Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's offical now, Morans gone.

• 18-10-2006 9:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭

From BreakingNews.ie:

Moran quits as Mayo boss
    18/10/2006 - 10:14:32

Mickey Moran has resigned as Mayo's senior football manager following the disappointment of last month's All-Ireland defeat to Kerry.

The decision was made following talks between the manager and county board officials yesterday evening.

In a statement this morning, Moran said he wished his successor good luck and every success, saying no one would be happier than him to see Mayo lift the Sam Maguire Cup.

Good luck to the man but it was kinda seen coming around these parts. The search is on now for the man who will finally bring us sucess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I have already made my thoughts on this subject clear on the other thread but I think they will have alot of difficulty filling that post, after all, they had trouble last time filling the post. Now another year, and another all ireland final later they are looking for another manager. It seems the only way to keep this job is to win the All Ireland, and seeing as there at least 3 better teams around, this is a very tough challenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Strangely enough there seems to be a few more interested this year. McHale and Holmes mentioned already. Still IMO the only man for the job is running for election so it doesn't look good. Moran could never really stay once Morrison went.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Jeez it must be retiring season full swing, Jack O'Connor has gone down our way, he was the most succesful manager since Mick O'Dwyer winning Two all-Ireland and league doubles, Paudi O'Sé only won two all-Ireland's and one National league (league and All-Ireland double in 1997) Full Back Mickey McCarthy, who won 3 Senior All-Ireland titles in his time with Kerry is also retired, We sure will miss the stone wall himself. linky

Rumours are now flying throughout the kingdom, I myself think the most likely candidate is the Bomber (Eoin Liston) I think he lead Kerry back into another glorious era if he gets the job. Other rumours now have say that, that stumpus of a Paudi O'Sé is interested in coming back, OMG :eek: I hope not, he in his wisdom threw away three all-Ireland's one to Meath and subsequently galway and two to the northern upstarts. If big Mike Quirke was put in full forward in 2002 or 2003 he would have left Armagh and Tyrone for dead as Donaghy did to Armagh and left Francie (spillane's mother) :D:D Bellew's reputation in tatters.

Hopefully the old and new bomber between em will bomb the rest of the country to smitthereens come next year, first on the agenda that thick headed Billy Morgan and then Mickey Harte. The air-raid sirens are sounding early lads!! be ready :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

I don't give a rats ass about Kerry, there is another thread for that. Secondly "Two of the Northern Upstarts" you mention. Well one, in my opinion best manager around Mr Harte and best team in the country is no upstart and always upstarts Kerry.

I think Holmes and Connelly will get it and probably deserve a shot at it since they delivered the U21 title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Its funny how you can go to delivering the best performance in the history of Mayo GAA (according to most Mayo fans) to being dumped in the space of one game.

And make no mistake, whatever the press releases say, Moran was forced out by the county board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I'm sorry to see Moran go, he's a tremendous fellah, a real decent man.

Can Holmes/Connelly do any better? ..... I dunno. They are good guys as well.

The situation is Simple though, Mayo are not as good as Kerry (yet anyway)

On a results basis you have to rank Tyrone and Armagh ahead of them, although Mayo have never had any problems with the 'Northern' teams at Senior or U 21 level.... but that's a by-issue anyway.

If they can get over the All-Ireland humiliation, then we certainly have the players to challenge again, indeed some cracking U 21's coming through.

The player base is there .....please oh please will someone drag us over that line.:(

In an ideal world, you'd love O'Mahony to take it, but he's tied himself to Fine Gael (which is going pear-shaped as well).

I'd like Denis Kearney to get the job, Mayo will never be found wanting on the physical stakes again ........but couldn't begrudge Holmes/Connelly partnership a shot at it either.

Its funny how you can go to delivering the best performance in the history of Mayo GAA (according to most Mayo fans) to being dumped in the space of one game.

And make no mistake, whatever the press releases say, Moran was forced out by the county board.

He was forced out i agree but he was tied to a review after one year (on a two year contract) which didn't help his cause. However i think he would have held on if Morrison hadn't gone. Also just because it was the best performance of a Mayo team (which is debatable i posted here that Tyrone in 04 was at least as good) that doesn't mean the manager (and players) didn't make mistakes.Most said at the time that if we gave Kerry a 7 point lead we wouldn't see them again. I was sceptical about M&M at the start of their tenure and while they won me over to a certain extent I won't go down fighting for them.

Now anyone but McHale or Paidi would do okay

It seems to me that all the neuturals outside looking in think the current situation in Mayo a bit ridiculous. All the Mayo men here seem to have unrealistic objectives for their team. Personally I think any manager who is a name would be mad to go near the job, it is a lose lose situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

"If big Mike Quirke was put in full forward in 2002 or 2003 he would have left Armagh and Tyrone for dead as Donaghy did to Armagh and left Francie (spillane's mother) Bellew's reputation in tatters"
    ---

haha at the Quirke comment, jesus do you not remember how bad Kerry were that day in 2003? I don't think you're being truthful. And Stevie O Neill kicked six points from play of Bellew in last year's Ulster Final, so i dont know how that didn't do things to his reputation, he got absolutely roasted. Left for dead, you might say!

