Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen TR4a in Dublin

• 25-10-2006 11:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭

Just thought id put the word out for a pal or mine. Had his pride and joy stolen from outside his house (he was away) last Saturday 21st Oct.

Its a Dark Green Triumph TR4a, registration 577 7ZH he's owned it since new and is completely (and understandably) gutted.

If anybody spots it, or bits for sale please contact me by PM immediately.

Thanks guys. Hopefully it will turn up, but sounds to me like it was pinched to order :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭1275gt

trfour.gif

looks very like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭andyj22

Really sorry to hear of this news and i will keep my eyes out in the Co.Roscommon ares at all times. and really hope it turns up safe and with no damage to it.

Andy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

Where in dublin was it stolen from? is there an actual picture of the car?

I'll put up something in work (200+ people), if you have a pic of the car (or not), does it have, markings, modifications whatever?

Will post up a photo tonight and get a better description.

cheers lads!!

Stick this in After hours and mtors if you haven't already

Some more info from the Triumph club fellas.

Car colour is Jaguar Racing Green with soft-top, has wire wheels, chromed boot-rack & is an IRS model with over-drive. Chassis No: CTC 56756 OC. Engine No: CT 56814 E. Built in 1966. You can contact Terry on his mobile 086-2945777 (yes, the last 4 digits are his reg no) or e-mail him: tpattison[at]hotmail.com Can we keep an EYE out for Terry's car, remember.... it could be parked on a street near you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i'll keep them peeled.....scum is the only word for people like this...if it wasnt joy-riders then its fellow enthusiasts.....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

W@nkers (sorry). I hate hearing about theft, but never thought I'd be hearing it about a classic. Will keep the eyes peeled in west Dublin and around the M1

Can you say how it was removed ? I take it that it was pulled onto a truck. Did the neighbours not see anything ?

It would be too hot to break or sell here (unless they are REALLY dumb) so I'm betting it's on its way to the UK or to the continent

hey frank, it was driven away. he had friends staying in the house, and they heard the car roaring away at 5.30. it was in delgany somewhere.
    he used it daily for 30years, so (unlucky for him) used to start on the button. theres been a spate of classics and 'retro' cars in the uk being yoinked of late, but mainly for banger racing, but recently some splittys, vintage vans and cars. makes you wonder and worry at the same time doesnt it. :mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

anyone here work in any of the ports., or know anybody that works in them. ring the ports and see if anyone books a triumph on board. A.S.A.P.
    let the customs know and they will keep an eye out. and hopefully it hasent left the country by now. if it has they might know when it left .

b
    DS hope they get caught:mad:

makes you think how safe is your car. :confused:

will keep an eye out down here in carlow and wicklow and ring a few fellas i know in the classic car buisness in the south and north.

just thinking , put a wanted ad in the buy and sell for a triumph or parts and offer cash , and see if the b
    ds take the bait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

I hate to say this but I'd reckon this car left the Country that same day in a container !

Question is who would steal it, obviously its a very definite target, was the car on show anywhere recently (probably everywhere) and someone decided they wanted it !

It would be hard to change its identity without severely affecting its value !

Strange one, but I wish the owner the best of luck !

Would it be worth posting an ad to the UK magazines, or even eBay, I've seen them before where they list the car put state "DO NOT BID" and basically anyone who searches for TR4 or whatever will see this one too !

This went around work today, should get about 270 people plus partners:

Guys,

Someone I know of had their classic car stolen from his house in Dublin on sat; Its a Dark Green 1966 Soft Top Triumph TR4a, registration 577 7ZH he's owned it since new and is completely (and understandably) gutted. It is a really distinctive car so I attached some pictures to give you an idea of what it would look like.

Can you keep a look out for it as it’s so distinctive, if you see it call the Gardai or the man himself on: 086-2945777, Terry, that’s how much he loved his car, his phone number is the same as his reg number!

cheers man!! excellent.

heres a couple of pics

tr41.jpg

tr42.jpg

My message just went to another two (big) companies in Dublin. Have the clubs in the UK been informed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭spidersonmars

Jesz, She's a beaut, I do my best to notify some of the regional ports, My father is in the shipping business.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭PaulK_CCI

What a shame, and an original Dublin car too!!

Since I'm located in the Netherlands and I trawl through the major European Internet Classic Car advertising portals regularly, it's no skin off my back to check for a dark green 66 Triumph Tr4a :-)

So far it is not being offered anywhere else in Europe....... yet! :(

Yeah its a beaut !!

It seem odd that they would come here looking for a car rather than the UK where there must be loads, some with serious history !

