Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hello and Welcome to the Martial Arts forum (Lurkers)

• 04-10-2006 10:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭

I was just reading Maeve's last thread about womens self defence and someone posted on the thread , who obviously reads the forum a bit, but never actually posts here all that much, and I kinda got thinking about other similar threads where "strangers" for lack of a better description have posted. So I thought if you are a person who does not regular post on, but regularly reads the forum, WELCOME and maybe you would like to take the opportunity to post , say hello and maybe whether you have any MA experience or just a passing interest in the area.
    Lastly if you don't feel like saying hello thats okay keep on lurking (especially if your a ninja warrior!! :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

<delurk>

I read this board all the time but I'm too unfit and slack at the moment to actually try some MA :)

Teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

Thanks for posting, and welcome !:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Hi my names rev Hellfire and I'm a alcoholic.

opps sorry wrong board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Clank

I read it most days, but dont really post, reason being, i feel when the discussions get heated(which they do)I feel I dont have the necessary MA experience to comment.

I train in BJJ and Judo at the moment!
    Did semi contact kickboxing for 6 months, didnt like it.
    Been meaning to take up Thai Boxing for ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Actually I've been here awhile. But I'm on a shared computer in work and awhile back failed to clear the history & temp. files and someone from work had my usual user name banned.

(A few of the guys here are boards.ie members)

I've emailed and PM'd two Mods regarding the situation and have had no acknowledgement, so I'm stuck in limbo.

But "hi" all the same. I'm reluctant to use this username until this issue is sorted.

Btw, Judoka (player not the user) here.

p.s. As a matter of fact, I'd appricate it if a Mod would PM me to help resolve this issue!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 859 ✭✭✭BobbyOLeary

I read this forum most days and post when there's something relating to me or my MA but I really don't have the background to have a proper discussion with most people here. I'm a Green Belt in Kenpo so thats as far as my MA knowledge extends.

bob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Goldfinger

I generally drop in here most weekdays but don't tend to post as someone usually makes the point I would've done.

And, TBH, I'd probably step on the toes of some of the people here and spend too much time defending my viewpoints when I should be working:)

(Oh, and FC Kickboxing's my main thang)

its unfortunate because i get a vibe that people feel they can't contribute due to their lack of experience in martial arts, and over the last while there have been a few martial arts "big guns" posting here, but I would say most people are not hardcore martial artists. Welcome one and all and thanks for posting !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Fair play vasch ro, personally I think the thread is a great idea, nice one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 BMAN26

Been looking around for a while, especially when I found out I was coming to Dublin, these boards have been a great help to getting me started in Muay Thai...thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Ali H

I do be on here most days but for some reason I don’t post that often :confused: . I have some mma experience and met a few of the lads that post here through either competitions or seminars. Sound bunch :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Good thread idea John!
    I'm a Green Belt in Kenpo so thats as far as my MA knowledge extends.

And two sessions of MMA grappling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 859 ✭✭✭BobbyOLeary

And two sessions of MMA grappling!

Of course, how could I forget?:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Vasch ro, firstly, nice idea for a post and thanks for the welcome.

For my own part, I've been doing practical tai chi chuan, chinese wrestling of various types and the odd bit of san shou for the last 10 years or so, with a couple of years of wado ryu in the dim and distant past before that. I tend not to post much, for the reasons that much of the content doesn't relate to what i do, and where it does the other posters give pretty thorough coverage of the topic under discussion. I guess I should start a few more threads just to get out of the lurking habit,

best regards

Shane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Eamon Hennessy

I read the odd day, dont post for the sake of posting.If i dont feel i have knoledege in the subject i wont post.Currently training and fighting in Chiang Mia Thialand, im fighting three weeks from today which has but the fear of god in me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

hi o/

i do Wado-Kai karate, 2nd KYU(2nd brown) belt.

also, Vote ++ for sticky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Hey Eamon, good luck in your fight and hey man, don't worry about just get in there and kick some ass!! Have you trained in Ireland and if so, which camp? Where are you training in Chiang Mai, Lanna??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Dr_Teeth wrote:
    <delurk>

I read this board all the time but I'm too unfit and slack at the moment to actually try some MA :)

Teeth.

