Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What NH horses..

• 10-10-2006 6:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭

..are you most looking forward to seeing this year? A lot of you probably already know which one I'm most looking forward to but I'd be interested to see who'll make you all money this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

My all time favourite (along with Istabraq) is Brave Inca. He will be getting my money no matter what. I love this horse and he owes me nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Yay, proper racing! :p

Some horses that I'm looking forward to seeing again...

Nicanor and Denman should make exciting novice chasers. I was disappointed to read yesterday that Mr Nosie is out for the season. He was my idea of an Arkle winner.

Second season chasers Missed That, Racing Demon and In Compliance stepping up in trip for probable Gold Cup challenges. Nickname and The Listener on soft ground. I'd like to see Ashley Brook have an injury-free season too.

Feathard Lady and Iktitaf in the top hurdle races. Black Jack Ketchum in the staying hurdler's division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

The return of the king, cant wait to see him race WOA in a proper race where they are both on top of their game.
    Ikitaf, i can see him going well this year, champion hurdle perhaps??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭gamb1or

walcot lad
    graffiti tongue
    brave inca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

I'm with Healio, the prospect of seeing KK Vs. WOA is the one thing I'm really looking forward to this season.

Also looking forward to seeing Asian Maze, I still don't think she's peaked, I just hope they pick a trip and stick to it with her this season.

It will also be interesting to see how Newmill fares this season, was last season Queen Mother just a flash in the pan? Especially if Well Chief is fit again.

Although he's already ran I'm also interested to see how Bothar Na fares, looks like a live Grand National hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Looking forward to see loads, it's going to be hard to pick the Tote Ten To Follow this year.

Red Devil Robert, Ladalko and Denman have big wins in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

The two horses I cant wait to see are Black Jack Ketchum and Detriot City was seriously impressed with both last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭knighted_1

hello all -new to this board but a genuine nh supporter-
    doesnt look like kicking king will be back b4 christmas -looking forward to seeing war out soon and black jack looks the real deal

flat racing nearly finished thank god

knighted_1 wrote:
    doesnt look like kicking king will be back b4 christmas

Should be in or around christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Two horses i have been told that are great prospects for this season.First is Catch Me from the E.O'Grady stable,German import who has won on the flat.Been told to back it for Cheltenham already!Cant get a price!! Second is Blue Teal from the H.Knight stable hasnt run yet but very very highly thought of by the trainer so keep an eye out should run in bumper soon enough!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Evolution136

I believe Kicking King will be returning at Leopardstown's Christmas meeting but not in The Lexus, think I heard it mentioned that it'll be a 2 mile chase though I could be wrong there. Most looking forward to seeing Accordion Etoile. Could develop into a proper Queen Mother candidate this season.

I believe Kicking King will be returning at Leopardstown's Christmas meeting but not in The Lexus, think I heard it mentioned that it'll be a 2 mile chase though I could be wrong there.

Exactly what i heard, then straight to Cheltenham if all goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Harchibald. An enigma of a horse but some talent. Before he got injured last year they I think they had found the best way of running him. coming late but going on after the last. Would love to see himself, Brave Inca and Macs Joy (also new way of running at Punch festival) coming over the last together in the champion. With the host of good novice hurdlers last season coming through, the champion hurdle will once again be the race of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭Tubbertown1982

Tubbertown Rose

:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

i hate NH...feckin hell, flat all year round!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

denman, nicanor, straw bear, feathard lady, noland, missed that, black jack ketchum, rasharrow, voy por ustedes, the return of kicking king, inglis drever, trabolgan and well chief......i could go on forever

roll on the real racing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

Yes looking forward to proper racing :D
    Have not much time for the flat which includes my woman :)
    Damn fade is going to kill me for that comment :o
    Brave inca,War of Attrition.
    Will miss moscow Flyer though .

I'll probably get hung for this, but I'm starting to like flat racing more. I'm surprised that everyone is refering to the NH as 'real' racing. People often say that it is difficult to have affection for the flat horses, as they are not around for all that long, but I believe that we are in the golden age of flat racing. Just look at Ouija Board, Dylan Thomas, Alexandrova, Alexander Goldrun, Hurricane Run, Teofilo and Deep Impact to name but a few. The battle between Ouija Board and Alexander Goldrun at Goodwood was spectacular, as as good as any jump race in my opinion. Also, when Teofilo beat Holy Roman Emperor, it was amazing to watch. The pacemaker did his job brilliantly and the race was a pure tactical affair which was a joy to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Looking forward to seeing Kicking King on the track, also Black Jack Ketchum looks a real class act, have never seen a horse win at Cheltenham like he did last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

wbailey wrote:
    I'll probably get hung for this, but I'm starting to like flat racing more. I'm surprised that everyone is refering to the NH as 'real' racing. People often say that it is difficult to have affection for the flat horses, as they are not around for all that long, but I believe that we are in the golden age of flat racing. Just look at Ouija Board, Dylan Thomas, Alexandrova, Alexander Goldrun, Hurricane Run, Teofilo and Deep Impact to name but a few. The battle between Ouija Board and Alexander Goldrun at Goodwood was spectacular, as as good as any jump race in my opinion. Also, when Teofilo beat Holy Roman Emperor, it was amazing to watch. The pacemaker did his job brilliantly and the race was a pure tactical affair which was a joy to watch.

