Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fox news on Irish anti americanism

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I haven't even been to visit yet.
    That's Fair and Balanced(TM) indeed.

It's stuff like this that could affect how we see the yanks, maybe, because we know they aren't their government. We don't have the "my country, right or wrong" mentality. And besided it was the US "fans" who started the booing at the Ryder Cup.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Uuuh Patsy wrote:
    Anybody see Mr Gibsons rant on Fox last night?

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,215267,00.html
    The charter requires that you add your own thoughts to a news story, and be prepared to discuss them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,885 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

why would anyone care what any fox news 'Journalist' has to say about anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Heh - "to relieve their famines"...."leave some of my dollars behind"...

How sad it is that you can't buy love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,957 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Its Fox news! what do you expect, they hate everyone except Bush :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭pete

It's fascinating how
    The Irish Times kicked off the Ugly American campaign early in the week with a provocative story -- written, interestingly, by an American, Bruce Selcraig -- that said, among other things, "many Euros and other international players are put off by the overwhelming number of American PGA Tour players who identify themselves as George Bush-loving Republicans who support the U.S. occupation of Iraq."

becomes
    Now The Irish Times has kicked off an "Ugly American campaign" about the American players saying: "Many Euros and other international players are put off by the overwhelming number of American PGA Tour players who identify themselves as George Bush-loving Republicans who support the U.S. occupation of Iraq."

I've done a search on the Irish Times archives yet can find no mention of this "Ugly American" campaign they've started. Where do I sign up? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

typical, the ugly american campaing is quote from a sentence in an article on CNN-sportsillustarted Alan Shipnuck, which quotes Bruce Selcraig an putspoken AN AMERICAN, who If Im right was the one who a few months ago slagged off the standard of the K Club golf course, which he had alot of reasons to do.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/writers/alan_shipnuck/09/21/ryder.cup/?cnn=yes

Bruce Selcraig Selcraig is a former US Senate investigator and staff writer for Sports Illustrated who lives in Austin, Texas.

Ah look here it is and the stories popping up about it all over the place...

http://www.ireland.com/sports/rydercup2006/features/republican.htm

Its alot of waffle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭giveth

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,215267,00.html

An article on Fox. A bit of an over reaction to an article in Irish Times, methinks.

Moved from Politics.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I think the opening line of the article; " What's the matter with the Irish?", says it all... there's obviously something wrong with the Irish because they don't all love the USA...
    ignoring the fact that the article is completely confused, badly researched and loaded with the types of generalisations that the Bush administration has made into an art form it's obvious that Gibson is trying to troll; he mentions the famine, makes links between Ireland and Britain and patronisingly talks about leaving some of his dollars behind (someone should tell him nowhere accepts dollars in Ireland.. :D)

Look at it this way, he uses the whole Tiger Woods porn issue to show that Ireland is anti-american; so if one Irishman insults one American then the two countries are obviously at odds with each other?
    I'll have to look through the IT articles on the Ryder Cup so I'm not sure if the quote he attributes is correct or who said it; all I do know is that Miriam Lord's Ryder Cup articles have so far been a big piss-take on golf, and are certainly not to be treated as journalism.

Threads merged btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

He won't be very welcome leaving his US dollars around in Irish pubs trying to enjoy a pint. :) Very OTT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

The Ryder cup is a great event - why bring politics into it?

Were the Kerry Players last weekend asked their views on politics?

Should the Irish soccer team be asked their views on politics?

Sport is Sport.

Media Organisations should put sports in the sports pages.

Again all the stuff on WAGS is pure fluff. Absolute nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭Frederico

Akrasia wrote:
    why would anyone care what any fox news 'Journalist' has to say about anything.

Its the second most watched News channel in America.

Its an ideal model of how to use rightwing views to garner controversy and get more ratings.

People watch it and get their own ignorant beliefs confirmed, there is rarely two sides, just one side (e.g. the other day ALL 3 presenters were giving out about immigrants, not one devil's advocate)

News stations affect politics, which affects foreign policy, which affects the world, especially when you are the only superpower.

