Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitz Double chance

• 25-10-2006 12:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else think this is a total waste of a good 50euro freezeout? the DC element of it just makes it crapshooty twice. i found it a very difficult game to play any poker at, as every round of the table you could guarantee at least 3 all ins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Does anyone else think this is a total waste of a good 50euro freezeout? the DC element of it just makes it crapshooty twice. i found it a very difficult game to play any poker at, as every round of the table you could guarantee at least 3 all ins.

This has become what the Thurs Freeroll used to be. The last time I played I vowed 'Never Again'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

despite bubbling this tourney tonight (got crippled by a one outer and never recovered) i too shall be joining the NEVER AGAIN crew.

Thoroughly unenjoyable night of cards. No chat or banter at any of the tables but for one guy who got moved to my table late on. START TIME 8.30pm clearly means 9.15 or whenever the regulars take their seat. As goodluck2me says, the double chane just makes it a crapshoot twice. funniest moment of the night was when i was down to my last 625 (but still had my double chance chip) and i look down at an ace and push. next player reraises all in, SO DOES THE NEXT, and then there is 3 callers! well i figure with my a6 i'm dead in the water... but guess what hands get turned over. my a6 plays...

ten nine off suit
    ace ten
    ace queen
    55 (i particularly like this call call after the 5 all in before him!?!??!?!)

cant even remember how it turned out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

I played this once...and thought it was the worst standard of poker ive ever played.

but i will play again as the amusement value was worth it.

J

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

BigDragon wrote:
    This has become what the Thurs Freeroll used to be. The last time I played I vowed 'Never Again'

I played this last night for the first time in a while and I have to agree with you 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

i agree also had a table tell me how to play cards and so fourth it was earphones in and sit and nod politely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

It was nice to put a face to the name last night Joe.

I completely agree with you on this. It is an absolute farce of a tournament. There are some dreadful players and the fact that they are shortchipped with a double up behind makes it impossible to take them off hands. Now this is great if you get cards - but should you not happean to get hit in the face by the deck then there is little chance that you can win.

Moreover, one mistake, or one trainwreck hand and you are pretty much done as far as winning goes given the shallow starting stacks.

Meh, I always feel slightly annoyed with myself after I buy - in to this one. However, I have begun to take the attitude - much as with the €55 doublechance in the SE on a Thurday - that it is a gamble fest. As such, I tend to just toss it in if I got a bit of the board and see what happeans (didn't work out last night lol).

Some night I will sit down at this, run roasting hot and make the final table - optimism eh??:rolleyes:

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Last night I was at a table with mostly rocks (me included). We seen only one flop on the first round of the table, and apart from one idiot did'nt see much mucky hands being played at all. Of course I got bored anyhow and started yakking incessantly after the break (table 5) when Richie was dealing and got KO's about 11.

I am not a big fan of this game to be honest, and this is the weekly tournament in the Fitz where I recongise the least faces, therefore less craic generally.

I think I have figured out who Lucky Lloyd is noe though, so at least that is something. Big guy, headphones, table 3 seat 5, early exit to the cash games? That sound like you Lloyd?

5starpool wrote:
    I think I have figured out who Lucky Lloyd is noe though, so at least that is something. Big guy, headphones, table 3 seat 5, early exit to the cash games? That sound like you Lloyd?

Yes Sir - it sounds exactly like meself. Introduce yourself next time you see me - would also like to put a face to the name.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Yes Sir - it sounds exactly like meself. Introduce yourself next time you see me - would also like to put a face to the name.
    No, I shall needle you to my advantage and shall pm Ian now to find out what needles you the most. Ah the fun of it all.

Lucky Lloyd I was in 3,3.I hit two pair with AK and managed to run it into a set of aces fairly early on.

5starpool wrote:
    No, I shall needle you to my advantage and shall pm Ian now to find out what needles you the most. Ah the fun of it all.

I am easily needled it must be said. Hence the oversized headphones:

A) I can't hear you

B) They make me look extra intimidating: this should have the effect of making you less likely to needle me.

C) I can't hear you

D) So there

:D:D

Dub13 wrote:
    Lucky Lloyd I was in 3,3.I hit two pair with AK and managed to run it into a set of aces fairly early on.

I do remember that alright. That was a slow motion carcrash of a hand.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    I am easily needled it must be said. Hence the oversized headphones:

A) I can't hear you

B) They make me look extra intimidating: this should have the effect of making you less likely to needle me.

C) I can't hear you

D) So there

:D:D
    None of that can defend against an actual needle however, so i shall employ that route in my needle quest.

5starpool wrote:
    None of that can defend against an actual needle however, so i shall employ that route in my needle quest.

Damn - the chess equivalent of check - mate.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    I do remember that alright. That was a slow motion carcrash of a hand.

It sure was.I liked the hand were you showed the big bluff to the chap sitting between us,you played it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

LuckyLloyd wrote:

I too was at that table, in seat 9. It was a great move by you to reraise on the river with what i think was 7 8 suited when you had missed completely, but you shouldn't have showed them - everything you tried got called after that.

