Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did nt get any thing in the post from dcu :(

• 20-09-2006 4:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭

just noticed today that my friend said he got a letter in post from dcu which had a handbook..orientation time table and supposidly a bank giro and dcu registration form in it too..if this is the case well then im fecked because even if i got the giro tomorow off them the banks would be closed and i would have to register there friday morning so i wouldnt be able to get it filled out..

now im just asking did anyone who is starting in dcu this year..get a letter a week or two back which had a giro and registration form that both needed to be completed for the day of registation in the library..??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭dogz

well i got in via a vacant place which i only accepted last thursday so didnt get anything either.

Today was my 1st day there so all i did was went into the registration office and explained i only accepted it last thursday etc they gave me the pack, it seemed to be a fairly common thing liks she was "ah yeah grand here u go"

I was then sent to the (i think) finance office to find out about fees, the girl there said it was 831 and i could pay by cheque 2moro or friday before the actual registration

what course are u doing btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Pez

erm yea i got a letter about 2 weeks ago with the bank giro saying it had to be paid by the 18th...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭IgsTer

Pez wrote:
    erm yea i got a letter about 2 weeks ago with the bank giro saying it had to be paid by the 18th...?

oh ****...melter.. :(

Ye dogs that sounds alri at least there sound bout it..i applyed for local authority grant so i think ill just have to pay 38 euro but ill find out tomorrow i guess....just gonna haveta head in a bit earlier to get it sorted out before the classes start..im doing comp apps..same as pez there :D

what you doing..?

computer apps aswell:D, seems to be a bit of a sausage fest but the few girls that are there are great lookin:D, i know ive been introducing myself to them all :D:D

haha..ye i tought it was a bit of a sausage fest me self but theres about 15-20 there id say..pez will be happy..you mustnt of went to the party thing no?

the peeps i was with went into the old bar at half 3 or something and since im only 17 i couldnt get in and i wasnt bout to mess with that russian bouncer :(

so i had to come home early :(

nope, i headed into town and skipped the bbq yesterday so didnt go but iheard it was ****e, and i just decided to come home today.

but yes there are some very nice looking girls doing it, but still theres not enough, now nurses mmmmmmm nurses :)

but tis early days yet and they all seem to be sound enough (and ive talked to them all :D), thats all im focusing on till xmas

aw alri..

haha..sounds like your looking to have a good time..have to go down tomorow with 850 in cash and pay them before registration..in bright and early at 9 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

IgsTer wrote:
    aw alri..

haha..sounds like your looking to have a good time..have to go down tomorow with 850 in cash and pay them before registration..in bright and early at 9 :(

Fock that, just pay the bastards when ur supposed to be registering. They'll take it then. Don't mind turnin up early for that shower

i just dropped my cheque in on the way home today she stamped a reciept and that was it, in and out in less than 5 mins

IgsTer wrote:
    haha..ye i tought it was a bit of a sausage fest me self but theres about 15-20 there id say..pez will be happy..you mustnt of went to the party thing no?

the peeps i was with went into the old bar at half 3 or something and since im only 17 i couldnt get in and i wasnt bout to mess with that russian bouncer :(

so i had to come home early :(

hahaha!!!! i dont think there's enough girls!!!! i was the only girl with my tutor:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Finch*

is it a big deal if i missed all of orientation on Thursday and didn't meet my tutor or anything?

GavMan wrote:
    Fock that, just pay the bastards when ur supposed to be registering. They'll take it then. Don't mind turnin up early for that shower

Yeah like i mean like 5 mins before i go register if ya know what i mean..i went to the finance office and then to ther library to register this morning..:D

Haha..well there is an alright amount of girls there espcially considering the type of course it is..ye there was one girl in the tutor room i went to too..she had dark hair and a pink hoody dont know if ya know her..i didnt see ya looking lost like ya said ya would be either.. :D

no i wouldnt say so finch..basically they were just telling us all bout the course like optionble modules,etc which youll get on the website anyway..then a bit bout clubs and socs which youll also get on website and then a bit about computer usage regulations which youll again get on website..the only thing you would have missed is your meeting with your tutor but even i missed that kinda because i met mine outside his room and then he gave me straight away to some other tutor he saw because he had to go do something..so i wasnt even talking to my own tutor i was talking to someone elses..:(

okay cool, i was looking at the timetable and thought it was a bit confusing, and quite a lot of hours, are we being split into two groups or something? i don't like being in from 9-6 on monday with no breaks :S that can't be right!