Fox News and Al Jazeera are very biased news stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

rofl "leave some of my dollars behind" . Doesn't realise how little the Dollar is worth over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

This is great. The interviewer has no clue what to do.
    thats how you should act when faced with BS

heres the link
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3RLAKArfOe0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

thats FOX for you :) fair play Bill

Moved from Politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

He obviously has a very short memory too.

Some what off topic but, in the 1999 Ryder Cup, which was staged at Brookline in Massachusetts, the Americans fans behaved despicably, getting drunk in the stands and galleries and shouting abuse at the European players and their families (Colin Montgomery, in particular, got a terrible lashing by the fans). The American players were also very unsporting, they ran onto the green on the 17th to congratulate Justin Leonard after a great put, while his opponent, Spain's Jose Maria Olazabal, had to wait out the celebrations before attempting a 25-foot putt to keep Europe's hopes alive. He missed.

I wonder what Bruce Selcraig thought about those events? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 366 ✭✭Mad Finn

Never mind 'What's the matter with the Irish?', what's the matter with Irish Americans? When did they go from being a great bunch of people that most of us were proud to call our compatriots to being a bunch of paranoid loons wondering why it is that aeverybody appears to hate them?

Look at all the great Irish Americans of yesteryear: Spencer Tracey, Father Flanagan, Jimmy Cagney, John F and Bobby Kennedy, John McEnroe. Great writers like Fitzgerald and O'Neill. Now who are the prominent Irish Americans? Bill bleedin' O'Reilly, Sean Hannity and now this dribbling dumb-ass Gibson who has just outed himself as being part Irish and can't read his autocue without stumbling over the words like a drunk. (Actually that's probably unfair. I suspect he's dyslexic and genuinely can't read his autocue easily in which case, he's in the wrong job being a broadcaster)

Are there any great modern day Irish Americans? Where are the Tipp O'Neil's and Pat Moynihans? A vanishing breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I emailed my comments to his site.

Dear John,

First off, get over yourself. No Irish person owes any American person anything, apart from maybe on a personal level between two friends or relatives. I'm not quite sure why you feel Irish people would have any sort of debt to America due to past immigration, as a) at that time in it's history America needed a cheap work force and the Irish immigrants became it, and were for the most part low-paid and badly treated. Ever hear of the phrase, No Dogs, No Blacks, No Irish. And b) the Irish people who reside in Ireland never emigrated to your country, so even if America had been the land of milk and honey to those who went there why would those who stayed at home feel any gratitude for that?

As for why the majority of people have problems with American foreign policy, then that would be because we are a well educated European people, remember in Ireland a university education is free, and we have a much more open media than yours. There is much that we actively dislike about the United States. Not it's individual people, but about it's policies, media and government. Conversely there is also much that we like. For example I like the first 8 seasons of the Simpsons, Joss Whedon's work, J. Michael Strazinsky's work, many HBO series' and Marvel comics amoung other things. I dislike ubiquitous fast food chains, much foreign policy, the official ignorance of the very real threat that is global warming, the christian right and the later Simpsons seasons (they just stopped being funny) amoung other things. Are you starting to get the picture?

As for individuals I judge them on a person to person basis. I love my friend Bridget who's from Illinois, I tolerate my husband's cousins from Philadelphia and from what I can tell of your personality on the basis of this article I don't think I'd like you very much as you seem to have a weird sense of entitlement, but if I ever meet you I may revise that opinion, you never know!

