Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*** VN Team Event. October ***

• 18-09-2006 11:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭

Comming again in Oct.....

Date: Sunday 15th October
    Venue: The White House, Ashbourne rd
    Reg time: 12:30pm untill 1pm
    Game starts: 1pm

Previous winning teams:
    1) Board Stupids
    2) Team Anglers Rest
    3) JJP pooker mania

Current cup holders:

JJP Pokermania

8 players per team. Entry: €50 + E10 reg per player.

Estimated 20 teams with
    prize pool E8,000

30min blinds. 5,000 chips freezout.

Prizes: 30% to winning team (est. €2,400, €300 per player)

The rest as follows:
    1st 20% (est. €1,600)
    2nd 15% (est. €1,200)
    3rd 12% (est. €960)
    4th 9% (est. €720)
    5th 7% (est. €560)
    6th 2% (est. €160)
    7th 2% (est. €160)
    8th 2% (est. €160)
    9th 1% (est. €80)

General info:
    20 teams of 8. All teams must have no more OR less than 8 players. All teams must be part of an established recognised club/association entering under the name of that club /association. The type of entries we are looking for are.........

college poker societies, varius websites such as poker.ie & Boards.ie, Card clubs, tournament organisers etc.

Finances:
    Entry: €50 + €10 reg per person. (E360 +E40 per team)
    Food suplied
    Perpeptual trophy suplied
    Cash prize for winning team and top 9 individual players

Game Type:
    No limit texas holdem. Freezout

To start- 8 players per table. No more than one player from each team per pable. Tables will be closed in reverse numeric order (ie. table 20 is first to be closed etc.) If a player needs to be taken from one table to fill an empty seat the player to be moved will be the next big blind on the highest no. table. We will use cards with the table and seat no. for each player throughout the tournament..............if a table is being closed the cards representing the empty seats will be put face-down on the table and each player will draw a seat. The only position a player cannot come into on a new table is "small blind". If a player comes in as "big blind" it's unlucky but so be it. Tables will be kept at an average and as close to 8 players as possible throughout the tournament.

Starting chips
    5,000 per person

Blinds:
    Every 30 mins as follows

1pm 25/50
    1:30pm 50/100
    2pm 75/150
    2:30pm 100/200
    3pm 150/300
    3:30pm 200/400
    4pm 300/600
    4:30pm Break incl food
    5pm 400/800
    5:30pm 500/1,000
    6pm 700/1500
    6:30pm 1,000/2,000
    7pm 2000/4000
    7:30pm 1,500/3,000
    8pm 2,000/4,000
    8:30pm Break (Estimated 12 players remaining)
    9pm 3,000/6,000
    9:30pm 4,000/8,000
    10pm 5,000/10,000
    10:30pm 7,000/15,000
    11pm 10,000/20,000
    11:30pm 15,000/30,000
    12am 20,000/40,000
    12:30am estimated time of finish

How a team scores points:
    Points will be awarded to the top 18 players as follows:
    1st 18pts
    2nd 17pts
    3rd 16pts
    etc,
    etc,
    17th 2pts
    18th 1pt.

The team with the highest accumilitive score wins the cup.

To help with the organisation of this event I would be greatfull if interested teams would post here to give me an idea of numbers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

there is an estimated prize pool of 8000... i would suggest payout as follows.

50% team
    4000 euro
    50% individuals---- 4000 euro

Top 4 teams paid.

1st: 1700
    2nd: 1000
    3rd: 800
    4th: 500

1st 20% (est. €800)
    2nd 15% (est. €600)
    3rd 12% (est. €480)
    4th 9% (est. €360)
    5th 7% (est. €280)
    6th 2% (est. €80)
    7th 2% (est. €80)
    8th 2% (est. €80)
    9th 1% (est. €40)

the two times i've played it the emphasis very quickly swings to individual achievement rather than team. maybe that is just poker. but 99 times out of 100 the winning player will be part of the winning team. so effectively its just a bonus for all the mates of the individual winner. I'd be much more up for taking part in this if there was a a few team prizes and i think knocked out players would have a greater interest in the tournament if they had a genuine interest in the outcome.

In the last team event the students finished 3rd, seemingly a great achievement but it was on the strength of one of our players finishing 4th. we had no other players in the points... (which is poor although 3 of the 4 players who just missed the points were students, we cracked under pressure). When we were down to 1 alot of us were just eager to leave, no fun watching people play for your money, but if we had a shot at some dosh we'd be there cheering on out team mates.

