Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

See what you've cost us?!

• 12-10-2006 2:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭

This morning I sent 4 people on a trip which will take 17 hours, 4 flights and which cost my company the guts of £2000stg.. this afternoon I dicover that I could have flown them directly (4 hour trip) and it would have cost £700stg. Oh well :o

This got me thinking about the most I've ever cost anyone else (be it in work or other).

Once I was driving a forklift in an Esat Digifone storage warehouse. I took a bend too quickly and crashed into a mobile cabinet which had £250,000's worth of equipment in it at the time... I drove straight through it with the forks like. Needless to say, I quickly removed the evidence, made my excuses and went on my way.

That was exciting!

Any similar experiences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Probably only pride.

I am interested to know where you were sending said people that you thought could only be done in four flights and turns out can be done in one...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

I once stood on the shelf of one of those metal racks in warehouses to reach something on the top shelf. the whole thing collapsed, and because it was on a mezzanine floor,it hit the guard railings and toppled over onto the ground below. That rack was full of joysticks and keyboards and that sort of thing, and lots of it was smashed. I think the main expense came from the whole rack being replaced as well as part of the floor where the screws holding the rack in ripped up huge chunks of wood. I think the total damage was about IR£1200. (and a fortune spent on bandages as I ripped my finger open as well, which I think is the reason I got away with it :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

ON a weeks UNPAID expericnce/project from college (during our midterm mind,in case we actually wanted to work to help pay for rest of college year!) i was based in a precision workshop measuring parts being made including holes with an internal micrometer,which is a cylinderical shaped device,which rolled off the table i was working at +broke into 3pieces, only worth about 800 sterling. the guy i was working with thought it was hilarious but his boss wasnt too pleased, and he definetly wasnt when i cracked the joke of "hey, take it out of my wages!!"

Recently I had to wear a heart monitor for a week. One night when I was in a rush I ran into my room. One of the wires got caught on the door handle and got pulled out.

Next morning I walked into the hospital and told them about it. They gave me a new one but the technician informed me that they cost €3,000 and the other one was completely useless now.

Oopsie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I thrashed a €500 lawnmower that refused to start in a fit of rage with a pickaxe. Nothing is more annoying than pulling away and for nothing to happen then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

I took the side door completely off a taxi man's brand-new-never-been-used car in a garage I used to work in. I was 17 at the time when it happened, had no idea what to do. So I ran.

netwhizkid wrote:
    Nothing is more annoying than pulling away and for nothing to happen then.

:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

netwhizkid wrote:

...that's what she said!!!

Ba-dum-Tish!!!

Edit: Aaaaah!!!! Beaten to the punch!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Was working in a warehouse with a very small forklift bay through which all stock was transferred between the ground and first floor. Was running late and was bringing in a few pallets to go upstairs, one of them was turned the wrong way around so when i went to lift it to the first floor it smashed into the security shutter at the front of the forklift bay. The noise made me jump and I pulled the lever harder.
    Result : One security shutter smashing down onto a pallet full of expensive stock, crushing it, one broken security shutter, one trapped forklift.

And to make matters works the manager and the area manager were looking at me when it happened. Everone standing around in silence and the best I can come up with is "Whoops".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

I took down a large number of web servers and cost the company about €750,000 in lost revenue :(:(:(

Got my ass kicked for it but was not sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

netwhizkid wrote:

The story of my life. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭sgarvan

i reveresed a work van into a wall a few years ago after been told not to move it, cost about £6000 to get fixed. didnt get sacked but was hated in the job for the rest of my stay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

Worked in a warehouse years ago and we used a milk cart to move pallets of stock from our storage wearhouse to our picking wearhouse. Well went in the tuck one day, got to the storage area, drove in and loaded up the cart. When I was backing out, I did not look to my left, and a brand new merc crashed right into me, and I crashed right into a big van. The milk van was fine, the mers front end was destroyed and the vans door was smashed to bits.

I quit that shi t job after a couple of months. The boss was a prick in anyway, I kick his head in, outside the Red Cow a couple of months after I left, he was a big bully… Good old days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Ye shower of eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I borked a hotel's booking/billing/telephony server when I was still in college. Usual case of a little bit of knowledge being an incredibly dangerous thing. AFAIK, the call-out engineers charged over a hundred an hour to rebuild the server and were there for a *long* time rebuilding it. Don't feel guilty at all because my manageress there was a cvnt. I quit a fortnight later when she refused to give the okay for myself and the other night porter there to swap a shift so I could have the night of my 21st birthday off. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Put €50 petrol into a diesel van, not sure how much it cost to repair but im pretty sure it was more than €50. Also was workin in an attic in a new building and kicked a water pipe, water went leakin, i said nothing, the damage was pretty evident and prob cost a bit to repair, in fact it may have cost the plumber his job. Whoops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

We had a €200 bottle of whiskey at work once.....

.....I was admiring it and it fell outta my hands and smashed all over the floor.

I infected all the PCs in the lab at school with a really bad virus....., but that was on purpose though!! We had a LAN set up and HalfLife installed but they never let us play it, even at lunch time FFS!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i was working in a supermarket and taking down a pallet of coke that was on a shelf about 15 feet off the ground using a forklift. i lifted it and moved it about a foot when the pallet broke and a load of stuff fell off the back of it. the stuff that fell off was blocking me from pushing the pallet back in so i made the decision to just reverse and pick up the pieces. about 90% of the bottles were wrecked. got pictures of the whole thing too :D

other than that i haven't really cost anyone very much i'm sad to say :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

connundrum wrote:
    This morning I sent 4 people on a trip which will take 17 hours, 4 flights and which cost my company the guts of £2000stg.. this afternoon I dicover that I could have flown them directly (4 hour trip) and it would have cost £700stg. Oh well :o
    On the 700 flight, do they sit in each other's laps? If so, it could get interesting for employee relations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Muzzy wrote:
    I infected all the PCs in the lab at school with a really bad virus....., but that was on purpose though!! We had a LAN set up and HalfLife installed but they never let us play it, even at lunch time FFS!:(
    :mad:

This is probably the weakest so far but I've sent my personal mail through the office mailroom for years. Must have cost a fortune in stamps, or probably not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

ColHol wrote:
    Put €50 petrol into a diesel van, not sure how much it cost to repair but im pretty sure it was more than €50. Also was workin in an attic in a new building and kicked a water pipe, water went leakin, i said nothing, the damage was pretty evident and prob cost a bit to repair, in fact it may have cost the plumber his job. Whoops!

I once pumped a luxury cruisers fuel tank full of water.

Bosses face: "No...it's okay...just....just go on early lunch...don't worry about it...."

His face was brighter then the core of the sun. I just left. When I came back it was gone, never actually saw it again, and didn't ask. It was never mentioned again, nor did I get so much as a single evil look. Strange...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I once worked for a bank where I put bets on the japanese stockmarket that went bad and eventually lost some £800 million.

Or did I just read that somewhere ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I once worked for a bank where I put bets on the japanese stockmarket that went bad and eventually lost some £800 million.

Or did I just read that somewhere ...

jimmycrackcorm (previous nickname nick_leeson). The truth is out now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

When i worked on a deli in Spar i had to clean the glass panels. I lifted up the panel i got a shock and let it fall. Glass everywhere.