As for you visiting Ireland, well you ought to be aware that we are a fairly wealthy country so there will be no fawning over the few dollars you may leave behind in a bar. In fact the dollars themselves would be a rather silly thing to leave behind as our currency is the Euro. You would also find that many things are very expensive to you as the dollar compares quite unfavourably with the euro. As for your treatment, then that would be on an individual basis. If you are nice to people for the most part they will be nice to you. If you are a condescending prat you will be treated with anger and derision. And if you can't accept the fact that we are a democratic country with an entitlement to our own opinions then you may be best to stay home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

Fabulous email. Any sign of a reply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

iguana wrote:
    I emailed my comments to his site

So did I, but one week has passed and I have heard nothing back. Surprise, surprise :rolleyes:

Me either. Obviously I'm shocked :eek: !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

That's Fair and Balanced(TM) indeed.

It's stuff like this that could affect how we see the yanks, maybe, because we know they aren't their government.

Don't know about this particular statement. I was fine with American's up until they voted George W Bush into office the first time. Even after that, I thought, "they made a mistake in voting him in, we make mistakes here with people we elect to office, sure live and let live..." Then they re-elected him and ever since then I've thought, "ah here, these American's are taking the piss now..."

I think you can tell a lot about a society by the type of person they elect to lead and represent them. I've had fu*k all time for American's since they relected this warhound into office and make no apologies for it whatsoever.

Darragh29 wrote:
    Don't know about this particular statement. I was fine with American's up until they voted George W Bush into office the first time. Even after that, I thought, "they made a mistake in voting him in, we make mistakes here with people we elect to office, sure live and let live..." Then they re-elected him and ever since then I've thought, "ah here, these American's are taking the piss now..."

I think you can tell a lot about a society by the type of person they elect to lead and represent them. I've had fu*k all time for American's since they relected this warhound into office and make no apologies for it whatsoever.

In all fairness millions of Americans didn't vote for him. And I'd imagine that they are suffering more under him than we are. Do you hate them too?:confused:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Darragh29 wrote:
    The vast majority of peple living in the US did not vote for him. The most vocal section did though. Both the Bolshevichs and the "Moral Majority" use the name "majority" even though they wern't.

I still don't understand why Gore didn't take the Florida thing to court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

It's a tabloid trash channel aimed at the lowest common denominator. No one in their right mind considers it real news. Fox News is the Sun for the illiterate.

Watching it just gives me blood pressure problems. I really wouldn't even give that story the oxygen of online publicity!

O'Reilly and co just aim to stir it up and "it" is anything that can be stirred!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Ive always liked the part of the fox shows where they read viewer emails, they usually select one or two well written mails agreeing with the fox stance and a f***wit email disagreeing, something along the lines of "Bill, youre a big stupidhead".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

kowloon wrote:
    and a f***wit email disagreeing, something along the lines of "Bill, youre a big stupidhead".

OMG, theys read me letter? Woohuh! OMG! Right then! That teh shiznit! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 366 ✭✭Mad Finn

kowloon wrote:
    Ive always liked the part of the fox shows where they read viewer emails, they usually select one or two well written mails agreeing with the fox stance and a f***wit email disagreeing, something along the lines of "Bill, youre a big stupidhead".

Yeah I remember one time O'Reilly read out a letter from a woman who said she thought he 'had a sexual hangup'

His reply was to snigger and say: "Well, most Irish guys do. Come on. Take pity on us."

Speak for yourself, Billy.

Mind you, wouldn't Ann Coulter be quite shaggable if she got a boob job..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

No. Ann has a horse face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

The vast majority of peple living in the US did not vote for him. The most vocal section did though. Both the Bolshevichs and the "Moral Majority" use the name "majority" even though they wern't.

I still don't understand why Gore didn't take the Florida thing to court.

He tried but considering one of the judges who refused a recount was working on the Bush campaign, I don't think he really stood a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

Lads I've got to admit that lately, after meeting many US people here I am becoming very anti-american.
    I'm sad to say this as i usually stand up to mindless racism or ignorance. It was becoming overwhelming recently, mainly as I work with many americans at the moment, and I find their lack of criticism for anything in the US disturbing. I'm always going on about the s***e politicians we have, the health service etc etc, but i never hear US people say anything bad about the US.
    Anyway tonight on my break with no one to talk to I found this:
    http://www.cs.princeton.edu/~chazelle/politics/antiam.html
    I hope the link works, It's helping me a bit to understand my feelings.
    Also I've been watching the Colbert report and a few CBS shows, which helps keep my predjudices at bay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

karen3212 wrote:
    Lads I've got to admit that lately, after meeting many US people here I am becoming very anti-american....keep my predjudices at bay.