I think it'd make for a much better atmosphere and a better occasion with the above payout structure. No-one is playing a 50 buy in to get rich, first place individual for 800 is plenty. in a team event it should be about the team....

could this work?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ditpoker wrote:
    99 times out of 100 the winning player will be part of the winning team. so effectively its just a bonus for all the mates of the individual winner.
    Not the way our team played it 2 times ago.......... We did get 4th in the team standings though.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭VEGAS NIGHTS

ditpoker wrote:
    there is an estimated prize pool of 8000... i would suggest payout as follows.

50% team
    4000 euro
    50% individuals---- 4000 euro

Top 4 teams paid.

1st: 1700
    2nd: 1000
    3rd: 800
    4th: 500

1st 20% (est. €800)
    2nd 15% (est. €600)
    3rd 12% (est. €480)
    4th 9% (est. €360)
    5th 7% (est. €280)
    6th 2% (est. €80)
    7th 2% (est. €80)
    8th 2% (est. €80)
    9th 1% (est. €40)

the two times i've played it the emphasis very quickly swings to individual achievement rather than team. maybe that is just poker. but 99 times out of 100 the winning player will be part of the winning team. so effectively its just a bonus for all the mates of the individual winner. I'd be much more up for taking part in this if there was a a few team prizes and i think knocked out players would have a greater interest in the tournament if they had a genuine interest in the outcome.

In the last team event the students finished 3rd, seemingly a great achievement but it was on the strength of one of our players finishing 4th. we had no other players in the points... (which is poor although 3 of the 4 players who just missed the points were students, we cracked under pressure). When we were down to 1 alot of us were just eager to leave, no fun watching people play for your money, but if we had a shot at some dosh we'd be there cheering on out team mates.

I think it'd make for a much better atmosphere and a better occasion with the above payout structure. No-one is playing a 50 buy in to get rich, first place individual for 800 is plenty. in a team event it should be about the team....

could this work?

Interesting. If this is the general line of thought I'll go with it.

Anyone else???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I wonder if we could get a dcu team together for this?

Hawk eye, cooker3, bubble king?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Interesting. If this is the general line of thought I'll go with it.

Anyone else???

I agree with Jeff. Funny that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Nick, will try and get a team of right dodgy looking (real) Culchies up for the game.

'The Travelling Hillbillies' have arrived.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

hey Culchie, u want me and paddy hicks on ur team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

1st, 1st and 2nd and I dont even get a mention....

I think we should give 10% to the winning team, 88% to the individual winner and 2% for the 'high hand' prize

PS. Im offering up my services AGAIN for this (guaranteed 1st place!)... perhaps I might get on a winning team this time :)

you have chosen your avatar wisely, Rory san.
    beginning to sound more like him every time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,903 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

8 players per team. Entry: €50 + E10 reg per player. Adds up to €480

Entry: €50 + €10 reg per person. (E360 +E40 per team)
    So which one is a typo

and you've been visiting too many dodgy sites Nick!
    it's spelt coming, not comming!

see headline in your first post!

OK, so what teams are entering. I'll write up a list of teams that I think are entering and as they are confirmed I'll put them on the confirmed list.

Provisional:
    The Culchies
    Poker.ie 2
    VN Jolly Topper
    VN The Vipers
    Sporting Emporium Players
    Sporting Emporium Dealers
    VN Mileys, Blessington.
    JJP Poker Mania- The Kestril 2
    JJP Poker Mania- The Abberly Court Hotel
    JJP Poker Mania- Navan
    VN Cuckoos Nest 1
    VN Cuckoos Nest 2
    Vegas Nights, Grasshopper
    Pcket Rockets Poker
    VN Submarine
    VN Whitehouse
    Fitz Breakeveners
    DIT Students
    Island Poker 2

Confirmed:
    1) Team Vegas Nights
    2) Poker.ie 1
    3) JJP Poker mania- The Kestrel 1
    4) JJP Poker Mania- The Spawell
    5) Island Poker 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭JJP PokerMania

Hi Nick,

I think i'll have the 6 teams that i had the last time. I think the suggestion of 50% for top 4 teams and 50% for top 9 players is a good idea. But then again i did have 4 players on the final table and 3 of my teams finished in the top 4.

It's going to be hard to beat that but i'm sure the lads are up for the challange.

Also Rory if you want to get on the winning team this time i might be able to fit you in.

