Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideas for school...

• 20-10-2006 9:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

My school is trying to raise money for a particular school in Africa and we're trying to come up with ideas for ways that will raise a lot of money and be a bit of fun aswell, and different to the constant cake sales and sponsered walks.
    If anyone could give any ideas or thoughts, or something maybe their school did that worked out well, please please let me know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Sponsored head shaving of one of the teachers or something of that nature perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭CheersDarlin'

There is a very hairy boy in my year that we were going to ask if he'd be up for waxing his chest. I doubt he'd do it though haha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Sponsored wheelbarrow marathon! (as in, one holds the other's legs, and ye go a mile or somethin :) ye can switch during it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Big game of poker. All winnings to the cause. That wheelbarrow marathon sounds good though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Here's a few:

Have the teachers play a basketball/soccor match between themselves and charge whoever wants to see it (parents, students, townspeople who want to have a gawk...:) )

Have a car-wash day, where the students set up stall in some car-park near the school or something and charge a fiver to wash a car. (20 euros if it's an SUV)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Demetrius wrote:
    Here's a few:

Have the teachers play a basketball/soccor match between themselves and charge whoever wants to see it (parents, students, townspeople who want to have a gawk...:) )

Have a car-wash day, where the students set up stall in some car-park near the school or something and charge a fiver to wash a car. (20 euros if it's an SUV)

Or even better teachers V students, happened at our school and got very rough where some students got their revenge. :)

"Ah sir, it was a fair tackle!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭CheersDarlin'

We've had fantasy football games and also I think there will be something involving the teachers.

Thanks a mil for these, keep 'em coming!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Here's one we always wanted to do at school (the charity was just a bonus :p)

Basically you get some teachers to volunteer to be put in makeshift stocks and then sell rotten fruit to be thrown at them. Obviously the more hated teachers are the ones you want to have in the stocks....local supermarkets or greengrocers could supply the rotten fruit....it's a veritable goldmine.
    Might have some difficulty on H&S grounds so they need to wear protective eyewear and helmet and the fruit should be of a certain size/consistency.
    Charge 2 quid a piece of fruit, give a fair distance for a throw and watch the money roll in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Not as much fun as the other suggestions but

a sale of work - look at the amount of stuff people give away in freebies on adverts.ie - people almost always have stuff to give away.

or a raffle. Contact some companies/major stores and ask them to donate prizes. Or (well maybe not at the moment!!) contact the FAI and ask them for a signed jersey or football something like that and raffle that.

or a school dance/fancy dress party/karaoke.

a uniform free day

what school are you in if you dont mind me asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Shellie13

If you have a place to host a gig do one at lunch time get a few local bands in-you probs have some in the school! we've done it-most people tend to go even if there not big into the music as lunch time dosent offer much else!

Try a tuck shop there- spectatting can be hungry work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah uniform-free days are great ways to make money. €2 isn't much money for most people, and everyone wants a chance to express themselves in that way, on occassion. Plus it doesn't take much organisation! Buy a raffle book, give everyone a ticket who pays, collect the money at the door..... If you've got 500 students in your school, that's around 1k with minimum effort and time, and no expenses other than the raffle book! Do that maybe 4 times a year, and you've got 4k!

If you do that on top of a few other things then you'll raise loadsa money in no time.

BTW what about a battle of the bands/talent show?

Was involved in my old school with raising money for kids in Chernobyl, and we used to put on an all day soccer marathon (from when the sun came up to when it went down!). You'd only get a few people to play, but it was good craic.

You should also contact local supermarkets and get students to do bag packing. Oh, and for another money raiser, if you know any local bands/orchastra's, get them to go in to town (with a permit, just in case) and busk on Grafton Street around Christmas time. Should get hundreds that way.

No uniform day is a good one to run with of course. If you can, get the principal to agree that you'll have more then 1 no-uniform day per year (for charity of course) if a certain total is reached :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Burn a duck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

A Battle of The Bands, I helped organise one last year and it wasn't too difficult. Plus it was a huge success.

The only difficult part is getting the go-ahead from the authorities and finding the groups. The great thing about them is that they inspire people to put bands together for the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

We also has a beauty pagent....., (all boys school by the way!!)

A knock off the Rose of Tralee, "The Petal of St. Pat's" Lads dress up and the head master had Ray D'Arcy's job, we borrowed uniforms from the girls schools as well, great craic!!