Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trinity News

• 10-10-2006 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭

The new edition of the Trinity News is out and I have to say it's looking very strong. Good news section again this year with some interesting opinion pieces. Looking more like a national paper than a student publication, which is very good progress. Haven't read it all to see if there are any typos and that sort of thing yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

For once I agree with Ibid :D

It's a good issue. The layout is very striking - the headline font in particular looks great. Photographs are strong. Putting all the entertainment news/features into TNT works very well.

Oh, and content is great too ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 veritas

As a first time reader, I thought it was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭nutball

I've only seen it on the internet - which is impressive enough all on its own. Even comes with (o, joy of joys!) a PDF of the front page. Content seems good - nice range, well written, pertinent. A touch catty in places, but that's no harm. I also like the scatter-gun approach to articles as Gaeilge, rather than ghettoising them all the one token page (although I was a little dismayed to click a link for an article on London Fashion Week only to be led to one called "Tá Bertie i ngátar a bhinse fhéin"). One thing that did make me cringe: Romania and Bulgaria being classed as 'Baltic states'. Ouch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

weblink?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

xeduCat wrote:
    weblink?

Get on with your work,you.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

stargal wrote:

"Welcome to the home of trinitynews.ie
    To change this page, upload your website into the public_html directory"

Nope...

EDIT : Ah, have it now. Refresh did the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BrenC

I agree, Im liking the new issue, congrats on a great job guys!

xeduCat wrote:
    "Welcome to the home of trinitynews.ie
    To change this page, upload your website into the public_html directory"

Nope...

EDIT : Ah, have it now. Refresh did the job.

Same issue here, as resolved above. Very impressed that the stories are fully online (as well as embracing PDF, yay!) though I preferred the previous layout of the website :)

Still smiling at the (hopefully tongue in cheek) article on the student cards on the front page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Moorsy

Looks extremely impressive. Definitely doesn't resemble a student newspaper something much much more professional good reading as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Black_Couch

I think its great that they are putting it online but how come there are no ads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

I showed it to some people from other colleges last night and they were very impressed. Congratulations to all. A great start to the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Myth wrote:
    Very impressed that the stories are fully online (as well as embracing PDF, yay!)

^ +1

Quality of the stories was quite good too, spent a good while reading random bits (enjoyed the renewable energy bit in Science by the Engineering PhD student).

I think its great that they are putting it online but how come there are no ads?

Do you mean no ads on the site? Or no ads on the paper?

Edit: Sorry, just realised that you probably meant why there aren't any ads for the website. In response to that, I know that there were doubts about the exact day when the site would be going live so that's probably the reason. The only place I've seen it is just below the banner on page 1, where the address is on the right hand side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

stargal wrote:
    Do you mean no ads on the site? Or no ads on the paper?

Was about to ask the same. I think it's a good thing if there's no ads on the site while there are ads in the actual paper.

I just edited my post there ^^

Think that's probably what he was asking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 goldsmith

Had a flick through. Looks good as everyone says, especially the photos. Like a lot of student publications the articles are rather bland and boring.

Like a lot of student publications the articles are rather bland and boring.

Disagree with you there. A lot of the ones that I've read (from different colleges around the country) are lively and well-written.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 goldsmith

We must have different tastes. I'm not all that interested in politics and stuff like that. Are there any particular articles you can remember that you really liked?

Firstly I should say that I'm not necessarily overly interested in politics, more interested in journalism as a whole. Politics is just a small part of the scope of most student papers.

So articles that I've liked:

1. Feature article where an Arts student attended lectures in the Hamilton for a day (TN 2003)
    2. Response article where a Science student went to the Arts Block for a day (TN 2003)
    3. Profile of Matt the Jap (TN 2001)
    4. Feature article by a student who'd had depression, writing about what it was like (TN 2004)
    5. Student who went around UCD doing 'random acts of kindness'. Quirky but interesting (UCD Observer 2005)
    6. Sports article describing characteristics of football fans of particular Premiership teams. One of the funniest things I've ever read. (TN 2004)
    7. Article on the best pop songs ever written (University Record 2004)
    8. Some of the interviews on the Music Pages of TN 2005-2006
    9. News story on the possible changes to Schols exams (TN 2005)
    10. The Sexy Science articles on the Science pages of TN (2005-2005)
    11. News story on the changes being brought into college that could see the end to language departments in TCD (TN 2006)
    12. Interview with Christy Moore (TN 2005)

Ok that's just off the top of my head and I've to go to class now in a minute but there are loads more. I'll add to this when I get a chance later on today or tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Are any of these still available anywhere? Wouldn't mind getting pdf's of a few of them to have a read through, some interesting stuff there.