This is on in ten days. Could teams please confirm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Not a lot of interest in this one by the look of things.
    Come on Culchies / Stoopids / Whatever.
    Are we on for this one again?

DubTony wrote:

Haven't seen that name for a long time, welcome back. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I don't think I can play this :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I can't make it this time either now I'm afraid, will be away

Yes I was getting worried there. A good number of teams weighed in over the past two days so I think we should have about 100 runners.

If anyone else out there is condidering entering a team please let me know.

Provisional:
    The Culchies
    Poker.ie 2
    VN Mileys, Blessington.
    JJP Poker Mania- Navan
    VN Cuckoos Nest 1
    VN Cuckoos Nest 2
    VN Whitehouse
    Fitz Breakeveners
    DIT Students
    Island Poker 2

Confirmed:
    1) Team Vegas Nights
    2) Poker.ie 1
    5) Island Poker 1[/QUOTE]
    6) VN Submarine
    7) Kings of Conduit.
    8) VN Jolly Topper
    9) VN The Vipers
    10) Vegas Nights, Grasshopper
    11) Pocket Rockets Poker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

If there is a slot on the SE team can somebody PM me to let me know? Il gladly play it.

Thanks,

BCB.

Black-Sea-Bass.jpg

If there is a slot on the SE team can somebody PM me to let me know? Il gladly play it.

Thanks,

BCB.

[/IMG]

I'll be phoning Jack from SE later and I'll let him know you are interested.

There will be places on other teams and If you show up on the day you'll definatley get a seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Thanks,

BCB.

I don't think one has been organised (Nick might correct me here). I'm sure you can get one going if you mention it to John/Alex/Dave or a few of the regulars in the SE.

I cannot make this as I won't be back from the team event in the Cue Club, but would have played otherwise.

Nick,

For the love of God..... please change comming to coming!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I doubt the breakeveners will be playing this time either. I know I certainly am not, and Olly has said he isn't either.

HalfBaked wrote:
    I don't think one has been organised (Nick might correct me here). I'm sure you can get one going if you mention it to John/Alex/Dave or a few of the regulars in the SE.

I cannot make this as I won't be back from the team event in the Cue Club, but would have played otherwise.

QUOTE]

I think Derek is putting a team together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

5starpool wrote:
    I doubt the breakeveners will be playing this time either. I know I certainly am not, and Olly has said he isn't either.

Yeah sorry Nick. I'm having trouble getting peeps to fill a chalet in Blessington at the minute so the team event has disappeared off my organising radar I'm afraid. :(

Yes I was getting worried there. A good number of teams weighed in over the past two days so I think we should have about 100 runners.

Provisional:
    The Culchies
    Poker.ie 2
    VN Mileys, Blessington.
    JJP Poker Mania- Navan
    VN Cuckoos Nest 1
    VN Cuckoos Nest 2
    VN Whitehouse
    Fitz Breakeveners
    DIT Students

Confirmed:
    1) Team Vegas Nights
    2) Poker.ie 1
    5) Island Poker 1
    6) VN Submarine
    7) Kings of Conduit.
    8) VN Jolly Topper
    9) VN The Vipers
    10) Vegas Nights, Grasshopper
    11) Pocket Rockets Poker
    12) Island Poker 2

Provisional:
    The Culchies
    Poker.ie 2
    VN Mileys, Blessington.
    VN Cuckoos Nest 1
    VN Cuckoos Nest 2
    VN Whitehouse
    Fitz Breakeveners
    DIT Students

Confirmed:
    1) Team Vegas Nights
    2) Poker.ie 1
    5) Island Poker 1
    6) VN Submarine
    7) Kings of Conduit.
    8) VN Jolly Topper
    9) VN The Vipers
    10) JJP Poker Mania- The Kestril 2
    11) Pocket Rockets Poker
    12) Island Poker 2
    13) JJP Poker Mania- Navan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭derek2222_ie

Hi there

Can anyone give me directions to the white house from tallaght as i have never been there before

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

Are the students getting a team together for this?Im available..

I probably will be too, if you want to make up numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

I'll see what i can do. Any other students interested in playing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Me, me. I can pass off for a Student.....again;)

I sent a few pms off to people in dcu, any other dit lads going? Shoutman, jeff?

I know acouple of teams are short a player or two. I you come along I'll get you on a team

I'm keeping a thread up to date on the Vegas Nights forum. Visit www.vegasnights.ie and click on "forum"