I went out when my UTG raise with pocket sixes was called blind by the guy in the big blind. He flipped over pocket aces :eek:

HiCloy wrote:
    I too was at that table, in seat 9. It was a great move by you to reraise on the river with what i think was 7 8 suited when you had missed completely, but you shouldn't have showed them - everything you tried got called after that.

Now, I normally agree that you should never give off information for free. However, in this case I knew exactly what information I was giving off and how the table would react to it.

I had raised four BBs UTG with 76 - then showed a big move on the end of the hand. Thing is, I had no intention of doing anything like that again for the next three levels. If I had caught some cards in the next hour at that table I would have had a much better chance of being paid off.

I completely understood that I would have no moves left. Problem is, I only played two more hands properly before I exited. In both situations I misread my opponents as still drawing (to my pair) when they had actually flopped the nut straight in the first case, and then a flush in the second!! And it was off to the cash tables after that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Hi Cloy - I really like your username - guessing by the join date you were after backing him to win the Mumm Melling?

I presume you are talking about a horse?

To me it read something like 'rtdgdfg dfgdfgt ytexcbn fyjhesj rthoehj rthwuiez'.

5starpool wrote:
    I presume you are talking about a horse?

To me it read something like 'rtdgdfg dfgdfgt ytexcbn fyjhesj rthoehj rthwuiez'.

A very good horse at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

HiCloy wrote:

If luckylloyd is the big rock that he's meant to be...that's exactly what he wants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

If luckylloyd is the big rock that he's meant to be
    oh you have got to be kidding!! have you ever played cards with lloyd!! ABSOLUTE DONKEY!!! he likes to call himself "gamblor!" don't deny molloy (aka lloyd) you're just a big fish in a rock outfit!

that'll needle him for sure!

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Now, I normally agree that you should never give off information for free. However, in this case I knew exactly what information I was giving off and how the table would react to it.

I had raised four BBs UTG with 76 - then showed a big move on the end of the hand. Thing is, I had no intention of doing anything like that again for the next three levels. If I had caught some cards in the next hour at that table I would have had a much better chance of being paid off.

I completely understood that I would have no moves left. Problem is, I only played two more hands properly before I exited. In both situations I misread my opponents as still drawing (to my pair) when they had actually flopped the nut straight in the first case, and then a flush in the second!! And it was off to the cash tables after that....

Thats a fair enough line to take so. I thought at the time that with a couple of players were calling so loosely (guy in seat 10 being the main culprit) you didn't need to advertise this for their sake, and that not showing might have been more useful against the few tighter players at the table, in the unlikely event that you got into a pot with one of them alone.

I backed him that day, and every day after he managed to slip up on the flat on his first visit to cheltenham as a novice hurdler.

He has done well for me since, including winning 3 grade ones(durkan at punchestown, Dial a bet at leopardstown and Melling at aintree) last year at decent prices.

Looking at what he beat in those races, I don't think he'll get such soft touches this year tho

HiCloy wrote:
    I backed him that day, and every day after he managed to slip up on the flat on his first visit to cheltenham as a novice hurdler.

He has done well for me since, including winning 3 grade ones(durkan at punchestown, Dial a bet at leopardstown and Melling at aintree) last year at decent prices.

Looking at what he beat in those races, I don't think he'll get such soft touches this year tho

Ah yes, I know the horse very well. He didnt slip on the flat in Cheltenham. If you remember correctly he was rear of mid div when the horse infront of him caught the hurdle pretty heavy forcing it to spring back - at this stage the oss had alredy stepped at the hurdle slightly so he met with his fate. As we know now anyway he doesnt act on undulating tracks so his effort that day would surely have been in vain. A lovely oss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Ah yes, I know the horse very well. He didnt slip on the flat in Cheltenham. If you remember correctly he was rear of mid div when the horse infront of him caught the hurdle pretty heavy forcing it to spring back - at this stage the oss had alredy stepped at the hurdle slightly so he met with his fate. As we know now anyway he doesnt act on undulating tracks so his effort that day would surely have been in vain. A lovely oss.

Lads the 5 card draw and southern cross games are in the lounge to the left of the hotel lobby. 50 note antes.

:rolleyes: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Evolution136

HiCloy wrote:

I went out when my UTG raise with pocket sixes was called blind by the guy in the big blind. He flipped over pocket aces :eek:

That was me. I genuinely only seen one Ace when I called. Thought you played solid all night, you were unlucky to find me with a hand there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Dub13 wrote:
    ooh apologies, but thanks. i had the aces, couldnt belive it when i seen it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

That was me. I genuinely only seen one Ace when I called. Thought you played solid all night, you were unlucky to find me with a hand there.
    is this seat 7 yeah, i cant remember your name it will come to be eventually, you were an example of why this tourney was bad, you seemed to be the only one playing a bit of poker an dgot punished for it. i.e. reriase jkign high flop, he calls down with KT. i was in seat 10 with the lovely lovey outdraws.