I asked but while your at it did you also know its illegal to drink and drive as well! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Mojito wrote:
    NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :rolleyes:

Thats not the question I asked but while your at it did you also know its illegal to drink and drive as well! :eek:
    Do your parents know you're using their computer?

Anan1 wrote:
    Do your parents know you're using their computer?

Genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

What a strange thread!

The person in Mahon may have had any number of debilitating illnesses. I don't believe disabled spaces are solely for people on wheelchairs or crutches. The driver may indeed be the prime of his health, but it isn't for onlookers pass judgment one way or the other.

i think posting the reg up is a bit much, you could get into serious trouble for it too.

I tried reporting it to Mahon Point S/C, they said it wasn't their car park. No-one was available in Tesco. I didn't talk to yerman directly because I don't see why I should have to risk my personal safety.

As to my language, he - an obviously perfectly able person, with no disabled sticker on his car - intentionally parked in a disabled parking bay, therefore he's a fat ignorant f*ck. I fail to see the confusion.

How is what I drive relevant exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

poeple park ilegally all the time, the only way of making a difference is to approach the driver yourself and point out what he/she is doing wrong. Posting their reg on a site from the safety of your own home is hardly going to make a difference. nor is insulting the driver or their family.

PLEASE NOTE THAT DAHAMSTA HAS DELETED THE POST FOLLOWING THIS ONE BECAUSE HE'S CHANGED HIS MIND, OR POINT OF VIEW, OR ARGUMENT, OR LOGIC.

The original post had something about "not going to repeat myself" for those of you who missed it.

I'm not going to repeat myself either. reporting it to the shopping centre is a waste of time. there was only one way you could have vented your frustration and possibly got a result.

He/she posted this in the Cork Forum and the Motors Forum but not in the Disability Forum. I wonder why not?

dahamsta wrote:
    As to my language, he - an obviously perfectly able person, with no disabled sticker on his car - intentionally parked in a disabled parking bay, therefore he's a fat ignorant f*ck. I fail to see the confusion.

Are you a doctor too?

As others said. You should have taken it up with the man himself. No point telling us. Better yet you are leaving yourself, Mr. X, open to a defamation claim if your belief is completely unfounded.

colm_mcm, I deleted the post you replied to as it didn't seem logical in hindsight, sorry about that. I disagree with you on both points: reporting it to the shopping centre could have gotten him clamped or towed away; and as I've already said, I don't see why I should risk my personal safety in that situation.

Wishbone Ash, I didn't post it in the Disability Forum because I'd forgotten there was one. Are you just nitpicking now because you've run out of arguments?

I've asked the mods to remove my name from maidhc's post. I have a legitimate reason to post identifying information, even if it is arguable; maidch is just trying to cause trouble because we've crossed swords before and they took the disagreement personally for some bizarre reason.

Confronting face-to-face sometimes leads to a cracked jaw. Ever see the state of the ones parking their chariots in the disabled spaces (without cause) in LIDL/ALDI ? You'd be lucky to walk away without your throat cut.

Naming and shaming is the next best thing

maybe the driver's neighbours will read this and shun them. maybe he'll lose his job or his friends will desert him. That'll teach him.

Anyone got some photos of this guy, maybe we could set up a website and make his life hell.

I doubt anything will come of it Colm, but does that mean I should do nothing at all? I feel that doing nothing at all is tantamount to saying it's ok, and it's not ok. I also feel that attacking me is tantamount to defending him, but I guess if thats the route you feel you have to take, that's what you should do. I can't understand it myself.

Surely you can see that posting on the net isn't going to achieve anything. If someone annoys me by doing something blatantly wrong, I'll confront them if it's affecting me or someone else, I won't go looking for an argument. If I was scared of violence form the guy in the situation you were in, I would have driven over to him and confronted him from inside the car. "Naming and shaming" just makes it look like you're wishing you could have done something more.

dahamsta wrote:
    I've asked the mods to remove my name from maidhc's post. I have a legitimate reason to post identifying information, even if it is arguable; maidch is just trying to cause trouble because we've crossed swords before and they took the disagreement personally for some bizarre reason.

No, I have crossed swords with plenty people. I normally forget their names within a few hours though!

I'm not trying to be vindictive by posting your name, just making the point the internet isn't exactly anonymous, and Irish libel law is quite harsh.

dahamsta wrote:
    I doubt anything will come of it Colm, but does that mean I should do nothing at all? I feel that doing nothing at all is tantamount to saying it's ok, and it's not ok. I also feel that attacking me is tantamount to defending him, but I guess if thats the route you feel you have to take, that's what you should do. I can't understand it myself.
    You could have made your point in a polite non-aggressive manner and may have got more support that way. Referring to someone as a fat, ignorant, knacker and revealing their registration and advising people to give them the 'finger' is hardly the way to go about it. I'm sure if you had posted in the Disability Forum, none of the regulars there would have wanted to be associated with you and would have been shocked at your attitude.

Post edited to substitute "attitude" for "low grade mentality".

