Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you believe this for parenting?

• 04-10-2006 4:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭

Called to the swimming pool yesterday where I met my Dad who was dropping off my son for a swim. There was a car beside him with 4 kids, all under 5 and a baby alone in the car. Ask my Dad what the story was. He said the car had been there since he got there (20 mins).

Met my Dad again today and the same thing, car with 5 kids alone in it. I went into the gym reception and asked the guy did he know who owned the car. He same out with me and we asked the kids where their Mum was? IN THE GYM ON THE SUNBED we were told!!!! The kids also had the keys to the car.

The guy in reception knew who she was didn't know what to do and I could sympathise with him. So I rang the Garda's. Saw a squad car come out some 20 mins later but she was gone. I gave her reg anyway and the Garda told me he would trace her through the reg.

Can you believe that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

No I can't believe it for a second, thats absolutley amazing, you mean the Garda responded to a call out in under 30 mins for once? Shocking stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

holy...mother.. of God...

excuse my blasphemy. So gobsmacked when I read this that's all I could say.

funny how you tell the parents from non parents by their responses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

:mad: What a gee-bag. Obvious where her priorities lie.

I wouldnt leave dog in the car alone let alone my 6 year old, not even for a minute.

i know its a bit OTT or paranoid or whatever but i have heard horror stories, car going up in flames, baby suffocating to death, letting handbrake off etc.

it only takes a second and its a second you can never get back. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

What a selfish bitch. Can't believe she didn't let the kids in on the sunbeds too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Selfish indeed, needs to get her head straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Just dropping off the kids at the pool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

20 minute?!?!? :eek: lol

Yeah that sucks, you did the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

Trinity1 wrote:
    i know its a bit OTT or paranoid or whatever but i have heard horror stories, car going up in flames, baby suffocating to death, letting handbrake off etc.
    The happened to my brother just after his first birthday. Himself and my dad were out shopping one day and they parked up at the top of a hill. My dad stepped out of the car for a few seconds to buy a pay-parking ticket from a meter about 6 feet away, leaving my brother in his car seat with the driver door open until he'd got the ticket. During the 20 or so seconds he was gone from the car my brother let the handbrake off (from his car seat), and the car began to roll very fast down the hill. My dad turned around to the noise of the car moving, and panic obviously set in. Luckily for both of them he'd noticed soon enough to have a chance at chasing the car right down the road, and was able to leap in through the open door and slam on the brakes. A few seconds later and the car would have collided with traffic passing on the road at the bottom of the hill.

This was a parent who had only the best intentions, imagine the destruction that could be caused by one who didn't care :( Be warned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

Putting your children in harm's way for the sake of a suntan?? :eek: Selfish, vain woman! She should be thrown in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

free2fly wrote:
    Putting your children in harm's way for the sake of a suntan?? :eek: Selfish, vain woman! She should be thrown in jail.

Thrown in jail? maybe not, but she be made attend a parenting class. Not cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

It's amazing the children weren't harmed. @OP: Good call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Thrown in jail? maybe not, but she be made attend a parenting class. Not cool

I'm not too sure parenting classes teach maternal instincts, this appears to be a regular occurance judging by the OP, i think its possible she could be done for lleaving the children alone?? Not sure though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭smallpaws

Neglectful idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

That is just sad. Those poor kids. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Was it Brittany Spears?:eek:

Nah, seriously, that mother ought to have her ass kicked!
    Chosing a fake tan over her children's safety!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

#Elites wrote:
    whats the big deaaal.. ive seen this loads! i suppose leaving them with the keys is a bit ott, but leaving them in the car..why not.

you telling the guards was a bit wrong tho... wtf does it have to do with you!

I take it your joking? If not please don't ever have any kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

#Elites wrote:
    you telling the guards was a bit wrong tho... wtf does it have to do with you!

Nice attitude! I suppose you think people should keep there noses out of everything, turn a blind eye?

How would you feel if you saw this happen every day, did nothing and then something happened to the kids?

When my cousins were four and six respectively they were left alone in teh car while my aunt did the shopping. They decided it would be fun to start a fire in the car with matches they had nicked from my aunties handbag earlier :rolleyes: so they cleared a space between them in the car, took some papers from the glove compartment and set them on fire :eek:

Both received minor burns when they panicked and tried to put the fire out and they wouldn't open the doors when a stranger ran over and told them to get out so they guy had to break into the car and pull them out.

