Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buy and Sell Scam

• 18-09-2006 10:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭

Mod: delete this if already posted

ATTENTION: All BuyandSell users!

BUYER PROTECTION SCAM - PLEASE READ

It has recently come to BuyandSell's attention that internet scammer's have been sending fraudulent emails to BuyandSell users claiming to be representatives of our company. Within these emails they inform buyers and sellers that they are from BuyandSell's 'Security Centre' and are offering 'Buyer Purchase Protection'.

The scam is as follows:

* Buyer and seller agree on the transaction terms and a selling price.
    Seller contacts BuyandSell with the transaction details, BuyandSell accepts the transaction and offers purchase protection to the buyer (if the transaction is declined, no further action is required from either the buyer or the seller).
    The buyer sends payment and BuyandSell receives it. After the payment is received, the seller is notified by BuyandSell. The buyer will send the payment details directly to the seller's email address. The seller has three business days to send the buyer and BuyandSell the tracking number of the shipment. If no tracking number is provided, a full refund is immediately sent to the buyer.
    The Buyer receives the merchandise and has five days to inspect it. If it is complete and as described, the buyer should accept the merchandise. If he refuses the merchandise, the buyer must ship the merchandise back to the seller within three business days.
    After the inspection period is over, the buyer must contact BuyandSell with the result of the inspection. If the buyer refuses the merchandise, the refund will be sent to the buyer after the tracking number for the returned shipment is verified.

The email is sent from the email address: support@BuyandSell.ie
    This email instructs buyers to send money via a local MoneyGram office making payment with Cash Only.
    After payment is made they ask buyers to fax a copy of the transaction to the following number: +1 - 408 - 516 - 8573

Please note that BuyandSell do not offer or authorise this service and instruct all recipients of this email or similar to discard and ignore immediately.

Kind Regards
    The TEAM at

---

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 rawmish

You mean, like one of them at bottom (read bottom to top) :confused:
    It's a very interesting, and tempting, proposition but I'm really only interested in a cash transaction.

Moreover, there is a slight problem, in that you want the bike shipped but it is large and very heavy (because of the batteries, you see - it's electric).

After consulting a couple of freight agents operating from Dublin harbour, shipping to Nigeria is very likely to amount to about €2600 to €2700 (CPT shipping to your customs office in your country), so how about you send me the €3000 in cash (in any denominated currency, if you cannot procure Euros)?

I'll secure any left-over change in the storage compartment under the seat.

Regards,
    S

Previous Message

Sent: 26 October 2006 09:13
    To: EDITED
    Subject: EVT4000

Hello,

I thank you for the email and i am very impressed with photos of the EVT4000 and i am willing to purchase it for 300 euro.I just got in touch with my associate who will be sending payment to you . I will like to know if there are any repairs to be done if so please let me know.

My associate who owes me some money will send to you a cheque for 2900 euro on my behalf .

As soon as soon as you receive the payment you will have it deposited into your bank account .You will deduct 300 euro as payment for the EVT4000 .

The balance of 2600 euro you will have it transfered to my shipping agent through westernunion money transfer done at your la poste all expences for the transfer can be deducted.

My shipping agent will need the money to have the EVT4000 picked up from your address and shipped to my location .

I need you to provide me with the following details so that the payment can be issued ;

A NAME FOR THE CHEQUE ; .........................

YOUR POSTAL ADDRESS ; ............................

PHONE NUMBER ; ........................................

I await your response in due time .

Thank you ,

Previous Message

Sent: 26 October 2006 08:48
    To: sean scott [mailto:sean_2900@yahoo.com]
    Subject: EVT4000

Hey there,

Thx for the interest.

Pix enclosed (note the topbox wasn't mounted on the bike when I took them, but I have mounted it on since)

Price as stated in advert: €300.

Regards,
    S

Original Message

From: BuyandSell team [mailto:do-not-reply@buyandsell.ie]
    To: EDITEDEDITED.com
    Sent: Wed, 25 Oct 2006 22:03:43 +0100
    Subject: EVT4000E Scooter [^]03.#Electric,...

Dear BuyandSell customer,

This message was sent by www.buyandsell.ie to you directly on behalf of sean_2900@yahoo.com in response to your adverisement (EDITED) on the BuyandSell WebSite.

Please read the message from the interested buyer below, and if you would like to respond please use the following email address: sean_2900@yahoo.com

Best Regards
    The BuyandSell Team.

MESSAGE FROM INTERESTED BUYER: (sean_2900@yahoo.com)
    Hello,
    i saw yopur advert and i am interested in your bike for sale.I will appreciate it if you send me some photos as wll as the price.

(Sent: October 25, 2006, 10:03pm AV: 309)
    If you have a question or suggestion please contact our HelpDesk:
    http://support.buyandsell.ie/?group=General&_m=tickets&_a=submit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Very Good!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

Ah, so they're not just trying that through eBay then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Anyone know how to send a good virus keep sending them to his email address :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Covey

After googling his name, it took me all of 10 seconds to find out he was a scammer. Price to good to believe etc. Ad said from Carlow btw.

Expressed interest and here's what happened next. Read from bottom up:

**** Wrote

Hi Scumbag,

You’ve been rumbled. Were from the start

I see you are very famous in Canada http://groups.google.com/group/alt.marketing.online.ebay/msg/314a79cc501233b2

and you are also in Ireland now. I posted your replies on a number of Irish sites. I have also informed Buy and Sell (to remove your ads), the Irish Fraud Squad, the Italian Fraud Squad and the Romanian Police force and oh, Western Union to ban you as a customer (worldwide).

You can also expect a LOT of expensive orders from Ireland, to keep you busy.

And worst of all I’ve told Gobnait about you, you langer. She was looking forward to visiting Rome to pick up her machine and had high hopes of something more coming out of this. She is totally gutted, you bollix.

ME.

PS, companies like DHL, would never use such deplorable English. Next time you’re in Carlow pick up a good Romanian-English dictionary.

Then nothing ??

**** Wrote

No, Ill give them a buzz in the morning.

Original Message

didn`t they sent you the details allredy?

**** Wrote;

Ah right I have it now. I’ll contact them tomorrow to get the bank details and transfer the funds, no problem.

Original Message

you don`t understand DHL need to get the money so they can be sure that they deliver and get the money there wore time when they deliver and the person didn`t had the money! understand me

so in this way DHL will have and keep the money until you will verify and accept the camera ( you will have 10 days after delivery to inspect the camera

what isn`t sae in this

**** Wrote

Sure if the camera is sent then I’ll wait till it arrives check it and pay DHL. That’s no problem.

Original Message

i allready sent the camera

and please contact DHL and ask them if you don`t belive me when i tell it`s safe you can reply to the message with the payment details

**** Wrote

No I won’t pay upfront based on an email. That would be stupid.

However, all is not lost. I have to go to a conference in Rome, I completely forgot that’s where you are based. Sure I could pick it up, have a cappachino with you and even have a good chat about Carlow.

Sure that’ll work better, you’ll save on the DHL and get the spondulix straight into your hand. What could be better?.

Kind Regards

Original Message
    Sent: 05 November 2006 22:54

Hello,

I hope that this is not a problem for you. You can give my email to your frend too . and this deal will be safe because DHL will insue this transaction 100%.

I've forgot to tell you that you will send the money to DHL not to me. They will keep the money until you accept the product.

**** Wrote

Sorry, as I said in the first mail, I won’t pay upfront. I’m sure you are legit, but you could be anyone, we have only communicated by mail after all.
    Original Message
    Sent: 05 November 2006 22:40

no that is not a mistake because this is the new COD this is for them to be sure that you have the money

they will keep the money until you will get and verify the camera when you accept it they will give me the money

**** Wrote:

You work weekends I’m very impressed. It’s so good doing business with you, cheap prices and a great service.

I got an email from DHL, but they must have mixed me up as they were looking for payment up-front. We agreed I’d pay them on delivery. Would appreciate if you could sort it out.

My friend Gobnait was over last night and she’ll buy one also if you have one left. Is it ok if I send you her email address,

Regards

Original Message
    Sent: 05 November 2006 16:30

Hello,

I sent the camera please tell me if you recived the email from DHL and if everything is OK. ( long email from DHL (dhlsite.com) looking for transfer by Western Union)

**** Wrote

Hi again,

So I should have it in three days, great. I presume I pay DHL when they deliver then?

Original Message

Hello,

I wanted you to know that i will ship the product tommorrow because i have a problem. Anyway shipping will take up to 3 days.

Thank you!

*** Wrote

Sorry,

Thought you had that. ****
    How long does it normally take?

Original Message
    Sent: 04 November 2006 00:59

ok

i will go and ship the camera tommoro
    please give me your full name too

**** Wrote:

Best to send it to my company address;

Síochána F.S.
    Harcourt St.,
    Dublin 2.

When are you back in Carlow then? You don’t happen to know the Macari’s in Bagnalstown? Great chips!

Original Message
    Sent: 03 November 2006 21:20

i need your full info name and address

**** wrote:

Right where to next then?

Original Message
    Sent: 03 November 2006 21:16

ok 1400 euros

**** wrote:

€ 1400 sound fair, OK?

Original Message
    Sent: 03 November 2006 20:25

tell me what price do you want to offer??
    and after i will ship DHL will give you all the info

**** wrote:

And where do we go from there then. Is the price negotiable???

Original Message
    Sent: 03 November 2006 16:14

Hello,
    All that i need are this info: your full name and
    address and your final order and price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭colmranger

I sussed this guy a few months ago and had also posted about him here on Boards.

Be carefull on Buy and Sell he also advertises other models of top cameras at knock down prices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Doodlebug

Ha Ha Ha! Fair play to you Covey! That was both entertaining and informative!!

What a brass-necked lang-ball!