Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA from Martin Breheny of the Independent.

• 06-10-2006 2:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭

My sister took an English relation to a club game of ours many years
    ago. During the course of the game, when things weren't going too
    well for one of our corner backs, a woman in the crowd was shouting:
    "Take that useless c**t off, he's good for nothing".

Needless to say, the English relation was horrified at such a remark
    and tried to reason with the lady saying: "There's no need for that
    language, I'm sure you wouldn't like someone saying those things about
    your son," to which she replied: "sure, the useless c**t is my son!"

I was at an Armagh match in the early 90s with a neighbour of mine
    who's loud by nature but is particularly vocal at matches (a bit rough
    around the edges you might say).
    Anyway, he took particular umbredge at one particular Armagh player
    who wasn't having a great game. At one stage he shouts out the name
    of the player and roars: "if they won't take you off, for f**ks sake,
    walk off!"

Didn't hear this one myself, but the great Willie Joe Padden told me
    it at last years Mayo v Galway match from an ould fella behind him.
    Just after Conor Mortimer missed the change with the free, he stood up
    screaming: "Jesus, if Lee Harvey Oswald had been from Mayo, JFK'd be alive
    and kicking!"

A barrell of a man who was very much involved in Laois GAA was at a
    junior football match in Abbeyleix one night, and he went on just to
    make up numbers (jersey pulled on, playing with the socks around the
    trousers and someone else's boots).
    Anyway, he was running around but the low stature was telling and one
    of the lads shouted at him: "For f**ks sake Sabu (his nick name),
    will you go up for the ball to which he replied: "sure I'm not a
    f**king eejit, won't it come down to me!"

At a reserve game in Co. Derry, one team who had only the bare fifteen
    trotted off at the break getting pretty badly beaten. Johnny at full
    forward was having a nightmare.... here is part of the half time talk:
    Manager: "Johnny, you're coming off."
    Johnny: "but we only have the bare 15."
    [short pause]

Manager: "come off anyway."

Galway minors played KK in the All-Ireland semi-final in '88. The
    cats (Carey, Ronan, O'Neill, Carter, etc.) were walking it.
    Ronan was injured in the second half and the Kilkenny doc was
    stitching him on the field. As the time went on, a disgruntled
    Galwayman shouts:

"If ye don't hurry up, he'll be over age!"

At a minor league game a couple of years ago, our manager was giving
    the usual f**king and blindin' to us when a spectator said to him over
    the fence:
    "Don't be so ignorant....(short pause).... ye big fat f**ker ye."

Nice Tipperary one. Workmates console Eddie Tucker after Tipp are
    demolished by Clare and he's had a bad day: "don't worry about it
    Eddie, it wasn't your fault, it's the fecin eejits that picked ya."

Another classic I've been told involves the Ballygar-St. Brendan's hurling club in Galway
    where a major dispute reared it's head at the AGM.
    The chairman is reportedly a straight-talking bachelor of questionalbe
    diplomacy. Amidst the row, a newly appointed priest took the floor
    commenting on how the GAA should be a focal point for the 2 parishes,
    not a source of argument. He continued on about how everyone should
    pull together for the good of the club and see the club as a unifying
    force. The chairman stood up and said: "Thanks a lot for that now
    Father, but that's the kind of ****e that sickens my hole."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

My mother tells the story of being at a match many years ago where a wag in the crowd shouted at an under-performing player: "You're too slow to die sudden!"

Then there is the one where one team was running rings around the other and someone shouts out "Throw in another ball for the other lads to play with."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Gobán Saor

A fairly loud mouthed player is telling all and sundry how the 20 point hammering they've just been handed is not really the players fault but rather due to the terrible state of the pitch. All of a sudden the auld lad in the corner pipes up: "tell me, what kind of a field were the other team playing on?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Did Martin Breheny really try and pass this on as his own work and research or did he admit its being doing to rounds on internet boards for well over a year now?

He has some neck if it was the former.

Some of it is very funny, but the bit about "a reserve game" in Co Derry always makes me go :rolleyes: