Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seoige & O'Shea

• 18-10-2006 3:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭

well what do ye think...

i think its crap, but its early yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Cheap and cheerless. I nearly fell off the sofa in the opening section when the camera swept across the panel of guests.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Its on at a vey peculiar time, IMO. At half four (or there about's) is not the time you'd expect many people to sit down and be watching that type of show - most people are stuck in work, stuck in traffic.

The show is probably just so as Grainne Seoige has gotten into RTE. Don't be surprised if the show is cancelled before Christmas and she moves onto a current affairs programme.

I don't know what the other lad's story is. :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

great plug last night on the wrister review

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

great plug last night on the wrister review
    Got a very respectable 8.6, if I remember correctly. And that quick pan was very dodgy alright.

It's not a bad programme, too many uninteresting topics but generally it's OK. They have a tendancy of flying through discussions though when there's a bit of meat left in them. If they let the programme run on until 5:45 I think that would improve the show's brand. Then follow it with Nuacht RTÉ and the European forecast. I know that'll upset viewers of The Bill, but I'm surprised TV3 hasn't picked that up already, what with it being an ITV programme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

What Podge & Rodge said is true, the only good thing about is, you get to see Grainne's legs for the first time!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

testicle wrote:
    What Podge & Rodge said is true, the only good thing about is, you get to see Grainne's legs for the first time!
    This has disproved my theory that she's a mermaid. Curses.

Back to the drawing board for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I've watched it once or twice.
    Not the very worst of programmes tbh, but still nothing great. Bit of a change to the afternoon on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭superdudeman007

Kojak wrote:
    I don't know what the other lad's story is. :confused::confused:

Is he not gráinne's husband?

I know that'll upset viewers of The Bill, but I'm surprised TV3 hasn't picked that up already, what with it being an ITV programme.

Granada (ie ITV) have sold/lost their part of TV3. Most of the ITV stuff will probably disappear during 2007

Why don't RTE put a laid-back kind of rolling news show on between 4.30 and 6pm? Start with news heads, followed by some features with Grainne and Joe (á la S&O'S), News heads (5/10 mins) every half hour, Nuacht RTE and News with Signing wherever it fits, and finish it off with a hard hour of news where the Six One is anyway? RTE could ditch the Bill, and have more viewers and time to go into detail in its early evening news. And S&O'S wouldn't cut off viewers so quickly because thay'd have more than 45 mins. (I've said it before and I'll say it again - Hi to the RTE Market researchers reading this:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Closing Doors

He's wooden as f*ck whoever he is. The show is painful :(

I thought that one of the Sports lads on TV3 was her husband. :confused:

About 2 weeks back they were talking about the role that a father has in a child's life and Joe kept making the point that it's better when the father is "more mature", to which Gráinne kept responding "That's your excuse" :confused:

Maybe I was thinking they were like Richard and Judy because the show is exactly the same...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭rip2roar

He isn't Grainne's husband. He only began working in television three weeks ago. Before he was a columnist for the Daily Star for fifteen years. He is much more natural and confident off screen.I was on the show the other day being interviewed about a tv show that I am on next week (No Experience Required Transition Year) and Grainne and Joe were really nice. Plus I got to meet Harry Hill! That was a laugh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

rip2roar wrote:
    I was on the show the other day being interviewed about a tv show that I am on next week (No Experience Required Transition Year)

Ooh! Which job did you do? I meant to send away for that but the closing date passed me by.

Must say I loved the closing moments of today's show:
    [about half way through the credits]
    Joe: We'll see you tomorrow.
    Gráinne: Bye!
    [Gráinne and Joe turn to guests]
    Joe: Thanks for that.
    Gráinne: Yeah, just stay where ye are now for the moment, wait there a sec.
    [Sound fades down]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

This is just a vehicle to get Seoige into the newsroom, will replace Anne Doyle whenever she decides to call it a day and O'Shea will go back to his column in The Star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

whatever gets grainne seoige's legs on tv gets a thumbs up in my house

el rabitos wrote:
    whatever gets grainne seoige's legs on tv gets a thumbs up in my house

Exactly. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭homerjk

rip2roar wrote:
    He isn't Grainne's husband. He only began working in television three weeks ago. Before he was a columnist for the Daily Star for fifteen years. He is much more natural and confident off screen.I was on the show the other day being interviewed about a tv show that I am on next week (No Experience Required Transition Year) and Grainne and Joe were really nice. Plus I got to meet Harry Hill! That was a laugh!
    are you the lad that said "it was crap" or something like that?
    Me and my mates nearly fell of the couch laughing when you said that! maybe your sub-concious was thinking of the quality of the show you were on!

Jesus you heard it too! I meant to say "Career Path!". Slip of the tongue! I got such a slagging for it the next day and if you listen to the background you can hear Joe laughing when I said it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭homerjk

Yep i heard it! I could hear yer man sniggering too.
    It was classic, you did well not too laugh yourself.

It was building up!
    I'm back in tomorrow. They are filming me playing a game. "Canis Canem Edit" or as it is known everywhere else "Bully". Obviously a discussion on the violence and adult content in video games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Scarlet89

rip2roar wrote:
    It was building up!
    I'm back in tomorrow. They are filming me playing a game. "Canis Canem Edit" or as it is known everywhere else "Bully". Obviously a discussion on the violence and adult content in video games.

Any arguing over the make-up no? She should have smacked your man then people would tune in wondering whether she'd strike again...