Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seats in the mustang, advice needed

• 29-09-2006 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭

Ok,

I'm tired of all this talk of europian cars with two litre engines, as I read on a V8 web site once: "around here our soda comes in two liters"! I for no reason in particular, other then making myself feel important, want to talk about my car :D

Seats:
    In the next few weeks I'm going to take out the mustang front seats and try a set (think from a rover). The reason I'm taking them out are:
    • Comfort: not good for long journeys
    • Security: you slide all over the place on the vinal going around corners
    • Safety: Two point safety belts + no head rest + minor rear collision = broken neck

I know it will impact on originality, but it will be a much nicer drive, what do ye all think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭3ps

madness!

could you not stick some non-slip material to your ass?

seriously though the above would annoy me too. As long as you can get the new ones to look like that could have been in the car originally then fine. I guess you can put the originals back in if you are selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Good idea, you could always include the originals if selling. Mine are a torment too. I see on paul_cc1 site that he has a 67 whose seats have been changed for comfy looking leathers, look good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭PaulK_CCI

dubtom wrote:
    Good idea, you could always include the originals if selling. Mine are a torment too. I see on paul_cc1 site that he has a 67 whose seats have been changed for comfy looking leathers, look good too.

A very real problem, not just for mustangs. From what I can recall the seats in the 67 are out of a nineties Ford Mustang.... but it's all down to checking out what seats fit the seat runners on the floor, or change the runners to match the seats you like...

With Porsches you have the ''easy' but expensive option to stick Period Recaro seats, and they are a hell of an improvement... no more sliding as your but won't be going anywhere... ;-)

My Mustang guy currently is expecting a superb 65 Fastback with yet different seats fitted again. This time special order race seat, no idea what they are from, but they sure look the business!!!

65Fastback_interior.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

Paul those look great. We tried the seats I picked up from a rover, but for sanity sake we didn't go with them, too high, we were going to have to cut them down and put the original brackets on them, they were also a little bit wide and were hitting the door :(

I'd prefare not to put in boy racer bucket seats, anyone know of any car that might have a suitable racing type seat (cosworth here had good seats) that can be altered reasonable easy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Eric318

Safety and comfort are two excellent reasons to divert from authenticity!

You may want to have a look at seats from a Jaguar XJS or a Ford Sierra.

I had a Ford Sierra once, fantastic seats! (In fact excellent car all round, shame nobody liked it... I sold it last year for 100 Euros)