Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On the move storage

• 21-09-2006 9:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭

Gang,

Just after recieving my new 350d in the last week. Yippee :D [Now just have to learn how to use it :p ]

Anyway I'm interested in what the ppl here use to carry your gear around in? Which is easier to use, the backpack or the camera bag which sits at your waist?

I currently only have one lens [28-135 IS USM] so space is not a massive issue. For now, this is permenantly on the camera, but I would probably plan for another lens in the near future.

Love to hear you opinions and current setups.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

I got this yesterday, but I think it might be a bit too big :P

I'd say you'd be wanting something like this:
    http://lowepro.com/Products/Shoulder_Bags/designed_digital/Rezo_160_AW.aspx

Or this:
    http://lowepro.com/Products/Sling_Bags/Designed_for_Digital/SlingShot_100_AW.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Clseeper

Thanks Fajitas, the second one looks very neat.

I've no problem sourcing the products, I would be more interested in how ppl find the backpacks work? Are they clumbersome and the need to take it off everytime to change a lens or get a filter.

Basicly for the camera and gear only, is it easier to get a 'belt' type pouch/sling or is the backpack a better option because it's out of the way and safer?

I've never tried a belt. I'm sure they're handy, as you have everything where you want it, but the downside is a lack of protection from the elements, and if you fall etc!

The second link there, the slingshot, every seems to like it, and find it comfortable.

The backpack I got is my first camera backback, so I'm not sure yet, I can see it being awkward for fast lens changes though. I'm used to having a shoulder bag, which was great for fast changes, especially in gigs and whatnot, where I was down on my knee's and could just put the bag on the ground and change when I needed to, in a matter of seconds!

Yeah actually spent the last 20 min checking out the reviews. Everyone seems happy with it.

Where did you order your backpack from?

I got it from Conn's, for €190.

I can't remember who has the Slingshot here...Em...Purple Fist Mixer...or something along those lines...I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I've got the Slingshot 200, and I'm very happy with it. It can hold my D70s with kit lens, a Sigma 70-300 my SB-800 flash plus assorted filters, charger, spare batteries etc. with ease. You do, of course, have to take it off your back to get at any section other than the main camera section, but you can get at the camera very quickly in case of that "once in a lifetime" shot if necessary without everything falling out onto the floor. If I took some of the junk out and put it into the separate top compartment, I could fit another lense in with no problem.

Got mine in Gunns for, I think €89, or was it €98, can't remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

I use the slingshot 200 when I'm on my bike ,I wouldn't bring my camera with me without this bag.

The Lowepro nova bags are comfortabe for walking about and changing lenses.

The lowepro trekker bags are great for walking around and taking the camera out whenever you've found a spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Don't go for the Slingshot 100, the 200 is just about right but still a little on the small side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

I have the one similar to Fajita's but mine doesnt have the laptop part.

I love it as its very comfy to wear and its not too big to lug about with your camera gear inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Don't forget to post some of your shots up here OP! Good luck with your new cam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

I'd recommend buying any Lowepro gear from Gunns of Wexford Street rather than Conns ...

I have the Rover AW II ... when I originally bought it the price difference was something like €50 on a price of €170 at Conns and €120 at Gunns ...

Conns are just too expensive...

Usually I wouldn't be a fan of Conn's, but gave them the benefit of the doubt yesterday. €190 for the bag...It's €170 on the net without P&P, which on something the size of the bag, would be about 20-30 quid, so I didn't do too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭cyberspider

I have been told the best place to get Lowepro gear is

Miniphoto in Lucan (www.miniphoto.com)

They are the official distributor and I know someone who bought some kit there 30%-40% cheaper than either Gunns or Conns.

I have a slingshot 200 and find it perfect for walking around. I am able to put in my 20D with a 28-70 f2.8 L attached. I also put in a Canon 70-300 f4-5.6 IS USM, Speedlite 430EX along with a few filters. There is a lens cloth attached which is a good idea until it gets dirty and will be unusable . There are also some easily accessible pockets for memory cards. I even have space left in the top for other bits and pieces.

In addition I have a Rover AW II, which was my first bag. It is comfortable to carry and great if you want to stash some extra clothes in the top. The disadvantages are the lower pocket where you store your camera gear. It can be a bit awkward to open, especially if you are in a hurry, In addition you can make the mistake of not closing it fully. With the weigh of you gear it can open itself. I damaged a camera and new lense as a result. The Tripod is also very awkward to use. All in all perfect if you are walking somewhere to set up for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

i've got the orion trekker II,great bag for a day out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

i've got the slingshot 200 AW and initally it worked out grand but lately I find its just not large enough to take everything. So at times i have to leave stuff out, thats ok if i'm off up the mountains and it is a great bag for the outdoors and discreet enough for the urban scene too.
    Really if you've two lenses and a spare CF card and two filters or so and charger it's ok, anything extra and you need to be good at packing!!

I'm thinking of getting a stealth reporter type at some stage that would have more storage space.
    and as has been said the slingshoot 100 is very short on storage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭DrummerBoy

Fajitas! wrote:
    I got it from Conn's, for €190.

I can't remember who has the Slingshot here...Em...Purple Fist Mixer...or something along those lines...I think?

€190? Christ! Where I work sells that at €149!

Lads if yous want anything you can always check with me if you'd like. I work in a camera shop and believe it or not sometimes can even beat the net prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

I might be wrong ,but I think on the internet camera bags are a little dearer when compared to other products.
    I put this down to the fact ,that they take up a lot of space in those online storage places. Most of the time you can pick one up in a shop for the same price or even much cheaper.

That's kind of what I've found when looking at bags myself too. I mean sure I do still work in a shop that located in this wonderfully priced republic but if I can save a few of you some cash I will. But as always It's still an irish shop! :)

So DrummerBoy, whats the going price on the Slingshot 200AW?

I've just had a look at the list price on the system. It's down as being €109. I could probably knock a little off that too. Bringing it down to about €98.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭JMcL

In my experience, it depends what you're using the bag for. I bought one of the LowePro mini-trekker classic (think that's what it's called), and it's great if you're doing long treks, or in situations where you can take your time. If you're going to carry your gear for a long time at a stretch, something which makes the load nicely balanced on your back is a must.

On the other hand, in town a backpack is a complete PITA, so I find myself going back to using my small over the shoulder bag and just taking a couple of lenses. As a lot of others are suggesting the slingshot bags seem to be a good halfway house, though the camera compartment does seem a bit cramped. How do they fair when being carried for a long time, hillwalking or the like?