Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight (Wed)

• 04-10-2006 11:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭

Gonna be dropping into the SE for the scalps tonight. Anyone else heading along?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

HalfBaked wrote:
    Gonna be dropping into the SE for the scalps tonight. Anyone else heading along?

Most definitely! And I'm bringing some folks from work for a first taste of casino gambling action. Should be fun. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

ollyk1 wrote:
    Most definitely! And I'm bringing some folks from work for a first taste of casino gambling action. Should be fun. :D

...or embarassing when they last longer than you!:p .

Oh no he didn't...gotta love the pre tourney smack talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

HalfBaked wrote:

Oh no he didn't...gotta love the pre tourney smack talk

I'm going to make a debut in this tourney tonight I think.

And you are going to love the tourney in progress Smack down that I dole out Peter. Uh - huh, I can trash talk too

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    I'm going to make a debut in this tourney tonight I think.

And you are going to love the tourney in progress Smack down that I dole out Peter. Uh - huh, I can trash talk too

Now that will be funny!

HalfBaked wrote:

What with my recent rock tight play?? Highly unlikely. I don't voluntary play a hand these days until at least level 4!!!! :eek: :eek:

Listen last night I easily outlasted that total fish Andy Black (in the Fitz €50 Dc game lol!!) so i'm sure i can manage to beat you and a few peeps from work right! ;)

ollyk1 wrote:
    I don't voluntary play a hand these days until at least level 4!!!! :eek: :eek:

You must be lasting much longer as a result;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

i havent played poker in exactly 2 weeks and am itching for a game.

see yiz there.

is the 2500 gtd in silks a dead duck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Damn shiftwork is stopping me from playing this the last 4 wks. Cant make it again tonight but gonna drop in about 1130ish coz its a pretty good cash game on a wed and i've no work tomorrow so i have to make the most of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Im also coming out of retirement for the SE DC.

ianmc38 wrote:
    Im also coming out of retirement for the SE DC.

For a 30 min warm up before the cash tables?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I'm gonna play the €100 FE in the Westwood in beautiful G-town...anyone else playing in Ireland's fun city*?

*wait, does that make me a funboy?

Washout wrote:
    i havent played poker in exactly 2 weeks and am itching for a game.

see yiz there.

is the 2500 gtd in silks a dead duck?

No its not dead, I just think the SE game will be better for beginners as the SE game is more established. The overlay kicked in in Silks a fortnight ago but I didn't take advantage :(

Its a matter of taste really. I go where HB and Ian are because thats where the real dead money is!!

"Fun boy Burke" I think it could work Paul!!

ollyk1 wrote:
    Its a matter of taste really. I go where HB and Ian are because thats where the real dead money is!!

now thats respect wher eim not mentioned in the same sentence as them two :)

HalfBaked wrote:
    For a 30 min warm up before the cash tables?

I wasn't being that optimistic but nice one for the show of confidence!

ianmc38 wrote:
    I wasn't being that optimistic but nice one for the show of confidence!

Obviously I factored you being 20 mins late into the 30min calculation;)

HalfBaked wrote:
    Obviously I factored you being 20 mins late into the 30min calculation;)

I wasn't being that optimistic but nice one for the show of confidence! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

hey ian can u see what the story is 2 nite in relation to a trophy in the se for sats boards game.

Will do Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭ligger

I am probably going in so more dead money. Went to this tourney once before but did not "play". Hoping to actually find out what the scalps chips are all about tonight..:confused::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 glenmc

Silks €100 + €10 double chance freezeout is still guaranteed a minimum €2500 tonight. Only 20 runners last week with a 30 min clock and 8000 total chips.

I was a no show last night due to one of the group forgetting to bring ID and the SE not being very flexible on the subject so we took our business to the Fitz for some hot rebuy action.

Unfortunately AK didn't stand up against KQ and I was the first of the group out!!:o Won one pot in the round of each and covered my costs for the night. Oh well :rolleyes:

How did the SE go??

Out in 8th after a relatively impressive comeback from 3,600 chips at the Break. I bet with the nuts and they call me. I try and push them off a hand...and they still call me. Bah!!

However in terms of good news leading up to this Saturday, I managed to get my worst possible poker out of me before the break - played like an absolute donkey maniac. Twas scary stuff. Bet, raise, re - raise, all - in - of course I'm behind. LAG just doesn't suit me....:rolleyes:

LuckyLloyd wrote:

However in terms of good news leading up to this Saturday, I managed to get my worst possible poker out of me before the break - played like an absolute donkey maniac. Twas scary stuff. Bet, raise, re - raise, all - in - of course I'm behind. LAG just doesn't suit me....:rolleyes:

Yeah tight passive is much more your game Lloyd.

