Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accident :-(

• 06-10-2006 4:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭

I was in a motorbike accident :-(

Think of a two lane rd, I was in the left lane and a Car abrest of me was in the right lane for a few minutes, I suppose I was in his blind spot, but if he checked his mirrors he would have seen me, Suddenly he pulls in left to get into a parking spot and knocked me off the bike...

Things that annoyed me about it...

1) said it was my fault as I was overtaking him on the left, which I wasnt I was going to turn left in 100m I was slowing down..
    2) Had know interest in my wellbeing... even though I tumbled for quite a bit. just interested absolving himself from guilt
    3) I rang him after to discuss a reasonable solution to this, Im no compo culture guy, estimate 350 - 400 to fix it.. He said that he its not his problem, go through insurance if I want..
    4) he was so aggressive
    5) he is claiming he has back pain from the incident ( now thats almost funny, almost )
    6) there was a witness, who told me when it was all over that he saw it all and it wasnt my fault, but the guy said the witness saw nothing, and said so. They know each other ...
    7) The Garda said they couldnt take sides as they didnt see it happen ( if he killed me would they have taken sides then?)

Oh well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

First things. You are ok? That is priority.

Second. They guy was a muppet and even if you were undertaking that gives him no right to pull left without ensuring that the way is clear.

Get your thoughts down on paper. Draw diagrams. Take pictures. Ensure that you have the witness contact deatils and verify with them about what they saw taking place.

Then progress to informing your insurance company. They will most likely take over from here. You have his contact details and insurance details?

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Georgey Burgess

thats good advice from nereid...take photos, draw diagrams etc. and send them into the insurers.

hope u are ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

Yes Ive done all that thank you, and the witness is happy to say what he saw, Ive spoken to him... And igot checked up by the Doc, who said im suffering from post dramatic stress disorder ( i dont believe him, im just annoyed)

Again what really upsets me is the guys attitude...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Sorry to hear of ur accident, nothing worse, most of us have been there. From experience I would be surprised if the insurace company found you in the wrong. however as said already, make detailed notes etc of what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

What an asshole, people like that make me so angry. Some guy almost hit me, I was driving along a main road in a bus lane, he came right out from a sliproad onto my (main) road, straight through a stop sign without stopping and almost hit me. HE was stuck in traffic about 5 meters up the road, i pulled up along beside him and asked him what he was doing. He insisted he was right cos i was in a bus land. I explained that he went straight through a stop sign onto a major road, and thchnically there was no bus lane there so traffic could merge. he still insisted i shouldn't have been there. I kicked his car and drove off and called him something that's not very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Georgey Burgess

Paparazzo wrote:
    I kicked his car and drove off and called him something that's not very nice.

:eek: :eek: :eek: :D:D:D

....and the best bit is there is no way he could catch you. He would be fuming in the pub that night tellin his mates, and then even more fuming when his mates with half a brain told him he was in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

Delop, if it was a two lane road, then you had every right to be in the left lane. He was compleatly in the wrong. I would say get onto your Insurance company right away. Also a bike that clips a car can not do any Damage to the occupant of the car. He is more than likely saying it to scare you into not making a clame of it. If he did have whiplash (and it takes a fairly big inpact from an other car to cause this) then he would have clamed right away. He'd also not have been able to move at the time of the crash. Hell if I where you, I'd clame for every expance due to the crash. This guy is being a prick, mice as well hit him where it really hurts.... His Insurance renewal.
    delop wrote:
    I was in a motorbike accident :-(

Think of a two lane rd, I was in the left lane and a Car abrest of me was in the right lane for a few minutes, I suppose I was in his blind spot, but if he checked his mirrors he would have seen me, Suddenly he pulls in left to get into a parking spot and knocked me off the bike...

Things that annoyed me about it...

1) said it was my fault as I was overtaking him on the left, which I wasnt I was going to turn left in 100m I was slowing down..
    2) Had know interest in my wellbeing... even though I tumbled for quite a bit. just interested absolving himself from guilt
    3) I rang him after to discuss a reasonable solution to this, Im no compo culture guy, estimate 350 - 400 to fix it.. He said that he its not his problem, go through insurance if I want..
    4) he was so aggressive
    5) he is claiming he has back pain from the incident ( now thats almost funny, almost )
    6) there was a witness, who told me when it was all over that he saw it all and it wasnt my fault, but the guy said the witness saw nothing, and said so. They know each other ...
    7) The Garda said they couldnt take sides as they didnt see it happen ( if he killed me would they have taken sides then?)

Oh well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

make a claim immediately. draw a diagram of what happened, indicating clearly that he crossed your lane and hit you and take him to the cleaners.
    dont forget to claim for your helmet, jacket and pants. as their ability to protect you in any other incident is compromised.

You learned the hard way that the only way to ride safely is to assume that no-one can see you, and its up to you to keep out of blind spots/anticipate retarded moves by other drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

You were in the left lane, he was the one changing lanes.
    He MUST check his mirrors and windows before changing lanes.
    You'll win any insurance claim - am 100% certain, TBH with him acting the bollix like that I'd be inclined to try and put up his premium as much as possible...

Don't take this lying down the laughable fact that he's claiming neck injury from this ..take the bar steward to the cleaners , I'd also ask for compensation for trauma etc etc..

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 tubes

From the Indo a few years ago, even if you're in a bus lane you'd have the right of way......

A SALESMAN, who was driving illegally in a restricted bus lane when he was knocked off his motorbike, has been awarded almost £10,000 damages for personal injuries against a motorist who cut across his path.

Judge Michael O'Shea said in the Circuit Civil Court that motorist Jennifer Smyth, of Barton Road East, Dundrum, Dublin, while turning left across the bus lane had an extremely high duty of care to check it out properly.

He told Mr Aidan Redmond, counsel for motorcyclist Jonathan Tuthill (21) of Turret Road, Palmerstown, Dublin, that responsibility for the accident did not rest fully with his client simply because he had been illegally using the bus lane.

Ms Smyth had not been entitled to assume that a "quick glance in the rear mirror" was sufficient to discharge all precautions incumbent upon a driver crossing a laneway. She should have made a proper check for buses, taxis or cyclists entitled to use the bus lane.

"If she took all proper precautions then I am at a loss to understand why she did not see any traffic on the bus lane prior to impact," said the judge.

Judge O'Shea held that while Ms Smyth had been driving in the proper lane on Northumberland Road, Dublin, in October 1999, she was 70pc responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Nice one tubes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

Yes thats interesting and hopefuly it will go my way, I think the guy has had time to think about it and he seems a lot more reasonable... Therefore Im going to give him a chance to make things right again...

Ill post back when I have news..

Interesting though when I went for a quote the guy in the bike repairs said I was the 3rd one lastweek,

I wonder if the roads have changed, I have definately since the accicent noticed a lot of loopers, but then again that might be the accident...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

delop wrote:
    Yes thats interesting and hopefuly it will go my way, I think the guy has had time to think about it and he seems a lot more reasonable... Therefore Im going to give him a chance to make things right again...

Ill post back when I have news..

Interesting though when I went for a quote the guy in the bike repairs said I was the 3rd one lastweek,

I wonder if the roads have changed, I have definately since the accicent noticed a lot of loopers, but then again that might be the accident...

Hmm, I'm not sure this is the right thing to do based on his past behaviour :-

1) When he thought he was in the right he had a sore neck - and potentialy was seeing dollar signs - he didn't give a fúck about the fact he could have killed you.

2) Now he, presumably on the advice of friends with a brain , realises that he was in the wrong he is being reasonable.

Ask yourself, next time this asshole is back in his car and isn't paying attention and you've let him off..will he take extra care before changing lanes?

Morally I think you owe it to yourself and the rest of the road users that this wánker learns to drive properly and safely.

BTW i've a full bike and car license so can see this from both angles and cannot in anyway feel that this guy should be let off - the prick might side swipe me next week if he doesnt learn his lesson now.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/