Well impressed with TN, probably the best edition I've seen in over 3 years here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

stargal wrote:
    1. Feature article where an Arts student attended lectures in the Hamilton for a day (TN 2003)
    I'd never read such utter crap in my life. A boy talking shite to stir shite. He basically wrote like he was visiting mars, citing such ridiculous differences as the water fountain actually having pressure... Otherwise it was full of misinformation and mindless insults. When I say mindless I mean it, the boy just got so much wrong, like who the Synge lecture theatre was named after. That's just bad journalism.
    stargal wrote:
    2. Response article where a Science student went to the Arts Block for a day (TN 2003)
    While half decently written and far less inflamatory than the previous article I think it was somewhat of a poor effort. She (a maths student btw) really only made a defensive effort and did little to remove the hamilton-end stereotype from the mind after the first article.
    stargal wrote:
    9. News story on the possible changes to Schols exams (TN 2005)
    It still seems that this may be the case. They just haven't figured out the logistics of merging them with SF exams I think and are taking suggestions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭wesclark

what do people make of 'the agent' section?

good to see hacks being taken down a peg or entirely nefarious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭nutball

wesclark wrote:

Some of it was fair enough, some of it was entirely unnecessary. I think the editorial team need to be careful though, because they're the ones who will take the stick if their "Agent" gets them into trouble. And given the history of the individual I suspect of writing it ... well, I wouldn't have him writing a column of that nature for any publication I was running.

It could and should be executed in a far more good humoured fashion. There's a place for criticism and exposing hackish backstabbing, underhandedness and general slimyness, yes, and that's what it should be - not just someone with their own agenda taking nasty, snide potshots from behind a shield of anonymity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 veritas

nutball wrote:
    And given the history of the individual I suspect of writing it ... well, I wouldn't have him writing a column of that nature for any publication I was running.......not just someone with their own agenda taking nasty, snide potshots from behind a shield of anonymity.

Kitchenware feuds, anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

ApeXaviour wrote:
    While half decently written and far less inflamatory than the previous article I think it was somewhat of a poor effort. She (a maths student btw) really only made a defensive effort and did little to remove the hamilton-end stereotype from the mind after the first article.

who was that again? 03 was ages ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

Entirely in-jokey and hackish - maybe 100 people in all of college will even understand half of the insults being levelled. And that final paragraph was shockingly unnecessary and cruel. Whoever wrote it should be ashamed of himself, as should the editor who published it.

Aside from that though, I was actually vaguely impressed by this issue of TN. The societies page was a little sparse, but from what I understand that was due to uncontrollable circumstances. The painfully unfunny, unsexy, uninteresting Sorcha Lyons is back, which earns a boo-urns from me. And I do love the fact that two pages before the rant about the evils of the Coca-Cola Corporation, there's a full-page ad advertising Coke. (Not that I give a **** about that whole debate; I spent last week in a coke t-shirt giving out Nestlé products. Just thought the irony was amusing).

But generally, it was pretty good. The world news feature was decent, as was the stuff about college. The food & drink section was pretty good too. And I have to say, "Quinn loses one-horse race" may be my favourite headline ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Very impressed with the issue - particularly for a first edition. You're always going to have lots of teething problems but they don't really show at all. Exceptionally well laid out - with the exception of the front page which I thought could have been a bit better and I've talked to the editor about - with TNT in particular looking fantastic.

While the news could have been a little stronger it was the first issue after a quiet summer and none of it was too weak. Most other sections were pulled off well (spot the page with last year's editor and deputy editor the two contributors ;) ) and a lot of the unnecessary stuff has been pulled.

Always room for improvement but a very very strong first issue - bar the news I think a good bit stronger than last year's first issue. I only see it going from strength to strength. Though hopefully it wans't quite the best issue people have seen ;)

[Personally I thought the spy article was good craic even if only a few will get it - it's only one small article. The problem is if it goes further than that - as has occasionally happened in the past (in both papers but especially the Record).]

shay_562 wrote:
    John should be ashamed of himself
    Shay, please don't accuse on speculation. I'd ask could you withdraw/edit that comment if you don't know for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭punka

"the agent" = miscellany's "polite society" with wit being replaced by unfunny ad hominem attacks.

edit: just read the article about hist and phil auditors being denied student cards, which mentions new alcohol restrictions on campus? does anyone know what they are?

