Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

was he trying to rob it?

• 03-10-2006 12:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭

here's the dealio: I only realised today that I left my memory key in one of the labs before going home yesterday. The lab was locked this morning, and I only saw people in there at about 12 for a class. While eating lunch I felt around in my pocket for the memory key and couldn't find it. I realised what I must have done and went to said lab.

I asked the lads at the pc's where it would have been if they saw one, and one of them said yeah and dug into his bag. I thought "that wanker was trying to rob it!" he saw me looking at him and said "I put it here for now and was going to bring it to the lost & found after class". While this is very possible, he did have an honest face, it looked very very bad on his behalf having to pick the key out of his bag.

As a barman I would notice this a lot more than anyone else because lets say a customer makes a drink order for about €16, hands you a 20 and walks away with the drinks, you don't immediatly pocket the money encase he comes back and asked for it, because it would look terrible if you took his change out of your pocket, instead of having it in your hand, so what I would do is hold onto the change for a minute or two and if he/she doesn't return then I pocket it.

so what do you think? was he trying to rob it, or was he genuinely going to bring it to the lost & found?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

Nah, I'd give him the benefit of the doubt, sure if he wanted to rob it he could've just said he hadn't seen it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Nah, I'd give him the benefit of the doubt, sure if he wanted to rob it he could've just said he hadn't seen it?

Exactly. Just be glad you got it back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I thought about that aswell, still first impressions count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

He'd be a lot more likely to confess that he has if it you see it sitting in his hand. He sounds honest that he immediately told you he had it and I'd do pretty much the same thing, take it and do the responsible thing rather than leaving it there for someone else to nick or the chance of you coming back to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Marts wrote:
    I thought about that aswell, still first impressions count

ye and my first impression of you, is that you are a bit of a tit, seriously he was doing the decent thing about trying to return a usb stick to it's owner as he probably didn't know who owned it. Now you mighn't actually be like this but still first impressions count:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

True!
    But just to be on the safe side we should form some sort of special team in order to cyberstalk this guy and pick his character apart in order to find the truth.
    We'll set up new MSN accounts and locate him, link to him & pick him apart until we know everything about him and then we will knkow the whole truth and nothing but the cyber-truth surrounding this mysterious situation.

In other words the bottle of Coke I had at lunch has gone to my head an I'm feeling kinda shakey!
    Off to the archives with me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

How exactly was he trying to rob it, you forgot it, he found it, he could have assumed it had been lost and no one would come to get it. It's not like you had just stepped away from the PC and he stuck it in his bag. you had left it there the day before.

The fact that it was in his bag he could have easily said he didn't have it and you could have done nothing about it. like someone else said just be glad you got it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

As a barman I would notice this a lot more than anyone else because lets say a customer makes a drink order for about €16, hands you a 20 and walks away with the drinks, you don't immediatly pocket the money encase he comes back and asked for it, because it would look terrible if you took his change out of your pocket, instead of having it in your hand, so what I would do is hold onto the change for a minute or two and if he/she doesn't return then I pocket it.

Is there not a certain delicious irony in asking advice about the possible intentions of another when in the same post you admit to pocketing your customers' money? And, to top it off, you say you don't pocket the money immediately - not because it's stealing or because you might feel guilty, but because "it would look terrible"! You mean because it would be obvious that you were caught stealing?

Sheesh!

I am glad I got it back, and like I said I am almost certain he put it in his bag with the intention to put it in the Lost & Found. I'm just saying how it looked initally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

If someone walks off without taking their change, and you wait a while for them to return but they don't, I wouldn't consider that stealing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'd say he saw the key, thought "they won't come back for it, might as well pocket it", and then when you did come back for it, thought "oh! I stand corrected", and gave it back.

Don't think it's dishonest, myself.

liamo wrote:
    Is there not a certain delicious irony in asking advice about the possible intentions of another when in the same post you admit to pocketing your customers' money? And, to top it off, you say you don't pocket the money immediately - not because it's stealing or because you might feel guilty, but because "it would look terrible"! You mean because it would be obvious that you were caught stealing?

Sheesh!
    no no no, I don't pocket it imideatly because I don't know if he's giving it to me as a tip or not

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

OK, what did u want the guy to do, make your pissy little USB memory key the highlight and priority of his day by immediately delivering it to the lost and found? Or take one step further, put up posters? Advertise on milk cartons? Track down your pc and see if the ballistics evidence matches USB port to USB memory key?

This is the worst thread I have ever seen.
    Moan moan moan moan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Ah come on now guys!!!
    At no stage was Marts actually moaning about the situation.
    He's only asking what we thought about the situation.
    Ease up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

JSB
    ye and my first impression of you, is that you are a bit of a tit,

Classic ROFL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I'd pocket it straight away to bring to Lost and Found after class in case I forgot it when I left the lab and someone less honest got their hands on it.