Makes me wonder if the thief is keeping it in Ireland. Also stealing a classic doesn't take much skill as far as opening the car and hotwiring goes, possibly some marque knowledge but also it possibly requires knowledge of how to drive a specific car and actually start it on choke etc..and take off quickly !

Either this thief took a big chance, or is familiar with these cars and was watching that cars every move, watching the owner starting and driving away etc.....

are there any traffic cameras anywhere near where it was taken?

did it need petrol ,it might have had to pull in for some,. maybe a camera caught the b
    ds (sorry thiefs ):mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭NEVCC

There are contact details for most of the classic car clubs north and south here http://www.nevcc.net/Club_list.html might be worth sending a blanket email out, you never know. I hope the car is found in the same condition. Best of luck

Great News, Terry got his car back!! Just some minor ignition barrel damage, but apart from that it sounds like its perfect. Will post up some details later :D

Details NOW!!!!

Thats is really really great news, delighted for him, tell us the whole story ASAP!

:D:D:D

Apparenly some kind person phoned the guards (after seeing the photo in fridays herald) The car had been parked outside somebodys house all week (might have been checking for a tracker or something) When the guards arrived, the car had been removed. I dont exactly know how, but the car was recovered later that day :D Gonna phone Terry in a bit and find out the exact story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Great stuff !

Was it an ad he placed in the Herald ? Or did they run an article ? Be sure to include that in your report :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭andyj22

Excellent news

I bet Terry is delighted :D please all take a quick look at this link

Andy

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055009432

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Great news indeed.
    Andy was your name adam in another life?

franksm wrote:
    Great stuff !

Was it an ad he placed in the Herald ? Or did they run an article ? Be sure to include that in your report :D

They ran an article. Terry phoned them and put on his best panicky voice and told them a member of his family had been taken from his house, that seemed to get their attention alright. Fair play to them for running the piece, its seems unlikely that it would have been recovered. Car was parked up in Bray, then moved, some eagle eyed taxi driver spotted it on the move, notified the guards and it was recovered shortly afterwards (also in Bray).
    Its unclear whether it was joyriders, seems a strange car to steal given its rarity and chances of being caught. Terry said theres is NO damage apart from the Ignition so he's chuffed, also he said to pass on his heartfelt thanks to everyone for keeping an eye out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

There was actually an article in yesterdays herald about this too. And some pics of the owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

Great news, glad to hear it. Were the people who took it caught with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

dubtom: adam, was that the guy who thought he had an e-type??? :D
    who found the e-type under a tree and was still in good condition :D
    yes andy does remind of that guy whoever he was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

stevenk wrote:
    dubtom: andy, was that the guy who thought he had an e-type??? :D
    yes andy does remind of that guy whoever he was

And the Saab 93 Viggen :D:D What a legend. Every second thread here was about that or his Stag

I wondered about the similarity between adam and andy, but I was giving him the benefit of the doubt !

I'm delighted that chap got his car back relatively unscathed and in such a short time !

Fair play to the folk that responded, love to hear the full story !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

MercMad wrote:
    I wondered about the similarity between adam and andy, but I was giving him the benefit of the doubt !

Me too, hijacking a thread seemed a bit familar though, same part of the country also if I remeber correctly.Apologies to andy If I'm incorrect, welcome back if I'm not!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

same car (stag), same hijack threads, same location, same wanting to meet up, same starting multiple pointless threads (6 threads out there now)

sorry 1275gt for going off the topic, its just been something i noticed for about a week or two now!
    also good to see the car came back, even better to hear if they caught the d*ck who stole it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Eric318

Ah, this is so sad and infuriating!!!

Side question, is satellite tracking available in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

Glad to see that it wasn't thrashed by the scumbags.
    Where in Bray was it first spotted and later recovered?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Eric318

This is fantastic news!!!

I propose that once the thieves are caught they be offered to us classic car owners, and get one good kick up the arse from every one of us. Could be an excellent centre piece for a Christmas Classic Cars Meet :)

Or may be tar and feathers?

Seriously, one of the benefits of driving a classic is that it can be spotted by the public if it gets stolen!!

I hope the newspapers run a story on the nice people who helped recover the car!!

They ran a story on Sunday, didnt get to see it but im guessing the relevant people were thanked.

One thing I picked up from the whole thing, is that if your classic is yoinked, get onto the local taxi company immediately and offer a cash reward. Theres many a petrolhead amongst the taxi fratenrnity and if the car hasnt been stripped/shipped they are the most likely people to spot it.