Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the cinema on your own

• 24-09-2006 8:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭

Do any of ye do it?
    I do it sometimes and to be honest i feel a bit awkward when on my own , I dont know why because I think it shouldnt matter but its just the way I feel when im in the situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I only went to the cinema on my own once and felt awkward too. I think part of it was because I brought in a heap of sweets and goodies to eat all by myself. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I've done it twice in recent memory, think they were the only times I've done it. They were two films I really wanted to see but people were unavailable both times. Don't think I'd do it if it wasn't a film I really wanted to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

nah, always go with someone. my poor friends have endured the most artsy of films in the IFI before. i like to have a chat before/after the film. most of the time during the film i'd rather be alone tbh, unless it's with a lady!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Only if its an exceptionally highly anticipated film - for a casual trip to the cinema, never.

Never had to go by myself, though...always have someone to go with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Loads of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭imeddyhobbs

nothing wrong going it alone,ive been to too many films with chicks that annoyed me by asking me "what did he say" asking stupid obvious questions,munching on smelly popcorn or texting their friends to tell them that the film excellent/rubbish then telling me what their friend said back in the txt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

Went today by myself. I hate going to the cinema with other people because I don't find the experience a social thing. Plus it means that if I'm not enjoying the film then I can leave and that I can always see what I want to see when I want to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I've been by myself before, and it's the only way I think to enjoy the movie. I'm short on friends like me that hate talking in the cinema. Or even rustling sweet bags.

Plenty of friends though >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Omikron1

Yep lotsa time, last summer when i was workin in dublin i got myself one of those all you can see tickets for the cinema i used to go the whole time after work. it wasn't awkward at all in dublin coz i didn't know anyone but it would be a bit strange if i saw someone i know, just coz of the stigma attached to it. Other than meeting someone i know i wouldn't care at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

yup,always. its rare that id go with anyone else unless by some fluke we all like the same film. in fact i try to go early in the day so i can avoid the annoying kids running in the aisles and or teenage girls who just wont STFU. its one of the guilty pleasures in life to pig out on natchos and melted cheese while watching a good film.

it felt weird at first but i work part time and pretty quickly i figured out if i dont go by meself i wont end up going at all and thats just retarded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Jilm

I prefer it in many ways, especially going in the afternoon & late shows with small crowds ...less distractions e.g. shíthead little kids, obnoxious gits on mobiles etc

It can be like your own private screening :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

80% of the time. Spares all the organising hassle which usually is fruitless anyway. I have tried to get groups together for the cinema numerous times only for nobody to be arsed.
    When ye have friends who spend 100% of their lesiure time drinking, going to the cinema solus is the only option I think. Was weird for a while at first, but after the first time it's grand.
    And as constitutionus said, there was a time I missed films because others werent around. So now I can go opening week without a bother. And trying to get a group to agree on one film is impossible sometimes - "majority rules" unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

I nearly always go on my own, it's better if you want to enjoy a movie and not have to listen to anyone talking. Plus you don't have as much trouble finding a good seat when you only need one as appose to a few togther.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

I go more and more on my own as my mates jobs mean that i'm the only one around at the time who's bothered. I've never felt weird except once when I met my manager and his bird. Usually when i meet people there it's great but I just wanted to get away from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

I used to but not really any more as I no longer have my car and getting 2 bus's or a taxi is way too much effort for a casual trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

gustavo wrote:
    Do any of ye do it?

All the time. In the past I did feel a bit arkward, as if everyone is looking at me (billy no-mates) but as I got older I didn't care. They are strangers to me, I don't care if they think I'm a sad loser (my mom says I'm not! :p ), I am hear to watch the movie. And if everyone went to the movies on their own you might avoid the forever annoying packs of teenagers talking and giggling through a movie (what the fecking point, go outside if you want to yap away to each other!)

But if you want really awkward try asking for a single ticket to go see Miss Congeniality 2 in UGC. I was going with a group, didn't want to see the movie but everyone else had picked it (this was mostly girls), and I was hoping it would be at least mildly funny (it wasn't).