WOW! Thats a bit of a bump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

hi I don't really understand what you mean by bump?
    But I didn't explain myself very well. You see I thought I was simply becoming very predjudiced, and anti all people from the US because of the ones I know.
    The report from Princeton helped me understand that my thoughts were not unfounded and that I hadn't dreamt up reasons for disliking america. Lately I'd started thinking they must be all the same since unfortunately all the ones I've met have no idea why the US might be disliked.
    So searching on the internet and watching clips from youtube from the US ie cbs , letterman and colbert is showing my brain that they are not all the same, and keeping my predjudices at bay.

karen3212 wrote:
    hi I don't really understand what you mean by bump?

Just a boardsie term. this thread was started in september and has been inactive for a while. If you post a new message it will bring the thread back to the top page of the thread listings - your first message bumped this thread. Sometimes posters will simply post the word 'bump' to do this so the thread gets more attention - very common in the bands and musicians forum.

Anyway...with regard to your post, yes, not all Americans are Charles Krauthammers and the programs you mentioned serve to remind us of this fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Fox News is home to a considerable number of Irish-American Bush worshippers: Bill O'Reilly, Sean Hannity, Mike Gallagher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭superdudeman007

Has anyone seen the footage of Shepard Smith discouraging people from voting for Barrack Obama because his middle name is Hussein and his father attended a muslim school?

And what about Geraldo Rivera talking to a death row prisoner's family and telling them "The death penalty's not enough - most people want him to be stoned!" :eek:

The best was when Shirley Phelps-Roper (The "god hates fags" psycho) lost it and called the presenter a bimbo. Then the presenter told her she was going to hell. It goes on like that...

I was reading Monday's edition of 'talking points' just there now. Bill is Sh*te-ing on about America haters in the radical left wing press and sticks this in:

"In Dublin, Ireland where I was last week, I was struck by how some in the foreign press actually parrot what these anti-American Web sites are spitting out. So the American haters are doing what they want to do, damaging this country"

Translation: "Ireland Hates America"...You ungrateful bastard!! You come over to our country, we bestow on you one of the most presitgious awards we can give and you turn around and give us this!? (...then again maybe he picked up the Guardian in the news stand)

Full transcript

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

J.S. Pill wrote:
    You ungrateful bastard!! You come over to our country, we bestow on you one of the most presitgious awards we can give and you turn around and give us this!?

Eh? The standard "Thanks for coming" honorarium from the Phil is now a "major award"!!!

Come on.

The man's a tossbag. His incessant complaints that 'the left' and 'the liberals' and 'the Europeans' all hate America brings to mind a paraphrase from the Band of Brothers series.

We don't hate America, Bill; we just hate you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

"In Dublin, Ireland where I was last week, I was struck by how some in the foreign press actually parrot what these anti-American Web sites are spitting out. So the American haters are doing what they want to do, damaging this country"

How can someone who rants on the Late Late that "most Irish children don't know when Christmas is" spew stuff like that out in a way that projects him as an expert on Ireland? Of course, Bill's "Irish" (we're "his people", don't forget), so naturally enough he'd know everything :rolleyes:

I've mentioned it elsewhere, but Pat Kenny's weakness in his interview with Bill infuriated me. The fact that the interview has received recongnition from MSNBC's Keith Olbermann among others makes me wonder what could have been if PK had only conducted the thing better. Bill could have been made a holy show of.

Eh? The standard "Thanks for coming" honorarium from the Phil is now a "major award"!!!

Come on.

I was simply parodying Bill's declaration on his own show that he was receiving an 'award' from the TCD philsoc, as if he was being recognised for his intellectual acumen.