Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Christmas Ad?

• 26-09-2006 5:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭

Just saw an ad for a festive scented Air Wick thingy. Its funking September!!!! Humbug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

[homer]mmmmmmmmmmm, festive scenteddddddd .....droooooollllll......[/homer]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

saw an ad for them christmas hampers back in june.

sunday papers have ads for christmas parties aswell for quite some time now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

QVC have been starting selling their Christmas ornaments and what not for the last few weeks, though they always start early. Wait for the cries on 2FM for them to play Fairytale of New York. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

And so it begins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

saw them filming a christmas ad in peter mark's on grafton st. about a week ago. freaked me out..

...then yesterday i saw some sort of malteasers tubes for christmas in tesco :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭greg678

It just gets earlier and earlier........:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

saw them filming a christmas ad in peter mark's on grafton st. about a week ago. freaked me out..

...then yesterday i saw some sort of malteasers tubes for christmas in tesco :(
    they were doing an ad in the carphone warehouse on grafton a couple days ago, was freaky seeing snow coming out onto the street.

Cremo wrote:
    they were doing an ad in the carphone warehouse on grafton a couple days ago, was freaky seeing snow coming out onto the street.
    They used snow....heh we get loads of that in Dublin:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Cremo wrote:

I wondered what that was about all right. Weirded me out seeing it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Walk into Tesco over the weekend, and you ll see its xmas stock has begun to arrive :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

"Holidays are coming, Holidays are coming..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Im writting to Santa this year, it just hasnt been the same since I stopped!

#Elites wrote:
    The True start of christmass is when you see the Coca cola add on tv:D
    I just....HATE that ad...:mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

#Elites wrote:
    I love it...:D around 11 at night, on the couch with a duvet, fire going..mmm:D

nice :D

#Elites wrote:
    I love it...:D around 11 at night, on the couch with a duvet, fire going..mmm:D
    Ohh you just reminded me:eek:

Fires in the evening!....ahh i cant wait now.....nothing like settling down in front of the fire to watch the TV:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Yikes! :eek: And I thought it was strange to see a store all dressed up for Halloween last week. I keep forgetting how early it starts.

This thread has really gotten me ready for christmas. I love the feeling of christmas time :)

bluto63 wrote:
    Yikes! :eek: And I thought it was strange to see a store all dressed up for Halloween last week. I keep forgetting how early it starts.

This thread has really gotten me ready for christmas. I love the feeling of christmas time :)
    Heh soon Halloween will be a thing of the past;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Thats it, the tree is going up next week. I'll be the talk of the neighbourhood.

"That feckin eejit across the street put up his Christmas tree already!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

greg678 wrote:
    Heh soon Halloween will be a thing of the past;)

Deffo. Id say most of the big shops hate Halloween at this stage, it only gets in the way and delays the start of the big ad campaigns.
    Save our All Hollows Eve!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Ruu wrote:
    As opposed to "That feckin eejit across the street." ?
    Don't do it. Don't give in.

It's Penneys and not Coca Cola's ad. that kicks things off for me. It's all I have left: Switzers window display is boring, and Arnotts don't 'do' LEGO like they did back in my day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

Just saw an ad for a festive scented Air Wick thingy. Its funking September!!!! Humbug!

Boots in Liffey Valley started putting up their gift sets with the 3 for 2 stickers up over three weeks ago. Should be all banned til 1st November!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,073 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

My auld lad was saying that Debenhams? have already put up their christmas decorations. Does anyone know if this is true?

Anywho, all retailers etc should be banned from starting this crap so soon. It's still september and we haven't even had halloween yet, it's simply rediculous. I love crimbo too, but not when they start shoving it down our throat earlier and earlier each year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Cap`tn Codpiece

Ah, Slade.

"So here it is Merry Christmas
    everybody`s having fun.
    Look to the future now.
    It`s only just begun."

I hate that Fuk`n song.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,833 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Karoma wrote:
    Arnotts don't 'do' LEGO like they did back in my day...

Christ! Serious flashback to sitting in Arnotts window with loads of other kids playing with Lego while folks were off Christmas shopping. Like a creche - but in a window display.

For those who are interested - C&T's Supermarket in Skerries already has Christmas crackers on sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,004 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Tescos with their Hollowe'en and Christmas decorations side by side...madness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Archeron

Trilla wrote:

haha. I saw that last year, one of the supermarkets had a pumpkin lantern with a santa hat on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

Trilla wrote:

I know it fcuking mad isn't it. Talk about confusing the younger kids. Let them enjoy Halloween first before worrying about what Santa is going to bring them. I adore Christmas but its just not right having xmas stuff & halloween stuff on the one aisle & back to school stuff still on the shelfs too.

Archeron wrote:
    haha. I saw that last year, one of the supermarkets had a pumpkin lantern with a santa hat on.

We posted together so missed that - please say that's not true. What'll be next Halloween Xmas trees. Sure we already have Halloween tinsel!! Halloween crackers will be next..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

What time do most people do their Christmas shopping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,833 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Who in the name of Jebus wants to have the synthetic smell of Air Wick's mulled wine in their house from September to Christmas?!

Complain here! ;)

petes wrote:
    What time do most people do their Christmas shopping?

Well it depends on what shopping you're talking about. I start preparing around now because I have two kids & lots of relations & mates to buy for. I usually make a list & buy one present each week. The first week in November I usually decide what my two kids want & put a deposit on them. Spreading it out over November & December is much handier for me. As for the actual shopping like groceries, treats & alcohol, I do this the week before or else we'd all eat or drink it & have none left for xmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Well it depends on what shopping you're talking about. I start preparing around now because I have two kids & lots of relations & mates to buy for. I usually make a list & buy one present each week. The first week in November I usually decide what my two kids want & put a deposit on them. Spreading it out over November & December is much handier for me. As for the actual shopping like groceries, treats & alcohol, I do this the week before or else we'd all eat or drink it & have none left for xmas!

Food and drink would normally be the week before. I do my present shopping around the same time. I always plan to do it earlier but I am a lazy fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Karoma wrote:
    It's Penneys and not Coca Cola's ad.

"Penneys, got a whole lot of things for christman, and a lot for the family... La la laaaaa la la la laaaaaa" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Archeron

"Penneys, got a whole lot of things for christman, and a lot for the family... La la laaaaa la la la laaaaaa" :D

Goody. Guess what I'll be singing for the next month.......

la la laaa, la la la laaaaa la, la la laa...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I know, its Karoma's fault really, its now stuck in my head so i thought id share that festive feeling!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Yeah was in Penny's in Dundrum on Friday and the place is full of Xmas sh1t.. Santa's and tree decorations... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭carbonkid

*sniffles* no one cares about hollween anymore. IFI has its 3 day horrorthon followed by lots of drinking and parties...only the fat man gets to dress up for xmas!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,325 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Christmas is f*cking great, the sooner we can all get in on the christmas spirit, the f*cking better.

Who cares how early they advertise, just don't watch the ad, or pay attention to it ye Scrooge's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

It's amazing how each year, Christmas stuff tends to come out earlier and earlier. I was shocked when I saw Christmas decorations in the store already. Usually they bring it out around Halloween... but this year, it was September. My friend said that when we start seeing it in March, then we have to worry! ;)