Haha..yeah they said we would be split into smaller groups for some of the stuff..were did you see the timetable by the way..and can you log in to your portal page with your name and password??

well i went here for the timetable

http://www.dcu.ie/timetables/feed.php3?prog=CA&per=1&week1=1&week2=12&hour=1-20&template=student

i can't log in to anything yet because when i went to register today and get my card, they told me i owe them like 4 grand or something, i said **** that, and have to go cry to daddy now :S

alri thanks for that man..didnt know were to find me timetable...

haha..really that'd be horrible..how could you owe them 4 grand..??

did you not even get your login details yet no?? i got em but cant log-in :(

because i did a year in ucd befoe i came here, and they didn't officially drop me out so i have to pay full tuition fees! :S

i got my login deatils but left them with the girl i was registering with when she told me to come back after i'd talked to UCD about how whether they claimed full fees or not from the government

aw alri i getya..sounds like a bit of a mess... :)

alri..hopefuly they just havent put up everyones portals yet..can any one else get into there portals..??

IgsTer wrote:
    Yeah like i mean like 5 mins before i go register if ya know what i mean..i went to the finance office and then to ther library to register this morning..:D

Haha..well there is an alright amount of girls there espcially considering the type of course it is..ye there was one girl in the tutor room i went to too..she had dark hair and a pink hoody dont know if ya know her..i didnt see ya looking lost like ya said ya would be either.. :D

haha no i dont know her. :( haha ah i was kinda lost at sum stage. was wandering around not knowing where people were haha! :rolleyes:

oh ye its not 6 we're off on a monday? its half 5 isnt it?

Haha..yeah so was i when i came out of the tutors room and couldnt find the people i was with for ages because they were still up with there tutors and i didnt know.. :(

the time table is really messed up i havent a clue what im looking at but here have a look for your self..as far as i know were off at 5:30 ye..there is like 3 different classes on at each time i dont know whats going on.. :D

http://www.dcu.ie/timetables/feed.php3?prog=CA&per=1&week1=1&week2=12&hour=1-20&template=student

by the way could ya spot who i was..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

When there are 2 or more things on at once you have a decision to make, which one to go to that week, so if say you we're behind in maths you would go to maths this week and miss the others.

IgsTer wrote:
    Haha..yeah so was i when i came out of the tutors room and couldnt find the people i was with for ages because they were still up with there tutors and i didnt know.. :(

the time table is really messed up i havent a clue what im looking at but here have a look for your self..as far as i know were off at 5:30 ye..there is like 3 different classes on at each time i dont know whats going on.. :D

by the way could ya spot who i was..

haha ye tis a bit fooked. but my tutor told us that we'll be divided into classes of like 25 or sumthing so maybe we get split up when theres sum things on the same time!?
    lol! no i can hardly remember what ne1 looks like or whos on my course! not sure if i know what u look like.. haha! did u spot me!?:cool:

alri i getya callmejimmy..but its still a bit confusing to be honest :D

i guess itll be all cleared up when ye, certain groups go to certain classes or something hopefully..all i know is that im up bright and early for physics on monday :( ..i havent even done it before but i wasnt picking no languages,politics and electronics and stuff so had to pick it..that and topics of computers :(

What options u pick pez??

haha..ye same here the fellas all look the same to me they all kinda wear the same kinda stuff and all..but i can spot the differences with the girls cause there aint that many.. :) yeah i actually noticed you straight away cause i remembered your face from ur bebo ages ago.. :D

IgsTer wrote:
    alri i getya callmejimmy..but its still a bit confusing to be honest :D

i guess itll be all cleared up when ye, certain groups go to certain classes or something hopefully..all i know is that im up bright and early for physics on monday :( ..i havent even done it before but i wasnt picking no languages,politics and electronics and stuff so had to pick it..that and topics of computers :(

What options u pick pez??

haha..ye same here the fellas all look the same to me they all kinda wear the same kinda stuff and all..but i can spot the differences with the girls cause there aint that many.. :) yeah i actually noticed you straight away cause i remembered your face from ur bebo ages ago.. :D

yeah they all look the same haha! i was gona pick physics even tho i hadnt done it b4 but when he said 9am monday that made my mind up haha! so i chose topics in computing and french(simply coz theres no exam lol) :D:D:D

haha..ye the time is a bit of a melter in physics but id no other choice there was no way i could do a language,im crap at em only got a c2 in ord french.. :( but the no exams thing is a nice touch :D

think everyone picked topics in computing but its supposed to be rock hard although it might'nd sound like it :(

IgsTer wrote:
    haha..ye the time is a bit of a melter in physics but id no other choice there was no way i could do a language,im crap at em only got a c2 in ord french.. :( but the no exams thing is a nice touch :D

think everyone picked topics in computing but its supposed to be rock hard although it might'nd sound like it :(

oh great... i heard topics in computing was meant to be ok..
    did ya see me walkin in in da middle of the clubs and societies talk lol:rolleyes:
    Just looked at my portal page there and the timetable looks slightly different... it now says we're in til half 4 on monday. thats the latest we're ever in now so it seems... im confused what does ur one say?:confused:

Pez wrote:
    did ya see me walkin in in da middle of the clubs and societies talk lol:rolleyes:
    Just looked at my portal page there and the timetable looks slightly different... it now says we're in til half 4 on monday. thats the latest we're ever in now so it seems... im confused what does ur one say?:confused:

lol well sorry ta spoil it for ya..if ya had of went to the student talk thing instead of being off galavanting around on campus you woulda found out :D
    but it cant be that bad they just said something like writing a big essay every week about the lecture and you cant say,"i or he/she" and stuff like you cvant relate to the lecturer or something..

