Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Problem with IDs...

• 23-09-2006 3:07pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭

So just started college this week, and as my student ID came out of the machine, I just realised that I have a helluva lotta IDs now. For example:
    1. Library Card - the original, the best
    2. Garda ID - so I can go out
    3. Student ID - to wander around college grounds aimlessly without getting kicked out
    4. USIT card - for cheap stuff :D
    5. Student Travel Card - For those 77 euro monthly tickets
    6. Passport - to pass port.
    7. Miscellaneous discount cards (probably around 3 or 4 in my wallet at the moment) - Spend 500 euro, get 1 euro back!
    8. Bank card - to live
    9. European Health insurance card - in case of emergency
    10. Video Shop cards - have at least two of them

I could go on, but is there really a necessity to create such bulging wallets? Is it not possible to create one uber ID card, a smart card if you will? Or do we have to live in a society where pretty much every activity we partake in requires a photo ID of some description?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Is it not possible to create one uber ID card, a smart card if you will?
    Because that idea went down a bomb last time Tony Blair mentioned it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Or you could just bring the particular card(s) you need for any given occasion.

Or do you regularily leave the house , withdraw cash from an ATM-'M', buy your monthly travel pass, pick up a video and some books, take a trip into town for some bargain shopping, come back out and wander around college grounds, go drinking, have an accident and then round it all off by leaving the country? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Pigman II wrote:

Or do you regularily leave the house , withdraw cash from an ATM-'M', buy your monthly travel pass, pick up a video and some books, take a trip into town for some bargain shopping, come back out and wander around college grounds, go drinking, have an accident and then round it all off by leaving the country? :confused:

Ahh made me laugh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Pigman II wrote:

Youve just summed up my average week day right there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

9. European Health insurance card - in case of emergency
    This is of course useless unless you actually leave the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Just melt or compress all your ID cards into one, problem solved. *dusts hands*:)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

you dont need most of them at all in your wallet....passport??? discount cards??? video cards???when does someone ever leave the house with the intention of leaving the country AND renting a movie?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Admittedly i dont bring around my passport all the time. My point is I just feel it is completely unneccessary to have so many different forms of identification. True, I may only have three or four cards on me at a time, but its just so many things seem to need an ID these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

We shud jus have little fobs like the ones for ur Tesco clubcard
    [best invention everrrr!]

All the card has is a magnetic strip that isnt used

Ive loads too

Garda ID
    Library Cards
    Tesco Card
    Dunnes Card
    Game Reward Card
    HMV Gift Card
    Callcard
    College ID
    ATM Card
    Student Travel Card
    Discount Cards
    Paltinum Card
    Credit Card
    PPS Card
    HSE Card

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Some people now put a microchip implant in their dog that IDs them, with plenty of capacity to store their license information, home address, phone number, vet history, bite history, territory squirting history, and whatever else. Just think (or don't think), you could have a microchip implanted in your head and do away with all these cards... Just think want happens if it should crash or get mistakenly programmed with your dog's history? Woof, woof, pant, pant, scratch, scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,159 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

It would be great if they could make the driving license credit card size for one thing. For the rest though, the big problem is people don't really have a plan when they go out, so just take a default set of cards with them. I know alot of places can add purchase points by just looking up your details, but I don't think anybody (besides people into insurance fraud) go out with the idea of getting hurt.

You should only ever bring your passport when you're travelling out of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 poppins9000

whats your platinum card? is it the card with discount entry to clubs in dublin if so where did you get it?? or is it just a visa type yoke?? thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

are you forgetting your social security card?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

1huge1 wrote:
    are you forgetting your social security card?
    And your birth cert :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

cert

its not a card

Yeah, the platinum card is a discount card, ye get one when u open a 3rd Level students account

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Why are ID photos so bad?

My Passport photo- so gangster it looks like it could be used in a Paul Williams article in the Sunday World.
    Work ID- all my friends think it looks tough, but tbh I think i just look very hungover
    Old student travelcard (that I still use, they seldom notice the expiry date :) )- Ive been told I look like a shorter haired Hugh Grant in that mugshot they took after he was caught with the prostitute
    Old student ID (still use it for discounts)- Crap. Just plain crap