Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thanks & Improvements €200 monthly game

• 09-10-2006 2:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭

First I want to thank all the players that supported the €200 Deep stack game at the SE on Saturday and congratulate all the players that made the money.
    All in all I think the tournament went well but I will be looking to make improvements for the next event.
    The Tournament ran just a little bit too long with the final 6 players having to return on the Sunday at 6pm to complete the final table.
    Because of this I will tweak the structure slightly at the start of the tournament to allow more time at the end. Next month we will actively promote the game and will cap the number of entrants to 120 runners.
    Month by month we will improve this and all other games at the SE with a little bit of help from you our players. Our ears are always open to all positive suggestions so let me know.

Hope to see you all soon,

John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

John,
    As most have already said this is going to be the best regular tourney ever.
    The structure is fantastic and the venue is prob the best in Dublin.
    I think any one who played it would agree with this being a very well run event and most people have already indicated as such.
    I think you will easily get over 100 runners for this every month.
    As for tweaking the structure, I understand what your saying but I hope to god your not going to cut much from the clock or the starting stack as I think those are the two main reasons for its popularity.
    Maybe we could start this a little sooner as this only kicked off about 7 pm I think and maybe a sooner start would take care of the problem.
    Anyways im sure your solution will both take care of your problem while saving the lovely structure of the game.
    One again thanks and a great tourney.
    Ehsan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

I echo gholis sentiments. I would be happy to come back the next day for the final table if needs be. If this could be started at 4 or something maybe you wouldn't have this problem, I'm sure there would be a way to get the SE opened earlier.

Anyway, it was an excellent event, well done on getting it started. I will hopefully be back next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

The structure was fine. That's what the players want. Start at exactly 18:00. If you do that then late arrivals are late. Probably start with tables of six players and fill in with latecomers. Do we really need 45 minutes drinking time before each tourney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

kincsem wrote:
    Do we really need 45 minutes drinking time before each tourney?

I think 7 pints are enough don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I agree with what's been said. The structure of the tourney is the vital part as it's what separates it from 95% of other tournaments that are run in the country. I think most players are happy enough to come back the next day to finish it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

..oh and reduce the buyin to 30 euro :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

If the structure could stay the same then it should but i think people should consider that in many cases people will not be in a position to play on the sunday if they make the final table. maybe reduce the levels to 40 minute blinds, 45 is great, but 40 will still alow for alot of play and over the course of play you'll gain an extra level in doing this. Equally, 6pm start should mean dealers at 6pm start dealing cards and taking blinds, people will soon start showing up at 5.30!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

I think there should be a new trophy also.....

Could I suggest (and indeed would it be possible) that you give out the new curly black haired waitress as a trophy? I think her name is Magdelina. (aside: Jaysus wat a smile). It would work perfectly - you get to bring her home for a month and then return her in time for the next tourney.. In fact the more I think about it the better the idea seems - she would be a proper good trophy to have on your arm around town for a month.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Ban students. That'd be perfect. I know you tried to get around this with the 'members must be 21' rule but one or two slipped through the cracks. I was disgusted, frankly.

On a serious note, I thought the stucture was perfect and if you manage to get more than 100 runners it will turn into a 2-day event even with some shorter blind levels. I don't think the fact that the final tablers will have to return the following day would be too offputting for most potential players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

ionapaul wrote:
    Ban students. That'd be perfect. I know you tried to get around this with the 'members must be 21' rule but one or two slipped through the cracks. I was disgusted, frankly.

Paul why ban students?? Surely you and the more experienced players around would only be too happy to take some poor students chips on a regular basis.

I can see to a certain extent what you might mean because (although until recently I was a student) your average student may make more fishy calls and hit the odd time (and they are impossible to read) but in fairness if you were to introduce a total ban for this good tourney then others might follow around the country. If that were to happen then how are younger players going to gain experience and confidence to play bigger tourneys in the future.

This would have a knock on effect on the number of runners in future competitions so for the good of the game I think if a student is willing to play in a €200 + tourney with a strong field then so be it, surely they'd provide you with a timelya double-up when required.

ionapaul wrote:

agreed, players must show proof of full time employment before being allowed into the venue. The SE should not knowlingly take 220 off any student, its daylight robbery i tell ya! do you know how much 220 is to a student!? ban them all! :p
    Fizman wrote:
    Paul why ban students?? Surely you and the more experienced players around would only be too happy to take some poor students chips on a regular basis.