On the other hand, fair play, seeing the other thread I'm pleasantly surprised you actually want Ireland to win back the Cormac McAnallen cup in the international rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

"If big Mike Quirke was put in full forward in 2002 or 2003 he would have left Armagh and Tyrone for dead as Donaghy did to Armagh and left Francie (spillane's mother) Bellew's reputation in tatters"
    ---

haha at the Quirke comment, jesus do you not remember how bad Kerry were that day in 2003? I don't think you're being truthful. And Stevie O Neill kicked six points from play of Bellew in last year's Ulster Final, so i dont know how that didn't do things to his reputation, he got absolutely roasted. Left for dead, you might say!

On the other hand, fair play, seeing the other thread I'm pleasantly surprised you actually want Ireland to win back the Cormac McAnallen cup in the international rules.

I completely agree that Kerry were not good in 2003 and Tyrone completely outmanoeuvred them and outplayed them in all sectors of the field. As for Francie Bellew I wouldn't even rate him a first cousin of a full back but I did get great glee from watching Joe Brolly's face change colour and shape as the match progressed, as many pundit's were certain that Armagh would put tay to Kerry's challenge and go onto win the All-Ireland. Mike Quirke is astronomical and if he was at the verge of the square nothing short of a cruise missile would remove him. I saw him play at a challenge match between Kerry and Dublin at the Templenoe GAA Pitch stand opening and he did wreck to the Dublin backs even though Dublin won the game.

Alot of people myself included had it earmarked as the All-Ireland decider, (two matches in advance, and I am certain had the towering Kieran Donaghy not roasted Armagh that they would be at the foot of the Hogan stand) I completely back Ireland and hope they can show the passion and motivation that drove them to demolish the Aussies two years ago to claim the Cormac McAnallen cup for the first time. I do think the spirit of "Winning it for Cormac" was particularly prevalent then and if they can show form like them hopefully they might win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Waylander wrote:
    It seems to me that all the neuturals outside looking in think the current situation in Mayo a bit ridiculous. All the Mayo men here seem to have unrealistic objectives for their team. Personally I think any manager who is a name would be mad to go near the job, it is a lose lose situation.

What is unrealistic?

Look at Mayo clubs performances over the last 15 years, we have a Club Championship second to none.
    There is no other sport in the county competing (on a serious level) for our players.
    We have supporters who have travelled in their droves for 20 years up and down the country, who would give their right arm for Sam Maguire.
    We're the third biggest county in Ireland.
    Last but not least, we've competed in too many All-Ireland Finals at too many grades, and time after time, we finish second.....second, second.

If Armagh and Tyrone with all their political disadvantages (not too mention <50% of population to choose from) can do it, sure as hell Mayo can do it.

I do expect Mayo to win an All Ireland soon, because they have the players in the county to do so.

I also expect them to compete on All Ireland final day.

My expectations are very realistic (IMO)

By the way, Dublin supporters should expect more from their county team as well. 35% of the national population !!!

Culchie wrote:
    What is unrealistic?

Look at Mayo clubs performances over the last 15 years, we have a Club Championship second to none.
    There is no other sport in the county competing (on a serious level) for our players.
    We have supporters who have travelled in their droves for 20 years up and down the country, who would give their right arm for Sam Maguire.
    We're the third biggest county in Ireland.
    Last but not least, we've competed in too many All-Ireland Finals at too many grades, and time after time, we finish second.....second, second.

If Armagh and Tyrone with all their political disadvantages (not too mention <50% of population to choose from) can do it, sure as hell Mayo can do it.

I do expect Mayo to win an All Ireland soon, because they have the players in the county to do so.

I also expect them to compete on All Ireland final day.

My expectations are very realistic (IMO)

By the way, Dublin supporters should expect more from their county team as well. 35% of the national population !!!

Seconded. I mean nobody ... Kerry, Tyrone, Galway... have been in as many finals as us in the last 15 yrs at all grades. We have the tradition of being a big football county. The players are there skill wise anyway. I suppose a mental thing is there but IMO that only kicks in for a final.

Lads the facts of the matter are Mayo do not have a squad of senior players to match Kerry, Armagh or Tyrone, and Dublin are pretty much on a par with them. I find it ironic that for the whole year now Dublin fans have been getting grief for being too expectant, and talking their team up, and now on this thread we are told we should be more expectant. You just cant win around here. And please do not get me wrong, I think fans should be optimistic about their teams chances, but this optimism should be tempered by realism, and continuosly sacking managers who get you to All Ireland finals, especially after only one year in charge, is not really giving any incentive to others to want the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,378 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

In an ideal world, you'd love O'Mahony to take it, but he's tied himself to Fine Gael (which is going pear-shaped as well).

I have been told he is no longer teaching...
    perhaps taking the Mayo job and doing well... will boost his election chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Waylander wrote:
    Lads the facts of the matter are Mayo do not have a squad of senior players to match Kerry, Armagh or Tyrone, and Dublin are pretty much on a par with them. I find it ironic that for the whole year now Dublin fans have been getting grief for being too expectant, and talking their team up, and now on this thread we are told we should be more expectant. You just cant win around here. And please do not get me wrong, I think fans should be optimistic about their teams chances, but this optimism should be tempered by realism, and continuosly sacking managers who get you to All Ireland finals, especially after only one year in charge, is not really giving any incentive to others to want the job.

