Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Orientation Week

• 22-09-2006 12:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭

So the Week Zero is over and i think i'm still recovering.

Monday, bar at 3 o clock right till the end, There was a bit of a dj and some drinking games if i remember correctly, and then some party, party was dissappointing but it was a good night overall

Tuesday was ..... ehhh.... tuesday was actually the best day all week, I was unforunatlely in a very bad state and got a little confused when some girl starting talking to me about Sex in the City and i subtly suggested we have sex in my room instead. Still trying to figure out why that didnt go down as well as i'd hoped. There was a party afterwards but i'm not emo so that didnt last very long for me. the lads came home at five i think...

Wed was traffic light thingy. It was raining, we had to have tickets. Tickets werent actually needed, didnt take me long to get drunk and i wandered the apartments again for a while.

Thursday, day of rest, heard the old bar was good though.

anyone have any good adventures in theyre first week of college?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Finch*

i went to me ex-gf's debs on wednesday, she stumbled down some stairs because of her drunk friend, had to go to hospital and can't walk for a while because of stretched ligaments, and on the bus home i puked out the window!! CLASS! that's WAY more fun than college! dunno how she's gonna get around on monday!

but yeah i haven't actually gone to any of the college socials, have either been sick/lazy/asleep/busy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

thedara wrote:
    anyone have any good adventures in theyre first week of college?
    Paid €1000 to the finances office... oh what a jolly week i had.

Roll on week one proper.

that's better than the 5 grand i owe :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭IgsTer

lol ye your lucky rhyme..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Had a good first week, met loads of cool people, have a dead on roommate, got twisted nearly every night despite not bein allowed into the oldbar(although I did hop the wall on Mon night :D)
    Was a bit homesick but I had fun overall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Rockerette

it was a laugh alright.
    im home know to wash in a flucking shower that doesnt involve being stuck to a shower curtain.. GAH!!!

Met some deadly deadly people.
    Love it.
    Cant wait to start the course too... (im THAT cool...)

And i had 2 of those funny awkward moments of... "you use boards... ooooooh..."

deisedolly, and mistyfog... you knows it... ahahahaaaaa..

(ssshhh... we use the internet?! never..!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Rockerette wrote:

And i had 2 of those funny awkward moments of... "you use boards... ooooooh..."

deisedolly, and mistyfog... you knows it... ahahahaaaaa..

(ssshhh... we use the internet?! never..!)

You met her aswell?! Haha, that's mad isn't it.... It was just like one of those 'Wow I AM a nerd' moments hehe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭baby*cham*bell

loved it... having done first year in another college last year, I can safely say I had more fun in 2 days in DCU then i had all year in Trinity. met some cool people and some people trying to be cool, but hey eveyones sound and theres a deadly buzz about the place.
    Jus gotta make me some on campus friends now so i dont hav to go home every nite...not that I didn't receive any offers from friendly people ... ahem.
    Roll on Freshers week!
    Anyone know what night the Freshers Ball is on so I can get it off work??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Rockerette

deisedolly wrote:
    You met her aswell?!

him ;)

yup i did indeedy, great fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

awh man i haven't gone to anything yet :(. I cant get into the bar so i couldnt go to any of the events, i realy wanted to as well. not a great first week socially

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Katieface

i had a **** orientation week :(
    everything went wrong and i had to come home half way through it and missed loads of the fun stuff that happened and as such i havent met anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Freshers ball is on wednesday. For events coming up on campus check here: http://life.dcu.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 podge87

first week was meh, didn't know anyone, wandered around bored, so yeah meh,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Anarking

Whats this?

We starting again soon or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭CGorman

:| wrote:
    awh man i haven't gone to anything yet :(. I cant get into the bar so i couldnt go to any of the events, i realy wanted to as well. not a great first week socially

Yeah the whole bar thing is such a pain. Had to settle for the Hypnotist yoke on Thursday, was a good laugh all the same. Kinda glad to be back home 4 d weekend so I can get a decent nite out... still I really enjoyed d week nd im fairly well convinced DCU is the best college in d country! D CCTV security video of the man stealin' the bike wheel was probably enough on it's own to make the whole thing worthwhile!

was the hypnotist any good at all? i was gonan go but got lazy, even though i'm a 2 minute walk from the bar :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

was the hypnotist not in the bar? dammit, i would have gone if id known....and if i wasn't too hungover to move...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,288 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Attended zero social events since I live in Bray and it takes a long time to get home. But I had a good week - great vibe, superb campus. Still havent got to know many people yet though, just a couple of lads in my course (of which females outnumber the males by around 6 to 1 :D )

And youve only got to know guys?

You know what that says about you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭CGorman

he was'nt a hypnotist really... more of a comedian sort of thing. Started off with a few one liners (some lame: my ma was a telepathic, me da a phsyic... suppose that makes me a physcopate... some were a bit better). Then he picked on a few people in the audience and did some crap magic tricks (but in a humerous way)... basically insulted a dozen people.

After a while he got 25 people to go on stage (it was in the venue) and sit down. Played some soft music and spent 10 minutes telling them to fall asleep and relax. Thats where it got a bit more fun. All 25 where trying to pretend to be hypmotised so they were basically acting and did what ever he said - "when you wake up your at a bar trying to get plastered... keep drinking... now you feel awful and need to take a leak... every five sec's it gets ten times worse"..."when you wake up you'll realise your wallets missing - its in someones shoe in the audience, go get it"... then every1 ran off stage nd ripped off all the shoes in the audience and fired them around the place.

It was fairly decent show... some of the actors were deadly and really got into it. Certainly better than doing nothing if ur unlucky enough to be 17 (like me...).

he has big feet?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,288 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Anarking wrote:
    And youve only got to know guys?

You know what that says about you?

Yeah : Im still afraid of the cootie monster. Girls are icky.

don't be ridiculous, it means you have big feet.

you guys are such silly billies.

yeah i'm drunk sorry

I think we're all sorry.

This conversation can only go uphill.

well i leave my computer on all the time, and boards happened to be open on the web browser.

god your a mess man snap out of it. (you, not me)

sort yer life out wha!

You eyeballing my women?

This conversation can only go uphill.

Sorry. I was wrong.

cake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭markpb

You're not going to like this but college will suck if you commute all the time. Bite the bullet, move out of home and get a place beside DCU. Yes, it might be expensive but it'll be worth it. Living life to a bus timetable, not being able to go to the bar or stay late at events will sap your soul.

The first, second, third... time you realise at night that you've a project due at 9am the next morning, you'll thank me :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

thedara wrote:
    Monday, bar at 3 o clock right till the end, There was a bit of a dj and some drinking games if i remember correctly, and then some party, party was dissappointing but it was a good night overall
    It was? I had an awesome time. :D
    thedara wrote:
    Tuesday was ..... ehhh.... tuesday was actually the best day all week, I was unforunatlely in a very bad state and got a little confused when some girl starting talking to me about Sex in the City and i subtly suggested we have sex in my room instead. Still trying to figure out why that didnt go down as well as i'd hoped. There was a party afterwards but i'm not emo so that didnt last very long for me. the lads came home at five i think...
    Quoted for truth although lol @ "subtly" suggesting anything. :D
    thedara wrote:
    Wed was traffic light thingy. It was raining, we had to have tickets. Tickets werent actually needed, didnt take me long to get drunk and i wandered the apartments again for a while.
    You missed the party afterwards, that was pretty damn cool. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Teasing ****ing foreign chicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Winters wrote:
    Teasing ****ing foreign chicks.
    Unlucky. :D