Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sod's Law: Things that can go wrong that will go wrong....

• 04-10-2006 09:13PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭

OR MURPHY'S LAW.

Examples:

Missing a bus and the next one doesn't show up.

The top you need for an occasion still being in the laundry basket when you need it.

Not having squids (or seuros?) for the one night you need to go out.

Go on, ya know you know some...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

I thought it was Murphy's Law...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead his dopey friend and a good looking girl were chatting in the pub earlier on. Dopey friend says
    "Stop shouting Pighead, I'm trying to constipate here"

I laugh out loud and trying to impress the good looking chick I go
    "Ha Ha you fool. Thats a spoonerism if ever I heard one"

Dopey Friend goes "Eh it was actually a malapropism ya big eejit"
    Felt like a dummy and the good looking chick didn't speak to me for the rest of the evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

When you think you have a good post to a thread and discover you've killed it - 'cos people are too lazy to look up malapropism! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I thought it was Murphy's Law...?
    Yep me too.

To my mind, it's Murphy's Law in Ireland. Sod's law is the British version of the same thing......................

Someone having a go at the thread title - that's Murphy's law for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

crosstownk wrote:
    Yep me too.

To my mind, it's Murphy's Law in Ireland. Sod's law is the British version of the same thing......................

Someone having a go at the thread title - that's Murphy's law for you!

For the love of God don't let the lads from the "British isles and Ireland" thread hear you say that - they're wound up enough as it is.

Regards the OP: A freidn of mine is of the firm belief that, the moment you light a cigarette, the bus will come aournd the corner. Used to light the damn things for that sole reason.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

On a bus in a rush to get somewhere takes ages, on a bus when you've all the time in the world and it flies home.

The one for the road that makes you puke your ring.

Complaining about kids in the airport check-in queue, and then when you board they are directly beside/infront/behind you.

The one time you cant brake in time and go through a red light, the gardai happen to be right behind you.

The only horse you fancy all day/month/year, you get to the bookies and something puts you off it, and it wins dancing the macerena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    Used to light the damn things for that sole reason.

Murphy's Law puts a stop to that too, ya can't cheat the system!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

A common one for me, my computer or printer will break just when I need done the day or night before. :) It happened yesterday when I needed to print a heap of bank statements for our mortgage lender.
    There are loads more, just that one came to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,833 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    A freidn of mine is of the firm belief that, the moment you light a cigarette, the bus will come aournd the corner. Used to light the damn things for that sole reason.

I used to use that ol' trick for catching the 33 to Skerries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

A neighbour was doing the lottery for years and years using the same numbers and decided enough was enough, the majority of winners seem to scoop the jackpot on quickpicks. Week he changed his numbers for the first time all 6 came up in the draw that Saturday.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Murphy's law it is called, and by defintion everything that can go wrong will go wrong plus more. I have had it happen to me once or twice and it is not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

When I have spare cash to get some decent new clothes but can't find anything that suits me but when money is a bit tight I see lots of clothes that I'd love to buy.

When waiting at a corner to cross the road with cars waiting to turn the corner. ALWAYS the minute you decide to walk around the car the car pulls off and you end up walking back around nothing!

When I have a babysitter but no-one to go out with or when I have someone to go out with but no babysitter.

Miss Fluff thats so :( - talk about bad luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

When you are in a rush to get to work/go home from work, every fecking traffic light will turn red as you approach them :mad:

Every thing that is good in life is either bad, illegal, immoral or fattening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

When I have spare cash to get some decent new clothes but can't find anything that suits me but when money is a bit tight I see lots of clothes that I'd love to buy.

When waiting at a corner to cross the road with cars waiting to turn the corner. ALWAYS the minute you decide to walk around the car the car pulls off and you end up walking back around nothing!

When I have a babysitter but no-one to go out with or when I have someone to go out with but no babysitter. QUOTE]

Exactly the same as that! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Miss Fluff wrote:
    A neighbour was doing the lottery for years and years using the same numbers and decided enough was enough, the majority of winners seem to scoop the jackpot on quickpicks. Week he changed his numbers for the first time all 6 came up in the draw that Saturday.:eek:

Yep has happened a number of times. :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Always when I'm in a restaurant...you're starving & you're waiting, waiting, waiting for your dinner. As soon as you head off to the ladies your dinner arrives :rolleyes:

Thinking an assignment was due next week when really it's due TODAY. (my worst nightmare.. *shivers*)

Saying out loud "I haven't been sick all year yet!" and then getting the worst flu you have ever had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

Got home from work yesterday and was locked out of my house. I tried to ring my flatmate but the battery on my phone died. I was cold, tired and hungry but only had about 20cent in my pocket and I had cigarettes but no light. I ended up buying an animal bar (20cent) and sitting in the cold porch for nearly 2 hours. Anytime I wanted a cigarette I'd to wait until someone walked past smoking...aarrghhh!!! I freaked out at my roommate when he got home even though he'd done nothing wrong!!

Also, anytime I make a personal call in work my boss walks in....

When you make yourself a cup of tea and realise there's no milk...and the shop is shut...

Damn Murphy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

miamee wrote:
    As soon as you head off to the ladies your dinner arrives :rolleyes:

If you think thats a problem then you should try the running out of the ladies being chased by some overgrown toad who apparently doesn't like her personal space being invaded ;)

If Alanis Morrisette were here she'd call all of the above examples 'ironic'.. then we'd have to beat her ass for saying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Like 10,000 spoons when all you need is a knife one might say.