I can see to a certain extent what you might mean because (although until recently I was a student) your average student may make more fishy calls and hit the odd time (and they are impossible to read) but in fairness if you were to introduce a total ban for this good tourney then others might follow around the country. If that were to happen then how are younger players going to gain experience and confidence to play bigger tourneys in the future.

This would have a knock on effect on the number of runners in future competitions so for the good of the game I think if a student is willing to play in a €200 + tourney with a strong field then so be it, surely they'd provide you with a timelya double-up when required.

i don't think ionapaul was being 100% serious, maybe 98%. i'd also like to draw everyone's attention to the bold and underlined comment above!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

I think make the first 6 levels 30 min blind instead of first 4 as john said

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ditpoker wrote:
    If the structure could stay the same then it should but i think people should consider that in many cases people will not be in a position to play on the sunday if they make the final table.
    Simple solution to this - If you can't play on the scheduled final table if you get there then don't play. It's like buying tickets to a concert you can't attend.

A 2 day event with these type of blinds and stacks are what is needed, and I am looking forward to the next one so that I can play in it since I missed the first one. People that love poker like long play tournies when there is a good potential reward at the end of it (aside from the reward of an enjoyable tournie). Reducing these to 'improve' things would not be good from a poker players point of view. Everyone has said what a fantastic structure it was so why try to fix what ain't broke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

As numbers grow for this tournament it will only go on longer... and eventually you will have to make yet another change to the structure to make sure it finishes by 6am. Soon enough it will be just like the Fitz EOM..... There is just no way to finish a tourny with 80+ players (never mind 120!) in 12 hrs without it turning into a craphsoot at some stage..

You need to make a decision now whether to have a quality 2 day event, or just another badly structured tourny in Dublin. IMO a 2 day event is the only way to go. It's unique to Dublin and it might encourage more players outside Dublin to make the trip up for the weekend.

Alternatively, you could reduce the levels to 40 minutes after the break and put a cap of 80 players on it..

I think John has made it really clear that he wnats to work with us on this to ensure that we have a quality tournament. If this means keeping the current structure, I dont think there'll be any problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

I agree with Niall. I think it should be advertised as a 2 day event so people know what they're getting themselves into. I'd like to see the FT played on the Sunday(possibly final 2 tables depending on numbers) and it would be ideal if the SE could agree to open at 2pm to play this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

the structure was absolutely perfect. i dont think players mind coming back for a final table the day after, especially if you advertise that before the tournament.

there's nothing wrong with making a €200, 120 runner game a 2 day event IMO :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

great structure . one of the best run tourneys i have played in a while.
    Just one point though, if this is to be a Boards tourney for boards players, why not move the venue around the country to the various card clubs.Obviously with the majority of games held in dublin as this is the main base of the majority.
    just a thought to help the culchies travel expenses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

ZZR1100 wrote:
    Just one point though, if this is to be a Boards tourney for boards players, why not move the venue around the country to the various card clubs.Obviously with the majority of games held in dublin as this is the main base of the majority.
    just a thought to help the culchies travel expenses

A good point, but the SE might not be too happy with that. They seem to have gone to a lot of trouble to organise a game that everyone wants, and they should really have the 'rights' to it, imo.

Can't wait for the next one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

having it in the SE excludes so many players though, the dealers from the Fitz, and all of the u21`s who are more than able to deal with it. i think give the fitz/jackpot a chance to run it, after the success of it i would be surprised if they ran ones similairy anyway, it seemed a super game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

The SE were the ones to come forward and produce the goods and they did so in style - why the desire already to move it? How does anybody suggest that the Jackpot will hold 120 ppl? the Fitz had there chance at running a big well structured tourney and they have successfully made a balls of it.

Whilst everyone wants max play "we cant have our bread buttered on both sides". There are commercial considerations from the SE also - it must be feasable for them to run also. John has already outlined his intention to improve the food and has also suggested another trophy (if i win i still want the new curly haired waitress).

I think it is clearly obvious that to change the structure will be to upset the majority of players/potential players. The only way this will work out is to bring the final 2 tables back on the Sunday evening and play it out from there. Caveat Emptor - if you play you are going to have to be willing to return.. No matter what way this is tweaked it will not be possible to finish it in one day.

