Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do YOU keep your bike safe??

• 12-10-2006 8:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭

Hello all and sundry. New guy. First post.
    I have read these forums with interest for a few weeks now and have decided to join this merry throng of bikers. If I'm allowed, that is.
    My first poser is one that will touch all of you without a garage. How to keep your pride and joy safe.
    I would like to be able to lock my bike away safe and sound, when it is not in use, but the only things I have found are too impracticle or too damned expensive.:eek:
    For example,
    http://www.cycleshell.com/index.html
    http://www.thebikebarn.net/index_uk.htm
    http://www.site-safe.co.uk/bikesafe.htm
    http://www.securit.gb.com/motorbikes.htm
    http://www.airflow-group.com/category.do?category=74
    There is another one which is priced at about £2,000 Sterling. The dogs gonads, I do admit, but way over the top.
    Does anyone know of a supplier of similar items here in Dublin, or anywhere in Ireland for that matter, that can supply a lockable bunker, only just big enough to push the bike into, and not look too gaudy plonked in the front garden???:confused:
    I have searched for weeks and am now at a loss. There HAS to be something, somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Hi and you are more than welcome to join in the general banter here :)

As regards your "predicament", I too have looked with some interest for a "garage" of sorts like you describe. I have seen some at the bike shows in the RDS and NEC, but I agree, that they are not the most pretty of structures.

If you have a side passage on your house, and you can get the bike around, I would recommend that.

A much simpler solution, is to fit a ground anhor or two, and throw a bike cover over it. I have gone for this option.

Are you having a problem with people "looking" at your bike? If so, I don't know if a metal box is a help or just a thing to prove you can open...

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Ground anchor, cover, and perhaps behind a tree to obscure view of it from the road, is fine for me. Actually I use two chains of toughened steel, one around the porch pillar tread into another which in turn is attached to the frame of the machine. The front wheel has a disk lock. I also have a motorbike alarm. Placing the bike in the back is best, though as mine is too wide, the above is what I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Chippy01

nereid wrote:
    Hi and you are more than welcome to join in the general banter here :)

As regards your "predicament", I too have looked with some interest for a "garage" of sorts like you describe. I have seen some at the bike shows in the RDS and NEC, but I agree, that they are not the most pretty of structures.

If you have a side passage on your house, and you can get the bike around, I would recommend that.

A much simpler solution, is to fit a ground anhor or two, and throw a bike cover over it. I have gone for this option.

Are you having a problem with people "looking" at your bike? If so, I don't know if a metal box is a help or just a thing to prove you can open...

L.

There are pros and cons for every situation, I guess.
    I can get the bike around the back via the side alley, but that entains lifting the rear end around. Tight corners and narrow passages don't help none. I'm getting too old for that kind of palava.
    The bike does sport an alarm, disc lock, and a good chain and lock through an anchor on the side wall. And I do have a cover.
    I was looking for the 'box' mainly for the summer months, when the good weather suddenly appears, and a quick spin out beckons. Winter time is when it will be in the back shed, jacked up, stripped down, and generally overhauled ready for the next 'riding season'.
    'Her Indoors' mentioned the 'attractivness' of such a structure to those of a questionable nature, and she could be right. .....But,,,, if the bike could just squeeze into the box, really tight fit, it might be small enough to go un-noticed .........maybe.
    More thought needed, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

luckily i have now managed to get a garage (yippee!) but for the 5 years before that i had a link off a ships anchor embedded in concrete, bike chain, disc locks, cover & a car in front i only had 1 bike robbed, but i had a crappier chain at the time & i got the bike back a week later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

I live in the city centre in a flat (in a converted house) so had no garage option... I asked around and the owner of my local laundry shop asked a friend of his who owns a house accross the street from me if I could park my bike inside one of his houses (there's a little landing off the street before actually going into the house so it was handy for me and the tenants). The owner of the house agreed for €40 EUR a month (a business man as you can see) so now my bike is always off the streets! ;)
    To add to this, I have a disc lock for the front wheel, a proper chain & lock for back wheel and an alarm with beeper. So if anybody even tries to steal it they'll have to deal with me, my anger and my baseball bat before getting away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I use a ground anchor, lock and chain, as well as a cover and a alarm.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

an alarm with motion sensor is well worth the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Mine is garaged, but almost no new houses have garages these days. Any Abus Granit lock is good

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Good point paparazzo.

As with the lock, its fair to say the more you pay the better protection you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Datatool Veto Alarm, Disclock, another lock that squeezes the front brake close to the throttle, steering lock, garage. If I didn't have a garage, it would be an anonymous cover, ground anchor, and a mountain bike u lock in the spokes front and rear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I live in the back of beyond and keep my bike unlocked in a wooden garden shed. My dog also lives in the shed and if anyone goes near it she will chew their legs off.

