Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trouble in Dundalk?

• 23-09-2006 4:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

I hate the Herald.

But.

On the front of it there is a story with the headline 'Six Gardai Injured in Soccer Riots'

The story is about violence in Dundalk after a match between Dundalk and Shamrock Rovers. Reports are that six people were arrested. Seemingly the 'melee lasted for over an hour'.

Also, I saw a thread on After Hours started by KDjacL about trouble at the St. Pat's -v- Shels game last week, that story was in the Herald during the week too.

Has the Herald blown things out of proportion, or were scumbags actually rioting in Dundalk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

People only know what they read, was there a match report in the Herald about the game? Or was the this the only mention.

Imagine some EL fans would start to think the Herald had a vendetta on them maybe Derry are taking up too much space in the paper thats reserved for "other" teams.

Rovers fans were allegdley ambushed after the game by local youths.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I was up in Dundalk a couple of seasons back when they played Bohs and there were riots on the terraces over the far side. Made the evening news on RTE.

Knowing Dundalk well I wouldn't say it's beyond the locals for such an incident but trust the papers to only include a First Division game when something negative happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Plenty of people who were there have pointed out that hundreds of Dundalk left the game early to congregate at the garage forecourt, so the idea of it being local hoods unattached to the club is pie in the sky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

My friend was driving by this and yes it was a riot. Scum were throwing bricks and stones and anything else they could get. The guards were in riot gear with the head shields and all that. He said he never seen anything like it. There seems to be a lot of this happening in Dundalk. There does be scum on the sidelines with pittbulls at some 15/16year old matches in Dundalk for fooks sake. They do be threathening the refs, etc. The bus had to be escorted from some of these minor matches of teenagers so i can imagine the bigger games like Shamrock rovers and the like get an even bigger scum experience.
    How sad do you have to be to stand at the sideline of a match between 15yr olds with your pittbull threatening people and trying to start crap. hese people should be culled to put them out of their misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

Nuttzy wrote:
    There does be scum on the sidelines with pittbulls at some 15/16year old matches in Dundalk for fooks sake. They do be threathening the refs, etc.
    I'm sure Dundalk is not the only place where this occurs.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ugh, I really hope the rovers fans dont start ****e next saturday, 1500 of them expected!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I was going out in Dundalk that night and I was speaking to a couple of the scumbags that were involved while waiting on a taxi. Seemingly there was hundreds of youths involved and it was going on from after the match until about 11pm. The youths in question were from the opposite side of the town (3 miles) as they were forced to retreat from the guards. Lovely lads I must say... :rolleyes:

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I was going out in Dundalk that night and I was speaking to a couple of the scumbags that were involved while waiting on a taxi. Seemingly there was hundreds of youths involved and it was going on from after the match until about 11pm. The youths in question were from the opposite side of the town (3 miles) as they were forced to retreat from the guards. Lovely lads I must say... :rolleyes:

Who "goes out" in Dundalk? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Dundalk is fine in my experience (26 years) and as with any big town in this country, has plenty of scumbags.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGLi85h5xnI

Found this today. Have not watched it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I used to support Rovers , when they were at Milltown , now watch a bit of UCD . Seen a little bit of trouble at Rovers matches, but comparable to UK violence , it was not very threatening and very juvenile (i.e lots of stones and threats) . The only serious violence i saw in Dublin, was when England came to town in '95 , and that was threatening , gotta say, didn't see the Irish firms prooving themselves that day, took the Gardai to control things. My point is , is violence at EL being over hyped , nothing like football to sell a story ! or is it a real threat ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭johnos

thebaz wrote:
    My point is , is violence at EL being over hyped , nothing like football to sell a story ! or is it a real threat ?
    Definitely overhyped. The words soccer and hooligan seem to translate into banner headlines, for spats that wouldn't warrant a mention otherwise. And completely out of proportion to the miserly coverage given to the sport.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Nuttzy wrote:
    My friend was driving by this and yes it was a riot. Scum were throwing bricks and stones and anything else they could get. The guards were in riot gear with the head shields and all that. He said he never seen anything like it. There seems to be a lot of this happening in Dundalk. There does be scum on the sidelines with pittbulls at some 15/16year old matches in Dundalk for fooks sake. They do be threathening the refs, etc. The bus had to be escorted from some of these minor matches of teenagers so i can imagine the bigger games like Shamrock rovers and the like get an even bigger scum experience.
    How sad do you have to be to stand at the sideline of a match between 15yr olds with your pittbull threatening people and trying to start crap. hese people should be culled to put them out of their misery.

Can you back this statement up? There was rioting and that's sad, but by the same token it shouldn't be blown out of proportion. To my (limited) knowledge there's only trouble in Dundalk with Rovers as there's a history between the 2 clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

How it justifies a front page heading is beyond me. We have the same problem in Cork when the Evening Echo carried a story saying that Rovers fans had wrecked a pub near Turner's Cross, when in fact that hadn't even been near the pub at all.

How it justifies a front page heading is beyond me.

But then again the Herald is a total rag and has a history of this kind of thing.

Can I also add that the Herald AM is also crap. No EL coverage and no horse racing page.

Great quote from a witness of the trouble after the match. :-from Betfair.com forum

"The funniest thing of the night was the cops linking arms marching the Rovers fans down the road after things had calmed down with the Hoops singing "We're off to see the Wizard...." and "New York, New York""

You'd have to laugh at the image of that:D

Sparks400 wrote:
    Can you back this statement up? There was rioting and that's sad, but by the same token it shouldn't be blown out of proportion. To my (limited) knowledge there's only trouble in Dundalk with Rovers as there's a history between the 2 clubs.

There has been trouble between Bohs and Dudalk in Dundalk 2 or 3 times since 2001/2002ish. There's a history between Dundalk and fans of most Dublin teams, because there is an element of Dundalk's support that is backward to the point of being inbred, have fish and chips on both shoulders, and generally want to have a pop at anyone from Dublin who dare to come to their town to support their team. The stories of the Rovers official cameraman, and the TV3 official cameraman being ran out of the Main Stand (where you wouldn't expect the likely lads to be sitting; they stand in the Shed) last Thursday night, while just trying to do their jobs (the Dundalk "stewards" couldn't guarantee the safety of these cameramen) would seem to bear this out.

How it justifies a front page heading is beyond me. We have the same problem in Cork when the Evening Echo carried a story saying that Rovers fans had wrecked a pub near Turner's Cross, when in fact that hadn't even been near the pub at all.

How it justifies a front page heading is beyond me.

But then again the Herald is a total rag and has a history of this kind of thing.

Can I also add that the Herald AM is also crap. No EL coverage and no horse racing page.

There was a Rovers fan glassed in the Horseshoe a few years ago, not sure if that's the incident you are referring to. Obviously I wasn't there, but I heard this from several people who witnessed it.

Bateman wrote:
    There was a Rovers fan glassed in the Horseshoe a few years ago, not sure if that's the incident you are referring to. Obviously I wasn't there, but I heard this from several people who witnessed it.

Think it was the Tory Top.

Nothing happened. The Echo had to make a public apology.