Shay, please don't accuse on speculation. I'd ask could you withdraw/edit that comment if you don't know for sure.

Done and done. (And I mean done!)
    just read the article about hist and phil auditors being denied student cards, which mentions new alcohol restrictions on campus? does anyone know what they are?

I assumed it referred to the new policy where alcohol can't be served during Freshers' Week before 6. There was also some kind of issue with the Hist this week where they were prevented from serving alcohol after the weekly debate as it hadn't been cleared with the Junior Dean far enough in advance, though I don't know if that's due to new policies or the JD being a bint. (can I say that? Since there's many JDs, I'm technically not slandering one particular person here)

shay_562 wrote:
    or the JD being a bint. (can I say that? Since there's many JDs, I'm technically not slandering one particular person here)
    lawl.. Ah shay you're alright. :)

excuse the b.ie newbie. can posts be deleted from this forum?

I swear john mcguirk posted on this thread denying being the agent. But I have been known to dream stuff up in the past

yes they can, and yes he did
    mcguirkj wrote:
    I'm aware of the rumours going around that I authored that column. I didn't.

yes they can, and yes he did

this is rather like not being able to find something obvious in the fridge; why can't i see that post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

wesclark wrote:
    this is rather like not being able to find something obvious in the fridge; why can't i see that post?

Because it's been deleted!

xebec wrote:
    Because it's been deleted!

ah the plot thickens (well 'lifts' actually)

J'accuse!

Users can delete their own posts with in a certain ammount of time, or edit them. Moderators can delete them also.

I don't know why john did it....

Probably because he wanted all trace of the passage he quoted in his post (whihc I'm assuming you can see, Ian) gone forever? But since it's still visible in Dec's last post, deleting his post hasn't achieved much.

john quoted nothing in his post of anything.... his enitre post is what i put in the quote in my previous one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Hayzeus

Trinity times sounds better.

What a missed opertunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 mcguirkj

shay_562 wrote:
    Probably because he wanted all trace of the passage he quoted in his post (whihc I'm assuming you can see, Ian) gone forever? But since it's still visible in Dec's last post, deleting his post hasn't achieved much.

Something like that, yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

shay_562 wrote:
    he painfully unfunny, unsexy, uninteresting Sorcha Lyons is back, which earns a boo-urns from me.
    Is that the thing where some dull wagon decides she's that bony troll from sex and the city and starts sharing her stories of sexual experimentation with the readers? Is that for real? If so, and assuming there are some attempts at shock value in the stories, she should disappear off the face of the earth. Telling everyone how she got ****ed in the eyeball sockets by a rhino isn't shocking, it's pathetic. Sorcha is a **** name too. As is Fiachra, Danann, Cuchullan and any other modernised fashionable D4 soccer mom bugry playing heino drinking celtic bollocks. You're not rich, nobody likes you and you don't do anything of any value to anyone so fuck off and get the damn hell off the printed media in this country and stop piggybacking off daddy's success. ***** one and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Or am I thinking of someone else?

Dead Ed wrote:
    Is that the thing where some dull wagon decides she's that bony troll from sex and the city and starts sharing her stories of sexual experimentation with the readers?

Yep.
    Dead Ed wrote:
    Is that for real?

Good question, but does it matter? It's **** either way.
    Dead Ed wrote:
    If so, and assuming there are some attempts at shock value in the stories, she should disappear off the face of the earth. Telling everyone how she got ****ed in the eyeball sockets by a rhino isn't shocking, it's pathetic.

Yep.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Dead Ed wrote:
    Is that the thing where some dull wagon decides she's that bony troll from sex and the city and starts sharing her stories of sexual experimentation with the readers? Is that for real? If so, and assuming there are some attempts at shock value in the stories, she should disappear off the face of the earth. Telling everyone how she got ****ed in the eyeball sockets by a rhino isn't shocking, it's pathetic. Sorcha is a **** name too. As is Fiachra, Danann, Cuchullan and any other modernised fashionable D4 soccer mom bugry playing heino drinking celtic bollocks. You're not rich, nobody likes you and you don't do anything of any value to anyone so fuck off and get the damn hell off the printed media in this country and stop piggybacking off daddy's success. ***** one and all

her mother must be so proud....