Piste wrote:
    Like 10,000 spoons when all you need is a knife one might say.

oh my gosh... i was totally thinking of that song. i have the "it's like raaaaaain on your wedding day" part stuck in my head! :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

oh my gosh... i was totally thinking of that song. i have the "it's like raaaaaain on your wedding day" part stuck in my head! :D

Rain on your wedding day isn't ironic, it's bad luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Peteee wrote:
    Rain on your wedding day isn't ironic, it's bad luck

Or Sod's law, if you will.

Such as A free ride, when you've already payed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

When you think you have a good post to a thread and discover you've killed it - 'cos people are too lazy to look up malapropism! :D
    Stop taking the thread off on a tandem elivsvonchiaing.

Sofaspud wrote:
    Or Sod's law, if you will.

Such as A free ride, when you've already payed.

What about the good advice that you just didn't take?

ok i'll stop now. :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Whenever I'm in a rush in the morning I can never find my keys for at least 5 minutes, making me late :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

WunderFull wrote:
    The top you need for an occasion still being in the laundry basket when you need it.

Is that not still called laziness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

A free ride, when you've already payed

I think that would be better classed as situational irony.
    And I'm sure a lot worse could happen (in that case, not everything that could have gone wrong, did).

I think that would be better classed as situational irony.

Well the song that the OP was quoting is called "ironic".... so.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Tony Danza

Miss Fluff wrote:
    Same thing happened to my friend's brother's father in law's aunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭WunderFull

Just missing a bus when you are walking towards the bus stop and waiting half an hour for the next one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Pessimistically predicting an unacceptable draw v Cyprus tonight (only to be proved wrong in such a startling manner).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭sioda

Having a party one night to discover you are out of bog roll so decide to use the golden pages then a few nites later feeling lazy and peckish go through to the take away delivery page to find its gone :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

sioda wrote:
    Having a party one night to discover you are out of bog roll so decide to use the golden pages then a few nites later feeling lazy and peckish go through to the take away delivery page to find its gone :-(
    Now that's just rotten luck!

WunderFull wrote:
    Just missing a bus when you are walking towards the bus stop and waiting half an hour for the next one.

That's happened to me many a time before. Gosh how I hate that! :mad:

I much prefer it when I get there at the bus stop and the bus arrives just on time!! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Ruu wrote: »
    A common one for me, my computer or printer will break just when I need done the day or night before. :) It happened yesterday when I needed to print a heap of bank statements for our mortgage lender.
    There are loads more, just that one came to mind.

Did you ever hear of "Failing to plan is planning to fail"?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Did you ever hear of "Failing to plan is planning to fail"?
    The most reliable component in an electronic device is the stress detector. It's job is to cause the equipment to become more unreliable as your stress levels increase.

What Ruu is talking about is when your Plan-B also fails.

I've printed CV's in dark blue / brown before, so guess when I first found out that some printers refuse to print if black is empty ?

Recenlty I needed to use a PC with wireless.
    Two different laptops, with build in wireless and pcmcia wifi cards and usb wifi adaptor ...
    The hard drive failed, then transpired that Belkin USB G adaptor has 5 different chipsets so took ages to get the right driver and it never worked reliably, Windows update on XP doesn't have drivers for Orinoco wireless cards which is the wifi equilivant of not having drivers for HP laserjet (also XP don't have HP colour laserjet 2600, not a rare printer )
    Ubuntu / Knoppix but have orinoco drivers but didn't recognise the pcmcia controller , and the 3G modem connection was so slow that it was impossible to download drivers.

That 2600 printer, working great but when I needed it for CV's the network card died, replaced the card ,printer just sat there with all the lights on till I replaced the toner and removed the card, tried 3 different cards no joy. Fine, put on a jet direct box, which won't get a DHCP address from the router because it only wants bootp. Now it's on USB and windows XP re-detects it and goes looking for drivers that don't exist every time I connect another USB device. The laptop only has two USB ports so that was also fun, now I have to physically disconect the USB keyboard if the PC hibernates. And I'm on the second USB keyboard since something spilled on the first one which I was using because the keys in the centre of the laptop keyboard died after the cat walked on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

ZOMBIES!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bambera

While waiting for half an hour for a bus, 3 go by in the other direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Pighead wrote: »
    Pighead his dopey friend and a good looking girl were chatting in the pub earlier on. Dopey friend says
    "Stop shouting Pighead, I'm trying to constipate here"

I laugh out loud and trying to impress the good looking chick I go
    "Ha Ha you fool. Thats a spoonerism if ever I heard one"

Dopey Friend goes "Eh it was actually a malapropism ya big eejit"
    Felt like a dummy and the good looking chick didn't speak to me for the rest of the evening.

Does Mrs Pighead know pighead is talking to good looking strangers? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

When you at a bus stop and some bloody smoker walks right up next to you and lights up. There's this dour-faced individual at my bus stop who does it EVERY BLOODY MORNING. He even has this annoying method down to a tee of flipping the damn thing out of the packet and into his constantly-frowning gob. Grrrr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

Pighead wrote: »
    didn't speak to me for the rest of the evening

Ah man you're losing your touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

steo87 wrote: »
    Ah man you're losing your touch

I think you'll find he lost it a few years ago so. (Check the date)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Getting a promotion when you are already doing the fillipin job
    Getting a pay rise but tax goes up 100%
    Going on holiday to the sun (first time in 3 yrs) and its rains the whole time
    Getting early train to wind up home at same time as normal train
    Walking the distance as bus would take longer - then seeing 3 buses go by and not a stop in sight
    Washing all the whites seperately - but they still turn out grey ( why oh why, id say its the fn limescale grrrrrrrrrrrr)