As for pocketing a customers change in a bar! LMFAO. Its a tip if the customer says its a tip, ie keep the change. If not they have forgotten it. So you are saying that in effect that once you have given the customer a reasonable time to remember the change, you feel its perfectly alright to keep the money. TBH it looks like you are the one with questionable morals not the usb key guy. I always went over to the customers table to give them the change, ie. You forgot your change Sir. or if it was busy I'd send one of the floorstaff over with the money. Only when the customer said, "Oh I forgot to say, that was a tip" would I gracefully accept the money and consider it mine.

if I was doing table service I would bring back the customers change every time, but If I am just serving I can't chase the customer and say "thank God I found you, here's your 2 euro"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

Marts wrote:
    if I was doing table service I would bring back the customers change every time, but If I am just serving I can't chase the customer and say "thank God I found you, here's your 2 euro"

But that seems to be what you expected with you USB stick

no, I expected to see the memory stick still in the pc. I asked the lads if they had seen one, and the guy said yeah and pulled it out of his bag. Thinking back on it, he did the right think, through and through, it was just the initial thing of him having it in his bag that got to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,160 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

maybe he just wasn't a ver good thief.

He'll be muttering it to himself:
    "Did you see a USB key?"
    "No.... I mean Yes, I mean No, err, Pass?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Paddy_Irishman

I know this has been said to you but you seem to be ignoring it or just dont see the irony.

You wait 1 or 2 minutes? before you pocket somebodys 4 euro (Your example). Thats a pint my friend. To a student I thought you would appreciate how much that is and only rich dudes leave such a 'tip'. If I left a 4 euro tip I'd be sure to say, keep that for your self mate or at least say 'tip for your self' to acknowledge I've left a generous tip.

You left your USB key all night in a college lab, then for at least 1 hour maybe 2? 12-1 class and 1-2 lunch, then 2-3 class? Then when somebody had the decency to hand you back your property you challenge there intentions?

If there was any doubt in there intentions it should have ended the moment they said they had your USB key. They obviously felt the need to explain to you they were going to the lost and found because you were giving them the 'evils' which quite frankly if some asshole I just saved the hassle of losing data / money gave me a dirty look I'd fire it back at him and call him an asshole.

Maybe next time you'll wait an hour or two before you pocket peoples money in a bar ;). I doubt it thou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I remember i found a usb key in the lab one day, but I was doing stuff so I didn't hand it in straight away, I got slightly worried tho if the person came back looking for it and I was sitting there with it, that it would look like I was gonna keep it.

The guy did give it back, he could have said nothing if his intention was to keep it. Unless he got a slight twinge of guilt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

This reminds me... I found someones watch in the cinema a week ago... I put it in my pocket with the intention of dropping it into lost and found... but by the time the film was over I'd completely forgotten about it...

It's still there in my coat pocket now. It's a piece of sh*t watch though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

This reminds me... I found someones watch in the cinema a week ago... I put it in my pocket with the intention of dropping it into lost and found... but by the time the film was over I'd completely forgotten about it...

It's still there in my coat pocket now. It's a piece of sh*t watch though...
    THIEF! C'mon Marts lets get the rascal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Marts wrote:
    I asked the lads at the pc's where it would have been if they saw one, and one of them said yeah and dug into his bag.

So, you asked if he had seen it, he said yes and gave it to you.

He could have just said no, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

You never mentioned if you used those two lovely words..."Thank You" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I had my usb key stolen in that hole, DKIT.

Anyway, he's either honest or a really sh1t thief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

Maybe he went 50/50

If he asks for it, ill give it back, but if not, its mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Marts wrote:

so what do you think? was he trying to rob it, or was he genuinely going to bring it to the lost & found?

no i would say, he gave it back didn't he.
    but listening to how grateful you were towards him, i would say he should of kept it.
    just as a matter of interest, did you thank him for finding it and giving it back to you.

with an attitude like yours i hope you don't lose anything else because if you believe in karma you will never get it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Calibos wrote:
    I'd pocket it straight away to bring to Lost and Found after class in case I forgot it when I left the lab and someone less honest got their hands on it

That's what I would do to and have done. When I was in college it was mostly zip disks though.

Marts wrote:

the sad thing is, where your suspicion and un-trust comes from is that is the type of behavior you are used to.

i bet id the tables were turned, you would put it in your bag, lie to the poor sod who lost it and keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Marts wrote:
    I am glad I got it back, and like I said I am almost certain he put it in his bag with the intention to put it in the Lost & Found. I'm just saying how it looked initally
    It didn't look like this to anyone else, only you.

biko wrote:
    It didn't look like this to anyone else, only you.

and me, and most poster here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

and me, and most poster here...
    I'm not sure - are you agreeing or disagreeing? The most posts point to that he was not being robbed and that that the guy was honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

was he wearing a black and white stripey t-shirt and was the bag marked SWAG?

Otherwise I'd say he was going to hand it in somewhere.

biko wrote:
    I'm not sure - are you agreeing or disagreeing? The most posts point to that he was not being robbed and that that the guy was honest.

sorry bud miss-read your post, i agree that he was not robing

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I had my one stolen in first year. Beautiful designed hand carved by me in it too, must be worth a fortune. :/
    Sounds like the dude was quite honest, it would have been so easy to say he hadn't seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Talk about ungrateful. The bloke handed it back no questions asked and you still think he was on the blag.