But I was late so they had their tickets. I had to queue up and then ask for a single ticket. Yer one behind the counter could barely stop a smirk on her face.

Ah I didn't care really, I knew the situation looked stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Haven't done so in a while, but am planning on it this week.

Loads of times.

Off topic, but d'ya ever go to the Eye?

Ive gone to the cinema by myself once or twice. Like Havok said, when its for a highly anticipated movie or when I'm just hugely bored with nothing better to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

Went once

Had 2 passes to 40 Year Old Virgin, but my retard of a friend decided t not go at the last minute

so just went by meself. was crappy and awkward and i felt like a sap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Yep, gone quite a few times on my own over the years
    Generally go with my girlfriend, but she was away in the States for a month during the summer so went twice on my todd then.
    No problems with it myself (although she felt real sorry for me, think it kind of made her feel guilty or something!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Off topic, but d'ya ever go to the Eye?

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

Wasnt this asked recently (ahh well search being off and all) ended up being a 4 page thread if I remember.

Anyway

Yes I go to the Cinema loads on my own. I love films and if one chooses to go see one at the right time (depending on genre etc) being in a cinema tends to add alot more to the atmosphere then a dvd and a portable tv.

Never had a problem with it (because have been going on my own since I was 10) and equally have no problem going with mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

Why does this seem to have such a stigma?

Other people generally ruin the experience of the film for me, unless it's an actual date.

The worst is if you like it but they spend the whole time complaining about such and such an actor etc.

And girls talk too much, if you'll allow be to be casually sexist for a second, it's not a venue for chatting! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

If you feel awkward about going on your own, try catching a morning session. There's always quite a few people on their own in the cinemas then. You get to see a movie, get barely any chat and rustling and you get the whole afternoon/evening as well! Plus some cinemas have early bird cheap tickets in the mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

If I'm really looking forward to the film, and I know my gf won't like it, i'll go on my own. I work shift, so I have days 2-3 days off during the week. Audiences are pretty small during the week too, and I can enjoy my nachos without bothering other people with the munching.

I also like to watch a good DVD at home alone too, but not for the same reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Yep, I often go alone. I see nothing wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I went to see Clerks 2 this evening in my UCI all alone... it was great the cinema was completely empty except for me... oh I did have my two friends Ben & Jerry with me though... they're all I need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

Done it today, went to see Children of Men (not very impressed) would've gone to Clerks II but my mate won't let me go without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I went to see Clerks 2 this evening in my UCI all alone... it was great the cinema was completely empty except for me... oh I did have my two friends Ben & Jerry with me though... they're all I need.
    You also ordered a pint of guinness off one of my workmates the other day in cineworld, if i'm not mistaken? wasnt 100% sure it was you so didnt say hi :)

as for going on my own, I only go to the cinema now when i'm working an early shift and have the time really, so I'm generally on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

&#231 wrote: »
    You also ordered a pint of guinness off one of my workmates the other day in cineworld, if i'm not mistaken? wasnt 100% sure it was you so didnt say hi :)
    Haha... that's right. You were all fairly deep in conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭CountryWise

I used to think it was strange but not anymore, i dont do it myself personally but i think if i owned one of those yearly cinema passes then i would have no problem going in while its quite to watch a flick, depends what kind of person you are really, i like being able to laugh with someone or ask"what did he just say" but others i know would prefer not to be interrupted!

i think its classic when all the audience bursts out laughing and you didnt hear it, you ask the person beside you who is also laughing what did the actor say and they embarasingly say dont know, im like what you laughing at then? a bit off topic i know but still quite funny

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Course I do! It's difficult finding people who are not only able to go when you can but want to see the same movie as well, especially with some of the more obscure titles.

When I wasn't so close to the cinema, I used to see a double-pairing to kill time. That's how I had to start off but now it's second-nature when I need to (most recently caught "Crank" on my ownsome and enjoyed it).