Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Live reports from CueClub team event.

• 14-10-2006 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭

Full house. 30 teams of 3. €13.5k prizepool.

2nd blind level sees two players make their exit. !st out is the unfortunate Ken o Regan from the Maccau when he got his aces cracked by Q9 :eek:

Next man to hit the floor was DeV :eek: dont know the details but AK suited was his holding. So team donkeys are a man down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

connie147 wrote:
    Next man to hit the floor was DeV :eek: dont know the details but AK suited was his holding. So team donkeys are a man down

And he's always the one tittering about early casualties from his monthly Drogheda game despite such a good structure:p

Keep us informed about the Dublin lads!. Whats RoryC's view on 'The Standard'?:) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Let me know how my special people team of poker i sent down fom big slick is goin .... That Richie frisby will blind himself out of :D:D:D:D

Hope the pts structure was ok 4 ya m8

Neill K
    BSP

connie147 wrote:
    Ken o Regan from the Maccau when he got his aces cracked by Q9 :eek:

How did this hand unfold ???? Ken r u flat callin those Aces again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

How did this hand unfold ???? Ken r u flat callin those Aces again

Yep. villian raises preflop with Q9, flat called by Ken, flop 964 rainbow,villian bets ken minimum reraises, turn 4, check, ken raises ,villian calls, river 9, villian leads, Ken goes all-in:eek:

5 players gone, all having lost 100pts for their team. On 3rd level, 75-150.

Dave Masters(pppspecial) down to the felt when he ran kings into aces

Blinds 150-300
    13 players gone, including Dave Masters who put in the last of his chips trying to stop a flush draw and failed.

Funniest hand of the night? well thats easy. Butch power limps UTG, galway player in utg+1 goes all in blind :eek: for 5,000 (blinds 100-200). Folded around to SB who has K-10 and thinks thats enough to put him adead,so he calls. The utg limper calls as well with AA.Blind raiser shows A-6.
    Flop K-9-3, turn K for SB to take out 2 players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Aces

Connie any chance you can let me kow how Keith Mc Inerney doing and whos on his team ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Aces wrote:
    Connie any chance you can let me kow how Keith Mc Inerney doing and whos on his team ?

Keith went out when he raised with AsQx from utg preflop. Was called by Maggie flopitis. Flop Q7x all sp. All chips get in, Maggie shows Q7 and 7 on turn seals the deal. Fiachra was out early enough too, don't know details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

connie147 wrote:
    Butch power limps UTG, galway player in utg+1 goes all in blind :eek:
    BLIND????

Any news down there Connie .... whos left in ..... blinds ... large stacks

ty
    neill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭scooter 007

any news on who won this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I finished in my usual bubble position... top 9 got paid, I went out in 11th or 12th.

Ran my QQ into some drunk blokes AA for a 160,000 pot to give me the chip lead:(

Still outlasted all the other boardies!

I think a local crowd won the team prize

Really well run tourney, the cue club has a great atmosphere about the place. Oh and 'the farmer' and maggie 'flopitis' have to be seen to be believed! SICK poker :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

roryc wrote:
    Ran my QQ into some drunk blokes AA for a 160,000 pot to give me the chip lead

Rory at least you were able to get a few chips out've Denjoes later:D

Hi Rory,
    Thanks for the kind comments.The tourney was a great success and everybody seemed to enjoy themselves which was the most important aspect on my behalf.

It was a local team that came out on top,Mark Coffey,Dave Brown and Brendan Collins.
    Budda from Waterford won the individual prize.

While I write,50 players lined up for the individual €150 F/O today which started at 3.00pm. Musician is going well at the moment as is ZZZR1100.
    Its same structure as yesterday,30 min blinds all the way.€7k prize pool.
    Ill try to keep ye updated.

By the way,you were 2nd last boardster standing,Rogue Trader finished 5th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭horsebokks

connie147 wrote:
    Hi Rory,
    Thanks for the kind comments.The tourney was a great success and everybody seemed to enjoy themselves which was the most important aspect on my behalf.

It was a local team that came out on top,Mark Coffey,Dave Brown and Brendan Collins.
    Budda from Waterford won the individual prize.

While I write,50 players lined up for the individual €150 F/O today which started at 3.00pm. Musician is going well at the moment as is ZZZR1100.
    Its same structure as yesterday,30 min blinds all the way.€7k prize pool.
    Ill try to keep ye updated.

connie,did any of the waterford lads stay today for the freezeout?
    if so how are they gettin on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Poker Hound

Congrats to Alan 'Rogue Trader' Dillon being last boardster in Connie's excellently run Team event.

Thats 4 cashes in his last 3 tournaments!

3 individual cashes(including 1 win) plus joint 3rd in yesterdays Team event.

Excellent tournament and great atmosphere at the Cue Club. Definately be back for the winter festival. Only 90 places so book early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Great tournament Connie.

You run a really welcoming and friendly club, made for a crackin' weekend away.
    Lookin forward to my next trip.

Many thanks
    Conor

btw, make sure Muso doesn't play as fishy as he did in the drunken hotel lobby sit n go we had:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Yup. Like to say thanks to Connie et al for a great weekend of poker. Lovely club and a really well run event. The atmosphere and banter at the cash tables was something that you'll rarely find in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I couldn't play, due to family 'do' in Killarney, but I dropped in for a look yesterday afternoon. Great spot and I'll definetly play next time I'm home. Really envious seeing all the lads playing and I have to head off for a meal. Was going to head back at 1am for cash game but I think it was just as well that I didn't.:)

ps Hope Muso does well in FO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Thanks to you Connie and all the staff at the club for making it a highly enjoyable trip down to Kerry. I was sorry I couldn't stay around for the FO today, but needed to head back up today.