Yes Wishbone Ash, because referring to someone as having a "low grade mentality" is so polite and non-agressive. When you practice what you preach, I might give your opinion some credence.

Colm, anyone that blatantly parks in a disabled bay isn't going to listen to reason. I'm sorry, but suggesting otherwise is just plain ridiculous. And yes, I do wish I could have done more, but I have no regrets about naming and shaming. People that do this kind of thing are nasty, ignorant people, and they should be highlighted as such.

you're making quite an assumption there dahamsta.

First you're assuming that they weren't entitled to park there
    next you're assuming that they're not just normal people who can't be bothered to find a space, and are chancing their arm.
    then you assume that because they park in a disabled space that they won't listen to reason

dahamsta wrote:
    Yes Wishbone Ash, because referring to someone as having a "low grade mentality" is so polite and non-agressive.
    Post edited on mature reflection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

colm_mcm wrote:
    you're making quite an assumption there dahamsta.

First you're assuming that they weren't entitled to park there
    next you're assuming that they're not just normal people who can't be bothered to find a space, and are chancing their arm.
    then you assume that because they park in a disabled space that they won't listen to reason

Didn't dahamsta say he watched the family walk away from the car? Whether they're entitled to a disability sticker on their car or not, if no one in the current group of people driving the car is disabled, they shouldn't be in the space.

And yes Colm, most people who park in Disabled Spaces have very little concern for what other people think, and think of them, and as such they won't listen to reason. They already know what they're doing wrong. For the record, if you park in a Disabled spot in Mahon Point, a loudspeaker announcement reminds punters that it's for genuine disabled people only. So them ignoring the message compounds the problem.

Well done OP, name and shame away.

ned78 wrote:
    if no one in the current group of people driving the car is disabled, they shouldn't be in the space
    1. There is no obligation on a driver to be disabled.

2. A driver utilising a disabled bay may be collecting a badge holder.

Yes ned78, I did. More than once. I also pointed out that the car didn't have a disabled sticker. I checked.

colm_mcm, what ned78 said.

Wishbone Ash, the car was parked outside for at least an hour, while I did my shopping and tried to complain to Mahon Point customer service. I didn't start this thread lightly, and I'm not a stupid man - rude maybe, but not stupid - and this was plainly a man that was too lazy to park a few yards further away from the door, period. You can choose not to believe me if you want, that's your perogative, but you didn't witness it. I did, and I know what I saw.

adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

Well i think you were right to name and shame them but leave it at that.
    I dont think you should have called them x y or z names.

I think that the disability sign is just open to all interpretations. Because the sign shows a symbol of someone in a wheelchair doesnt mean that the driver has to be disabled. I think that the sign could be edited to include other forms of disability. Yes i know some smart arse will say , oh ok lets add in a few more symbols like someone with no legs, no arms, no eyes, someone holding a disability allowance book, etc , etc, etc. As a family member of mine had one of these stickers on their windscreen and they weren't in a wheelchair, they were entitled to it as they were using a walking stick due to a hip operation and suffering from severe pain.

As some people have already stated, people break parking rules all the time. Recently i saw gardai leaving a patrol car on a double yellow line to buy a sandwich, the taoiseach's mercedes parked on double yellow lines so that he can carry out official engagements, young people too lazy to find a parking space leaving their car in a taxi rank and leaving someone sitting in the passenger seat so they can walk into a record shop and purchase dvds.

If people don't bother reading signs on the street, then I dont have any pity for them if they are clamped or towed away.

dahamsta wrote:
    Wishbone Ash, the car was parked outside for at least an hour, while I did my shopping and tried to complain to Mahon Point customer service. I didn't start this thread lightly, and I'm not a stupid man - rude maybe, but not stupid - and this was plainly a man that was too lazy to park a few yards further away from the door, period. You can choose not to believe me if you want, that's your perogative, but you didn't witness it. I did, and I know what I saw.

adam
    From what you say, I am 99% sure that he was not morally/ethically entitled to park there but I wouldn't post someone's reg on the net or make degrading comments about them either way. Who are we to judge? He did nothing illegal.

G Luxel wrote:
    the taoiseach's mercedes parked on double yellow lines so that he can carry out official engagements
    (apologies - off topic) The Taoiseach's Garda driver would be exempt from parking regulations while on official business. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

if he / she is disabled then why dont they apply for the relavant pass?? Please dont try and defend such behaviour :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

After reading this, I understand what dahamsta is saying but (being devils advocate) there is no evidence to show that the owner of the civic did anything wrong.
    As already said, they may be impaired but have no badge, they may have been picking up someone with a disability or whatever.
    However, had they just been lazy or igorant or whatever, they still did not break any laws (given that it was private property). This does not give users here carte blanche to post car registrations and insult the occupants.
    Posting a car reg without concrete proof is going to result in a ban. However, I don't mind people posting something like spot oops fog lights on as these people shouldn't be on the road anyhow.
    I will do out a fresh charter for this forum in the next few days.

This thread however, is going to bed!