Either this is a wind up or your just mad, GOLDEN AGE of flat racing???????
    Ok Ouija Board is a true star but the other named horses ijm not sure
    Compare Dylan Thomas Alexandrova Aleexander Goldrun Hurricane Run Teofilo(only 2 year old mentined) and Deep Impact to Montjeu Sinndar Rock of Gibraltar Falbrav Hawkwing Choisir Dubai Millenium Dalakhani- do i really need to go on. SILLY post

Strange that you should fail to mention the years most talked about animal in ur horses from this Golden Age, Where is George Washington

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭gamb1or

les arcs was immense this year

so too was young mick

Either this is a wind up or your just mad, GOLDEN AGE of flat racing???????
    Ok Ouija Board is a true star but the other named horses ijm not sure
    Compare Dylan Thomas Alexandrova Aleexander Goldrun Hurricane Run Teofilo(only 2 year old mentined) and Deep Impact to Montjeu Sinndar Rock of Gibraltar Falbrav Hawkwing Choisir Dubai Millenium Dalakhani- do i really need to go on. SILLY post

Strange that you should fail to mention the years most talked about animal in ur horses from this Golden Age, Where is George Washington

No, it was not a "Silly Post"... This is a DISCUSSION board. You are obviously a fan of Rock of Gibraltar, Hawking etc. but I happen to be a Teofilo fan. Why do you feel the need to slate people's post because they don't like the same horses as you? Horse Racing is all about differences of opinion, and thankfully most people on these boards can discuss/comapre horses without slagging off other peoples posts.

George Washington?

He's not a particualr favourite of mine.

Is that ok with you?

Anyway, back to topic.

I can't wait to see War of Attrition today, and reckon it is worth taking some of the 3/5 currently available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

wbailey wrote:

No, it was not a "Silly Post"... This is a DISCUSSION board. You are obviously a fan of Rock of Gibraltar, Hawking etc. but I happen to be a Teofilo fan. Why do you feel the need to slate people's post because they don't like the same horses as you? Horse Racing is all about differences of opinion, and thankfully most people on these boards can discuss/comapre horses without slagging off other peoples posts.

George Washington?

He's not a particualr favourite of mine.

Is that ok with you?

Im only saying u stated it was a golden age of flat racing but the fact is this years horse dont compare with the past ones

Fair enough. I was not simply talking about this season though. I meant these times we are in now (as in the past few years)

I'd still disagree that today's horses don't compare, but thats a matter for another day (and thread)

[ The pacemaker did his job brilliantly and the race was a pure tactical affair which was a joy to watch.[/QUOTE]

thats where we are going wrong in this nh lark-we should send out two horses to try and win the gold cup lol

pacemakers should be banned -real horses dont need them didnt see a pace maker in punchestown today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

any bright ideas on how you determine if a horse is running on its own merits or is just a pacemaker???

it would be impossible to regulate

wbailey wrote:
    I can't wait to see War of Attrition today, and reckon it is worth taking some of the 3/5 currently available.

Agreed, i have to say as much a kicking king man i am, that was some price today for war of attrition. Value bet of the year!!;)

mdwexford wrote:
    any bright ideas on how you determine if a horse is running on its own merits or is just a pacemaker???

it would be impossible to regulate

u answered ur own question the key word is pace

the rules differ from flat to nh -in flat a rider must ride his horse out to the line up till 3 or 4 yrs ago a pacemaker could drop off now he cant

heres the nh rules on it

PART XIX

RUNNING AND WALKING OVER

Running

212. Every horse which runs in a race shall be run on its merits.

The rider of every horse shall take all reasonable and permissible measures throughout the race to ensure that his/her horse is given a full opportunity to win or of obtaining the best possible place. (See Instruction - Running)

213. If, in relation to any race, any of the circumstances set forth in Rule 10 (ii) sub-para (a) to (g) inclusive applies, then the Stewards may order the race to be run again the same day and in addition shall be entitled to make such Order as they shall deem appropriate in such circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Nicanor is now another we won't get to see this season. Unfortunate for Noel Meade with Mr Nosie out too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

fade2black wrote:
    ..are you most looking forward to seeing this year? A lot of you probably already know which one I'm most looking forward to but I'd be interested to see who'll make you all money this year.

There's about 60 horses I'm looking forward to seeing this season. There's a few from this weekend that I'm looking forward to seeing, and while some of these won 't be winning this weekend I am expecting them to win soon enough.

Purple Shuffle.
    Kings Glen (IRE)
    Jack The Hough (IRE)
    Shannon's Pride (IRE)
    Farmer Grant (IRE)
    Cool Running (IRE)
    Kauto Star (FR)
    United (GER)
    Keenan's Future (IRE)