Same as Dr Teeth, but I find this to be one of the more interesting forums to read on the boards, even though I do not practice any MA.

Keep it up!:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I read the form a bit, but I don't post much.

I did go to the SBG for a few months, but had to give up for medical reasons, which kills me because I loved it even though I was terribly, terribly crap.

So I try and make up for it by watching lots of Pride dvds and wishing the Emelianenkos lived next door or something.

Hi Dave, yea training at Lanna now for about three months and this will be my second fight out here .Im from limerick so unfortunatly no muay thai back home.

Silverfish wrote:
    I did go to the SBG for a few months, but had to give up for medical reasons, which kills me because I loved it even though I was terribly, terribly crap.

The standard at SBG makes most of us feel "terribly, terribly crap" when we visit, lol.

Bumping for an excellent thread!.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Mairt wrote:
    The standard at SBG makes most of us feel "terribly, terribly crap" when we visit, lol.

Bumping for an excellent thread!.

Yes but.... I'm four foot ten and have all the strength of a kitten in a rainbarrel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

aww!

Silverfish wrote:

So I try and make up for it by watching lots of Pride dvds and wishing the Fedor Emelianenkos lived next door or something.

I reckon there is a lot us in this boat !!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 LucasOli

I've been reading this for ages. I rarely post on boards anyway. I've been doing judo for about 8 years. I'm a black belt and thats just about my story!

What club do you train with Lucas?

Hey Eamon, good luck in the fight. Hope this doesn't sound bad but I wasn't that impressed with Lanna when I was there in 2003 and was just wondering if you have checked out some of the other camps in Chiang Mai, there was another camp (forgotten the friggin name) and the owner/trainer had trained 2 Lumpini champs. How are gettin on with this new visa craic and how much longer are you there for?

Planning on staying here until next april/May all going well. I hav'nt trained in any other camps here put i feel im making good progress, in what respect did you feel the training was lacking . Yea the owner of the camp is trying to get the camp certified so that you can get a Vias similar to that if you were studying out here put for doing Muay Thai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Hi folks,

I'm a yellow belt with AIMAA TKD, and I train with the DCU TKD Club. I don't post here often because a lot of the arguments go very deep into different MAs, and I only know about TKD :(

I'll try get more involved now though!

-Ciarán

sunnyjim wrote:
    Hi folks,

I'm a yellow belt with AIMAA TKD, and I train with the DCU TKD Club. I don't post here often because a lot of the arguments go very deep into different MAs, and I only know about TKD :(

I'll try get more involved now though!

-Ciarán

Debates ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 LucasOli

What club do you train with Lucas?

I train with fethard in tipperary. What about yourself?

I wasn't impressed with the standard there either of the fighters or especially the padmen. We were only in Chiang Mai for a week but two of my lads stayed for 3 months and they only went back once after the night a few of us trained there, didn't want to go back and found the other camp. At the time there was also a lot of gobsheen forgieners there (which they really accomodated as they pay the baht) who hadn't a clue. There were two of these clowns trying flying side kicks!!! on the bags without been repirmanded by any of the coachs.

Kru Pedro also runs a camp in Chiang Mai but its not geared towards compeating and concentrates on Muay Boran and Krabi Krabong. However, I have to say I really loved Chiang Mai and plan to go back there in the future. Do keep a close check yourself on how the visa thing shapes up.

Keep up the training and good luck with it. If you get a chance try and put up the odd post here (like Gerry/Millionaire) about how your training/fighting is going because its great to read about Irish lads doing well abroad in ANY martial art. One of the lads from Cork, Shane Cadogen is doing well down in Bangkok (KO'ed a Thai in Rd 1 last fight at 57kgs) and looks like he'll be fighting in Ratchdameon stadium very soon which means Lumpinin won't be far ahead if he does well.

LucasOli wrote:
    I train with fethard in tipperary. What about yourself?

lusk/coolmine/trinity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

To all lurkers,

Nothing wrong with just being lurkers, you don't have to post. Of course, if you want to, feel free.

Colm