Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Team event in Kerry Sat 14th of Oct (transport)

• 09-10-2006 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

As a member of team donkey I thought it would be a good idea for all those traveling for this event on Saturday to leave together.
    I suggest Train as a means of transport as I think it’s the handiest.
    Also if the numbers are right we could play some cash games on the way to get the bad beats out of the way for the mean event.
    So could all interested parties on leaving Dublin for Kerry via Train on Sat please reply here so we can get this going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Gholimoli wrote:
    As a member of team donkey I thought it would be a good idea for all those traveling for this event on Saturday to leave together.
    I suggest Train as a means of transport as I think it’s the handiest.

So could all interested parties on leaving Dublin for Kerry via Train on Sat please reply here so we can get this going?

Haven't decided what I'm doing yet regarding transport. I was thinking of either flying down on Saturday morning or getting the train friday evening. But if a few were getting the train down saturday I might go with that option, I'll probably decide today at some point.
    Gholimoli wrote:
    Also if the numbers are right we could play some cash games on the way to get the bad beats out of the way for the mean event.

Well see....would hate to send you there demoralised:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

sounds like a plan gholi. i have cards + chips :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I'm undecided whether to fly or get the train myself. Cash game sounds good once RoryC isnt dealing.

yeh im rigged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

what time is the train at?

If it's dealers choice I'm playing 6 card blind omaha!

Dublin Heuston - Killarney - 14/10

09:20 - 12:35 (InterCity)

stops: 0

Dublin Heuston - Killarney - 14/10

11:00 - 14:35

Stops: 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

I'm not playing the team event but it sounds like it might be profitable for me to get the train down to kerry and back with all this value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

i vote for the 11am one if there is no later one.
    we will get there by about 3,can have some lunch and a drink and then kick some culchie ass.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭poorbarman

Gholimoli wrote:
    i vote for the 11am one if there is no later one.
    we will get there by about 3,can have some lunch and a drink and then kick some culchie ass.:D
    leave us poor culchies alone

but its too easy!

by the way, do they have electricity down in kerry yet :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Count me in for the train lads. The 11 a.m. sounds just about doable. 9.a.m. not a chance in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Gholimoli wrote:
    then kick some culchie ass.:D

Oh my, I'm sooooooooo looking forward to this game:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

What time are the planes at? With my recent sleeping patterns even 11am is out of the question! Barely in bed by that stage most nights, can't seem to get back to normal hours :mad: .

Daithio wrote:
    What time are the planes at? With my recent sleeping patterns even 11am is out of the question! Barely in bed by that stage most nights, can't seem to get back to normal hours :mad: .

Check out www.aerarann.com for flight times.

Right, it looks like the 11am train suits most.

I'm gonna book my tickets today online as is IanMc, what time on Sunday is everyone thinking of coming back at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Bit of advice for coming back. If ye want to play cards on the way back, get an earlier train (earlier the better). When I used to travel from Tralee on Sunday evenings the trains would be wedged and getting seats together in Killarney was a no-go. Not sure if there is a direct train from Killarney (ie starting there) but if not ye will be split up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

probably better going back on monday €150 freezout on sunday, sure till be soft cash for all you cosmopolitan types against the poor rural types

i cant stay for the game on sunday and need to get back.
    i suppose anytime after 11am is fine.

Gholimoli wrote:
    i cant stay for the game on sunday and need to get back.
    i suppose anytime after 11am is fine.

I aslo need to get back on the Sunday.

Myself, Ian and Dave M are thinking about getting the first train in the morning on Sunday, think it leaves at 7.30am. Anyone else up for getting this train, have a suggestion for a better time?

I take it the Cue Club is open until 6am, can anyone confirm?

HalfBaked wrote:
    think it leaves at 7.30am.
    me likes the way u think;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

HalfBaked wrote:

Fairly sure that while there's action there'll be an open Cue Club! I'm certain Connie will read this later and confirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

So the trip schedule looks something like this:

9am wake up/think about poker
    11 train/poker/talk about poker
    15:00 food/talk about poker
    20:00 poker/talk about poker
    3am win poker/talk about poker
    3.15 more poker/talk about poker
    7.30 train/poker/talk about poker
    11.30 Home

I notice a lack of sleep on this schedule...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

The cue club remains open until "John the Farmer" and "Maggie Cooke" have all the "Jackeens" money.
    Reg on Sat at 3.00pm----cards in the air at 4.00pm.

ocallagh wrote:
    So the trip schedule looks something like this:

9am wake up/think about poker
    11 train/poker/talk about poker
    15:00 food/talk about poker
    20:00 poker/talk about poker
    3am win poker/talk about poker
    3.15 more poker/talk about poker
    7.30 train/poker/talk about poker
    11.30 Home

I notice a lack of sleep on this schedule...:(

Lke the schedule Niall, sure you can sleep Sunday. ;)

Probably manage to squeeze a few beers in there as well, do they serve booze on the train at 7am? :)

Just checked flights there. It's €150 return, and the flight times are pretty flexible, there's one leaving on Saturday at 1.10pm and arriving at 2.05pm, which should give us time to get there before 3. The train is €82, so it's pretty much double the price, but you don't have to sit on a train for 3 hours. If anybody's interested I'll be up for it.

Does anyone know how far the airport is from Killarney?

Daithio wrote:
    Just checked flights there. It's €150 return, and the flight times are pretty flexible, there's one leaving on Saturday at 1.10pm and arriving at 2.05pm, which should give us time to get there before 3. The train is €82, so it's pretty much double the price, but you don't have to sit on a train for 3 hours. If anybody's interested I'll be up for it.

Dave,
    i checked this option out .apprently its a bit of a trip from airport to town.
    dont know exactly how long but i think maybe about 15-20 miles.
    the train station is right in town.

Gholimoli wrote:
    Dave,
    i checked this option out .apprently its a bit of a trip from airport to town.
    dont know exactly how long but i think maybe about 15-20 miles.
    the train station is right in town.

Yeah I've decided to slum it and take the train. :) 11 o'clock Saturday then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Daithio wrote:

Hi Dave,
    The airport is 8 miles from town centre and if yere flying I can organise a taxi to collect ye.

If yere coming by train, I would advise you buy your train travel tickets in the credit union. I know that sounds stupid but you can buy a one way ticket there for approx €27, so buy two and your saving €30.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I might be able to get those cheap tickets here at work. If you want 1/2 pm me.

ive sent you a pm muso

Just to let peeps know I checked with my Union rep. They used to get these tickets from head office but they stopped a while back so no go unfortunately. I think it's about €60 return on the train so the tickets would not have been a huge saving. See ye on Saturday morning.