I will certainly be back down again, and can highly recommend it to others. Great Craic.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Lazare wrote:
    Great tournament Connie.

You run a really welcoming and friendly club, made for a crackin' weekend away.
    Lookin forward to my next trip.

Many thanks
    Conor

btw, make sure Muso doesn't play as fishy as he did in the drunken hotel lobby sit n go we had:)

He was fishy!!

you rivered me for 1st ya luckbox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

yeah me as well just like to say thanks to Connie and crew for a very welcoming place and a great craic all toghether .
    will deffo be back with the lads again,.

Jesus lads,we're not that special but Im glad ye felt welcome.I think Killarney,(being chiefly a tourist town) does extend a welcome to visitors and we were delighted to have ye.

On the F/O, there are now 14 left and muso is still there along with fellow boardster ZZZR1100. and nicnicnic. Other well known names left are Kieth McInerney(clare) Billy Houlihan(kerry-6th in last month boards game in SE).

Amazingly the 2 waterford lads who finished up heads up yesterday in the individual section of the team event, are both still left in todays freezeout as well.

Before I finish, just thought id let you know Sideshowbob is ruling the roost at the cash tables.He's ripping all before him and he's a stack in front of him that even he could hide behind. DeV has vowed to lighten his load as has Maggie flopitis Cooke, so the rest of the night should be interesting.

As Sideshow woul say "your not in the magazine for nothing,Your not in the magazine for nothing"

final table

1-Kieth McInerney 41k
    2-mike Lyons-47.5k
    3-Derry o Sullivan-21k
    4-Musician-17k
    5-ZZR1100-31k
    6-Leo Nash-25k
    7-Budda-70k
    8-nicnicnic-38k
    9-Billy Holian-66k

1st hand final table,ZZR1100 pushes from mis position with KK, called in the SB by Kieth with JJ, Jack on the turn to end ZZR's tourney.

out in 8th is leo nash when he moved all in off the button with A-4, called by Budda with A-5s and Budda flops nut flush.

out in 7thwas Muso who moved in with A-8 only for BB to wake up with A-Q and that was all she wrote.

Out on the bubble was Kieth McInerney when his Jacks came back to haunt him.He moved all in from UTG but Billy woke up in the BB with KK and this time there was no miricle jack on the board.

Local boy Derry O sullivan finished 5th when in the BB,he called Mike Lyons allin from the SB, Derry showed Kh-Qh, Mike 10-3o, 10 on the river and derry was gone.

Now 4 left with Billy in the Chip lead.

Nicnicnic gone when he ran K-120 into Buddas A-K. Down to 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

great weekend as ever Connie, structures were magic but that's to be expected from you. Not to disappointed to finish 4th, got over aggressive buts that's my game when I get shorted handed and generaly See's me right so I cant complain when it doesnt work out for me.

My good mate Warren Buda Lane, has to take the plaudits for the weekend. Yesterday winning what has to be the hardest €160 ever won in poker. He took down the individual prize but his team had agreed to split all prize money won( they bubbled by 5 points for 3rd place in team event) so he got €330 less his entry.

So he really deserved to get the top prize in the event today(also nice that I had a good % of him).

As for the townies verses the culchies well it was the deise who take the glory 1st and second in team individual and joint 1st and 4th in the Sunday game from a tiny % of the field.

Taken the Kerry cash home is definitely sweeter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭rogue trader

connie147 wrote:

Hi Connie,
    Unfortuantely out in 9th but nevertheless, can't complain considering at one stage i only had 1800 chips with blinds at 3k/6k!

But just to say, well done on a great tournament. I might not be able to make your festival next month, which is very disappointing, but anyone reading these posts should now know that it will be a great few days of poker.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Great weekend Connie. Thanks for 2 great tourneys. Pity the other wimps from Dublin weren't up for day 2 bar myself and Dev. Shortstacked on the final table I had to make a move with a weak Ace, Nicky made a good call with AJ and as much as I would have loved to have sucked out on him he deservedly took the hand. Time to start saving for your Winter festival next month.

musician wrote:
    Great weekend Connie. Thanks for 2 great tourneys. Pity the other wimps from Dublin weren't up for day 2 bar myself and Dev. Shortstacked on the final table I had to make a move with a weak Ace, Nicky made a good call with AJ and as much as I would have loved to have sucked out on him he deservedly took the hand. Time to start saving for your Winter festival next month.

Thanks Brian. Totally wrecked after the weekend but it was a great buzz.

We're starting to take names for the festival so hopefully I'll get to see most of ye again then.

WP by the way.You were shortstack for about 3 hours.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

connie147 wrote:
    You were shortstack for about 3 hours.

My natural state of existence in a tourney :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Thorough enjoy everything except the horrible cards. I'll write a blog about them rather then bore you all but a set rivered by a straight, a straight river by a house and finally AK on the button into KK to finish me off.
    Splitting the dubs mad STT on the train (20 rebuy generated 780 prizepool!) and taking some of the utter lucksack called Sideshow Bob's stack meant I broke even after the ex's and tournie entry. Mad cash action there but I got rivered again to lose an 800 pot! I dont know if I should be happy or sad with the weekends outcome! :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 dgaffer

Connie,
    First post on the boards, because have to thanks for a great weekend of poker in the kingdom, all the bannermen enjoyed the occasion and hope to make a return visit soon.keith

dgaffer wrote:
    Connie,
    First post on the boards, because have to thanks for a great weekend of poker in the kingdom, all the bannermen enjoyed the occasion and hope to make a return visit soon.keith

Thanks Kieth,
    Its nice to welcome another quality player to the boards family.Look forward to our next tangle,
    Connie