Haha na didnt see ya..did ya com in much late?? did ya see the chinese chap looking in the door at us through the glass while she was talking bout clubs and she didnt have a clue why we were laughing.. that was funny :D

yeah it says were off at half four on mine as well..theres an hour and a half lecture of topics of computing last isnt there? but its still confusing like i have physics in the morning which is ok but then i have it at 3-4pm again which is the same time topics of computing is on at..do i just go to one?

and jus noticed that there is only one class on friday..and guess what that is..french :D is that right doh that there is only one class on friday..?

IgsTer wrote:
    lol well sorry ta spoil it for ya..if ya had of went to the student talk thing instead of being off galavanting around on campus you woulda found out :D
    but it cant be that bad they just said something like writing a big essay every week about the lecture and you cant say,"i or he/she" and stuff like you cvant relate to the lecturer or something..

Haha na didnt see ya..did ya com in much late?? did ya see the chinese chap looking in the door at us through the glass while she was talking bout clubs and she didnt have a clue why we were laughing.. that was funny :D

yeah it says were off at half four on mine as well..theres an hour and a half lecture of topics of computing last isnt there? but its still confusing like i have physics in the morning which is ok but then i have it at 3-4pm again which is the same time topics of computing is on at..do i just go to one?

O :/ how cum u chose it then!!? lol!! ah i was only 10 mins late but it was pitch black and i was like falling up the steps trying to find a seat!! yea it says topics in computing last! im sure they'll av to sort sumthing out.. cant b in 2 places at once!!!
    haha yeh i saw the chinese guy!! was the highlight of that talk!! hehe :D

Ah I don't want ye all confused, I was pulling yer leg, when there's stuff on at the same time it is either option classes (so out of all the option classes on at the same time, you go to the one you picked :)

or tutorials, of which you are split up and go to one of them.

Topics in computing is easy but is marked like a m(.)ther****er so don't take for granted that yer gonna do well or ye really won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭cognos

Pez wrote:

Don't do topics in computing! Go to the lectures (from week 3 on - once monica ward has stopped giving her awful lectures on writing) the topics are interesting enough and the lecturers very good but the assesment is a complete joke - Its all about writing skills!

cognos wrote:
    Don't do topics in computing! Go to the lectures (from week 3 on - once monica ward has stopped giving her awful lectures on writing) the topics are interesting enough and the lecturers very good but the assesment is a complete joke - Its all about writing skills!

If i was to change what do u think i shud pick instead!?

Pez wrote:
    O :/ how cum u chose it then!!? lol!! ah i was only 10 mins late but it was pitch black and i was like falling up the steps trying to find a seat!! yea it says topics in computing last! im sure they'll av to sort sumthing out.. cant b in 2 places at once!!!

Haha i had ta pick it there was noting else i could do..at least its only on for first semester... :D
    Pez wrote:
    haha yeh i saw the chinese guy!! was the highlight of that talk!! hehe :D

haha ye i agree..ive heard that talk bout clubs and socs bout three times now.. :(

and to callme jimmy i picked both physics and topics of computing and both of them are on at same time, but since topics of computing is only once a week i suppose ill have to go to that instead..but does that mean ill always be missing the second of three physics classes every week..or would the second physics class just be going over what happened in the first one earlier that day for people who didnt make it or something..

IgsTer wrote:
    Haha i had ta pick it there was noting else i could do..at least its only on for first semester... :D

haha ye i agree..ive heard that talk bout clubs and socs bout three times now.. :(

and to callme jimmy i picked both physics and topics of computing and both of them are on at same time, but since topics of computing is only once a week i suppose ill have to go to that instead..but does that mean ill always be missing the second of three physics classes every week..or would the second physics class just be going over what happened in the first one earlier that day for people who didnt make it or something..

no you won't miss a single thing (unless you want to :)) like if ye have physics on the same time as topics in computing either the timetable will be changed or they put on 2 physics classes and you go to one. I didn't do physics myself but they make it so that you can't pick too things that clash.

Usually the timetable changes a bit in the first week or so.

alri cool..hopefully it will because if it doesnt ill be fecked :( ...if not..is there a chance that i could of picked my two optional subjects wrong like ya know the way there is three groups..could i of picked them out wrong??

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Topics has a 95% pass rate (unless things have changed significantly in one year).

It boggles the mind how anyone could *not* take it. Handy course as long as you have a bit of cop on and any sort of clue about computers.