Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU Intervarsity 2006

• 07-10-2006 5:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

Hi everyone,

It's that time of year again! The DCU Intervarsity is being held in the DCU Sports Hall on Saturday 11th November. Shooting times haven't been finalised yet, but we will let you know in due course.

For the moment we are putting a cap of 10 members per college on the event. So we would appreciate it if you could email us your teams to archery@redbrick.dcu.ie as soon as possible, including each member's name, gender and category as well as any special requests (eg. 3 spots).

So, if you have any questions or queries, please feel free to ask. Likewise if you need help finding accomodation or anything, we will do our best for you.

Hope to see you there and we will most likely be organising something for after the shoot if people are around!

Eóin Long
    DCUAC Chairperson

Oh, by the way, for those who it concerns, the Dublin Archers shoot is also being held in the DCU Sports Hall the following day, Sunday 12th November.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 128 ✭✭MuchSavage

I think in relation to asking for a shooting list for the IV is possibly a bit too soon, as of yet some clubs may not know who they can and cannot bring in relation to beginners.

We have only had 3 training sessions with beginners at the mo, so it is easy to say that one can be unsure about the newbies.

Is it necessary for to get the details at this time, possibly closer to the shoot might be a better timeline.........?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭toxof

Well you can send in names of people who will be going, like last years archers.

Its good to get organising early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭thesage

There's no major rush mate. We haven't finalised our ten either. I was just getting in early so everyone was aware of the details and could start getting things together.

I'll see you tuesday.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 128 ✭✭MuchSavage

Oh yea i know man sure i'd prob be doing the same if we could actually hold an IV!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭ruiner

Hey Mick ye could try hosting with us in DCU again :)

We should all sit down and consider something like that for next year or even if you could hold a seperate one, all of your own, in our Sports Hall... if we could arrange something like that. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭ruiner

Yeah but you wouldn't just have A, B, C, D groups.

It might have to go all the way to J. 12 people at a time isn't very much

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

Good luck with the competition folks. Have fun. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Panserborn

Whats the story with the Dublin Archers shoot the next day? Anyone know if there are still places?

John from DIT would be the best person to ask about that.

For those who won't be shooting in the Dublin Archers shoot we're probably going to get drunk on Saturday after the IV if people are up for it. Who am I kidding? I'll still be in the pub even if people aren't up for it, but I'd prefer some company. :p

We'll keep you all informed. Plus, if you need any help with accomodation or anything let us know.

Just to let everyone know, only IAAA members can shoot on the Sunday. Your college has to be a member. You can join for 10.

10 sardines that is. Or they sometimes accept 2 salmon and an ardvark, but only if they have change.

Oh man that was so much more funny in my head. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Memori

Hey, we're having our beginners comp in UL on Monday night so I should have a list of shooters for you on Tuesday. Have ye finalised shooting times yet?

Not yet, but I'll let you know asap.

An email ahs just gone out about numbers. That's why we haven't finalised times yet. ;)

Howye.

At least 2 of us from NUIG will be staying in Dublin for the Dublin Archers shoot on Sunday but we might have to spend the night in Rush in north Dublin. If we do, would there be any chance that we could leave our gear in the hall so we don't have to explain to bus drivers and punters why we have to carry cases the size of grown men around the city?

Just to let you all know, the two guys from archeryshop.ie will be down at the DCU shoot.

They will be bringing along some gear for people to check out and will answer any questions you have on tuning or equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭MicS

The IV is tomorrow. Are the times finalised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Psychobiker

I heard of it kicking off at 11am?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Cú Aranel

Hi Lads,
    We all enjoyed yesterday, well done!
    especially enjoyed the pizza. See you all in Maynooth.

Karen & Co.
    NUIG Archery Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Yeah, would like to say a big "well done" to the DCU folks, that was by far the least half-assed IV I have ever been at, the pizza was a welcome addition :) Who is coming to the IAAA shoot in UL?

Ewan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Psychobiker

Likewise from GMIT, the pizza was indeed of note :D. Great atmosphere too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Aryzel

Well done UCD, being a long time coming, good to see ye on top at last :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭baggins

Yeah, fair play to both UCD and DCU.

Some day you'll be able to run a shoot without us..... maybe not actually, but the pizza was good, i personally sampled everything to make sure.

Just noticed the results on the UCD site. Macdara will be chuffed to know he's been left out.

Sure, baggins. But unless I get his score, I cannot put him in the list. I know that Macdara was shooting there but somehow his score was left out from the file I've got.

And everybody is welcome to check the results on UCD website, especially spelling of names of all new archers in the league (in particular, for 'Unnamed beginner' from Maynooth :) ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Cú Aranel

Hi Lads,
    Macdara got 550 on vertical vegas face, this means our real team score is 2198 and he should be the highest score on the male league table. Thank god ye noticed too, nearly dropped in disbelief when i just looked at it there.

Karen :)

I know MicS, just pointing it out. If i notice any spelling mistakes with our lot (DIT) i'll let you know.

baggins wrote:
    Just noticed the results on the UCD site. Macdara will be chuffed to know he's been left out.

LOL :p .

It actually brought me back down to Earth a little, convinced me that indeed I was dreaming that I got that score! ;)

Well done to all in Dublin for both Sat and Sunday, really enjoyed both days!

Ok, now that I've got that score, I've updated the results on UCD website. Macdara, sorry for this, never intended to offend anybody.

MicS wrote:
    Ok, now that I've got that score, I've updated the results on UCD website. Macdara, sorry for this, never intended to offend anybody.

Don't worry about it at all! Never took offence, always assumed it was a genuine mistake! :D

Only one small other thing, Victor Conroy from NUIG was a barebow instead of a beginner.