Roll on next month - I shall be wearing my custom design "Ive been Chiefed" t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

The SE were the ones to come forward and produce the goods and they did so in style - why the desire already to move it? How does anybody suggest that the Jackpot will hold 120 ppl? the Fitz had there chance at running a big well structured tourney and they have successfully made a balls of it.

Ditto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

I have to agree with the above posts. The SE have been great, spending time talking to players before the tourney (they nearly drove some of us batty with the amount of questions, but it was for all our benefit), on the day and afterwards looking for feedback and ways to improve / maintain what was a quality event.

I do understand it can be difficult for players from outside dublin, but the venue and the service provided are top notch and I don't see a reason to mess with it.

The only improvement I would suggest to the SE would be to start the tourney at say 2pm on the Saturday. But for many reasons this might not be possible.

I'd like to thank all the staff at the SE for the great effort they put in on what must have been a long and tiring day, WP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Yep, 100% agree with BigCityBanker. No need to change venue, the S.E. ran it really well, the Fitz is notorious for bad structures and it will no doubt be cut short if it's on there.

I really think the structure should be kept as it is, and that it should be advertised as a two day tournament, with play continuing until 6am and the remaining players coming back the next day. There could even be some sort of support event, like a €50 scalps game starting at 6pm on the Sunday, so that would encourage a few more people to come in the following day and hopefully get some cash games going, which is what the S.E. will want to ensure that they make a bit of cash off the whole thing. I don't think most people would mind a slight increase in the reg either, which would be the only fair way to do things considering it's going to cost the S.E. a bit more to run a two day event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

the new curly black haired waitress I think her name is Magdelina. (aside: Jaysus wat a smile).

Unbelieveable smile is'nt it. She made me feel so special when she smiled at me like that:D . I thought it was just me she smiled like that to. For that instant i forgot all about poker!.

As for the poker i agree with ocallagh. I'd like to see a similar structure kept if possible. Even First 3 levels 30mins then the same structure as before and a more punctual start and less breaks and break time duration.

Also if its made known to all players from the start that the tournament probably will run into tommorrow(even if it wont) then there wont be the shambles there was yesterday morning where we couldnt easily get agreement(understatement) as to what should happen.
    Not that there is any blame to be pointed in any direction because the 'what to do' was undefined from the start but this is still a grey area.

Well done John for the efforts and time you put into TD'ing this and the dealers especially David who turned up early yesterday evening(I am jast zooing wat i need to zoo, zats all!), much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Firstly just want to say thanks to everyone involved in this for orgaising what is undoubtedly the best structured tournament in Dublin at the moment.
    Despite playing poorly and going out early it was great to meet a few fellow boardsies and play in such a well run game.

I think it is clear from the responses here that it is imperative the structure remains the same.That is what seperates it from other tournaments around Dublin.I agree that this should be advertised as a two day event or a earlier start time should be suggested.
    Finally well done to all those who finished in the money and survived such a tough field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

What date is the next one? The first Saturday in November is the 4th and the Four Nations Heads Up tournament is on in the Fitz, would like to know how thin my team is going to be if this game is on the same day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Obviously, this was an excellent event. I would suggest that the structure is kept as is. The success of the structure can be easily demonstrated in the quality of players that made it through to the final two tables (and the Chief LOL!!). The best players negotiated their way through a big field which is clearly an indication of a tournament that rewarded the more skilled and experienced entrants. It was in no, way, shape or form a crapshoot.

Talk of moving this event to the Fitz is ridiculous IMO.

However, there are definately aspects that can be improved upon:

1) The Reg should begin at 17:00. Cards should be in the air at 18:00. Players should be encouraged to come in the week or two before and get registered. The more players that do this the less administrative hassle that the floor will have on the day - allowing for a quicker start to proceedings.

2) John will no doubt be aware that there should have been a greater quantity and diversity of food provided at the break. I have no doubt that this will be achieved for the next event.

3) I feel that it is unfair to expect players to play for more than 12 hours. Even if the club could open at three in the afternoon, it would not be ideal for the competition to run for 13 - 15 hours. Bringing the last table / 2 tables back on the second day seems to be the correct option. If players are made aware of this I think that they will be more than willing to commit to coming back on the Sunday. If there are 100 runners plus they will be coming back to play for a €20,000 prizepool. That should be a sufficient incentive.