When I lived in Dublin I convinced a mate that an RGV250 would look good in his sitting room - it worked for a couple of months but eventually the smell of petrol got to his girlfriend and he made me move it.

'cptr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

I live in the back of beyond and keep my bike unlocked in a wooden garden shed. My dog also lives in the shed and if anyone goes near it she will chew their legs off.

When I lived in Dublin I convinced a mate that an RGV250 would look good in his sitting room - it worked for a couple of months but eventually the smell of petrol got to his girlfriend and he made me move it.

'cptr
    classic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Chippy01

Thanks to everyone that has replied.
    As I said before, more thought needed.
    I have most of the security options mentioned, I guess I just wanted to be lazy and not haul the bike round the back every time I get home.
    Damn it, I hate getting old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

go the scrapyard,
    buy a non running transit/hiace etc for about 300eu,
    tow it home and stick it up on bricks.

secure, un-robbable shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

only problem about the physical move around back is you increase your chances of accidentally scratchin it up :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

subway wrote:
    go the scrapyard,
    buy a non running transit/hiace etc for about 300eu,
    tow it home and stick it up on bricks.

secure, un-robbable shed.

This is a good suggestion - I tried it once but my wife threatened to move out if I didn't get the algae covered L200 out of the driveway. I couldn't lock the back door on it and was parking a rusty Micra against it to secure it. She's a very patient woman my wife.

'cptr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

i have a 93 non running vectra that i use as extra storage.
    its a 1.6 litre diesel and built like a tank.
    in winter i stick the bike between it and the wall and wrap a duvet round the engine.
    starts every time, bike is also completely hidden.
    if im going away i usually lock the bike to the wheel of the car.
    awkward to get at if your planning on cutting anything and no room to jack up the car

as an added touch the vecrta is navy so looks like a garda car from that era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭saobh_ie

The Bandit used to be alarmed, chain on rear wheel to cubic meter of concrete, chain on front wheel through engine bars to ground anchor. It was alarmed and when parked up long term an alarmed disk lock was hidden in where it couldn't be seen on the front wheel. Add a dog and thats yer lot. Now its in a steel shed under a pile of crap.

My other bike just sits around with a chain and disklock, occasionally chained to something solid in a place people don't really go. Or sometimes it gets hidden in an abandoned warehouse in North Dublin. =] Behind big assed steel doors and a six foot razor wire topped fence.

Place is infested with fecking birds though...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

i need help with this question too guys,

i am getting a bandit 600N in the next week or two and as i live in a town house, i have no front garden or back garden :mad:

anyhow, straight facing me (approx 10 metres) is a set of those steel bars that are used as cycle racks in my estate, you know like the standard steel bars you would see in town somewhere, anchored to the ground.

what i was gona do is, i have an abus granite chain and lock i was gone wrap around the rear wheel and frame and to the cycle rack some how, then a disc lock on the front wheel, and it will be alarmed with a datatool alarm and immobiliser with motion detector then i will cover it to protect it from the elements mainly.

what you think, should that be enough?

cheers,
    keith.

kceire wrote:

Should be ok.

Is the metal frame "movable"? I picked a lamp post as my immovable object.

L.

ps, welcome to the site.

nereid wrote:
    Should be ok.

Is the metal frame "movable"? I picked a lamp post as my immovable object.

L.

ps, welcome to the site.

no, im sure its concreted into the ground, but i must double check,if its not then i will get ground anchor!

thanks for the welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

:d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

kceire wrote:

...if it's just standard, galvanised, bike rack, maybe not. The tube of that device is as secure as a chain made of cheese strings. You'd cut it with a.....spoon? They won't need to touch your high-tech lock........

OK, so they won't ride you're bike off, but if it's being lifted into van, that's a moot point...........they're not trying to ride it off..........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote:
    ...if it's just standard, galvanised, bike rack, maybe not. The tube of that device is as secure as a chain made of cheese strings. You'd cut it with a.....spoon? They won't need to touch your high-tech lock........

OK, so they won't ride you're bike off, but if it's being lifted into van, that's a moot point...........they're not trying to ride it off..........

yeah totally agree mate, i think the only option is to get a ground anchor fitted.

cheers,
    keith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 electricheadx

I've mine round the back of the house with locked gates to the side entrance(If your lucky enought to be able to do that)
    Have a disc lock and a Y-Anchor.
    Let me sleep bettre at night. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

galwaytt wrote:

Is lifiting into a van really all that common?

My bike is locked with a good chain on the back, and disk on the front, but I thought that was enough. Maybe not??

wbailey wrote:
    Is lifiting into a van really all that common?

Yes very.

Any bike is liftable by "enough" lads. A sports bike at 170kg for example, two lads drive up in a van, open the back doors. Grab the bike, and haul it up a bike ramp into the van. Gone in 60 seconds.

Lock your bike to something immovable. At the very least, it extends the 60 seconds by however many x seconds it takes to break the locks.

L.