First off, the Dublin fans got stick for saying "We're gonna win the All-Ireland". We are saying "We can win an All-Ireland". We have players that can match Armagh and Tyrone given the right coaching. Kerry are just leagues ahead. Why is it people still think of us as a footballing nobody? The guy at the disco that people look at and wonder "what the **** his he doing here?". We've proved we're a top county. We've proved we can be second best. Why can't we believe that our side can be the best? Should we just go home and say "Ah sure it's alright lads, we'll settle for second".

We had Maughan in charge for quite a few years when we got to two finals. Then we hired him again when we felt it we should have kept him. He tried his hand and yet again failed. So we got rid. Holmes had a torrid time. We went out in the qualifiers and some of the worst players ever to wear the shirt were under his reign. He did win us a National League though so credit where it's due.

Moran and Morrison knew they had a years review and then another year afterwards if it was successful. Morrison left under pressure and Moran was never going to stay after that. There were reservations before they were appointed and despite a successful season, they bottled it against Kerry (players included) just like Moran has done with Derry and Sligo before that against Kerry.

Shortlist for the job?: O'Mahony, Kearney, T.Jordan (Crossmolina), T.Lyons (not that one, the Ballina one), K. Gallagher, Holmes/Connelly.

My personal choice would be Martin Carney with TJ Kilgannon with him. But he wouldn't touch it with a stick with the present Co Board.

Rumour I've heard today:

O'Mahony, Carney and Holmes dream team.

Won't happen. But you never know. Stranger things have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Kerry are the best, but they're not "leagues ahead" - although granted Mayo made them look like they were, so I suppose its convenient for Mayo fans to say that. Armagh pushed Kerry very hard and the final scoreline did not reflect how close that game was.

First off, the Dublin fans got stick for saying "We're gonna win the All-Ireland". We are saying "We can win an All-Ireland". We have players that can match Armagh and Tyrone given the right coaching. Kerry are just leagues ahead. Why is it people still think of us as a footballing nobody? The guy at the disco that people look at and wonder "what the **** his he doing here?". We've proved we're a top county. We've proved we can be second best. Why can't we believe that our side can be the best? Should we just go home and say "Ah sure it's alright lads, we'll settle for second".

We had Maughan in charge for quite a few years when we got to two finals. Then we hired him again when we felt it we should have kept him. He tried his hand and yet again failed. So we got rid. Holmes had a torrid time. We went out in the qualifiers and some of the worst players ever to wear the shirt were under his reign. He did win us a National League though so credit where it's due.

Moran and Morrison knew they had a years review and then another year afterwards if it was successful. Morrison left under pressure and Moran was never going to stay after that. There were reservations before they were appointed and despite a successful season, they bottled it against Kerry (players included) just like Moran has done with Derry and Sligo before that against Kerry.

Shortlist for the job?: O'Mahony, Kearney, T.Jordan (Crossmolina), T.Lyons (not that one, the Ballina one), K. Gallagher, Holmes/Connelly.

My personal choice would be Martin Carney with TJ Kilgannon with him. But he wouldn't touch it with a stick with the present Co Board.

I dont disagree with any of that. Fans should be both optimistic and supportive. I just dont think it is very supportive getting rid of a manager who got you to the final, and inspired Mayos best match for many years, as said by many mayo men, and all this in his first season. Not a bad introduction season, but hey, he didnt win it, so get rid of him. makes no sense to me.

Waylander wrote:
    I dont disagree with any of that. Fans should be both optimistic and supportive. I just dont think it is very supportive getting rid of a manager who got you to the final, and inspired Mayos best match for many years, as said by many mayo men, and all this in his first season. Not a bad introduction season, but hey, he didnt win it, so get rid of him. makes no sense to me.
    True not a bad introduction season but he said he would only take it for two years max. This means usually a build in the first season and push on for the win in the second. Because nobody belives that anyone who flopped in the final so spectacularly will win it again the following year. Maybe the year after that but not the following year so he went/was pushed. No hard feelings towards the man as said befor he gave his best for Mayo football.

IMO the Dubs aren't equal to Mayo approx 3 yrs behind thats why people were saying that the Dubs were getting ahead of themselves with the "we are going to win this easy" attitude. Also this was more prevalent in Dublin this year than in Mayo.

People now saying O'Mahony will have to take it or he won't get voted in!! That would have to be the best reason ever for a man taking a county job:)

Waylander wrote:
    I just dont think it is very supportive getting rid of a manager who got you to the final, and inspired Mayos best match for many years, as said by many mayo men, and all this in his first season. Not a bad introduction season, but hey, he didnt win it, so get rid of him. makes no sense to me.

I'd partially agree with that. It gives out a bad message to anyone who wants to go for the job. Also considering that we got hammered in 2004 and Maughan was still given another year afterwards.