I was one of those kids who let the handbrake off for a bit of fun (at the top of Captains Hill, Leixlip!!) when my Mam left us in the car. I just managed to lift it up again before we ran into a car parked further down the hill but it was close!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

daveg wrote:
    There was a car beside him with 4 kids, all under 5 and a baby alone in the car. Ask my Dad what the story was. He said the car had been there since he got there (20 mins)..........................The kids also had the keys to the car.

Well when I think back to when I was five. ;) If i was left in a car WITH the keys to it I'd definitley be fiddling with the keys in the ignition to see if I could get it started and drive off.

I think that's so sad and you were right to report it.:( Some people should be sterilized. Seems strange that you need a license to own a dog and yet any subwit it allowed to breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Hey OP keep us updated as to any correspondance you have with the filth (Garda) you were talking to. Would be interest to hear if anything is to be said/done to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

slipss wrote:
    No I can't believe it for a second, thats absolutley amazing, you mean the Garda responded to a call out in under 30 mins for once? Shocking stuff.

Not to take away from the seriousness of the thread but the above is indeed shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Hey OP keep us updated as to any correspondance you have with the filth (Garda) you were talking to. Would be interest to hear if anything is to be said/done to her.

To be honest I won't hold my breath. My thought on it was I had to tell someone/do something. If there had been a manager on duty I'd have told her and left it at that. I stood outside for 5 mins wondering wtf to do. Calling the cops was the only option open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Meh that's nothing. I know a woman who has two kids. They are 4 and 6. They roam the streets day and night and she doesn't give a toss about them. My sister called over to her a few days ago and asked where they were, and she was met with the response "I haven't seen them in two days. They'll be back I'm sure". She never feeds them, and they wear the same clothes constantly. They are skin and bone. Indeed they did return. Absolutely wreckless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

sjones wrote:
    Meh that's nothing. I know a woman who has two kids. They are 4 and 6. They roam the streets day and night and she doesn't give a toss about them. My sister called over to her a few days ago and asked where they were, and she was met with the response "I haven't seen them in two days. They'll be back I'm sure". She never feeds them, and they wear the same clothes constantly. They are skin and bone. Indeed they did return. Absolutely wreckless.

Is this actually true? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

sjones wrote:

Are you exaggerating or is that true???????:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Yes, it's true. They are friends of my nephew, which is why she called over. She wanted to see where they were so they could play with my nephew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

man it's a fine line between being a nosey idiot and being a concerned citizen, but I reckon you should call someone over that. OP, good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Belle_Morte

sjones wrote:

Sorry to go off topic, but do you know if anyone has reported this to the social services? Surely there must be something wrong with the woman, no rational adult would treat children like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

sjones, you're sister would want to report that to the garda. That is an extremely serious situation. It's the height of negligence.

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

Fair play OP for not turning a blind eye at such child neglection & SJones I really hope you or your sister would do the same.

My Mam a while ago noticed that a child around 5 was always outside her house for half an hour each morning. It turned out his Mother was doing a homehelp for an eldery neighbour & letting her child in the car while she worked. My Mam didnt' report her but said it to the woman that she'd have to inform the social welfare if it continued. The woman continued the homehelp for a while but brought the child into the house with her. I often wonder if the child is ok. The Mother seemed nice though. She hadn't great English and the kid did look well cared for so hopefully we did the right thing by not going to the guards first.

I also know a girl who got her child taken off her because she'd feed her baby who was only a few months old and then when the baby was sleeping she'd go out to the pub and be back for the next feed. Sickening & disturbing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Some people should never be allowed near children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Unfortunately I can believe it. When I was younger, one of my Granny's neighbours used to leave their daughter strapped into her child seat in the back seat of the car with a drinking cup, book and something to eat rather than getting a babysitter. My Granny never, to my knowledge, reported it but used to keep an eye on the child, she was afraid to start complaining in case it came back on her in some way I think. I suppose I can see her point, but even though I'm only 19 and have no kids myself, if one of my neighbours was doing that I'd report it without a doubt.

Interestingly, I met the girl in question at a family funeral recently, she's around the same age as me and seemed like she'd turned out alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

HavoK wrote:
    Is this actually true? :eek:

Oh leave it out. If theres one thing about the Irish they know how to exaggerate. Sorry but really, fair enough a kid of 12/13 with a scumbag parents kid can easily be off the radar for weeks on end without the parents caring, but where the hell are two little kids going to be sleeping at night without their mothers knowledge? Jesus, you even see the junkies in town bringing their kids along for drinking and dealing sessions at Hawkins Street.