The real success of the tourney was the structure. If it is understood that it is a two day event why change it? I think the point is made earlier in this thread that if you start tweaking it to run shorter you begin down a slippery slope. Obviouly, the increased length of time that the club would devote should dictate a higher reg fee. I would be happy to pay €200 + 30 for this event. I would imagine that many players would also be willing to do this aswell.

If Saturday becomes a regular monthly tournament it can only contribute to a general improvement in the general standard of tournament play in Dublin.

Thanks to John for accomodating and listening to us. And a big fair play to Ian for getting the ball rolling on the entire thing.

Lloyd.

i'll be the next to agree :)
    definately 2day event, 6pm start sharp as lloyd says pre-registering will help get the cards going. i can 100% guarantee that dit will run a feeder to this at least twice a month so there'll always be dead money too.

the quality structure attracts quality players. Moving this game around or tinkering with the structure will drive players away. one only has to look at the jackpot 100 game that was getting good numbers, then they changed the structure, and less and less players attend now. This is an SE game, end of discussion IMO.

next one Nov 4 or Nov 11 !?!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

I completely agree with the general opinion's expressed on the structure..and think it definetly should remain intact.. superbly run tourney and congrat's to all... i don't think anyone would mind coming back on the Sunday to a final table with over €12k up for grabs....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Keep the levels as they are and the numbers will shoot up. Cut the levels and it will be just another so-so tournament.
    The only problem is it attracts a better class of player. Donkey sanctuary it wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

please dont change it and please dont change the Chief.........structure was great, location was excellent, players were very poor :)
    the best part was after my bad beat i was able to take the 10 yard walk into town and drown my sorrows..........nobody in the pub though (very strange)had ever heard of the chief so i had to change the conversation........bloody porterhouse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

LuckyLloyd wrote:

3) I feel that it is unfair to expect players to play for more than 12 hours. Even if the club could open at three in the afternoon, it would not be ideal for the competition to run for 13 - 15 hours. Bringing the last table / 2 tables back on the second day seems to be the correct option. If players are made aware of this I think that they will be more than willing to commit to coming back on the Sunday. If there are 100 runners plus they will be coming back to play for a €20,000 prizepool. That should be a sufficient incentive.

Good points in general in your post, Lloyd, but I disagree with this. IMO, one of the skills in tournament poker is being able to still play your 'A-game' when fatigued. The players who are still tuned in after 14-15 hours have a good advantage over the players who start to lose their concentration late on. The longer the better! It separates the men from the boys (sorry, Smurph, for the male chauvinism).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

i wasn't able to play in this cause i'm on holiday but i'd love to be able to play it next time around,and i agree with everyone that (presuming the structure was as good as people are saying it is )it should stay as it was and be advertised as a two day tournament...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

fully agree with the above points
    no way should there be talk of moving the game after the effort the se put in, end of story.

the structure was unreal, absolutely top class game, the highest standard tourney ive seen anywhere, not a muppet in sight (well not too many anyway..;) )

cant wait for the next one, hopefully numbers will just increase more and more, a two day game with a huge prizepool sounds very nice indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

I'm really looking forward to playing this and the main reason I couldn't make it this time was because I had to work on Sunday. It sounds like it has to be a two day event. If so is there anyway that it can start earlier on the Sunday. Or is this because of Casino opening times. Just a case of if I ever manage to make the final table it's a long drive back to Mayo.

Also is there a reason why it has to be capped at 120?

I think the cap at 120 is the max number of players the SE can hold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

First of all let me say that this was a fantastic tournament that was well enjoyed by all of connies mob.Obviously we'll be back to play in this event and I do think as long as the tournament is in dublin it shouldnt be moved from the SE.The venue is superb and staff are excellent.(only crib would be that if your gonna be playing for 12 hours or so, you definately need more food available to the players. Its one thing not to have enough food for the break but you couldnt order a sandwich there which was surprising.)

If its going to be a 2 day game it needs to be said beforehand.One of my gang (Billy Holian) made it to the last 6 (short stack) and for him to stay on and play on sunday evening would have meant another nights hotel stay plus a flight home(€200 more costs).So a definate decision needs to be made prior to the event so people can make neccessary arrangements.

Finally, please dont pick the 11th of Nov for the next event as thats the date of my festival main event game here in killarney (€400 f/o with same structure as boards game except 45min for all blinds,2 day game). Not only will it not allow us to play in the boards game, it would also deny some boardsters the chance to avail of some Kerry hospitality.