For a change, I slowplayed a set and payed off the player when the danger card hit. Then, my J3 suited somehow failed to stand up against the big blinds pocket aces. TBH I had absolutely no interest in the tourney anyway.

Cash table was much better. I'd raised the blind raise 4 out of 5 times with utter shít, 3 times times going to showdown. Next orbit I'm getting ready to do it again and I see 2 aces. Raise it up and a guy who'd been commenting on me doing it then pushes for another 80 or so. Unfortunately it was the wrong time for him to do it with T3o. LOL.

bubbled in 6th. with top 5 being paid

i was a total rock last night. with absolutely no cards.

pushed my last 14K with 88 and got called by A9 by the raiser who had it.

nice to meet you last night Llyod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

did Wes win this last night.

ianmc38 wrote:
    Yeah tight passive is much more your game Lloyd.

For a change, I slowplayed a set and payed off the player when the danger card hit. Then, my J3 suited somehow failed to stand up against the big blinds pocket aces. TBH I had absolutely no interest in the tourney anyway.

Cash table was much better. I'd raised the blind raise 4 out of 5 times with utter shít, 3 times times going to showdown. Next orbit I'm getting ready to do it again and I see 2 aces. Raise it up and a guy who'd been commenting on me doing it then pushes for another 80 or so. Unfortunately it was the wrong time for him to do it with T3o. LOL.

Ya know, there is nothing I like about this post. Not one thing. Why is it the fish have all the luck at the cashtables...?

not sure but he knocked me out...he was tilting a bit but held his game together at the FT.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Ya know, there is nothing I like about this post. Not one thing. Why is it the fish have all the luck at the cashtables...?

I'd forgotten what it was like to win when going in as an 80-20 favourite preflop!

Did Mr. Gibraltar 2006 clean up again last night? Hope so. Main table was like an ATM machine.

Tourney…baaahhh.

Arrived an hour late and knackered. Proceeded to sit there through a brutal run of cards and to compound the situation there were a ridiculous amount of calling stations at both tables I played on. Absolute sweetness when your getting cards / hitting flops, but I managed neither. Never had any chip to play with and was a folding machine for most of the night. Only pots I took down were bluffs.

Went out in 13/14th. Exit hand was me on button, few limpers and I push with Q-10, sb wakes up with AQ.

*when your three best hands of the night are AQ, A8o and A5s you know it’s gonna be one of those nights.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I used this game as a pipe opener for saturday. It was just a routine piece of work on the gallops. I went out when my 1010 against AK all in pf was runner runnered by a flush.

That was pretty harsh; those 4 to a flush runner runners are particularly annoying. Why don't those smiting gods just give them the A or K:mad:

HalfBaked wrote:
    That was pretty harsh; those 4 to a flush runner runners are particularly annoying. Why don't those smiting gods just give them the A or K:mad:

whats worse is four to a straight runner runner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

HalfBaked wrote:

Thats exactly what i was thinking. btw do you believe that guy with moustache a couple of hands previously when he said he'd QQ on that ace high flop hand?. He's a maniac if he ch/raised with QQ. I was convinced my ace was no good and he called pf with A10 or AJ or called with Ace rag and flopped 2 pair.

Scarily enough I do! Eamon is a nice guy, but does have a tendency to pull such maniac moves. I genuinely believe he didn't think you had the ace. Crazy stuff alright.

If it was Eamonn and he said he had QQ he was telling the truth.

Harsh, but the look of disbelief on your face was priceless when he confidently said pockets queens. You actually looked dumbstruck (unsurprisingly).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭ligger

1 hand destroy me last night, 4 limpers (1 guy who was about to muck then decided to call). I look down at KK in the BB and make it 5 BBs to go. Fold, Fold, Fold then guy who was gonna muck goes all in..WTF. I call and he show A10 o/s. Monster hand that deservse to murder the KK when the A lands on the turn.
    Final hand I call for the rest of my chips with PK 44 on a 2 8 10 board. He turns over KJ (good call says Ian and Lloyd) not yet I say and put on my jacket as the J hits the turn. Thanks for the Donkey call comment Ian that eased the pain... :mad: Least it was not the river I was cursing last night.

2nd time to play this and still to get a single pink chip..

ligger wrote:
    1 hand destroy me last night, 4 limpers (1 guy who was about to muck then decided to call). I look down at KK in the BB and make it 5 BBs to go. Fold, Fold, Fold then guy who was gonna muck goes all in..WTF. I call and he show A10 o/s. Monster hand that deservse to murder the KK when the A lands on the turn.

The interesting thing about this hand is the swagger with which yer man went all in on ya - confidently turning over what he figured was a monster (A - 10o:confused: ) just like the big Sea - Bass that he so obviously was. He even had the audacity to say "well done" to you after he had spiked his A to win the hand. Idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

No Wes crashed out either 3rd or 4th